(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

expressing at work:
I had 2 trial session of office working from 9.30am to 5.30pm, pumped twice & I could get a total of 360ml, abt 180ml each session.. just nice for my bb's day consumption while I was away!

shers,
the mary jane socks for 0-12mths not v small leh.. i bgt for fren's gal.. can only start wearing from 3mths n is loose.. my boy bgt the blank frank.. still loose now lor..
v nice.. i can show u this weekend if i take the spare parts fr u..

Re: travelling
the h1n1 is suppose to peak during monsoon period?? i tot of gg macau n hk in nov leh...

Re: Playtex liner

Hi Joyce,
Think ur Ikea Clip is "Too high" up from what i can see from ur picture. Other mummies who are using playtex liners, correct me if i am wrong. Max volume is 180ml. Try to make sure that the entire clip is below the "Match line wit top of nurser rim" line.

So far, Shers has tried it again n she says its ok liaoz. Didn't leak already. U try with water first again? Mine will leak if i m stingy n try to pack as much as i can.

Hi Andrea,
You may want to slowly mix the ebm into fm again? Your boy is more than 3 mth old already right? You may wanna start with 90% FM + 10% EBM and slowly increase the composition of ebm again. Prepare the FM first and mixed it with warmed EBM. Try for a day and see if your boy's tummy can accept it cos some babies cannot take FM+EBM mixture. FM is much sweeter than EBM!! Maybe thats why ur boy is rejecting EBM?

ling, wow ! u gg macau and hk in nov ? then ur bb ur mum look after ah ? so good leh...actually me & hb plan to go bkk in nov (our anniversary) but now have to cancel liao....so sad

joyce,
ya.. u store too full already. this is what i did 1st time. leak leak.. best is ard 180ml..

juju,
i told my mum that i wan to record her saying on sat.. she quickly said i siao!! whahaha... yesterday was too tired so didnt ask her to say that.. this evening, i try to ask her to say and i record..

linglim,
its not small?? hehehe.. thats nice.. anyway lily will share with me.. whahhaa.. so cute hor.. i wanted to buy the tied shoe laces also.. so man.. whahaha.. because not all outfits go well with mary jane.. whahhaa

btw, i was planning to go macau and hk in dec with hb.. because i have force leave.. check out for jetstar friday promotion from 2pm onwards.. usually quite attractive de.. better to get 1 way from sg to macau and 1 way from hk to sg.. think can take other transport from macau to hk.. pretty cheap also.. not sure whether my hb wants to bring Shermin along ornot.. coz hk and macau shld be pretty safe for toddler..

porky,
am going to bangkok in oct to pray pray.. been 2 yr since i go there and pray pray... every yr, i will go there and 'renew' my 'fu'..
y u need to cancel yr trip??

stupid mummy here did not put bb back in centre of bed after latching... 4am, woke up to bb's cries, she's on the floor! now in kk for observation, initial chk shows she's ok. now waiting for neuro doc to come & chk bb. realli stupid mummy

juju,
dont be upset. this happened to me also during Shermin's time.. 1st time mummy tends to be more careless.. when jodie falls, how she land on the floor? head? what i did was to give her some water/ milk. then observe her whether she vomit ornot.. but i did the same as u.. i brought her to kkh to make sure everything is fine..

dont blame yrself..

flommy,
ya lor. lucky, neuro docs came by & said jodie looks ok, & no swelling of brain. shld be ok. later chk again, if still the same, can go home this evening. realli scary. kena "scolding" by them also. tell us to sleep on the floor

shers,
no idea. when we saw her, she was alrdy on the floor, lying on her back. haiz... glad dat i latched her before coming to kk, at least can tell docs whether she vomit or not.
hubby blaming me lor. now, i'm banished to sleep on the inner side of the bed... but got 1 pillar there... dunno wat will happen next.

juju,
dont blame yrself.. no one wants this to happen.. haiz.. thats y after that incident, my hb and me decided to custom made a jointing bed so that she wldnt fall again. bb at this stage, we never know when they will turn, flip..

maybe u want to consider what i did??

