(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

sallen
haha... okok.. i thnk there wil b a bp soon for california stuff.. any1 use this b4, isit gd? thinking to buy one shampoo and body wash for my gal... or any other brand can recommend?

<font color="0000ff">Gathering on 21 Aug(Fri)
Time: from 12pm onwards
Menu: Homecook Pasta + Bakes</font>

1. Joyce
2. porky_jean
3. adv_sports
4. Andrea

Anymore to join us?

new patterns from my three month old
1) instead of passing motion daily, its extended to 2 -3 days. N unlike the watery mustard stool, its goey like peanut butter. He farts throughout the day... Normal? Hw to make him pass stool daily??
2) starts to get distracted during his feeds. He will b looking all over the place n keep latching n unlatching. He prob drink less than half of time compared to before

Hi Muffintop,

1. It's common for fully bf bb to pass motion once in few days.. however, you can try to put him on 'potty' every morning, encouraging him to pass motion with the sound!

2. this is common too and they are exploring stage, you can try using nursing shawl to cover him, this may distract him a little so that he can concentrate in sucking!

Hi Mommies, my lil' boy has been drinking very little, at approx. 60ml so we had to feed him 2 hourly, he drinks the same even though I stretch his feeding interval at 3 or 4 hourly. It's been 2.5 weeks! Went to the pd and was told he has stuffy nose and was given nasal spray and we kept him out of air-con room. Doesn't seem to help, any mommies with similar experience?

Now every feed is a struggle!

flommy, my bb is now 3 months 2 days, or 14 weeks 3 days now. it's very cute to see him distracted, and it happened when i was feeding him in the moving car. in the end, like what joyce said, i used a shawl to cover him. but when at home, he will just struggle lor. how old is ur boy?

joyce, my mum tried potty train him but no effect leh. but now she uses a small container to shhhhh him and make him pee. works, but a lot of patience required

good morning mummies

lily n firefly, thanks for sharing... i use kodomo...

re: facebook
anyone having problem with FB? mine is so slow in loading n i m unable to post comment for the pass few days

Flommy

Did your boy lose weight? maybe u try not to put him in aircon room or adjust the a/c temp..
Just follow PD instruction, coz he is the pro in this..

My boy was having running nose few days ago, i think he got it from the sis, but he recovered in 2 days time.. same as the sis, recovered in 3 days time.. i strongly believe the power of BM hehe.. fight off the viruses!

Re: feed
My boy is still on frequent feeding, the interval is stil 2 hourly and he is taking 100 to 120ml per feed..
He is always holding onto my B when feeding.. dunno y, must always grab B hahahaha...

My boy is learning to flip, yest he was yelling when his body was sideway and his arm stucked halfway hehe.. now we dare not put him on bed..

I am selling off my Mamil gold step 1 - 2 tins (new packaging) unopened..
Let me know if anyone wants them k.

Hubby bought them just before i went for delivery, and he bought 2 at one go wor!!!

Adv

I also use Kodomo. For those milk stained clothes, you might wanna soak it in normal detergent over nite, and dump into washing machine the next morning and use your baby detergent. Mine works that way..

Muffintop - My boy is 15 weeks 4 days old.

Cola - My boy was 6.28kg on 11 July and he was 7kg on 7 Aug, we kept him out of aircon room le but he still drink so little ley. He still sleeps, plays, smile &amp; "talk" like usual, only drinking much lesser for the past 2.5 weeks, I find abit too long ley..

Flommy
so long as he doesnt look drowsy and still active, i think you need not be concerned
and somemore he is gaining weight steadily.. once he is hungry, sure he will demand for more milk..

All along i dunno how to count how many wks my boy is.. so used my table calender and counted, he is 14 wks and 3 days now. Just weight him yesterday, he is 6.3kg

Cola - Hmm...I guess hes ok too, juz gets abit frustating while struggling to feed him and my mil is the over anxious kind too, she is sure to send him to another pd again.

