(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

dalmatian & pastris > my bb also born on 5th May...thought I was the only one having this date among the active mums in May thread.
Hubby reckons that 5.5 is easy to rem so I had an elec c-sec.

Flipping over
Notice my bb keeps turning her head to one side and face looking up (making a 70-80 deg turn)...makes me worry if her neck bones are okay or not. No matter how many times hubby and I try to make her sleep striaght on her back but efforts in vain.

Is this a sign of her trying to turn over on her tummy? She can turn sideways now.

dalmatian & pastris,
I think that is normal for bb, my elder son did that too.. however this do not happen to my 2nd may be my bed is too soft for him to do that, so he always wake up with back in wet & swaety..

SK,
Ur bb is in the process flipping over, i remember my elder son oso like that b4 he knows how to flip.. he did that for abt 2 wks then he suddenly just flip over by himself..

Mummies, another question..
How much is ur bb drinking now?? My son drink only 120ml FM 3 hrly and he always cannot finish his drink, so basicly, he is drinking less than 120ml.. Is he drinking too little??

dalmatian, I use gro bag to keep my bb warm, so that he can't kick away the blankey. Bb sleeps from last feed 11 to 7am, but only if no aircon. He will wake up once if aircon.

Mummies, I've tried my frozen ebm. TERRIBLE tasting. I know supposed to have metallic smell but its so strong. Also fishy. I nearly puke. Gave my boy to taste, he didn't reject. Anyway, after he sucker one min, I direct latch. Is my milk spoilt or should it taste so bad??

Muffintop, do you on fan n direct blow at ur bb?? My bb is not in gro bag n he already sweat like hell.. i wonder how to keep him cool so that he can sleep better..

twinkle & prawnmee > Really? Then shall monitor her closely in case she happens to flip and we chance upon to see her 1st successful try. Hehe.

Dalmatian: I suppose 05.05 must be a good date since Indian astrology and western method also showed it is. heehee..

SK: Oh, yr bb gal is also born on 05.05! My boy also does the same thing as yr bb! Every night we put him to bed at his back, after he fall asleep, his position is sideway with head tilt one side and facing high up. During activity time, he also try to do it.

Prawnmee: So this means they are going to flip over soon right? Last night I keep waking up to check on my bb... My boy is also drinking 120ml FM every 3 hrly, most of the times he can finish it, sometimes cannot finish also.

Re: waking up at night
Recently my boy wakes up at shorter interval at night and seem extremely hungry. He can finish 140ml at one go. His daytime milk intake is still 120ml FM 3 hrly. Does this mean we should increase his milk intake at day time already?

Re: Sensitive Nose
How do know whether bb has sensitive nose? My boy sleeps in air con room but is not directly under air con, infact, his sleep area is quite warm.

hi muffintop, i didnt even taste the frozen ebm, i smell it already wanted to faint. really very fishy.

but my boy finish it like normal milk. next day, seems ok..so i suppose its ok.

Hi Muffintop, I smell & taste the thawed frozen EBM too. It is yucky with a metalic taste. But except for the 2nd time, my boy finished all the frozen EBM, so I guessed he should be able to accept it. I guess it is not really a rejection of frozen EBM per say during the 2nd time. I guess it is because he wait till he is too hungry so crying to protest.

RE: Flipping over

My boy also tried to flip over with his head in an akward position few days back, but he only managed 90 degree and cannot flip over completely, then he will eh eh eh, like peh chei like that. One time, I told him its ok, you are not ready yet, next time then try. Then he stopped trying liao. Till today, he is trying again.

prawnmee, I dun blow fan at him. But he wears long pants short sleeves atnight. if he sleeps w ceiling fan, will wear long sleeve. Day time I let fan circulate n turn

My boy no signs of turning. He makes a lot of sounds n sometimes shout for attention. Very cute

prawnmee,

My gal is coming 4 months old,also taking 120ml every 3 hours but sometimes she can finish 130ml too! How old is yr boy now? I think it is alrite the baby not to finish their milk.

Re: Flipping over.