2832773.jpg

This morning, when i wanted to latch Shermay, i realised that she has turned 90degrees.. her head is just next to my tummy and legs at the edges of the bed.

i told my mum and maid abt this. to remind them that she might embarking to another milestone. not to place her on bed even for awhile, especially after dressing her.

mummies, just be cautious..

juju,

i bought this.. take a look.. u might wan to consider. this is for thicker mattress

http://www.kidzloft.com/index.php?main_page=product&cPath=11&products_id=421&manufacturers_id=

this is for thinner mattress

http://www.kidzloft.com/index.php?main_page=product&cPath=11&products_id=254&manufacturers_id=

usually kizloft has 50% sales every here and there.. i got mine during 50%.. so ard $70. very worth it because other places r selling at $140+

the brand is 'safety first'

ju, oh dear, hope jodie will be fine! gd that u latch her -- will help to calm her... u take care also -- must be too tired from juggling between work, family n baby!

Juju

Hope Jodie is okay. Since u have brought her to KK, dun worry too much let the dr check on her.
Most important u have to see if she vomits or not.. if not, normally u will find only baluku on her head.

This happens to all mummies (inc me – total 3 times~! On Meg)..

1st time – Meg was 8 mths old to be exact, playing with me on bed, and just somersault to the floor when she suddenly lied down! Scared me to death..
2nd time – Meg was exact 9 mths old, 2 days before we went to KohSamui, she was learning to stand already, and suddenly the chair that she was holding on just topple on her.. she landed on the kitchen floor – head first, chair on top of her (I was preparing her milk)… super big baluku at the back of her head, scared me to a real death.. I observed her overnite, no vomit, sleep as normal.. next day brought her to PD, PD checked her.. okay.. no vomiting in 24 hours.. should be quite safe..
3rd time – cant remember when, but slightly more than 1 yo.. hubby hugged her to sleep (she slept at the bed’s edge), mid of nite, we heard a loud bang.. and blur hubby still dunno what happen but look around in the cot (I thought she jumped out from the cot).. she got v huge baluku on forehead.. cried till no sound while eyes are still closed!!! Now this blur hubby dun dare to hug her to sleep coz we never know we might doze off..

Dun blame yourself already k, this happens to almost everyone, now that we all sleep on mattress (bb in cot), so when I latch him at nite, I am not worry of him dropping to floor (compared to sleeping on bed).. just be more alert next time k..

cola,
wow!! happened to Megan 3 times?? 1 time for Shermin is enough to scare me to death already.

now u slp on mattress? i cannot slp on mattress. my old body will kill me.. i will wake up with whole body aching

Juju - Don't blame urself, I'm sure you didn't want it to happen, Jodie will be blessed and well k.

My Terence fell off his cot onto my bed when he was barely 1 mth old! he was sandwiched sideways on my bed and the cot, I discovered him at 4am in the morning! He didn't cry so I didn't know for how long he was sandwiched there!!

Shers

Yes, 3 times in total.. first time she somersaulted, ended on floor, but I think it’s butt first, so no swelling whatsoever on head..
2nd time, lie flat on floor from standing position, this is the scariest, coz the baluku was such a big one, at the back of her head (scared the fall will shake her brain :p)
3rd time it’s the careless daddy who placed her on the bed edge side..during that time she can talk already, I am so scared she will go blur blur, middle of nite, I asked her “U know who I am?” She said MUMMY.. then I said “No I am Grandpa..” she still answered me: “NO!! You are mummy, mummy, mummy!” this proves her brain stil functions accordingly hahaha

I am super traumatized by these incidents, so now it’s all all the things are done on floor!

For babies, same thing, I put her on the bumper mat on the floor for his activity time rather than on bed.. safer.. and now that he learns flipping.. we should put extra cautions on them..

Oh not to scare anyone, I’ve read on a report, a baby 3 mth old, fell on floor, when his mom found him, he was dead coz of broken neck bone..
Can’t afford to be careless..

RE: mattress
Sea Horse mattress is quite good, coz super firm.. so far no complain from hubby so should be okay hehe..

I will be at taka today (after work) coz got meeting at orchard, I wil bio bio the baby fair first. Hubby said the bank called him said taka card will be ready very soon.. hehe so today can only see see..

cola,
ya.. my mum also asks me not to worry because she did everything on the floor.. whahhaa.. even on bouncer, she also tie safety belt.. just need to remind helper. coz sometimes they might think its just awhile

taka baby fair starts already?? thought its next thursday??

poohwei,
btw, confirm what food to eat?? if club chinos then i will join.. whahhaa.. else i will go on 31aug because that day i'm on leave to bring Shermay for jab.. then can shop after that

bean,
saw yr fb.. baby bean bean - claire is so cute.. so chubby.. CUTE!

resembles u.. especially the eyes part..

