(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

joyce,
i dont like to eat brownie outside because i always find that its super rich and sweet.. but yrs is really nice nice... not sweet.. and plus the cheese... YUMMY!!!

really can sell liao.. whhahaa

next time whatever gathering we have, u r incharge of baking!!!

re : next gathering
i dont mind weekends too ! hope wont have to wait so long....

re : today's lunch & shopping @ ps
so nice today can have lunch and shopping together with joyce, jamie, huiling, lily and sallen...aft today cant go out liao...cos bb gg to IFC....and monday gg back to work liao...haiz....btw, we forget to take photo ! hahaha

joyce, forget to say i dont get a chance to try ur brownies...i saw and wanted to grab a piece but my boy was so cranky...must wait for next gathering again

anyone gg to the babytalk seminar by cordlife ?

Date: 1 August 2009, Saturday
Venue: Hotel Intercontinental Bugis Grand Ballroom, Level 2, (80 Middle Road, Bugis Junction)
Time: 12pm – 6pm
or FREE entry with your gynae appointment card.

Inclusive of refreshments and goodie bag for all participants.

glenlyn,

Wow....Shih Tzu has a long life span of at least 15 years leh! So he is not very old lah.... haha... Maybe got to shower a bit more attention on him bah. Me also feel very guilty when I have lesser time for my dogs now.
But I will spent at least 15 mins walking them everyday once hubby comes back to take over baby..hee.. Exercise + bonding with them!

next time gathering, can arrange on weekdays also... just have to organise earlier so that working mums can take leave...

i still prefer to gather on weekdays because weekends r reserved for family..

shers, haha...like preggy times, we used to take leave to attend gathering too...anyway some of us still have balance ML to clear...weekends i only can on sat...sun is family day

joyce, okok...next time shall take first...btw, tks for recomend the vaccum bag..very good to use..can pack clothes for my boy gg to IFC tmr

RE: Manual Pump
I am using the Avent one, I think its very good..

babymay - my hb dont mind coming unless he got classes cos he now taking part-time course

glenlyn - hope you are feeling better le

me also using avent manual pump.. v v good..

btw, anyone got any idea whether i can buy the 'star alike' white thing??

vera, can help me thank yr hb for taking such a nice photo of me and my girl.. i showed my girl just now.. she was smiling away..

porky, ya lor.. we used to take leave to go for sales.. whahhaa...

anyway every mums has 7 days of child care leave to utilise before 31 dec 09..

RE: Manual Breast Pump
I'm using Avent Breast Pump and I love it. Before this, I was using Medala Mini Elect..

Hi Porky,
The seminar is abt what?

Hi Shers,
U can buy from toa payoh.. their customer service centre..

Can anyone advise when shld the parts be change?

baby may,
it shld be pro-rated. so my HR says start cc leave next yr, easier to keep track, so this yr use balance of ML & AL bah

Morning.. I'm entitled to six days not pro-rated.. I'm civil servant.. Is it gonna do with which type of company you are in? My HR call me yesterday and she ask me when i want to go back
16 weeks seems so fast.. I'm going back on 14 Aug which is a friday also

Hi Juju & Andrea, I work for stat board, so maybe not pro rated. I have to check with my HR. I haven't even apply for my ML yet.

Andrea, your HR so good, still call you.

My Hr said mine is pro-rated...so it's calculated as 4 days only for this year.

Delivery in May = remaining of 8 months for rest of the year.

8/12 x 6 days of CCL = 4 days.

So when it's the 7th year will only have 2 days.

Think this calculation is more accurate else the MOM said my HR it would be quite a hassle to input the CCL for us when comes to the last year..will have surplus. My Hr had checked with MOM already.

cc leave is not pro-rated de. once u have a child below 7 yrs old, u r entitled for 6 days cc leave per yr irregardless when u give birth.

juju,
u want to check with yr HR again? they wanted to 'éat''yr cc leave ar?

audrea,
do they sell spare parts? i will call them later at 9am.. i hope they do sell. if u want to change spare parts, might as well buy another pump? i think the cost will be cheaper. especially when avent has sales. i bought this pump when NTUC extra has 20% off for baby items. got it at ard $60+. so if NTUC extra has sales again, i will grab 1 more set.

