(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

any mummies bought a fridge specially to freeze your milk? (babymay, I remember u mentioned about that right?)

I finally started to pump instead of exclusive latching and begin to have some to store instead of just feeding. But my mum's fridge is limited in space (filled with food for the freezer compartment, only can keep 10 packs). Need recommendation on what u are using, where to get and how much... help.. otherwise have to throw away

sorry ah, know most of u past this topic of milk storage, but can i confirm this

1. pump out put in fridge must be consumed within 48 hours
2. if want to store in freezer, must put in fridge first, combine and store in freezer within 6 hours of pump
3. freezer ones can last 3 months, to thaw either by putting in fridge overnight or put in warmer directly.

correct?

how are you gg to sterlize when back at work? most prob need to pump 3 times, then how to sterlize 3 times?

Can I join in the discussion? I gave birth to my bb boy in May..

Re: flipping
My boy tends to turn his whole body and head to one side now, so is it anytime they will start flipping now? My concern is what if they start to roll over at middle of the night? Will it be dangerous because at this stage, they still cannot turn from tummy to front right? Do we need to let them sleep in positioning bolster in the night during this period? Any experienced mummies can advise...

Re: IFC
I placed my boy in IFC as soon as he turns 2 months old. Initially he is still young, but he suddenly become 懂事 these 2 weeks (he is coming to 3 months), he will 扁嘴 and keep looking at me & my hubby when we are leaving.. Yesterday because a bb is crying in the room, my boy also cry when we are leaving...

Yes, it is very heartpain and sad when you see your bb keep looking at you and can't bear to see you leave...

Hi rc_cola, your concern is very much the true! But I think parents who put bb in infant care really got no choice, so sourcing for a good one and keep maintaining good relationship with the principal & caregiver is important.. Sometimes just have to close one eye because the attention bb gets in infant care definitely cannot compare to 1 to 1 care at home..... no matter how good the infant care caregiver is...

Hi twinkle_sp, you can check with the IFC. But most IFC has got lotsa of toys to play with? For the IFC my boy goes to, the principal allow us to 'park' a stroller there so that it will the bb personal stroller when they bring the bb out for a walk during evening time.

Re: Freezing milk
muffintop - I also thinking of buying a freezer to start freezing my milk to prepare to go back to work. i just poured away 4 bottles of BM last Sun cos no place in freezer. Joyce said she got hers from carrefour. I'm gg to check out the electronics stores to see if got any good deals. i also very blur about storing EBM in freezer, need to ask the experienced mummies here..

Re: Glass bottles to store EBM
Jun - I only have 3 bottle caps so def not enuff if i wanna freeze more. can we use glass bottles to freeze EBM safely? cos i read somewhere that the glass will crack upon freezing?

Re: Leaving baby
my baby also can sense that i'm going out without her. she'll cry when she hears the gate opens. and when she hears me coming back, she'll cry also for me to carry her.. *faint* dunno how when go back to work..

Shers: Where in AMK are the cheap Pigeon breastpads? I got the spare part, u wanna take first? sms me.. oh, u meantioned u got playgym to lelong? what are they ah? my bb dun like her sesame street one, prefers to play with people.. make us very tired.. sigh..

Poohwei: How much are the Playtex liners? Will they leak? I'm exploring how i can store my EBM cheaply and effectively..

Jean: I may be going for the Cordlife seminar but just the bazaar only, see got any cheap stuffs to buy.. Maybe only..

Hwa Xia swimming voucher
I have a $10 off trial swimming voucher from Hwa Xia also. Comes with an extra free swimming lesson if u sign up with them by presenting the voucher. anyone wants, pls PM me.

Hi pastries
Welcome!

Hi Muffintop,
Cannot answer yr qn, previously what i did is just store whatever i think will be extra into fridge..
Not to discourage you, last time my #1 rejected the frozen ebm (gave away about 12 packs of frozen ebm), you might want to let your bb try if they are okay with ebm, if not, then you might find it a waste to invest in a freezer.. just my opinion, you may want to consider..