shers,
jodie alrdy started turning some time bk. i suspect she fell when she started to rotate herself agn.
@ 1am, i woke up to latch her, she had flipped to be on her tummy & "eh eh eh" away!
mine is platform bed alrdy. told hubby to set bed railing, but he say no diff. so bo bian lor, jus to be more careful. i try to convince him agn la.

adv,
yes, jodie's fine now. we shld be goin hm today

Re: Falling off the bed
My gal started falling off the bed since she was 4 mths old. We left her on the bed and i dozed off..Next moment, she rolled off the bed liaoz. Think she fell umpteen times off the bed. Now that she loves to do sumersault, my king sized bed is all surrounded by mattress!! My masterbedroom dun look like a room loh...hehehe.

rc,
ya, no vomit, but baluku coming out le. nurse came to say can go bk 1pm, then i told her abt baluku, she say chk wif doc again.
oh, but Meg was 8 mths old when 1st time happened. jodie now only 3.5 mths nia...
so glad hubby dun read forum, so wun noe ur story of 3mth old break neck due to fall... yikes!
mine also sea horse. problem is ours is platform bed, no space on the floor to bring mattress down
taka bb fair start 27th aug leh

piangz... how did terence get stuck btw bed & cot? nvr cry ah?

hehe.. mine also firm mattress.. think pregnancy made us wanted to slp on as hard as possible mattress ya.. hahhaa

poohwei,
think toddlers at this stage love doing dangerous stuff that scared the hell out of us.. but i have been reminding Shermin that she cannot stand on the bed. only can crawl, kneel, squat or lie down.. so she dont dare to stand up. sometimes when she forgot, she stands, i will tell her 'later baluku, how?' then she will sit down..

think we can train them from young. for Shermin since birth, when i cleaned her ears using cotton earbuds, i will tell her 'mummy is digging yr ears, dont move.. otherwise pain pain'. so far, she doesnt dare to move an inch. for Shermin, i'm doing the same as well.. but everytime i clean, she will keep still until i finish. not sure because its very 'song' or she 'understands'

juju,
think platform bed cannot put bedrail.. like that, when Jodie grows older, then how? still slp together or u r going to train her not to co-slp?

flommy,
ya.. how did Terence manage to turn and sandwich in between the gap.. so cute.. can imagine..

he didnt cry maybe because the feeling is like being cruddle?

Juju/Shers - I let him sleep chest down coz he feels safer, he didn't like to sleep face up when he was a few weeks old. So he will move/"crawl", i think he slowly moved down from the cot and slipped sideways down.

Shers - you are probably right ley, he didn't cry coz he probably felt cuddled.

Re: Dangerous stunts

I have woken up a few times already and found the beanbag covering my girl's face/neck. Sometimes the towel which I put as a weight on her legs also fly.

Don't know how she manage to get the beanbag from her tummy to the face while squirming in her sleep. But she never make noise or cry out. Only continue squirming.

Wonder why she doesn't call out.

Every time my baby wakes up don't know why I will automatically wake up. My husband will still be sleeping like a log. ;p

shers,
our mattress alrdy bot when reno house after wedding.
intend to let jodie co-slp wif us until she wan her own bed.
cos see ard, the kids always crawl bk to parents' bed when given own bed. so save ourselves the trouble la.
anyway, hubby say dun buy extra things like bedrail liao. jus make me slp inside, next to the wall. then i will always keep the side lamp on. hee...

flommy,
hee... jodie will "eh eh eh" & cry when put on her tummy for too long.

ibite,
ya, jodie's fine le. baluku jus come out, waiting for doc to see if ok to go home still

abby,
think when they kick, butt also go up. so beanbag may slide to their face. dat's wat happen to jodie. her blanket can end up covering her chest only.
think is mother's instinct, so u wake up when bb wake up.

juju78:

Daytime my girl sleeps in sarong or in pram when out for walks. At night my girl still sleeps swaddled in her cot. But we leave the legs unswaddled. Her hands like to go to her head or face, so she will unknowingly wake herself up. Don't know when can stop unswaddling her.

The Kiddopotamus swaddle can use till baby is 9kg+. I'm using Mothercarer Miracle Blanket.

Since she's swaddled we don't put blanket. Sleeping in air con room though.

Her legs love to kick although sleeping, so will kick the towel I use as weight off, then when not in deep sleep already she will start to stir and squirm. Then I must let her suckle and go back to sleep.

I read that younger babies are mostly in light sleep. Waiting for when she's older so can sleep deep deep.

