(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

hi, i'm tentative for the gathering. will try to confirm by thu.

re: mass gathering
Date: 27th July
Time: 11-3pm
Venue: North East Function Room
1. Shers
2. Joyce
3. Lily
4. BB_may + hubby (maid)
5. Abby
6. juju78
7. audrey
8. Yuki + hubby(helper)
9. porky_jean
10. Yvette
11. Michelle + Helper
12. Sei + Helper
13. okipoki
14. Poohwei + Helper
15. Gie + Hubby (Helper)
16. ak (tentative)
17. Sallen + Helper
18. adv_sports
19. 915 (tentative)
20. Glenlyn (tentative)
21. preciouzalex + mum (helper)
22. feb_mum (tentative)

rc cola - yes, my #1 oso gave us a very difficult time in the initial period. she wanted attention and affirmation dat we still love her even tho there is now a mei mei. even simple things like who i bathe first, who i carry down or strap to the car seat first matters to her. nw, since mei mei sleeps by 8pm, we spend the nite time with her until her bedtime at 9.30pm. tink it makes a lot of difference to her.

adv sport - bb who are on BM does not need water, since BM is made up of mostly liquid. but you might wan to give a few sips here and there to help bb get used to the taste of water. i didn't intro water till quite late for my #1 and it took us quite a while to get her used to water.

on barely water, personally, i dun tink it's wise to intro this. bb's digestive system may not be really and there is risk of allergy. i will only give this when bb is onto solids.

Count me in for the gathering.. But dunno if i wanna bring bb or not.. still haven't ventured out with her alone yet.. *nervous*

1. Shers
2. Joyce
3. Lily
4. BB_may + hubby (maid)
5. Abby
6. juju78
7. audrey
8. Yuki + hubby(helper)
9. porky_jean
10. Yvette
11. Michelle + Helper
12. Sei + Helper
13. okipoki
14. Poohwei + Helper
15. Gie + Hubby (Helper)
16. ak (tentative)
17. Sallen + Helper
18. adv_sports
19. 915 (tentative)
20. Glenlyn (tentative)
22. feb_mum (tentative)
23. tiny_m

mummies, i have a problem getting my baby to drink EBM from bottle. she thinks it's water and rejects it, only take at most 20ml even tho' she's hungry. however, she has no problems taking FM from bottle. she only rejects EBM in bottle. she only take BM by latching. how ah? I scared when i go back to work, she'll not take the BM i painstakingly express and only take FM in the day..

rc cola,
I also have problem with my no. 1 (7 year old). That day, she told me why I scold her more after di di is here. She ask me whether I still love her... suddenly I felt so guilty. I guess my temper has become hotter since now got to manage 2 kids + 1 baby. When the bb is sleeping (he sleeps early at ~8pm), the 2 kids will run into the room playing & shouting. Then I got to chase them out of the room. But after a while, I think the bb got used to the noise. Now, bb just continues to sleep even with all the commotion.

Anxylyn
It must be heartbroken to hear your kid asked you that qn.. somemore she is already 7 yo...
Now what we can do is try to be as patient as we can to our elder kids just to make sure that even if bb is here, they are still our precious..

Febmum, Joyce
Now i know it's really not easy to have many kids! especially in terms of the attention that we need to give to them.. told my hubby i dun want #3 liao hahaha

Re: barley water
my personal view is that dun give baby any other things before bb is at least 4 mths old (ie juice or barley water, etc)..
But the idea of giving water for bb to try is good, my #1 is now a water baby because she has been having sips of water since nb..
for #2, we give him water occasionally so that he knows that besides milk, there is another liquid which he can take hahaha..

i will try to cfm by thurs.. depend on my wrist condition first..

1. Shers
2. Joyce
3. Lily
4. BB_may + hubby (maid)
5. Abby
6. juju78
7. audrey
8. Yuki + hubby(helper)
9. porky_jean
10. Yvette
11. Michelle + Helper
12. Sei + Helper
13. okipoki
14. Poohwei + Helper
15. Gie + Hubby (Helper)
16. ak (tentative)
17. Sallen + Helper
18. adv_sports
19. 915 (tentative)
20. Glenlyn (tentative)
22. feb_mum (tentative)
23. tiny_m
24. Ling Lim (tentative)

Shers,
do u have the contact list that Cheekz compiled for last round mass gathering? think most of us the contacts are in that list already..

or u prefer us to send u again?

does any mummies experience nursing strike? how long did it last?

apparently it occurs at 3 months for no apparent reason. sigh, my boy just turn 3 n he is on nursing strike for the past 3 days already..

shers, feb_mum, rc_cola, jamie, thanks for sharing...

my bb is on partial bm + fm... we fed her using cup during her first mth... thereafter, stop giving her... will try to give water to her 2molo...

for fei zai shoi, how much to add into water? temp of water should be lukewarm or room temp ok?

Aiyoh yesterday was my girl's "poo poo" day. She pooped at 12noon didn't overflow. But at 3pm I was eating with my sister at her house when suddenly I saw poo seeping through her romper. It was overflowing!!!!! The whole diaper was full and still no space to take in the rest.

Thank God I brought 2 extra rompers.

Next monday on mass gathering day is her "poo poo" day again. Abit apprehensive...don't like the thought of cleaning up the mess outside.

Must bring plastic bag and wet wipes.

Okipoki: Hmmm...I'm staying near the ayer rajah hawker. Near hong leong condo. Tell me when you've decided where to pick me up.

I tried feeding my boy with thawed Frozen expressed BM and he cry and cry. When I changed to EBM from the fridge, he finish the bottle. I think my boy don't like frozen EBM. I tried tasting it, it is not spoilt, but has a weird taste, like metalic. Is it normal?

