(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

poohwei - the food is really good and service is superb! i brought 2 frens there yesterday and stayed on to chat until 5pm even though lunch hr is until 2.30pm. they nvr chased us out and continued to serve us tea. value for money deal, hee.

juju, i think ur counting is correct lah...jaeden born on 14th day 4th month chinese calender..so jodie is 1 day earlier than jaeden...just now my mil say cannot shave early...must shave on actual day and eat all the things on actual day...aiya, so confuse lah..everyone say different thing...my mum say can shave early...so i dunno must listen to who...

shers, must eat biscuits ah ? what brand ? i haven go and buy yet...hahaha

i wont bring bb out...usually aft work will fetch and go home directly...i think now aft 3rd month, jaeden is more cranky...tough loh...at night dont wan to sleep...kick and kick then talk and talk so much...must entertain him until 10pm+ then he finally happy and fall asleep...

wah 27th aug gathering i might be gg...can take half day leave...wahahaha

Wow, the buffet sounds good, very suitable for us bfg mummies who need to eat a lot!!!! haha

Just fin expressing..
My EBM seems to be decreasing especially for the right B.. can only pump out 90ml dunno y ler..
scared the supply suddenly drop, how how how? i have been drinking lots of fluid ler, but dunno y no full full feeling..

porky,
wow.. yrs even more confusing.. mil says this.. mother says another.. luckily, my mil everything also 'ask yr mother. i dont know le' whhahaa
i dont know what brand le.. i ask my mum tonite ok? then keep u updated.. whaha.. think only the 3 of us mummies gan cheong abt this shaving.. whahhaa

i agree that sometimes Shermay doesnt want to drink milk.. want to talk and play..

i might take half day also.. so tempting..

wow... the buffet really sounds yum yum...

porky,
conflicting hor? i will jus see wat my mum or my aunt say. anyway, mil dunno these rituals, cos diff dialect.
at least jaeden kick and talk then sleep.
now, jodie like to wake up at wee hrs to slap, kick, talk. maybe dat's why i'm getting more tired...

rc,
though my supply not as gd as urs. i find dat the full feeling takes longer & longer to come liao... also worry no supply...

cola,
hahaha.. want to go together?? take half day?

my right B is always lesser than right B. dont know y. after expressing, i feel empty lor. dont feel lumps or full.. do u feel lumps even after u pump?

Shers
I am taking leave on 26th ler, coz it's my girl bday.. dun think can take on 27th again ler..

Ya after feeding, no more lump
but left B is fuller ler, like for the past 2 days i have been waking up at 4am or 3am just to pump, one of the Bs will be v full coz bb only latch on 1 before he slept, the full B i can get about 180ml.. (i only pump one B if i woke up at wee hour hahaha)

Juju
Dun say that lar, my supply is sufficient for bb with a bit extra for Meg, that's all..

Time to go home!!

shers, tats why i confusing loh...each people say diff thing...then my mum say sui bian lah u listen to ur mil loh...she also dont wan to involve liao...u let me knw the brand ya ?

juju, jodie slap herself ?? jaeden is kicking non-stop like wan attention like dat...then must talk to him until he happy...gosh..i also very tiring only sleep few hrs...

cola,

I was telling my friend.. rather spend this money to get good carrier with better support rather than having something that hurts our body.. to fix our body may needs more $$.. haven told this to hubby.. cola,

I was telling my friend.. rather spend this money to get good carrier with better support rather than having something that hurts our body.. to fix our body may needs more $$.. haven told this to hubby..

$150 is acceptable to me, not $200+ le..

Club Chinois,

sounds tempting, but, look at the dress code! Smart Casual.. cannot even wear jeans!

<font color="119911">Dress Code : As a courtesy to other guests, smart casual attire is required. We apologise that guests in sleeveless shirts, t-shirts, bermudas, shorts, jeans, sandals and slippers will not be admitted. Kindly switch mobile phones to silent mode.</font>

Any other locations for quick lunch, then shop shop shop!

re: washable breastpads
poohwei, ju n 915, i was thinking of sewing buttons to secure it to the bra -- kept falling out...

re: avent manual pump
-shers, wat does the spare parts consist of?
-any mummies try to pump without the petal thingy at the funnel? coz mine always trap milk in it -- find it such a waste...
- my supply is dipping even before i go back to work *faint* think i will stick to my avent manual instead of getting a dual electric pump for work...