Same here! My gal will try and flip...in her playpen! And even in her FP rocker and sarong yao lan..OMG.. Nowadays dun really put her in sarong yao lan liao...coz she likes to flip inside,very dangerous...

muffintop, u mean u let ur bb wear short sleeve overnite?? u did on fan but is not blow at ur bb rite?? u not scare ur bb catch cold??

ibite, my boy is 2 and half month old now, i think he drink 100ml on ave 3 hrly 7 times a day, i remember PD did mentioned that bb should drink ave 800ml a day..

pastries,
re: milk drinking
may be u can increase the feed if ur bb still sucking after he empty the bottle..

re: sensitive nose
my bb got phlem sound everytime we bring him to air con room or wheather turn cold..

Re: FM feeding

The amt to feed is according to their weight izzit? My gal is a pre mature and now 6kg only though she is coming 4 months.

wah ! so many postings...see until i blur liao...finally jaeden has completed his 3days trial at ifc...and i have done my rebonding and shopping when i left him there...haha

bbmay, we all have gynae card right..so no need to pay...but i dunno wan to attend or not yet..

sharonling, we all can understand the feeling of leaving our bb at ifc while gg back to work...but no choice have to try. now i am quite close with one of the caregiver...i will sms her to find out the statues of my boy whether he drinks milk, poo or sleep...but i realise my boy gets cranky when i bring him home...he refused to sleep ! need to pacify him for quite some time then he will fall asleep...

twinkle, i only bring rattle toys..anyway the ifc there have lots of toys..

ibite, my ifc is 3:5 so is cheap or ex ??

re : accompany bb at ifc
may i ask how u all accompany ? meaning just stay there with bb ? then feeding, bath and change diaper is by the caregiver or yourself ?

re: IFC
is it that we have to tag our bb name on their items?

porky, my ifc is 3:9. yours consider quite manageable already. i worry mine.

twinkle, ya i see they are quite manageable loh...3days trial meaning i put my boy half day only...then i can do my rebonding and shopping..haha

SK,
if u manage to capture the 1st turn will be lucky! My boy did during nite sleep.. haha... only morning then I found him on tummy himself.

bb may,
u try to help your boy in flipping.. like push his shoulder n train him... it works for me when he shows sign like yours...

sharon,
oh... start next mon, then not much extra time le...
hee... i din even think of doing hair, facial etc... only did massage cos aching all over.
enjoy ur last 2 days of "freedom"

happy birthday shers & yuki!

muffin,
when i tried my frozen bm, i puked all out & had to brush teeth. i believe it's the taste of frozen bm. chilled bm dun taste so bad but still yucky

twinkle,
yes, better to label ur bb's name.
i only labelled the bottles & found out they use marker to write bb's name on bottle cvr, pacifier clip, pacifier cvr, back of bibs (plastic layer), edge of towels, blanket

Fashcards: GD Maths

I realised that I have started it wrongly! sign.. hahaha..

http://www.childandme.com/how-teach-your-child-math-glenn-domans-dot-method/

Today went out from 10.15am to 5pm. Latched Hui Xin at arnd 9.30am b4 I went out. As usual, when I got back, I ask mil how much bb has drunk.. surprisingly, Hui Xin only drinks 120ml at 2.30pm, so I heat up the balance thawed ebm (100ml) for her to drink at 6pm.. she was so tired and slept the whole of this afternoon.. Guess it's because we brought her out to IMM y'day & she didn't have a good sleep since y'day noon! She is now still sleeping..

Ling, actually I tried once, then after he is in tummy position, he also make noise, so I also don't know what he want. Cannot turn also eh eh eh, turn already also like not happy.

Infant Massage Promotion

1 Hr - $25
Pls add $5 for transport charges for home visits

Good for babie’s brain development
Good for colicky babies
Assist in blood circulation
Helps in strengthening babie’s joint and muscle

Pm me for details and booking slots

re : accompany bb at ifc

Just stay around. Leave everything to the teachers.
Meanwhile,admire other babies there and think of kidnapping them..LOL.*kidding*.