Re:IFC
True, understand that some parents have no choice but to let bb go to IFC.. but i know one of my frens sent his son to an IFC which ratio is 1:2.. which means the baby gets more attention compared to the 1:5?

Pastries, you need not worry if bb cant flip back from tummy to back.. coz once they learn to flip (back to tummy), their head should be very stable by then, even if they flip in the middle of the nite and stuck with tummy down position, they will sleep with the face on the side for breathing purpose.. another concern is of course, once they flip, they might fall down to floor if placed on bed or sofa..

hi pastries: i'm thinking to bring her fav toys to IFC. she likes her mobile toys so much that she can "talk" & "smile" to them. i'm starting work on 31st aug. worry that she will be uncomfortable in new enviroment for the first few days, so thinking of bring her toys there to "comfort" her. so that she can feel ease when she sees fav toys on the cot.

Porky,
I'll try not to tears.. otherwise also quite embarrassing hor..

Rc_cola,
but now too late to say I want to take care bb, bcoz I got some projects waiting for me. Can't just resign like that, not good ma. I was thinking maybe I go back and work and see how. whether can change to work half day or 3/4 day. so I still got more time with bb and I can carry on with those projects. Otherwise not good, later being condemn by boss, next time want go back to work also cannot.
The IFC that I'm going, the ratio is 1:3. Hopefully won't be too bad

Muffintop/Tiny_M,
I bought the freezer at giant. but I think got other mum got it cheaper at carrefour. For deep freezer, you can store up to a year. Maybe can check it out again see whether got any promotion.
I combine one whole day's milk and freeze it using milk bag.

Re:IFC-toys
Not sure about toys, but I ask them about the music mobile which attached with the cot. They say can bring and put it there. I'll bring one to the IFC.

<font color="ff0099">morning mummies..
would like to ask when bb starts on solids at 6 mths, do we still have to bf as frequently?

because my girl is on exclusive latching.. and i'm wondering when she starts solids, will she want to latch as frequently as now? will she be full from the solids and don't want to drink milk cos she's not hungry?

juju,
both my friends are selling, doolbydoo and KP. doolbydoo will be nearer for us, she stays in bishan.. KP stays near vivo city..</font>

Muffintop, I got my deep freezer (Farfalla) from Carrefour. It is the same freezer as the one Joyce got. She posted the pictures of the freezer in her facebook. Maybe you can take a look there.

Re your qn:
1. pump out put in fridge must be consumed within 48 hours - yes
2. if want to store in freezer, must put in fridge first, combine and store in freezer within 6 hours of pump - Joyce posted before that the oldest milk must be within 48hrs and the 'newest' milk must be at least 4hrs is you want to combine them
3. freezer ones can last 3 months, to thaw either by putting in fridge overnight or put in warmer directly. - Separate Deep freezer can last 6 - 12 mths.

Can go to the website below for more info:
http://www.kellymom.com/bf/pumping/milkstorage.html

Hi mummies, I am new here although have been silent reader for long time
I am also a May mummy and my lil princess was born on 5 May.

Just to ask mummies some advice...do you let your babies sleep in cot in maid's room? Cos now my baby sleeps in cot in my room..after dream feed at 11pm she sleeps till about 6.30 for next feed. But in between at nite she gets up around 2-3 times and we need to sayang sayang and pat her back to sleep.

Now both hb and me going to work, very tired cos hard to sleep after getting up so maid said she can take care at nite..just wondering is it ok to put cot in maid's room?

Audrey, I read somewhere that baby's total milk intake will reduce slowly when they start taking solid food. I am not sure whether your baby will nurse less often or take less per session. For bottle fed baby, I suppose we can slowly increase the solid feed such that it replace a bottle.

sterilize at work:
1st - pre sterilise at home,
2nd/3rd time - 1st method: use pigeon sterilize tablets (can use few hr)
2nd method - use microwave if u have this in ofc
3rd method - use cold method (after wash, leave ur pump in freezer of ur ofc till next pump)

Hi audrey,
When they start on solids, it may be good to pump out some milk so that u can use it to mix with cereals.