re: Club Chinois
feb_mum, thanks for the lead -- sure looks yummy! good that joyce pointed out the dress code -- else i will not be admitted in my jeans...

re: cold hands n feets
my bb's hands n feets felt cold these 2 days -- she is feeding n pooing as per normal, temperature ok... no air-con room for her... should i look out for anything else?

adv sport,
my boy hand n feet will b cold when he is excited... hehe.. like moving hands n kicking legs vigorouly.. so i think shld b fine

re club chinois - i forgot to inform my frens abt the dress code and they went in jeans and sports sandals. they were admitted with no issue but i got 'scolded' by them, haha. i tink as long as you wear stg presentable, shdn't be a prob.

rc,
if my supply goes on like dat, my reserves will be gone &amp; my pumping will not yield enuff for her feed. sianz...

porky,
nope, she will slap us until we wake up to either entertain or feed her.

shers,
my mum say the biscuit is "pong pia" wor. thread 10 pcs together &amp; let bb "eat".

ling, so cute -- ur boy will hv cold hands/feets when excited
hmm, my gal not particularly excited these 2 days leh... anyway, as long she is feeding n pooing, m ok

re: big feed
2day my gal breaks her record -- drank 190ml in 1 feed(EBM 130ml + FM 60ml)... any mummies with babies who feed that much??
for the past 2+ weeks, she is on 4-hourly feed -- 7am(latch), 11am(EBM+FM), 3pm(EBM+FM), 7pm(FM)... she is asking for more n more -- is it ok to feed so much in 1 feed? maybe she is trying to "store up" for the long nite?

Adv sports,

I think its okie lah regarding the feeds. My girl drank abt 170ml then when she reach abt 3.5mths, she went on a nursing strike in the evening. You can watch out for that. After the nursing strike, she is back to abt 150ml.

See you tmr!

I'm running out of freezer space for my ebm, should do some donation now! Any taker, only request for token for milk bag! Milk are dated in end Jun and early Jul. I can donate about 8packs. Pls pm me.

2day come online late need time to read all ur posting tat I've not seen!

Wow! Sher,
Shermay looks very cutie in the pic u ve posted.
I like the leg warmer u use on her, look so pretty!

Hi rc,

I'm scared of milk supply drop and stop due to my #1 time exp, cos my 2 kids dont like direct feed so must EBM and to maintian before it is too late!

Moreover, I don't know what amt is consider good eg. Each time can EBM of what amt is good and how many per 24 hrs? Like I dont EBM so many time per day only 3-4 times, cos if I EBM within 3-4 hrs I get very little milk eg 240-300ml only.
But if I prolong to 6-8hrs I can get more eg 400-500ml.

So, is it I shldnt take fenugreek since my supply is this much? Pls adv me all the exp mummies here!

Thkq in advance ya!

Hi rc n adv,

Re: Cold feet
Both of ur little one still wearing and booties or socks? Try to rub some "Yu Yee Oil" on ur hand plam then hold on to ur little one feet, after tat put on booties or socks for them not only doing in the nite shld also in the day as long as u all feel their feet is cold cos will get "cold" ok? This is a little advice from me

I am selling my Pumpin' Pal Super Shields (medium size) which I bought last month. I only tried to use once as it is not the right size for me. See http://www.mumsfairy.com/index.php?option=com_content&amp;task=view&amp;id=25&amp;Itemid=31&amp;productid=7 for more info.

"This pair of angled breast shield allows most mums to sit back in a more comfortable, natural position while pumping.

Super Shields are Bisphenol A (BPA) Free and made with medical grade Polypropylene. Compatiable with all leading brands of breastpumps, including Ameda, Medela and Avent."

Anyone interested?

Long time never post cos these few days my gal having flu! Nothing serious but she keeps waking up due to her blocked nose and taking little but frequent milk feeds so gotta keep fussing around her.

Re: Babies with cough
The last time my PD taught me to rub Ru Yi Oil on baby's back to help relieve the cough. Mummies with coughing babies can try it!

Re: Baby's insurance
My baby's insurance only covers public hospital cos my agent said most children's cases are referred to KKH anyway and KKH is supposed to have the best medical equipment. But after seeing Audrey's and Jean's bad experience, I think I wanna change to cover private hospital. Any advice?

