(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Hi Tinkles,
Its RC who has 3-4 letdowns. Mine is always 2 letdowns. Must ask rc for tips.

Oh yah..
Thanks Shers for organising the session.
Thanks to Joyce for the brownies too. Can organise cake baking session liaoz.

Sorry sorry, i thot Poohwei's the one with 3-4 times letdown :p

rc - guess my question was for you

Tinkle

Re: letdowns
My trick is to play with the cycle and suction of your pump..

1st let down - First 5mins fast cycle - moderate suction
afterwhich the flow will slow down and switch to slow cycle.. suction power remains
at about 8 mins, if nothing flows out, switch back to fast cycle and may increase suction power a bit..
2nd letdown will normally happens and swith to slow cycle again once the flow slow down
at about 13 - 15 mins, switch to fast cycle and increase power a bit, if u feel the suction power is okay, then no need to adjust the suction power..
3rd letdown will happen and I can feel Bs are totally emptied :p

if 1st and 2nd letdown interval is near, then i could have 4th letdown hahaha! usually i pump about 15 to 20mins max..

I think my flexishield (ameda) helps a lot!!!

shers, thx for the place & organising!

re: bfg milk
i like similac mum most, followed by anmum. dun realli like the taste of the other brandz

Shers - thanks for organizing the gathering..

I've uploaded the pics to FB.. I have tagged those that I know... others, pls tag yourself yah =)

great meeting all the mummies!

shers, thanks for organising!

poohwei, thanks for the teat puncher

joyce, thanks for ur brownie & helping me to take pics of my gal.

my bb was too excited to sleep with so many little friends ard -- she KO after 5pm feed and still zzz now...

vera, audrey, joyce, u r fast in uploading the pics! my hubby n me had a good laugh looking at the pics

bbmay, so fast u looking forward to the next gathering ah ? dunno when will that be since most of us gg back to work liao...

Morning mummies! It was fun meeting all the mummies and babies!

Thanks Shers and Audrey for organising!

Thanks sallen, feb_mum and preciouzalex & mum for helping me carry my baby!

Thanks vera's hubby for helping take photo of me and bb!

I'm looking forward to the next gathering too! Next one will prob be on weekend since most of the mummies are starting work soon?

hi tiny m, u are most welcome...

nice to meet most of u for the first time. only manage to talk to a few mummies n babies coz had another appt had to leave early.thanks for all the tips n pointers

ya ya...do it in town easier
but weekend lots of ppl though..esp with babies n strollers

hey mummies

any of us have sample of baby formula milk?
Think i got to change the FM for him, he is drinking friso now, then always dun wan to drink even when he is hungry

Hi Yuki,

I have a tin of Mamil gold FM which I only use for a few times (I think more than 1/2 tin left) cause my boy is now on fully EBM. I opened it around late June. Can give you the remaining tin FOC if you don't mind. Let me check the expiry date first and let you know later.

For EBM kept in air con room and consume like 3hrs later, do you all feed baby straight or heat up before giving to baby? I read somewhere it is better not to heat, but milk will turn cold if we keep until 2/ 3 hrs in air con temp?

Yuki, expiry date is Aug 2010, but must consume within 1 mth. Must we follow the within 1 mth strictly, if so, better not. End July should be 1 mth liao.

juju,

i cant meet u tml le.. my hubby now then tell me tml he wanna bring me to his company lunch.. so sorry meet up next time round k..

Glad everyone likes the pics.. my hb loves taking pics, so bring him there can be free photographer for us LOL..

Hmm, next gathering then have to be weekends le, cos most of us going back work liao..

Porky, yeah, hope it won't be too long.

Vera, yes, I don't mind gathering during the weekends. Can be families gathering. Your hubby can take photos for us again if he don't mind
. All the photos are very well taken.

bb may - re ebm in aircon room, technically you dun need to warm it up but bb may find it too cool for liking so better to warm up.

re photos - wow the daddies are very good photographers, such nice shots. must bring them along next time. lol.

Yuki,

Baby cries when drinking milk but hungry could be coz of stomach wind. (That's wat the infant care teachers told me.) Give yr boy gripe water and rub ru yi oil on him more often to get rid of the wind.
It works for me tho coz Chelsea used to cry and reject milk tho she is hungry.

Btw,she is on similac.

I just went to JP for lunch before going off to tuas for meeting..

