(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

cola,
dont tempted me already!!! my hb asks me not to get any more stuff in house for kids.. but i can shop for myself.. whahha.. so i'm eyeing on bags..

adv sports: i think calendula or drapolene can soothe the skin..

kerene, which blk do u stay at? i'm at 630.

whenm does taka fair start?

Shers
Hahaha! then dun feel tempted lor haha.. hubby always tells me "If next time, stay at home, no need to buy so many bags hor.." but i can stil shop for clothes :p coz need to go out fetch my girl next time..
I really want to buy the bumper mat! goodness!!

Kerene
Very young babies don't develop immunity on their own yet, so they are very prone to those mild diseases.. tts y it is good to bfg them for at least 6 mths afterwhich their immunity will start working on their own..

Hm.. as for cough and running nose, i think so long as children are mixing a lot with other children, it is really unavoidable.. tts y i read on lots of comments (-ve ones unfortunately) on ifc.. not that ifc not good or what, but as regards to health concerned, as long as babies mix with other babies.. they tend to get sick more often..

A lot of mummies here said ifc is a "no choice" choice, which is true, tts why IMHO breastfeed your baby if you think they are exposed to outside environment most of the time. Not saying that, at home will not get sick, but the possibility is lower..

Hi jamie,
I think you can see my block. Me staying at JW 633. Wow! Didn't know so many mommies around this area. SK also staying nearby

Hi cola,
ya! I'm prepared for frequent flu after putting at infant or childcare centre but not prepared to have such serious problem within the 1st week. Very heartache to see both of them down with sickness.

Anyway, we pulled out of that plan so now waiting for maid to come. Hopefully this is a better option. Quite last minute cos I'm returning to work next week.

Mommies here, care to share your childcare plans? How many kids do you have @ home?

Kerene
Yeah, it's always a heartache when we see the kids sick..
Hope your kids recover soon k.. how are they now?

I have 2 kids - 1 girl 2yo and 1 baby boy
Now my MIL is helping us with the 2 of them at home. MIL will not be helping us anymore by early next yr. After that, the plan is i will be taking care of them at home (currently working).. Will prob send my girl to nursery and baby will be at home or go to Julia gabriel? looks quite fun

Maid is never our option..

Kerene - how old is your toddler, i'm considering putting my gal in cc next year, she will be 3yo. I am fearful of the viruses in cc too, intially wanted to put her in cc when she turn 2yo.

Hi cola,
thanks for your concern. They are fine leow.

wow! You going to be SAHM! Me can't be one cos hubby says we need dual income in order to substain the expenses

Flommy,
my boy is 2years plus; 29 months to be exact.

My hubby prefers cc because child learns alot more plus my boy is very shy when he is out of house.

Anyway, I'm finding a playgroup (those 2 hour class) for my 2yo boy so he can learn more things. Hopefully there's lesser virus in those classes.

Kerene - Yeh, probably good to do 2 hour classes for a start, im dreading the initial stage, my gal sure cry till flood. My mil tried taking my gal to playgroup for a trial of few hours and a lil boy slapped her, so we scrap the idea for the time being since there's H1N1 as well.

My 15 week old boy has been taking very little milk 60-90ml for the past week, duno why. Every feed is a struggle -_- hv to feed him 2 hourly.

Hi Flommy,
maybe try avoid introducing them to cc during June/July and Sep. Seems like HFM or flu viruses are at their peak during these months.

RE: Milk intake
I called ParentCraft few weeks ago cos my girl (born 22-Apr) is also drinking very little like your boy. They told me that babies sometimes go on 'hunger strike' at around 3month old. Afterwhich they will be back to normal again.

Seems quite true for my girl. After 1 week, she is back to normal and now seems to be on growth spurt cos she is waking up in the middle of the night wanting for milk.

Watch out on the number of diapers, 4-5 diapers per day should be ok.

Hi RC,
Wow, the price of play yard dropped again! Anyway, my hse is like a mini playhouse already. With the big blocks, can operate childcare liaoz.