Yes,

I agree with Shers to make the gathering on a weekday! I'm teaching most weekends, so won't be able to make it if its held weekends. haha. Hope to have one soon!

good morning ladies

porky, too bad i missed the gathering @ PS -- but luckily i din go coz my bb super cranky! woke up crying many times n i had to carry her almost whole day!

sallen, do u wanna take the $10 voucher for bb swim? plan to bring my gal for swimming this weekend

re: ling yang water
my mum asked me to give my gal ling yang water (30ml) before her 5-in-1 jab next monday... any mummies did that to prevent onset of fever? can i buy those ready made one from medical hall?

Re. childcare leave
my hr also tells me childcare leave is prorated... not 6 days lor coz gv birth in May!....

mummies, for those using avent manual pump,can we actually use the container to store ebm in fridge ar? i got a few from fren.. it said storage containers.. but it's those kind plastic type leh.. can use?

adv sport,
dun hv to drink ling yang water b4 jab la... usually they will gv u fever med... according to pd, only 15% will get fever after jab... somemore, ling yang water v 'cooling' leh.. dun think bb can such drink now

Re: pump

I've found the parts at taka.. they do not display it, just have to approach the promoter..

Juju
Yup the rubber part, i think last time i bought it didnt come with spare rubber parts, but have the spare white thingy that is supposed to stuck to handle..
My pigeon pump is quite heavy usage, i used during my 1st for 2 mths (4 times per day), then passed to SIL who used it for 1 month or so.. then now my #2, used it quite frequently for first 2 months while at home, and now using it daily at home in the morning..

Jacquise
I heard avent pump is good.. i myself find pigeon is good as well.. from the way it looks, pigeon and avent manual pump looks similar, i guess the way they work is also similar..

Shers
The star thingy (all spare parts) can get from Philip's office at toa payoh..
But the star thingy is quite exp, my colleague once bought a pair for S$40 if i am not wrong..

ling, i hv been using the container (VIA) to store my EBM... and use it to warm up and feed my gal directly...

re: breast pump
hv been using avent manual pump... so far, yet to pump outside... wonder should i get an electric one when i go back to work? or any mummies tried using 2 manual pumps?

adv sport,
i brought shermay for 5-1 jab on yesterday. she is ok. no fever, not cranky, no less feeding.. like what ling lim mentioned, only certain percentage of bb will develop fever. but even so, my PD mentioned that its only less than 38C and will develop on the day of jab or day after only..

adv_sports,
i gave my girl pao shen(ginseng) 3 teaspoon. My friend gave her boy 30mls of pao shen. all works. never try ling yang water before...

Adv
I ever thought about using 2 manual pumps, but you would be very busy bah ahhaha..
Btw for those interested in buying pump, can buy from cheong choon, they sell cheaper than dept store.
Yesterday i asked, pigeon is about S$60 and avent is S$78.. if you have any other electric pump that u want to buy, maybe can enquire from them..

Re: ling yang water
My colleague ever asked me to feed my kids ling yang before going for jab, but so far I didnt give anything.. i think if after jab got fever, that means the vaccine starts working and kid's body starts to produce antibody against the vaccine, so it's very very normal, just give one doze of paracetamol will be okay already.
Not forgetting, some kids dont have fever at all (my girl don't have any fever for all her jabs..)

IMHO, since they are still very young (below six months of age) it's better to be on safer side, not to feed any thing unnecessarily..

Glennlyn
Take care k..

Re: Pump
I'm using the Avent ISIS iQ Uno. U can operate it using AC, batteries or manual. I pumped once outside using batteries, works as well as AC. Haven't used the manual parts yet cos since can operate on batteries, why tire my hands? I like it a lot, can yield a lot more milk than Medela Mini E and much quieter. I heard that Medela Harmony is a good manual pump too..

Re: CCL
oh, it didn't even strike me that CCL can be pro-rated, better check with my HR. cos i clearing one month's leave and wanna depend on CCl for any emergency in the later part of the year.. seems like different cos have different policy..

adv_sports: Can freeze EBM in VIA cups?

