(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

gie(busy)- if pd recommended and u've tried and tested tt its effective, i would assume tt its good to go? dun worry abt it ba.. if it works for ur boy, continue using it!

soap- oo.. i use this product from kiehl's for tasha. it works fine and has got no skin problem. so, i would highly recommend mummies to use it for kiddos! just tad ex only but beats paying to go to pd.. but this shampoo/body foam is scentless.. so dun expect ur bb to smell nice aft bath. 2 cents worth.
cheers!

Hi Adrienne, what is the brand of the soap you are using for Tasha again? It's for sensitive skin?

Gie, the aloe vera gel can be used on face too? My baby keeps rubbing his face nowadays so is the cream safe if he accidentally rub his face with his hands and puts his hands into his mouth? Cos the cream that my PD has prescribed is a little stress to use. He said it's poisonous or stg so cannot let cream gets into baby's mouth. A bit hard lor when I tried it just now, cos the cream can get onto his pillow, hands and he puts these into his mouth leh..

Gie - I also dont know why my PD said not to use. I also tried the Jorubi brand aloe vera gel but it does not work on my girl. Initially, it gets better but subsequently there is no effect anymore.. Only after using the cream from PD then the rashes cleared up..

My baby just had her 5 in 1 jab yesterday and had on off fever since last night. Any idea when the fever will go off?
So heart pain to see her so tired though shes still smiling and all...

Fireflies80,

You may want to give her a little Ling Yang, say 30ml.. to cool her body down from the effect!

Eczema,
My #2 was diagnosed when he was very little & we have been using QV on him till now (4yo), hence, bb also uses the same soap for shower!

Tinkles Mum, is should be safe as is written that it can be use for Ulcers (including mouth ulcers), which is why my PD ask me to use.
Also part of the reason why i am using it.

Vera; is ok, like what adrienne say as long as the gel works for our baby. And also maybe the condition and diff PD work differently.

adrienne, what is the name of the soup from kiehl's? Infant also can use?

wow... porky., ur boy drinks 240ml one shot jus nw and 150ml ah... mine drinks 100-110ml but every 2-3 hrs.

flipping:
my gal successfully flip once on 21st Aug... then after that she keep trying.. even latching on she also wana try.. faintz!

RE: trip
kidnap?? gosh! if i go with tour agency on package, better? i tot of bringing Shermin only but the tot of expressing out, made me sian.. so see how la..

RE: lunch and shop on 27th
is it confirm? where we lunching?

RE: flipping
Shermay has signs of flipping only when i put her on sides and latching.. other than that, nope.. but she has been glidding quite a far bit. especially nite time.. she will kick then glide.. i need to put her back to position when i spotted her turn to 45degree. and morning, she turns to 45degree again. yesterday i didnt slp well because was so worried that she will fall off the bed.. i better bring the bed rail from my hse and put at my mum place.. at least safer and i can slp better..

ibite,
dont worry abt chelsea flipping.. if i remember correctly, Shermin can flip over ard 4-5 mths.. so not worry.. different babies have different milestone.. all we have to do is to play caution and wait.. hehehe..

fireflies,
y girl just had her 1st or 2nd jab 5-1? Shermay is going to have her 2nd dose of 5-1 next monday. the last jab, she didnt have any fever but just slight slpy. not sure whether 2nd dose is the same as 1st dose.

It’s Monday again..

Re: eczema

Meg was diagnosed with eczema when she was very young.. and the eczema is real bad, red patches on face, on arms and legs..
PD said could be FM that is the culprit, (last time she was on 90% ebm and 10%fm).. we use cetaphil bodywash, kiehl’s face and body cream, and sebamed cream for her until now.. thank God, the eczema stopped and she is very normal now..
Mummies with eczema bb, can try the lotions that I use above for my girl…

Re: flipping and gliding
My boy can glide on his bouncer.. as for flipping, mid of nite also wanna flip, end up waking up crying, coz the sleeping bag is preventing him from flipping haha..

Now his pattern changes again, love sleeping squeezing with me.. when I put him back onto cot after his milk, he starts to whine.. sigh!!

<font color="0000ff">prevention for fever arrose from Immunisation:
What we did is, b4 jab, give 30ml of Ling Yang, after jab, another 2 dose of Ling Yang, with intervel of 4hr + 3 doses of Paracetamol 6hrly, even bb has no sign of fever!

Hope this helps!</font>

<font size="+2"><font color="ff0000">Gathering on 27th Aug (Thur)</font></font>
Venue: Taka Baby Fair
Time: 12noon for lunch @ Club Chinois followed by shopping at 2pm.

Let's hope there will be storewide 10%. Then the items will be cheaper than Cheong Choon.