They will normally have less feeds cos some feeds are now replaced by cereals/ purees/ porridge.

Re: Glass bottles to store EBM
Glass bottles will not crack so easily unless u fill it up to the brim. When defrosting, DO NOT use hot water. Just use tap water or leave it in the fridge.

Re: Playtex liners
It should cost ard $13 per box of 140pieces. I am sold out of all of playtex liners...Gonna order more if u want?

The liners will not leak if u use them properly.

Glenlyn, i have kept 1 box for u if u still want.

Hi Dalmatian,
I am VERY against with babies/toddlers sleeping with helpers unless they can talk. Imagine when babies fuss in the middle of the nite, we will also scream and yell at them liaoz..let alone to say helper. So now, my toddler, my baby and hubby all sleeps in the same room.

Re: Flipping
My #1 managed to flip at 2.5 mths. They will tend to scream and cry when they cannot flip back. So no worries abt them turning over in the middle of the nite.

Hi muffintop,
Please try to introduce bottle to ur baby ASAP. Many of us here who did exclusive latching have difficulties introducing bottles.

With regards to sterilising, you may want to soak the pump parts after washing in hot water. I normally place them in a LOCK n LOCK container and soak. For now, i just bought a traveller steriliser.

Appetite
I feel so hungry nowadays!! Grr..I have been taking so much junk food these few days!! Coke, potato chips.....Trying to curb my hunger with fruits but dun seem to work...

<font color="ff0099">baby may, poohwei, thanks!
im wondering when she'll want to latch when she's on solids..

we introduce solids only 1 time a day?</font>

Hi rc_cola &amp; poohwei, ok, thanks for the advice!

Hi twinkle_sp, I think should be ok. You can always check with the IFC. Can you stay with your bb for a couple of hours on 1st day at IFC. We stayed in IFC a few hours on my bb first day there.

Hi Dalmatian,
Our bb shares the same birthday! I tend to agree with what Poohwei said.. Unless you are very close with the maid and the maid is very attached to the bb, if not, I think you will also keep worrying about bb &amp; maid sleeping together right.. Maybe you &amp; your hubby can take turn so that your sleep will not be broken and at least not so tired.

hi dalmatian,
i agreed with pastries too. you and your hubby take turns to take care of your bb.
my hubby and i take turns too... he takes care from 10pm to 2am, while i take care from 2am to 6am.

hi pastries,
i will be putting my gal in the IFC a few days before i start work. so thinking of popping there a few times in the first few days to peep her. cos the IFC is near my mom's house, abt 10mins walk.
my tentative plan is put her in IFC 7am when my hubby drives us there. then i go mom's hse to past time. then maybe pop by abt 10am and 3pm to peep her. will pick her up, when my hubby konck off work. am i too protective liao??

thanks babymay, joyce, poohwei !
Will let him try frozen ebm first before investing in a freezer. He is ok with bottles so far when I try, but time varies and I dunno how much to prepare for each feed.... Sometimes too much and I had to drink my own Bm, sometimes too little and by the time I heat enough, he dun wan liaoz....

audrey - so fast you tink of intro solids liao ah? dat's another new ball game. when we first start weaning bb, bb normally takes only a few small mouthful of cereal. when bb gets used to it, then will replace one milk feed with solid feed. as they progress on, their intake will be similar to adults - breakfast, morning tea, lunch, afternoon tea, dinner. in betw they will have milk feeds. by around 1 yr, they only take around 3 milk feeds, once when they wake up in morning, once in afternoon and once before gg to bed.

muffintop - gd to let bb try frozen ebm to see if he's ok with it before you invest in a fridge. some bbs are quite fussy abt its taste. btw, i tink someone is selling off a fridge for storing BM in the want to sell thread, you might wan to check it out.

are you sure you are able to pump 3x at work? my personal experience is sometimes, it's really impossible to go away to pump becoz of mtgs etc. i'm down to 3 pumps a day now, which means i only need to pump 1x at work which i tink is more feasible. not sure abt your work situation.