Hi Kerene,
You can refer to this website for help in making hair clips. I am thinking of making them myself too since i have 2 princesses!! http://www.hipgirlclips.com/store/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=31&zenid=ff5709295542e101b67a77eb986be8a1

Re: Online shopping
Now i only shop for kid's accessories and BAGS!! I simply loves bags!! Hubby says that with the amt of $$ that i spend on bags, i can easiy change 1 PLASTIC BAG everyday!! Hahaha..Anyway, i always pamper myself with 1 expensive bag whenever i m preggy n after giving birth..Just ordered a KS bag from BP last week..Itchy hands..hahaha. Now, there is another BP on Chanel bags...Can see onli...cannot buy..hahaha..1 bag is enough to send 1 kid to 3-4 terms of Shichida class already!!

Hi Shers,
Saw that u are buying a BECO. Tot u just bought a Bjorn active? I have 2 BECOs n still thinking if i need 2 BECOs..hahaha.

Re: Childcare
My #1 is currently 23 months old and she started cc 4 months ago. Think she only attended class for 3 out of the 4 mths cos she is always down with runny nose n cough. Thank goodness no HFMD so far. Touch wood.

Re: Bottle feeding
My gal has finally suceeded in taking from the bottles in the daytime. Really need a lot of patience!!

Her drinking pattern

12am - Latch
6+am - Latch
11am - 100 ml ebm
2+pm - 130 ml ebm
5+pm - 100 ml ebm
After her last bottle, latch whenever she cries for milk.

Me going back to work only in Aug. So enjoying myself me, really like a tai tai now(Possible cos i have a good maid...if not sure jia lat!!) ...Just came back from massage. Now milking again.

Kerene,

I send my gal to infant care. So far so good,she has been there for 3 weeks liao.
I think my dogs build up her resistance? lol...

Hi Poohwei,
thanks for the site. Seems very chim leh!

You keen to make too? How about gathering moms here who are keen and we all make together?
Hee ... i scare I alone do wrongly. Hee ... me not so talented in handicrafts.

You will be ordering any materials? We order together? I found another site, seems like supplier in SG but charging in USD
http://www.ixhop.com/

Hi PhoonWei and other Mummies:
How did you get so much supply? Any tips?
My bm supply is low especially at night. My supply so far during morning is highest (which is considered low)- 60ml both sides.

Other mummies- pls help on how to increase supply besides drink more fluid

Hi lynton,
may I know how many weeks old is your baby?
If it is after 8 weeks, might not be able to increase much.

To increase bm, can try the below
- pump every 3 hourly or latch your baby; its a demand-supply thingy
- take supplements like Fenugreek or More Milk Supply or tea (i think there's a specific tea for increasing bm)
- drink fish papaya soup
- massage your breasts

talking abt kids falling sick - my bb is down with throat infection, so poor thing. want to cry oso no sound come out. so heartpain. tink she got from her jie jie who was down with flu last week. jie jie spread to daddy and then now mei mei. i'm the last woman standing liao. i rem my #1 nvr fall sick in her first 6mths when i was breastfeeding her. but now, she goes cc so she brings back virus and infect mei mei. hopefully mei mei will recover soon since she's still on TBF.

re bumper mat - i didn't get the yard to fence my gal back then. i allowed her to roam around the house since we've childproof the place. the mat now has another purpose - it's a designated play area for my gal to keep her toys. she will go there to take her toys then when she's done, she will return the toys back to the mat. we will tell her to 'park' her car, 'push' her shopping cart back etc. so the house is kept relatively neat and tidy becoz of dat mat. hee.

kerene: yup sk stays 627 i walk over nia. lol. ur blk is nearer to pioneer mall side ba? i cant see from my blk.. opp me is 624..

increase milk supply: i tried 3 hrly pumping and it does work to get ur supply back to the usual amt. ie; usually i pump abt 250ml bt when i slack off, my ss dropped half. i tried 3hrly pump in 2 days and ss went back to 250ml. agree with kerene dat ss doesnt seem to increase much. jus hover ard the usual 250-270ml..