Help.. now i am torn between buying a new manual pump or should i search for the pigeon part (the rubber part loosen, dunno if taka sells that part) haiz!! Any good recommendation of manual pump, i am using pigeon currently and very happy with it until it is dying this morning..

yuki,
no worries, next time then.

rc,
my manual pigeon pump came wif spare rubber parts so shld be able to buy off the shelves?

Juju,

The rubber on top ler, dunno if they sell or not.. u mean got spare rubber part (the one on top?) if got means i also have (most likely)..

hi mummies.. nice meeting u guys yesterday..wanted to upload pix in fb but in the end,., went to c doc and gt a jab.. cos i got biten by my dog!!! i wana take away the sweet from him, as he is trying to swallow together with the wrapper which i'm afraid he wil hav digestive problem if he swallow the plastic wrapper.. (he went into my mum rm and snatch the sweet)

Doc gave me a jab and anti-biotic to take and ointment to apply.. luckily the wound and cut from my finger was nt v deep.. but i have to pump and throw away my EBM for 7 days when on medication! i feel so sad.. cos my bb loves to latch on and suddenly she wil hav to drink FM and bottle feed.. dunno hw she can cope for the next 6 days...

nw seeing my dog, makes me abit phobia of him.. din knw he changed so much.. last time he is nt lidat.. mayb he is jealous of bb... :-( in the other hand i also feel disappointed and bad with my dog...y is he biting his owner...? mayb i din live with him for yrs alrd...(cos he stays with my parents cos am staying with inlaw previously and they dislike dogs). yesterday i thnk he knew he hav done wrong..my hb says he came looking for me when i m out to c doc.

rc_cola, another gd brand to buy is Avent manual pump...alot of mummies love to use this to achieve let down...i had a 2nd hand one to sell it...still very new as I use less than a mth (stopped breastfeeding)...Pm me if u r interested.

poohwei,
i also prefer neo garden than lexin.. the service not as good, decoration also not good.. food so so only..
but at least we try another brand..

mummies, thanks for attending the gathering to make it a successful 1... sorry that the weather isnt that good..

i didnt manage to take to many mummies.. the room is packed with too many prams.. whahhaa..

Hi RC_cola...

How's ur experience using a manual pump? Thinking of getting one when i go out for a few hrs.. makan sessions and shopping trips etc. How long does it take to empty one Breast with a mnaual pump?U using Pigeon? Gd? Heard that Avent is the best in the mkt for manual pumps.

Re: Breast pump

I got an Avent manual breast pump to let go with no bottles,you can buy yr own.
Quote yr price. PM me.

Re: Dog bite owner

Common for dog to behave like that. My JRT poo and pee on my bed on the first few days Chelsea came home. I am sorry to say if a dog bites owner, is probably he/she dun treat u as owner. Time to train him/her. Now and then when my dogs feel that they are not getting enuff attention at home,they will pee and poo at home too! haiz..(They are outdoor trained one lor.) And for those who know me on FB,my mongrel bite spoil my gal's pacifier once! my JRT go and drink soap water from Chelsea's bath... All sorts of funny pattern coming from them! haha

<font color="ff0099">joyce
the brownies very nice!! my hb ate them and i had to ask him to leave at least 2 pieces for me..

hahaha yummy! not too sweet.. so i don't feel guilty when i eat more than 1 piece hahaahah

and i think ur tupperware is with shers haha</font>

Thanks for the compliment.. I reduced the sugar &amp; used healthy raw sugar instead.. so.. it's rather 'healthy' snacks!

Next time, can order from me..
hehehe

Audrey,
I called Shers immediately when I noticed I did not bring back my tupperware.. Will get from her when meet, else, she can have it as a 'gift'! hahaha

Yo, ibite: wana ask u this also la... cos u r expert in dogs la.. wow ur dog poo and pee at hme ah...no wonder my my dog dun pee on the newspaper.. only pee on the flr near the newspaper.. faintz...ya.. i thnk my dog nt so close with me anymore la tats y. i feel sad too.... i dun thnk can train nw la, cos he is 10 yrs old liao..

audrey / joyce..txs for ur concern..."-)

Hi Joyce,
Your brownies are yummy!! If can add hershey syrup, it will be even more yummy!! But super sinful. Anyway, brownies are next on my baking agenda. Tried the cupcakes liao.

rc,
u r talking abt the transparent rubber, rite? i hv dat as spare wif the pump

shers,
u dun ctrl the weather, dun nid to be sorry la

joyce,
can make for me? without cheese, the healthy version... let me noe how muchie