re IFC - i didn't put my #1 in IFC, but i rem crying after i left her at my mum's pl for the first time. tink i was the one with separation anxiety, my gal had no issue ;p

we put her in childcare beg of this yr. and i find dat actually, kids are very adaptable, it's us adults who fuss and worrie abt them ;p

to prep her, i sat in with her for one day and help her be familiar with the routine and faces there. more imptly, it is also for me to know how the teachers there take care of kids and their prog so that i can be more fang xin.

so mummies who intend to put bb in IFC, i tink you shd start doing so way before you return to work so that the adjustment issue for both mummy and bb can be cut down.

hi feb_mum,
you stay with your #1 in the childcare centre one whole day? oh!! if that's the case, i would love to do that too!! will check with the IFC person in charge there.

thks mummies, ya i am also concerned. my maid is very close to my baby and really loves her and takes good care of her but i am scared that baby will not be close to us if we dun sleep with her.

my hb and i dun see baby very much..only a little while in the morning and evening..

Hi Twinkles_sp,

You are not being over protective, is our bb ah! Yes, like what feb_mum said, normally can accompany for 1-2 days. Our IFC also allows us to stay 1st 2 days, but we only stayed half day on 1st day that time. You can always ask yr IFC.

You will put yr bb few days before you start work right? When you starting work? I think our bb start to recognise their parents now, so maybe you can consider to put your bb 2 weeks before you start work to avoid anxiety on your part when you are working. I have started work last week and I placed my boy 2 weeks earlier.

Hi Dalmatian,
Yes, my boy is born on 05th May! Hee! I delivered in KK. (btw, 05th May is a good day, I checked before hand.. heehee..)

Hi Dalmatian,

Oh.. understand your concern but can't advise much because did not have a maid. What time does yr bb sleep? If you really let your maid sleep with her at night, you can at least make sure you spent time with her before she sleeps and also spent time with her on weekend.

Hi tiny_m,
its ok. Ling lim is kind enough to give me one already. i collected from her this morning. and phew!!! managed to pump without hassle. u want the playgym or playmat? i just lelong off 1 to miichelle. if u r keen, i can send u pic? PM me ok?

RE: pigeon breastpads
today i went AMK and buy. no further discount will be given even buy more. i bought 6 boxes also $7.90 each. but considered v cheap liao la. those who stay there can buy la. its near the polyclinic.

RE: avent manual spare parts
i might be going to buy the spare part set next week. see which day, i can go eat snake. who want me to get for u?

ratio 1:2 : More expensive.
ratio 1:5 : Cheaper.

Yes... I agree with pastries that sometimes we have to close one eye. Even if we leave our babies under in laws/parent's care,they mic also not follow the way we take care of our children. Old folks being older,reaction slower also mic not attend to 101%.

If I got a choice,I would stay at home or work from work. IFC is really no choice. Get a babysitter?? Though is 1 to 1 care,but who knows that is really the case??!! When in laws and parents can't be a help,IFC is my best choice.

shers,

the amk shop selling pigeon breastpads is it called tomatoes?

btw, can get for me the spare parts? but will u be back at your house next week or mum's place?

hi pastries, hehe i induced my bb so my hb and me chose 5 May to induce cos it was a good day! my bb sleeps quite early, around 7.30 so just have enuff time to bathe/massage her and give her milk before she sleep liao. ya must spend more time with her on the wkends.

re IFC: wanted to put my bb in infant care but got scared of bb getting sick esp since H1N1. Also worried if bb get sick then who to take care..not easy for hb and me to take so much childcare leave and no parents or in-laws to help.

also some IFC not so good..the one i wanted to send bb too appeared good when they brought us for orientation but later i drop by to do 'spot check', found them doing things like leaving baby on floor mat where everybody step and even saw them step over the baby!

twinkle,
can bring own toys but not too ex ones or too many. cos may be misplaced unless u ok to label them using marker or something.
btw, the IFC will use marker to write bb's name on bibs, pacifier &amp; cvr, towels...