feb mum: hw can u tell that ur girl's gt sore throat? hw to get well if gt sore throat?

re childcare:

i have a 21mth old boy and a 2mth old baby. im a SAHM with a not stay-in helper to help out at daytime. so far still managing well, but i always feel like im not spending enough time wi either of them.. when i BF bb or express breastmilk, seems to neglect my elder boy.. when i play and teach my elder boy, seems to neglect my younger boy.. and the best part is when both of them awake and need my attention the same time! but so far my younger boy is v easy boy, not as demanding and cranky as my elder boy last time round..

im not sending my elder boy to CC, but sending him a playgroup twice a week, and all of us attend the class wi him (my helper, my younger boy + myself!) heng the teacher and principal fine wi it.. so my younger boy goes to "school" at such a young age already.. hee

am looking for kindy ard my spore house (CCK area) if we back to spore next year.. will enrol elder boy when he's ready for nursery..

any SAHM with a 2yr old toddler and a baby?

jamie,

ur supply is good!

im also abt this amt, morning will be more coz my Bs sleep thru the nights.. haa

how u coping gal? how much milk hailey drinks per feed?

jamie > the blocks we are staying is something like a triangle leh. 633 at top and 627 and 630 is at bottom left right sides. Hehehe...

dodo: i wil latch her at those ungodly hrs like 6 am haha. coping ok lor bt now she dun like to slp much and likes to b entertained when awake. bz bz me!! she drinks abt 120-150 per feed. =)

sk: i think i knw whr. bt i nt facing dat side tt's y i cant see la. lol! it's on the 636 the other side one rite!

dodo: i noticed i gt more milk at 4am dat kind of weird timing. no matter wat by 6 am i nd to wake up to pump or latch. hw do u manage to cut off nite pumping? when i try dat, i feel super engorged dat i gif up n wake up. once i tried to bear w it and in abt 3 days, my ss dropped..

Dear mummies, my 2.5month baby will wake up twice or thrice every night...Any good advice to make her sleep throughout? She usually sleeps at 9+, and already tried keeping her awake and put her to sleep at later time (say 11) but she still gets up often in the night..Help!

jamie,
my last pump at night was 11pm, normally after bb latch on.. i pump to clear the breasts.. then i will wake up ard 6am (usually bb wake up ard that timing also), to pump/ BF.. yes, my breasts hard like stone after 7 hours rest, and duno why i always wake up feeling very pek chek... haa.. and if express i can get abt 450-500ml..

adv,
how does ur gal wriggle out of the safety harness? i can't imagine dat!

kerene,
my gal in ifc. so far doing well. jus slight cough now & then

Hi Kerene,

Oh, what a thing to happened! Glad that yr gal recovered from mild bronchitis already. Must be very heartpain and worried when she is sick right?

I put my boy in infant care too! He is in infant care for 1 month already. So far he has one stomach upset, recovered after 1 day and now a mild running nose. I am not sure stomach upset is infected in infant care or not. For the running nose, is due to the aircon in Marina Square is too cold!!

The infant care that my boy attend is very strict. They measured temperature on all babies and toddlers twice a day, and any kids with Influenza symptoms (even without fever) will be asked to go home. My boy has only mild running nose and we are asked to bring him back home on Monday when we bring him to the centre. PD even gave the green light that he is ok.

We decided on this infant care partly because the principal had made it clear to us that she will turn away sick child even if Doctor certified the child is fit to attend 'school'. It is more troublesome on our part but we feel safer. 2 weeks ago, one of the bb there is absent for 1 week because she has a slight cough.

I agreed that bb fall sick easily in infant care. That is why I reserved my 5 weeks of ML and not taking all at one stretch.

So you have switched to a maid instead, any elderly at home together with the maid? My mum actually want to take care of my boy but she prefer us to hire a maid to help her out. But personally I really do not like the idea of having maid so choose to put bb in infant care instead..

dodo, me same as u. i tried to do last pump at 11 end up waking at 4. so i push to later abt 12 plus 1 then at least can tahan till 6. bt i pump 250-270. wah u really alot can pump half liter! omg! hahaha the longest i gone w/o pumping was 8 hrs and abt 320ml. no fun carrying 2 rocks in front of chest man.. lol

any mummies bringing ur bb for second jab for 6 in 1 yet? I'm changing pd and my original pd appt was on my bb 3 months 1 week /14th week but the new pd said the second jab should b on the 4th month. So who is right?