Re: 4 month shaving
My mum said dun need to do on actual day. We're doing it on 1 Sep cos my mum see the huang li, it's apparently a good day to cut hair. I'm still dunno if just cut a bit of the hair or shave off.. I'll feel very sad if gotta shave off baby's hair cos her hair is so cute now! What are the things to eat for 4th month celebration?

Re: Baby's discharge
The last time I attended Mrs Wong prenatal class, she said it's very normal for baby girls to have blood discharge on first few days and baby boys to have milk coming out from nipples cos they still have mummy's hormones left in them. I dunno about white discharge. I don't notice it for my gal.

Re: Milk
I need advice from mummies!
My baby has been latching on all the time so I dunno how much she's drinking. She's on a 2-3hrly feed (most of the times 8-11-2-5) but in between if she fusses (eg. sleepy but cannot sleep), i'll latch her on. As I'll be going back to work in a month's time, I wanna get her used to a schedule so easier for my mum when she takes care of her. But when I try to feed her EBM from the bottle (her feeding time but she's not crying for milk yet), she doesn't wanna drink, just play play then drink at most 30ml. Tried twice, the same thing happen.
Questions..
(1) Should I stop latching her in between feeds so her feeding schedule gets established?
(2) The amount I pump out is very little (at most 160ml in the morn after 4-5hrs; the rest of the times I never try cos bb latching most of the times). Will my supply drop if I switch to pumping instead of latching?
(3) Do I feed baby with bottle when she's crying for milk or when it's her feeding time?
(4) How to make baby drink more milk to stretch feeding interval?
(5) My baby doesn't take pacifier (tried a few times but she dun like) but she wanna suck before she can sleep. She's 3 months plus now, should I try to give her pacifier again?
(6) I'm still using newborn teats. Should I change to faster flow teats so she can drink better?
Really need help on this! Very exasperated cos my baby's routine like very haywire like that due to latching and dunno what to do when I go back to work!

Shers: Shermay looks so much like a miniature Shermin! This is the first time I see Shermay's pic! So chubby!

hi joyce,
hv you tried the Ergo Baby Carrier before?? thot of buying also but not sure comfy not? tried before other brands but they are heavy itself even without baby.

bought several sarong slings but never use also becos the hooks on the shoulder hurts :p

tiny, I faced the same issues when preparing to go back to work. I realized that I have to stop latching between feeds. This is wat I do to ensure my bb takes bottles n I can pump enough.

Morning after first feed at 7, pump
Next feeds at 9, 12, 3, 6 bottle. Watch for hunger cue. First intro bottles when he is really hungry. Get someone else to feed if bb fuss. When I first fed him bottles, he looked at me w raised brows, like confused. Haha.

Pump after first feed, 11 n 4. Some mummies gave good advice of pump twice cos u prob can't pump according to bb feed times at work.

After a while, will b able to increase ur pump vol. My supply is just enough for my boy, also manage to pump 250ml﹑ 200 ml and about 180ml in the three pumps.

Hope this is useful

brought myboy for 2nd dose of vaccinations n he had fever yesterday. At 3.5 months, he is 7.7kg n 63:5cm. After vaccinations, he got no appetite n fuss a bit.

my bb has a lot of eye discharge that is yellowish when dry n crusty. Pd said its because eye duct not developed n must message. Mil said I'm too heaty n have to take cooling drinks. Any mummies experience this? Total Bm for bb..

porky, juju and ling lim,
my mum says the biscuits is called 'money pia' whahhaa.. dont know what is that!!! but she says khong guan also has.. its those plain biscuit.. almost the same as what juju's mum says.. tied 8 or 10 biscuits on the string then put around baby's neck.. use the biscuit to wipe bb's mouth then pass the biscuits to mummy/ daddy, grandparents, aunty/ uncles..

ling lim, mee sua means long life, mushroom means mouth smell nice nice, drumstick means always got meat to eat, prawns means lips red red blah blah.. i dont know how to say in actual words but i heard my grandma and mum say before..

i dont know the meaning of this 4th month shaving and 'eating'.. but i just follow.

adv-sports,
the spare parts of avent parts is funnel, star things another is the control rubber.. all rubbery things.

poohwei,
if eat at club chinos, i will take leave and join u mummies.. whahhaa.. i join because of food!! whahhaa

mummyjan,
the leg warmer is cute hor.. i bought 6!! whahaha.. because every sat, Shermin goes to class at united square and Shermay will be waiting outside with helper. so better 'wrap' her up.

tiny_m,
Shermay is almost the minature of Shermin but Shermay's face is oval while Shermin is round. both of them look like daddy!! only the Below *opps* looks like mine! whahhaa

mummyjan,

i bought at 1 of the BP. quite long time ago before i gave birth.

i think 1 pair is abt $7. u want? i let go 2 pairs to u?