By the way, this is the first time I feed him with warmed thawed frozen EBM. Yesterday afternoon, I fed him with directly warmed frozen EBM and he seems ok.

bb_may,

EBM shd be thawed b4 warming up.. all my 3kids has no prob with warmed thawed ebm as well as warmed chilled ebm. It does taste differently!

Think some bbs more fussy abt taste!

Joyce, frozen EBM can't be warmed up directly? I thought it just take a longer time. I find that the thawed EBM have a stronger smell and taste wheras the chilled EBM don't have much taste. Maybe I try again later.

bb may - how abt mixing frozen ebm and chilled ebm in one feed? can try 2/3 chilled and 1/3 thawed frozen for a start then increase proportion of frozen ebm over time.

Re: Playtex liners
140 pieces in 1 box - $13. Can hold up to 180ml of ebm.

Anyone else who needs it?

1)Baby May 09- 1 pack
2)Joyce - 1 pack

Let me know and i will bring it to the gathering at Shers' place.

Joyce,
Thanks for the link. gives good guideline for storage.

But for milk that has been thawed / taken out from the fridge and warmed, how long can it last? my bb fell asleep as I was preparing, so dunno if have to waste the milk

Remember some time ago someone posted the pump schedule and preparing the bb for ebm before gg back to work. Can mummies share how u start preparing to switch from direct latch to ebm to faciliate work?

my bb boy dun like aircon!! for the past two weeks since week 9, he can sleep through the night, with last feed around 10-11 and wake up 6-7. but two nights ago i switched on aircon with him in the dream bag, like when he was little, and he woke up at 3 and 5! then last night without aircon, he actually slept all the way till 8am today!!

i am using the pigeon storage bag and just now when i pour, wasted 10ml!! so precious..

muffintop,
leave it in the warmer, can last 4 hrs.

maybe ur air-con too cold?

Poohwei,

I want 2 box

Shers,
Mil will go with me on Monday!

1. Shers
2. Joyce + MIL
3. Lily
4. BB_may + hubby (maid)
5. Abby
6. juju78
7. audrey
8. Yuki + hubby(helper)
9. porky_jean
10. Yvette
11. Michelle + Helper
12. Sei + Helper
13. okipoki
14. Poohwei + Helper
15. Gie + Hubby (Helper)
16. ak (tentative)
17. Sallen + Helper
18. adv_sports
19. 915 (tentative)
20. Glenlyn (tentative)
22. feb_mum (tentative)
23. tiny_m
24. Ling Lim (tentative)

Frozen EBM

I woke my boy up at 1pm and feed him with 70ml of thawed EBM and he finished it though his expression like not very nice. After finish, still cry like not enough. So I gave him 60ml of freshly EBM and he finish 40ml. After burping, he finish the remaining 20ml. He seems ok even though he don't like frozen EBM as much. Will try again later.

Joyce & poohwei, only Ikea sell the clips is it? Ikea only got 1 size huh? I afraid I buy wrongly. After frozen can remove the clip? Then use what to seal the opening?

muffintop, my boy also cant sleep in aircon now...he will make a lot of noise..mostly from his nose and awake many times thru out the night...i think aircon will make him block nose...when i carry him out and put in another room, he can sleep very well without any noise...

porky, i think the aircon also make his throat dry right. cos even for adults we also feel dry after sleeping in aircon.. my mum joked that this boy very thrifty.. haha..

ya i think also will make his throat dry...cos usually he dont sleep in aircon, he wont wake up for milk so soon...ard 6-8hr thru out the night. when sleep in aircon, he wakes up for milk 3-4hrs...more tiring for me...so now i dont put him sleep in aircon but only once a week...

baby may, feb_mum is right. u can try to mix with chilled bm to even out the taste and smell.. i have been doing it for #1 and #2.

poohwei, i realise the playtex is not good for storing bm in normal compartment. good for storing in freezer only.. think because it doesnt stand well and use ikea big clip is not secured enough. will leak when i placed it lying down. i tried to use small clip instead and twist it, better..

Any mummies going back work soon? I'm going back in mid Aug... still got 3 weeks. How many frozen BM should we store?

rc cola,
Sometimes dun want to scold her but she very stubborn. I ask her not to be more quiet when the baby is sleeping, she will throw books on the table and the baby jump out of fright. Or she will run into his room and shout his name. Sigh... must be super patient.

I also didn't intend to have no. 3 but now look at the bb now, he's so cute. If have maid + $ + no need to work+ got big house, don't mind have more babies. ; )

ling lim,
i have the contact list which cheekz emailed earlier. but not mummies attended the last gathering and have the contact list. so will appreciate if the mummies who dont have the list, please email me. anyway most mummies know where i stay already.. from the list.. and of course know my contact as well..

joyce,
can u make some cupcakes again?? i didnt have the chance to eat yr cupcakes the last gathering because by the time i wanted to eat, all lost!!!

muffintop, anxylyn - for my #1, when i returned to work, i gave chilled ebm expressed the day before. so whatever i pump today is meant for her feeds the next day and i will bring all the ebm to the caregiver's place. currently, my #2 is oreadi put on this. she's drinking milk expressed a day earlier. i freeze whatever dat's left from the day's supply as emergency stock. in time to come, should my supply drops, then i will supplement with the frozen ebm.

i'm taking one-mth no pay leave so will only return to work in oct. :)

Shers,

I'll make Brownie this time! 2 tray.. not too sweet, using castor brown sugar/unsalted butter.. definatly healthy stuff!

Last time, there are still some left over muffins, some of them tabao le..