Now due to H1N1 situation,we are not allow to stay in the infant area,have to leave the baby and go.

twinkle,
i write on scotch tape & paste another stretch of scotch tape over it. hee...
the IFC will wash the bottles, not sterilise or scrub.
when home, i will scrub off the remains of the scotch tape & sterilise

porky,
i guess i din label for them & i left liao. they bo bian have to label lor.
then i chk how they label la, not nice, then i redo lor

sam,
u not bz wif ur bbs? still can do infant massage program...

ibite,
maybe bcos of H1N1 dat the IFC din let me stay. only allowed us a quick look @ the infant area on the 1st day.
there's 1 boy @ the IFC who look quite like jodie! whahaha! her daddy nearly recognised the wrong bb!

michelle,

for baby bjorn, mine is Bjorn Active. it comes wi the back support so it's less stressful on your shoulders and back.. also love it to bits!

for exersaucer, i had Leapfrog learn & groove activity stn. my elder boy enjoyed it v much, but he outgrow it quite fast though the height can be adjusted.. u may like to check exersaucer from Graco & Safety 1st also..

juju, muffintop & bb may,
is thawed EBM really taste that horrible? cham liao, i have ard 30 packets at freezer, and i really duno what to do wi them.. coz either latching on or feed bb chilled EBM.. im still thinking to let bb try the frozen EBM these few days.. not sure whether he will reject or not.. hope he's not a fussy drinker like his elder bro..

dodo,
dat's how i feel la...
if u worry, then feed bb a bit to try out. if he dun like, then maybe mix wif fresh BM. heard can cover the taste of thawed EBM. anyway, u gotta clear those soon, can only store 3 mths if using normal fridge freezer.

Hi Prawnmee, guess I need to increase my boy milk intake liao because he is always sucking even when milk has finished.

Re: milk intake
I read online the formula is 150 x baby weight in kg / no. of feeds per day. But some bb have bigger appetite, some smaller..

Re: IFC
Accompany bb in IFC, I only stay around, leave everything to the caregiver there.. Chitchat with the principal and brief on bb personality and habits, etc...

Ratio of caregiver to infant. Current ratio is 2:4. But the principal told me they can work on 1:5 since that is MCYS regulation of max. number (But when I visit during pregnancy time, she said 1:3....... ) But at any one time, the max no. of bb of 6 months and below that she will take in is only 3. Currently only my bb is below 6 months out of the 4 bbs. So still feel comfortable with the operation method.

Havent been posting here cos I was sick for past few days.

While I was recovering, I suddenly had a very bad engorgement yesterday afternoon. It got worse by night and while I was trying to clear the block ducts myself, I ended up making my breast swollen.

Today, I called for help from my massage lady and she said it's too swollen to be cleared so I had to wait couple of days.

To make matter worse, for some weird reason, my milk supply started dropping suddenly since yesterday too! It went down by half of my regular supply.

May I know if it's common during period when you are sick to;
- have engorgement?
- have reduced milk supply?

Is there anyway to completely clear the block ducts faster? Currently the swelling is making the breast very painful esp when it's filling up!

I have been taking fernugeek and nursing tea to boost milk supply everyday, but since the engorgement, I dare not take for fear of further engorging the breast. Sigh...

Hope it'll get better soon... (

hi Tinkles Mum (carolinequek),

i totally gone thru wat u hav a mth ago... urs is one side or 2 side got blocked? cos my experience the other time was 1 side, and tats the engorgement...cos i call up MT A, sister Kang, she told me mine is nt engorgement, cos engorgement is both sides.. so mine is blocked milk ducts... wat u can do is u try to pump out the milk and DUN use warm water, cos it wil NOT help for blocked ducts..only helps in engorgement. (b4 i call her, i even use hot shower on my breast, and try to massage, in the end got swollen on my skin...!)

Just let ur bb latch on and suckle...and it wil clear away miraculously! my bb suckle for 30mins and all cleared! cos i tried to pump out for 1 hr and it doesnt work.. only pump out 5ml... try it nw.... hope i do help u on this.... let ur bb do the job!

hope to hear gd news from u!

dodo (doraemon16),

I'm going down to taka later to have a look at the diff models.. so many to choose from then a bit lost loh.. hopefully can get 1 tat wont make my back hurt tat much as nowadays my princess a bit cranky loh. keep wanting to be carried everytime when we are out.

for the exersaucer, i am looking at Evenflo and Baby Einstein.. hard to decide loh..

sooo many things to get for my princess loh.. haha... am also looking for a mini fridge to store my EBM.. any mummies got lobang??