My boy also developed fever in his first jab. Dunno if second jab also will or not.

rc_cola & jean, thanks... now i not sure whether it is insct bite or nail scratch... will drop by watson 2molo.. any mummies wanna meet up for tea break @ JP 2molo?

ju, my gal will squeeze her hands out from the harness -- then her upper body is not strapped. i was sitting beside her when i saw that -- that's when we din swaddle her tight enough!

Kerene - Thanks for the info on the milk intake.

Porky - My mil brings my boy to a salon opp my house for his haircut, u try la, there's at least a dozen salon opp my house!!

Muffintop - My first pd says 6 weeks for first 6-in-1 jab, my 2nd pd prefers at 2, 4 & 6 mths.

kerene,
my kids r all taken care by my mum. but my mum is super busy ard 5+pm because she needs to fetch 2 of my nephews from childcare. now i'm waiting for my helper to come. presently, my boss allows me to knock off at 5pm so that i can 'piang' to reach home to fetch my nephews. my 25mths gal is attending playgroup (1.5hrs) at cc since beginning of this yr. so my mum will carry my 3mths old girl along with her. presently i'm staying with my mum together with 2 kids and go home on weekends.
come to next yr, my mil will take over when she retires. so daily will bring kids over and home when i knock off lor. i enrol my gal to nursery sch already so she will attend another sch near my place near yr.

poohwei,
ya lor. just bought the active. love that!! but my mum got an original when i showed her my new buy. whahaa.. i'm buying that for her because she needs to carry shermay when sending shermin to sch, u see.. so decided to sell off lor.. i used less than 3 times only le.. but good la.. at least my shoulder is not aching.. the sling made my shoulder blade super aching..

lynlon,
when my supper went down, my mum will cook fish bone soup or chicken soup for me.. then next pump, will see good result. i tried drinking MIM nursing tea. WOW!! the effect is so scary~~ made my Bs super fill every 2 hrs.. u can try soup 1st..

feb mum, kerene... hope yr kids r fine now..

putting kids child care or even playgroup will expose them to virus de.. no choice lor.. but cant keep them in the house also.. bo bian la.. for my 25mths girl, i make her eat 2 pills of vit c daily.. those kids vits.. and because she snacks alot and keep putting on weight, my mum made her snack on fruits rather than biscuits/ bread.. so fruits has vits also.. mums with toddlers can try that.. helps to boost up their bodies as well..

jamie, i went out shopping with hb last week.. so 2 stones started to appear.. so i just go toilet and hand squeeze out at least i dont have to suffer.. u can try that... but i pity the cleaner la.. because i made a mess!! whahhaa..

my girl slpt thru the nite from 9+pm to 5+am.. by the time she latches in the morning, Bs become stones.. so i latch her then pump out before i get ready for work..

joyce,
i dont think i will join in the next gathering.. 24th, i got meeting.. got other dates?

poohwei, u want to sell me yr beco ar?? hehehe... i prefer brand new or lightly used only le.. which is yr design?

Shers - helllooo, yeh long time no chat, Tiffany & Terence r both well, hows Shermin & Shermay? We hv been trying to meet since forever but to no avail...keke..(n we stay so near each other).

Will be fun if Tiffany can meet Shermin since they r the same age.

flommy,
my both girls r fine. hehee..
ya lor.. no chance to meet up with u.. and now we r only back home on weekends making it even more diff to meet up. its ok la.. will have the chance..
shermin is quite shy le.. last gathering, 915's girl wanted to play with and talked to shermin but she's shy.. hahaha

Gathering:
Date: 17th Aug 2009 (12pm to 4pm) - is this too soon after national day holiday?

Attendees:
1. Joyce Yong & family