Lunch+Shopping
1)Poohwei (no baby!)
2)Joyce

Shopping only?
1)

Re: Flipping
My #1 started flipping at 2.5 mths and by 3rd month, she was flipping so much that we had difficulties changing her diaper. My #2 till now still shows ZERO sign of flipping. She just want to laze on her rocker/cot. So no worries abt when babies want to flip. But her neck is pretty strong liaoz. Let her sit on the bumbo chair for a while b4 her sister decides to take over the seat...Grr..

Re:Cough
She seems to be coughing MUCH lesser after using the inhaler. Still have some phelgms. Hope that the cough will go away completely by this week.

<font color="ff0000"><font size="+1">Gathering on 27th Aug (Thur) </font></font>
<font color="0000ff">Venue: Taka Baby Fair

Lunch+Shopping
1)Poohwei (no baby!)

Shopping only?
1)Joyce,mil &amp; bb</font>

Re: bringing kids to HK
Hi Shers, not to scare u, but my brother in law's friend brought his 2 toddlers to HK and they being kidnapped in HK disneyland!! After 1st kid went missing, a China man came to offer help but he and 2nd kid went missing after that!!So be extra extra careful.

Re: fever after jab
Hi Joyce, the ling yang can be use concurrently with Paracetamol? My boy developed fever after his 1st and 2nd jab, we just gave him paracetamol.

poohwei,
there is no 20% storewide for taka now. only 10% additional for taka card holder at baby fair.

pastries,
really? seems that either i ask my mum and sisters to go together or i will go with hb only.. thanks!

glenlyn, ya now my boy can drink so much ! last night he drank 3hr interval 220ml each ! so tiring...i have to make 2 times of milk cos i thot 150ml is enuf then he cry immediately the milk finish so i have to quickly make another round of 100ml for him just in case...then he drank another 80ml and happily fall asleep...

good that ur gal can flip successfully. mine still no sign of trying...

joyce, u mean after jab if no fever, can directly give Paracetamol first ? cos i thot got start fever then give Paracetamol...end up jaeden fever 37.8 at night then i give 1 dose his fever subside le

re : shopping at taka bb fair
i prefer quick quick lunch then start shopping ! cos i need to pick up my boy at ifc at 6pm+ then i only can take half day...available after 1pm

my gal now drinks lesser and lesser. initially, 125ml per every 3hrs interval 2 weeks ago. now left 125ml per every 4hrs interval. not sure if the vaccination and bring her to IFC affect her appetite.

Gathering on 27th Aug (Thur)

Lunch+Shopping
1)Poohwei (no baby!)
2)sallen (no baby)

Shopping only?
1)Joyce,mil &amp; bb

joyce, isn't it overkill to give lingyang n paracetemol before fever? Like the idea of giving lingyang, maybe next round of vaccinations. My boy had fever for both injections, worse for second.

He got gum irritation n has been waking up at night munching his fingers. Got the teething gel but hesitate to give him cos has local anesthetic ingredients. Dunno wat to do leh.

Flipping
My boy too lazy to flip now.... Used to attempt but now just lay there.

Sleeping
He got this farnie pattern, everytime after las feed, when I put him down to his cot, he will struggle n cry, kick kick kick. So naughty but cute. Dunno to b angry or laugh, since its the same routine all the time. Ha. How ah, any ideas how I can put him to sleep other than self soothe which he rejects big time.

I've got a fitness club membership to transfer. Thinking of getting another one nearer to where I'm staying now.... Interested pls pm me ok.

porky.. ur boy drinks alot of milk.. my boy tis 2wks make me scare he only drinks 100-120ml on every 4-5 hrs.i stil think need to bring him see pd bo or time to change his milk powder liao..

Hi Shers,
Just thought of telling you so that you can be extra careful if u bringing yr bb to HK. Now HK is different already...

Hi Joyce,
How to prepare the ling yang water? Buy those ready made from Chinese Medical Hall or buy the herbs and brew? Sorry ah, cos I dunnoe abt such stuff wan...

Hi Muffintop, my boy also had fever on both injections. 1st injection, the fever was 38.4!! I am so so worried then. Then on 2nd jab, my colleague told me to give him the Paracetemol immediately after the jab before the onset of fever, and his fever is 37.7.. but last whole day though..

Re: Teething Gel
Saw muffintop's post, so is not safe to give teething gel now? I bought Dentinox teething gel just to standby.

Shers

U didn’t say u want the other time, hubby got one for Meg when he was in Europe last June. Pretty cheap, cost about S$40 only, and nice design.
I have total 4 sleeping bags now – 2 for Meg, 2 for Kea (ex-Meg’s hehe)..