Flommy:
From about 2 weeks ago...My girl also not latching very long in the daytime. Distracted. Especially when we go out and without the breastfeeding pillow. Now she's 14 weeks 3 days.

But she's still active and eliminating well. As long as no sunken fontanelles, not drowsy, active and eliminating well.

RC_Cola:
On the 29th july my girl sounded like she had blocked nose. We made the bathroom steamy for her bath and let her be in room temp during the day, and do suctioning but like nothing come out.

Last week when we went to the polyclinic for her 3rd month jab, we asked the doctor. She said sometimes it's the sound they make. If nose really blocked, they wouldn't be able to feed cos baby needs to breathe through the nose while breastfeeding.

My husband and I measured my girl: 6.5kg and length 64cm. But at the polyclinic las thursday she weighed 6.4kg and length 61.5cm.

My husband say the length they just estimate cos baby moving. At home my husband measure more accurately cos I can hold her leg still and straight.

Abby - I guess babies behave like that during this age? fussy feeding, distracted, etc..Let's hope they feed better soon.

And thanks to all mommies for the valuable info on feedings.

halo mummies ! i did not go to work today...on 2 days child mc...

my boy got diarrhoea on fri night...then sat still not recover...we bgt him to GP, this GP not so good...never examine my boy...only say yes he got diarrhoea thats all...then give the powder form medicine for him to drink...on sun monday, when i change diaper for him, he cried so badly...then i realise his anus was so red and swollen...this caused him to cried so hard...cos he feel very painful....i dare not use anymore bb wipes or cotton wool to clean him...i bring him to wash his buttoks then change new diaper...he still continue to cry...whole day he has been crying non-stop...he poo like 10 over times on sun....i know is really bad...i called his pd's emergency number...luckily she is able to provide some advise on the phone...she wan us to go guardian buy medicine for him...but after take the medicine still cant stop the diarrhoea and the pain on his anus....end up we have to rushed to kk yesterday noon time...haiz...my boy got infection due to his flu, and cos he pooed too many times, his anus got inflammation...the doc at kk give him some numbing gel to apply then he feels better...no more crying after that...btw, the doc mentioned that all bottles, teats and pacifier shd be clean and sterilise properly before give to bb...cos at this stage is easy to get diarrhoea...

today see him can smile and kick his legs, i feel so relieve...yesterday he like so restless...kk doc wanted to put him on drip, but luckily he got no fever and looks fine to her....

he is not due for his rotavirus yet...this thurs gg to take...but now i dunno he still can take or not...cos he on medication...i must check with pd first

ya is really very xin tong to see him cried so badly for the last 2 days...give him pacifier also dun wan...my hb and mil carried him he also cry...only i carry him then he will cry until fall asleep...pd ask me give him comfort sucking (on my nipples) to ease his pain so he can fall asleep...

Hi does any mother have excess breastmilk to give away? For medical reasons, I am unable to breastfeed after Sept onwards, but would like to continue to feed my 6 weeks old baby girl breastmilk but up till now cant even express enough to freeze.

Am pleading for kind mothers to pass me your excess..willing to give a token for the breastmilk. Me staying in the west. Kindly PM me please. Thanks.

Porky, hope ur boy gets well soon! My pd used to give me the powder medicine and asked me to use water instead of wet wipes, was oso given cream to put on the anus for the inflammation.

But what was the cause of the diarrohea? The milk bottles?

flommy, yes thats wat i doing now...use water instead of wipes...the powder medicine drink 4 doses already...still not stop the diarrhoe...but now his stools abit solid liao

doct cant really say the cause for the diarrhoea...but she say make sure teats and bottles are clean and sterilise before give to bb...

porky - oh dear, hope bb is better. very xin tong when bb fall sick. they are so small and helpless and can only cry coz they can't express themselves in other ways. hope you manage to catch some rest in betw.

on diarrhoea, i stock up on Neobiotics - this is a soluble probiotic supplement for bbs and children. this helps to maintain a healthy digestive system and is preventive in nature. can get fr Guardian. when bb is oreadi having diarrhoea, can give Lacteolfort to treat it. also available at Guardian. I keep these 2 things as part of the first aid box for the kids.