Hi Glenlyn,

Thanks. Sorry I didn't know there's a difference between block duct and engorgement I thought engorgement is caused by block duct?! hmm...

Anyway, mine's one sided at first, but the other also began to have 1 duct that's block. It wiill unblock when i massage, pump and clear but will come back again when milk comes in.

I can't let my baby suckle for so long cos i have not been nursing him so he is patient enough to latch. Plus I still have my flu so doctor has advised against latching.

I have been pumping it but the blockage is still there
Been coming 2 days already. Is there anythign else I can do?

Thanks so much for your help.

Exersaucer
I think the leapfrog one is good enuff. My gal can stay in it for ard 30 min? I also have a FP one which is no longer in sales. Very good also. i prefer to have exersaucer over jumperoo. Babies tend to injure themselves when they use the jumperoo.

Sleeping thru
Think my gal is starting to sleep thru at 8-9 weeks old. Last nite, she slept at 12+am (Last milk feed at 11+pm). She is still asleep now and has not wake up for milk!! Yippie! I have at least 7 hours of uninterrupted sleep. BUUTT..my last pump was at 10+ pm and my Bs are so hard now!!

Hi Glenlyn,

Should I still pump regularly? What is my baby doesn't suckle for so long (cos when I tried to latch him the other time, it was only for 10 mins then he gets impatient already)...

Thanks again for your help!

Morning Mummies ...

Today Rachel 3 months liao
Morning wake up she so happy keep on smile, laugh n talk to her daddy.

Happy 3rd month for Andrea, Ming Yang n Rebecca

tinkles mum, if bb do not suckle, then u have no choice to do pumping regularly and remember to massage ur breast very hard b4 you pump, it will help to clear the blockage, however the block duct will still come back when ur supply come in later.. direct suckle from bb is still the best way to clear block duct and the block duct would not come back again..

tinkle

the best way is to get bb to latch directly...if not do hot compress on breast then massage to clear out the milk..

Brought my boy for his 5in1 and 3 mths assesment today. He is now 6kg and 58cm long..

juju,
oh, din know that can mix wi chilled EBM! ok, will try out soon. true, cant keep that long also.. thanks for the advice!

michelle,
for the Bjorn carrier, go to mothercare and try out the different models wi ur hubby, since both of u may use it frequently, he gonna comfy wi it also. and remember to try it wi bb, so u will get the "feel" and "hang" of it..

poohwei,
ur girl able to sleep thru but ur Bs cant! haaa
mine also, last pump ard 11pm, then gonna wake up ard 6am to pump, if not super hard and uncomfortable..

tinkles mum,
poor thing.. hope u recover soon!
like all the mummies advised, best is to direct latch on to clear the ducts.. if not it's to pump regularly.. i remembered when i had blocked ducts when i BF my elder boy, my supply indeed dropped quite significantly, but dun worry it's only temporary, my supply back again after the blocked ducts cleared.. so meanwhile, take care of urself and recover from sickness soon and express regularly, massage v v hard b4 and after massage and ur supply will back soon, cheer up ya!

Hi Dodo..
Ya loh..So happy that baby is not disturbing me liao...BUT..my Bs are disturbing my sleep..Hahaha. Pumped out 650ml in the morning just now cos my gal refuse to wake up!! Grr...Bs are bursting liaoz..

<font color="ff0099">thanks lily and baby_may!

happy 3 months old to baby Rachel, Rebecca and Ming Yang

the binders are here, for those who ordered, can u sms me if u would prefer me to post them out? thank u!!

happy 3mths old rachel, ming yang and andrea! how time flies... btw, who came 1st among the 4 bbs? rebecca arrived at 1035.

tinklesmum - becoz we dun latch bb, we are rather prone to blocked milk ducts. it's not becoz you are ill dat you got blocked milk ducts. maybe you were resting and didn't pump at usual timings so kena the blockage.

you juz got to massage and pump. there was once i had a very stubborn blocked duct, it took me over 4 pumps that day to clear it. and yest, i took over an hr to clear a blockage. you juz got to be patient and keep at it.

ibite:

dr say once babies past 4mth then hair will grow evenly...rite now i jus tahan loh...i shave kaiden's hair since 1st mth...nw his hair growth damn unevenly...so jus keep shaving him...