Brought Meg to HK last Aug, so far I think hongkong is really not a family frenly plc, so many stairs to climb! For family holidays, HK is not recommended especially with small tods! I stil can recall carrying the stroller or Meg up and down (that time I didn’t know I was preg, got spotting somemore which I presumed it should be implantation bleeding hahaha) during the 3 days in HK, continue to get spotting wor! Luckily Kea turns out okay

Re: fever
From my personal opinion, I dun give any ling yang water or whatsoever for my girl prior to the jab.. she was okay for all the jabs (slight fever – yes but none turned to high fever).. when I feel her a bit hot after the jab, I gave paracetamol one doze (even if she is only 37.1C hehe) after that okay already.

The GP told me nowadays for jabs, it’s very rare for kid to get high fever already.. but to be safe, once the kid is a bit warm, just gave paracetamol..

Pastries
So dangerous.. I think everywhere also got bad ppl, just make sure we keep an eye on our preciouses!

Lunch+Shopping
1)Poohwei (no baby!)
2)sallen (no baby)
3)Shers (no baby)

Shopping only?
1)Joyce,mil &amp; bb

Where r we meeting for lunch? at club chinois then walk to taka?

pastries,
thanks for your advice. It has been many yrs since i went HK. didnt know that it could be so dangerous. maybe because of the economy? haiz.. money no enough le..

what is ling yang?? is it the white thin strip thing?? if it is, can buy ling yang strip from medical hall. boil water, put it in, add abit of rock sugar to taste. else, can buy off the shelf from medical hall. its quite tasty de. but is it advisable to give infant drink that is sweet and contain sugar?

juju, porky,
i managed to record my mum and sis doing the 4th mth thingy for Shermay.. will try to upload in fb tonite ok?

yeah.. finally sold out my 1st item s26 milk powder..like wat shers say ppl wil cut n cut the price de lor..but it very fun to sell items on e-bay,adv n forum..

haiz..but stil got a philips avent pump not sold out yet..n ppl wanted to buy pump also funny de lor..already told her tis pump can converts into manual use,stil not belive say need go double check again..Zzzz..

cola,
its ok la. i didnt think of buying until i need it. hahaa.. i will buy through BP. can collect immediately. thanks! Shermay has been glidding alot these few days. kinda worried during nite time when i'm deep in slp, she will glide and fall off..

RE: teething
i bought teethers for Shermay also. but same la, she doesnt like it. she just holds it and continue to suckle another hand.. but i bought the organic teething gel for her. havent try it yet. will do so if her gum is swollen or red.

bean,
dont think baby fair got 20%. i think more to bundle sales and selective items only.. but definitely there is 10% additional for card members.

sallen,
thats y lor.. i think my legs will turn jelly if walk over.. whahhaa.. unless we just settle lunch at taka.. got to ask poohwei liao.. she is the organiser for this..

Shers

Haha.. your shermay sleeps on bed? Mine sleep in cot, so it’s okay hehe even if he glides he wont fall off
Yest I heard a loud bang on the cot railing.. he was boxing the railings using his hands..

I am so sleepy and busy now.. seems like my supply has gone haywire hahaha coz during the weekends I normally latch him fully and at the same time need to pump coz scared on Monday not enough milk for him..

Sallen, shers
Walk a bit lar, not that far and can flatten down the bulging tummy after big buffet lunch hehe..

my boy also fever for both jab....next jab will give paracetamol immediate..

shers, ok u ul in fb then i go see see

sallen, congrats on ur 1st sale ! sure got ppl buy one..but u must be willing to slash the price low low..hahaha

Lunch+Shopping
1)Poohwei (no baby!)
2)sallen (no baby)
3)Shers (no baby)

Shopping only?
1)Joyce,mil &amp; bb
2) porky_jean (no baby !)

cola,
ya. Shermay slps on bed. I have cot at home also but dont really like to let her slp on cot because last time, Shermin can kick her legs and hands, banging the side of the cot though i put bumper at the sides. so cot is white elephant at home for diaper changing only. For Shermin, she used dream bag is good, can control her turning/ flipping. so wan to use on Shermay also. else, every nite, i will be slping in no peace. when come to weekend, i dont have to worry because we go home and she will slp at the side of the bed with padding.

now i dont latch already.. only evening/ nite and morning before i get ready for work. so she is mainly bottle fed.

u want another nursing poncho of mine?? whahhaa..

hmm... i rather keep my bulging tummy than walk.. whahhaa.. by the time i reach taka, i cannot shop already.

porky,
u dont wan to join us for lunch? i also take half day so i can only reach ard 1pm if i fly.. whahhaa..
actually the fair is something like last yr. i think within 2-3hrs, can finish already.. so even we have nice 2 hrs lunch, also can de.
i also need to leave ard 5pm because by then, my Bs will be calling out for me.. hehe

Shers: My girl had her first jab of 5in1 and her fever was at 38.5 :/ Gave her paracetemol then temp dropped but hovered around 37.8.

hmmm... how high a fever is considered high???