Re: Glass bottles to store EBM
If i don't have enuff bottle caps, what else can i use to seal the glass bottle for freezing? I rem can use clingwrap? pls correct me if i'm wrong..

poohwei: Ur Playtex liners don't have ziplock right? what do you use to tie them up? rubber band can?

Hi Baby May 09,

I also at stat board.. I'm from BCA.. Haha... U shld be having 6 days.. Maybe private is pro-rated...

She called me cos my table gonna have a moutain of rubbish to clear.

I also havent apply my ML..

My edd was 19 May but I deliver on 24 Apr.. N I had in pain at the office.. They ask me to go hospital quickily... haha

shers,
i get to have an "extra" yr if dun start taking this yr. so, i guess not considered "eaten"?

sharon,
prep diapers, FM/EBM are standard.
my IFC:
daily - 2 sets of clothes, 1 towel, , 2 hankies, 2 bibs, 1 towel
weekly - mattress cvr (provide by IFC, we hv to wash), pillow cvr & pillow (by us), blanket

adv,
my mum also said dat, she say can buy frm medical hall. dunno wan to give jodie or not leh. her 1st 6-in-1 is on 7 aug

rc,
i see. maybe new packaging?
thinking of getting avent manual if got sale... lol
going crazy over pumps & slings liao

Juju
Actually I am tempted to buy another manual pump but I do not see a need for now hehe..
As for sling, I already have 2 slings.. so shall not be tempted to buy another one haha. interested in buying ergo or beco carrier, but dare not say coz hubby said very expensive hahahaha!

Taka has got toy fair at the atrium.. for those with toddler, lots of cute toys for them.. as for babies, nothing much except the fisher price thingy..
Just got my girl a set of masak-masak toys hehe.. gonna give her in aug on her 2nd bday..
Bought some other toys for her as well (those cute slippers for wearing inhouse)..

rc,
haha! yea... cannot let hubby noe cos i hv medela mine E & pigeon manual liao...
then i hv 2 slings as well. a bb carrier from SIL...

yest bought jodie some toys & ABC mat from taka toy fair. cheap cheap!

Ju
Oh got sell ABC mat also? I didnt really walk around the area, coz went there at about 6 after work with hubby, so it's like grab and go hahaha..

CK Tang is having their beauty sale.. buy S$120 got S$20 voucher can be used immediately.
Yest we bought baby kiehl's lotion for my girl and the promoter told us to get 3, in order to hit the S$120.. (each tube is S$41) we ended up buy 3 of them at S$100

My girl has been using this brand since young, and it is very very good (she had eczema previously and now it's all gone!)

<font color="ff0099">joyce
me! i bf andrea in the bjorn when i was at home.. just unclip one side, then turn baby sideways.. finish already den put baby up.. behind the box shows how to do it.. so basically u unclip the right side, u feed on the left. u unclip on the left, u feed on the right..

but she dun like to sit in it.. zz</font>

Juju, I can understand. I starting work in about 3 weeks time. My hubby has been asking me to check my co's email to clear abit of work before I start work since June and I have been delaying it, sian. But really have to clear the emails in Aug if not I will be overwhelmed by all the work.

Re Manual Pump

Is manual pump good? There is a manual pump (piston type) that come with the Medela PISA. I tried only once and I find that the yield is much less and time taken is longer than the main pump and my hands were so tired after that. But the main pump is so bulky and heavy. Is Avent and Pigeon manual pump better? Thinking of getting 1 if it is much better than the 1 that come with PISA.

RE: ABC mat

Is those type of playmat better than ABC mat? Can baby crawl on ABC mat also? PP has passed me ABC mat but very tempted to buy the playmat. Is it the same?

baby may,
i've alrdy cleared out the unnecessary emails, but the real work are all physical. tmr go in dunno will be buried or not. plus, i hv at least 4 colleagues unloading my work back to me!

i find dat my pigeon manual pump works harder &amp; faster than my medela mini electric. dunno why

joyce/baby may,
sometimes there are additional discounts for taka card holders, no harm getting one.

<font color="ff0099">joyce
welcome.. mothercare only has 15% thats all.. u want really cheap u can buy from bp but takes super long to arrive.. but save 60 dollars..</font>