sharon,
i felt quite sad on the first day jodie went to infant care. dat very sour feeling inside lor... but lucky din tear... heng ah!

re: infant care
the one jodie attends have a ratio of 1:3, so shld be quite manageable. plus, jodie seldom get affected by other bbs' crying (touch wood)

audrey,
thx for the reply. had posted in their threads liao...

juju78.
like that I really worry that I'm the one who will be tearing lor...
now bb already 3 mths old le. so tei and so cute... even the screaming sound i also feel is a nice sound... (I think is bcoz is own bb that's y)

juju,
cannot la, firstly, like that they will charge me fees ma.
2ndly, i start work next wed, that's why I'll start send her over to IFC on Mon. Then will see how, monday and tuesday are precious for me, need to go do facial, haircut, some paperwork to be done. then Wed starts WORK! and is such a sad thing.. haiz!

Hubby see me like that also sad. Bcoz since few days ago, i've already starts on and off tearing at home...

good morning ladies

sallen, will confirm with u abt aug 27... anyway, will keep the voucher for u

re: IFC
my bb's infant care allows me to stay with bb for 1st 2 days... after that, they will update her progress via email... will be sending bb in on sept 1 and starts work on sept 8 -- hv a week to monitor her progress

re: spare parts for avent manual pump
shers, what does it consist of? sometimes my 'star' thingy also give me problem when pumping...

Re:VIA containers
is it really can only use for 5 times? bcoz is a gift from a friend so i duno abt this. i read the instruction, only saying that use until there's wear and tear

i m back with some question.. Thanks to all who have answer my question previously..

re: BB sleep thru
My bb now wake up more often in middle of nite than when he is in 2 mths old.. I suspect that he is too hot cos everytime when i pick him up, the bed is so wet.. My bb has nose sensitive problem, thus i cant put him in air-con room or direct fan on him..

Need to know those bb who can sleep thru is it that they have been sleep in air-con room??

re: neck support
i have been holding my bb upright for burping after the confinement lady left, i found my bb can hold his head quite well.. I doubt wat i did to him (leave his neck withour support when holding upright) when he is so young will hurt his neck or not??

Hi Dalmatian,

How you know 05.05 is a good date? You checked the date with a Master? For me, is elect c-sect and I like 05.05 so just choose this date. Aftering choosing, my husband's friend who know something abt calculating birthdate told him this date is very good. :)

Oh yr bb sleeps early... If your maid will be sleeping with her, then I think not much time for u &amp; bb to bond on weekdays. My bb sleeps around 9 or 9.30, so still have some time to bond with him. Initially my bb sleeps around 7.30 also, he does not sleep much during the day at my house. Then after attending IFC, he sleeps alot in the day (guessed is the airy &amp; quiet environment there), around 5-6 hrs. So night time he will be sleepy only around 9+.

I also worried about bb getting sick easily but no choice..

I do believe what you mentioned about some infant care. But I feel more comfortable over infant care then nanny or maid, perhaps is just me.

Hi ibite,
Same sentiments. When in laws and parents can't help, IFC is the best choice. At least IFC is licenced and there are few caregivers there. But nanny (unless is recommended and very reliable) , we won't know what really happened in the house.. I will be more worried..

Hi pastries,

we are indian so we checked the indian astrology and found that 05.05 is a very good day

hi prawnmee,

my bb has also been waking up more frequently now than before. last time used to swaddle her but now she is more active..always wake up at nite trying to 'crawl' as in use her legs and push herself up...can end up at other end of cot! very sianzz as she will keep doing this leopard crawl thing, make noise and start crying when her blanket falls off. thinking maybe to turn-off aircon as well in case too cold when blanket falls off.

any mummies exp this with their bbs?

hi dalmatian..
my son also does the crawl..till his head touches the end of the cot..
once i tried to use the fan to improve his sleep..after 2 hours..he woke up crying..then i carrying him up..his back n pj were all wet n sweaty..poor thing..so back to air con already.

for me when he start to make noise, i will use the pacifier to soothe himself to sleep again esp if its not feeding time.