Jus fin expressing, express earlier coz need to adjust the afternoon session to pump at 2, got meeting after that.

Ya just checked the webby, bb fair starts on 27  not this week..
I am eyeing for A/X stuff, so later can go browse hahaha..

Juju
Not to worry too much, as long as no vomit, it’s okay one 

Shers
Yes me too, always ensure the bouncer belt is tied up whenever Kea is on it..
As for my girl, hm.. sometimes they forgot they cant do a lot of stuff on the bed..

Re: digging ears
Meg loves digging ears, I think it’s “Song” hahaha coz she will close her eyes enjoying the digging.. and can dun move at all for 15 mins or more hahaha..

juju: Thank God Jodie is fine. Just watch out for signs of decreased appetite, drowsiness, excessive painful crying.

Really must have gave you a huge shock.

abby, my boy has decreased appetite, nap more n cry more after vaccinations. Is that something of concern? He didn't fall...

Thanks for clarifications, won't go taka today liaoz.

abby, this is the fifth day from vaccinations. He yak lesser n wake up in the middle of the night crying. Miss my cheerful boy. Hope he will revert soon. So just monitor Lah..

Gg back to work next week, got myself a new wardrobe. Heehee. Can't fit into pre pregnancy clothes and maternity clothes too big. Now up one size. Any shoes sale? Charles and keith has, but not very nice. Wan to wack some shopping before gg back. Excited to doll up and not be huang lian po

Muffintop: Ya just monitor 1st. I remembered my Pri 6. MMR vaccination made our arms very suan. Even switching on the light had to use the other arm to support. Our teacher decided not to give us homework. Hahah!

I tried putting my girl down yesterday after her evening feed. Previously I will hold her for an hour cos she will wake up less than 1 hour later. In the end she woke up crying 40mins after I had showered and soaked my clothes. I fed her for another 5 mins and she slept all the way past midnight.

Going to try again this evening...

Shers.. Thanks. haha Shermin and Shermay are super cutie too! Especially when I see Shermay who looks totally like shermin.. so cute, the 2 of them! heee

Haiz..Just came back from PD!! Brought my gal to see the PD again this morning cos she was not getting any better with her cough. PD sent her for X-RAY!! and blood test. I was so shocked and scared cos PD suspected that she may have contacted bronchitis or pneumonia. Thank goodness that it was only very very mild bronchitis. But she has to be on inhaler + antibiotics + singulair. Even the staff nurse who taught me how to use the inhaler commented that my gal is so pitiful..so young then must use inhaler liao..Of course, my pocket also kena burnt!! $224!! Luckily can claim insurance!

poohwei,
wat kinda cough ur gal hv?
dun scare me... my gal's cough hv not recovered, more than a week le. but then, i din give her meds regularly, on & off when she cough more than 1 sound

update : doc confirmed jodie is fit & ok to go home. but still have to observe her till 24 hrs is up. anything weird must go back.

joyce,
sorry, can't go ur place. hubby & me very tired since morning, & raining so heavily some more.

abby,
pri 6 jab is called MMR?? not BCG?? after each jab, will have suan suan arm.. thats y my mum always says after each jab, bb will be slight cranky.. dont worry, muffintop. Raphael shld be ok.

bean,
all babies r cute especially when they r chubby.. hehehe..

flommy,
maybe Terence wants potty?

poohwei,
oh no.. must be the weather that made xuan xuan cough.. hope she is getting better.. maybe keep her warm might help to lessen her cough pain?

hi all mummies,
i've not come into the forum for a looooooooong time! been busy with the girls and also "farming" on fb...

quite a jialat addiction! whenever the kids are asleep, i'll be plowing and harvesting away till quite late! until my hubby said he is very fed up with the goat and chicken sound from my game! when my older girl is back from school, we will play pet society...aiyo, i gotta break this habit soon! but i think its better than online shopping! its free, hehehee....

juju,
am so glad to know that jodie is ok! dun blame urself, these things happen. u must have a really rough morning! take care okie.

Juju

Tried to give yr girl ba bao san, buy for eu yan san, that is for cold and cough, something like bao ying dan. Check with the ppl in eu yan san.
It's very good. I have that at home.

Glad to hear jodie is okay

Shers: BCG at Pri 6 they will do a skin test, if the mark is more than the required length don't need to take. If no reaction have to get jab lor.

MMR is given at Pri 6. It's the booster dose.

So far my baby is fine after the jabs.