Porky - e last time my older gal had diarrohea when she was a baby is bcoz of the milk bottles lo..muz mk sure bottles n pacificers muz b sterilized properly..

I'm a slient reader for this forum...would like to check with mummies staying in Jurong West area regarding the infantcare. Any recommendations of the infantcare in this area?

My nanny just called to let me know that she cant help me to take care and I'm going back to work next week...so kind of worrying about who to take care of my 3mth old boy now.

feb_mum, my bb is now taking lactose fort...already took 5 dose...now his stools more solid...but when he force out and rub against his swollen anus...he will scream very badly...ya they dunno how to express only can cry...i see him cry till shivering...i feel so xin tong and dunno how to help him ease the pain...

flommy, the doct say this could be one of the reason loh...but last time he dont have such problems...only fri night i fetch him back from IFC then he start diarrhoea liao...i have email the principle abt this...

porky.. feel so bad for jaeden... mus b hard on u, hb and jaeden too.. take care. . hope he is reovering soon....

btw, mummies.. can i check.. when u sterilize the milk bottles and all in the sterilizer, after its sterilize, do u guys remove it out from it and let it dry somewhr or do u leave it ther? cos i always leave it there.. meaning, when i wana use it, then i wil jus take it out from the sterilizer and use with those water vapour in it (cos i dun wana use dry cloth to clean it dry) .. and after a few hrs if i did nt use the milk bottles, i wil sterilize again. isit ok? is that the correct way?

flommy, i also suspect is from IFC...cos i take care of him myself since aft full mth...he does not fall sick like flu or diarrhoea before...once started IFC he got so many problems...

glenlyn, aft sterilise i never take out to dry...only when i wan to use the bottle then i take out and rinse with hot water else have a lot of water vipor...

bean, is really a battle for us this weekend and public holiday...we never enjoy ourselves at all...somemore sat is jaeden's 3rd month....actallly wanted to go out for meals but this thing happen to him...everyone in the house has no mood to sleep and eat...even our neighnours also knock our door to ask wat happen to our bb...cos he cried till so sad and so loud....

porky,
must make sure ifc take note of this.. he only been there for a week already like tt...

glenlyn,
i leave them inside until i want to use.. i just shake off the vapor..

my boy likes to eat his fist n saliva on face n mouth area.. now the mouth area got small red patches! any idea how to get rid?

porky - may your bb get well soon. you take care too.

glenlyn - i assembled them but did not dry them. i shake off the excess vapour before i use them.

porky,
hope your child feels better now... i also heartache for u.
can feels for you!

any mum can suggest what medicine we need to stock up at home?

porky,
hope ur boy is better now.

glenlyn,
i shake off the vapour before using.
if bringing to work then use after expressing, i jus cap them. then shake off vapour when wanna use

glenlyn - there is no harm in sterilising more than necessary, better err on side of caution since our bbs are still so young.

sharon - re stock up of med - i keep child panadol (fever), Neobiotics (prevention of diarrhoea), Lacteolfort (diarrhoea). when bb is older, can also keep Echinacea to boost immunity (http://www.vitacost.com/Childlife-Echinacea), vitamin c, multivit. hope this helps.

Porky, glad boy's stool is a little more solid now... should be alright soon. Dont worry. My elder boy also has diarrhoe... a few days already, on and off, suspect he is teething and that's one of the reasons for the diarrhoe...he ah, keeps putting fingers into his mouth... sign...

Sterilise bottles
I always remove the sterilised bottles and all from the steriliser. Then place them all in a covered container and in to the refrigerator. Shake off the vapour before using them. Actually, I am worried about them getting chao4 sng1, so I keep them in the fridge! Right or not ah?