Muffintop: My girl also on total BM but don't have alot of discharge. Every day I clean her face twice. Once in the morning after bath and another time after wipe down.

Re: Cleaning tongue, mouth and gums
I don't really do it. Sometimes I see my girl's tongue got white patch and sometimes don't have. I bought 1 box of Spiffies (mango flavour) but it says use from 4 months onwards.

I put my girl to sleep at 6 plus. By 7 plus she will be knocked out and I will put her in the cot. My girl these 2 nights wake up at 11plus, 1/2 plus and 5 plus. Hopefully she will learn to sleep through the night soon.

mummyjan,
i will take pic tonite. the leggings r free size. Shermin still can wear but tight at thighs..
yr elder is around 1 yr old? i think shld be able to unless she has fat thighs as well. hehhe

juju, jodie so cute..slap u until u wake up to feed her...sometimes i overslept when jaeden is hungry...he will keep banging the mattress with his fists but his eyes still closed...hahaha...so sleepy and yet hungry

adv, jaeden also will get cold hands and feets..but aft rub with ruyi oil, and put on mittens and booties, they will feel very warm and nice to touch..u can try

Joyce
I think i might not buy any carrier at this point in time.. haha.. i dun hope to carry my boy too long next time hehe..
tho it's so tempting

Juju
So long as yr supply is sufficient for Jodie, dun think too much, Jia Yio!

Shers
I think legging is cute, i have 2 pairs for my girl last time but dun really like to put them on for my boy now

shers,
aiya.. din manage to see your post on the 4th mth food... i brought my boy to shave short.. so diff now.. haha.. food wise.. gave him eat duck drumstick, "dao gua", egg, mee sua, fish, celery, spring onion.... he loves the drumstick leh.. kept sucking n smiling when "eat" haha.. i posted in fb..

Piggypig,
I have not tried the Ergo, but, I nid something with back support &amp; the weight should be more on the hip rather than shoulder alone! Hence, Ergo/Beco seems to be the best match!

Ring of Sling,
Think you have place the ring too high &amp; near the colar bone, hence, pain on the bone! It should be between the colar bone &amp; ur breast!

Shers,
Money Pia is Maria Biscuit
You really do so many things on 4th mth?
I only place the Maria biscuit on the stove for abt 10mins then use it to wipe bb's mouth secretly. This is to believe that after this, bb will not drool!

Cola,
I will use it intensively when bfg or when go overseas trip!

Legging,
BP only $5 per pair!

Hi rc,

Do u want to let go ur 2 pairs of preloved leg warmers? Let me know ok?

How's ur boy now? Did u apply the oil for him? Porky also said good leh!

tiny M,
thx for the ruyi oil tip for cough. will try dat ltr if my gal coughs again
my gal also had milk out frm her nipples initially.

shers,
can record down the food &amp; sayings when u do it?
my mum say she only noe abt the biscuits

porky,
haha! cos sometimes too tired, dun hear her "eh eh" lor... she hv to slap then got milk mah

rc,
yea... today's pumping session @ work gave me bk my confidence. not much but jus enuff for her daily feeds. but, still got to try for extra in case she get growth spurt or my supply stop.

joyce,
u got the bp link for leggings?

hi mummies ...

long time never log in

hope all babies well n mummies got enough rest.

I bought before leg warmers at Mums n babes 1 pair $24.90 disc 12% then I open BP found leg warmer ONLY $4 per pairs *faint*
N I bought another 4 sets frm that BP the material ok leh.

any of u still need bottle or pacifier? My gal never use 2 Pigeon Wide Neck BPA Free Bottle (1big n 1small), 1 Pigeon Glass Bottle (Small), 2 Pigeon Standart Bottle Peristaltic Teats, 1 Avent BPA Free Bottle (Small), Pigeon Pacifier for 5Months n 1 set Avents Pacifier for 3 months onwards.

Who interested please pm me ok.