Shers

U are so naughty hahaha..
Another nursing poncho.. wah wah wah.. that will be a bit too many already keke.. I seldom bring bb out, so the poncho is only used for covering me while pumping in office :p

Sallen
Haha I managed to sell my 2 tins of mamex gold step 1, plus my 2 packs of mamy poko – my dear boy outgrows the diapers so fast..

porky,shers go lunch at Club Chinois leh..the foods over there look yummy yummy..hahaha..

cola hahaha..me old aunty liao cant walk too far de lor.. and the weather also very hot..we see how many of them goin lunch then we take a cab to taka..

Sallen
In my case, I sell it cheaper.. coz logically if we dun sell it cheap, ppl would rather buy from supermarket nearby..
Blame hubby, very kiasu, bought 2 tins at one go.. and for the mamy poko, my boy is rather fast in growing, cannot use coz it’s too short for him..

Ya some mummies are quite extreme, I have spares for ameda parts and I put up for sale, they can bargain hor.. ie.. the sale price should be S$66, they bargain S$50 can or not ler.. extreme rite? Somemore it’s brand new stuff..

fireflies,
actually i didnt take Shermay's temperature after her jab. because PD says only 5% will have fever but even with fever, also less than 38. so i dont care. anyway she was ok except for slpy. hmm.. maybe i really bo chup?

cola,
yr office no meeting room to use for pumping? y need poncho to cover? i still bought 1 nice and expensive nursing cover. ended, no use also.. so intend to use that as sunshine for pram. haiz.. online shopping is so additive.. whahha.. but i dont dare to start playing planting and harvesting because that is even more addictive. hwhaha..

sallen,
i also want to go club chinois because the food looks so yummy.. hehhee.. i dont really care abt the baby fair.. i join more to the food. whahaha..

sallen, shers, i can join in for the lunch also. ya i think if it is same like last year, then also nothing much to see...i only need to get new bottles and teats and pacifier...

Re: Milk intake
My baby has been drinking less milk! I initally thot that she's rejecting bottles (cos she's mainly latched every 3 hrs no matter she cries for milk or not) so we try starving her until she really wants milk. Today she only drank 150ml after 5hrs (before that she only drank 50ml EBM &amp; comfort latch for <10mins). Is she teething? She likes to suck on everything (her hands, her bean pillow, our clothes, our fingers). She also haven't pooed for ONE WEEK! She's on TBF but we'd been trying to feed her FM and gripe water to make her poo but she only takes very little FM (only 20-30ml) and doesn't take much water. HOW????

Re: Fever after jab
I don't give paracetemol even tho' my gal has slight fever after her first 6-in-1. She didn't delevop fever for her second jab. I realised the trick is to keep her cool after her jab so we let her sleep in air con room (she usually doesn't sleep in air con room). For her second jab, her temp went slightly up then dropped after we let her sleep in air con. My mum say don't give med unnecessarily cos must train baby's body to fight the vaccine naturally.

Shers, what are the things to prepare for 4th month? Can list here? I told my mum about it and she's clueless, say last time we never do anything, only "eat" the chicken that was used for praying..

porky,
i ordered avent BPA-free bottles from a BP. only $24 dual pack 260ml. very very cheap.. i'm going to collect this evening.

tiny_m,
different pple got different pattern. for mine, my mum will start by shaving her hair. then after shower, my mum will 'feed' Shermay with mee sua, chicken drumstick, mushroom, prawn, spring onion (represent vege). then my mum tied 10 marie biscuit using red thread and hang over Shermay. then wipe it over her mouth then distribute to family members to eat. this is a brief that bb will not drool saliva.

hhmm... for the saying of each meaning of mee sua etc, i have it recorded. will upload to fb tonite.. but alot of giggling noise la.. because my mum and sis were giggling their way as they said... hehhee..

tinyM, actually when i bring my boy for 1st jab...i did not knw abt this trick...so mil say dont like bb catch cold..thats why we never blow the fan at him...few hrs later he got fever...very fast...

so this time round, after the jab, we bring him home and immediately blow a fan at him then put him to sleep...no fever until night time i find that he is rather sleepy and moody...not active already...so i tested him and realise got fever liao...btw my boy cant sleep in aircon..he will get stuffy nose..