(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Sleeping Patterns:

Been reading testimonies from Mummies who have established sleeping patterns for their babies - may I know when is a good time to start? My boy is now 8 weeks old and he still wakes for feed in the night. There is no real cut-off time before mid-night cos he still wakes for his 2-3hrly interval feeding...

How can I get started - appreciate advice from experienced mums

Hi TInkles Mum, I am not experienced. But I help my boy to differentiate between day and night by the different lights. Daytime, I will on the bright white light and evening time after we wipe him down, we will on the orange dim light. Initially when my boy wake up for his feed, he normally only take a little (I think more for comfort than real hungry). When we give pacifier, he will go back to sleep. For the first few nights very tough cause when his pacifier drops and he 'eh eh eh', we have to put the pacifier in his mouth. I let him sleep beside me so that it is easier for me to put the pacifier back into his mouth without me walking to him at his playpen. Then when we move the baby cot over, we let him sleep on his baby cot beside our bed. I realised that he is in deeper sleep and even when the pacifier drops out, he continue to sleep. So now he can sleep though the night even without his pacifier.

Added my name

Mass gathering

Date: 27th July
Time: 11-3pm
Venue: North East Function Room
1. Shers
2. Joyce
3. Lily
4. BB_may
5. Abby
6. juju78
7. audrey
8. Yuki
9. porky_jean
10. Yvette
11. Michelle + Helper
12. Sei + Helper
13. okipoki

my boy on TBF and poo 2 to 4 times a day is it normal? his poo is seedy and watery, dun think it's laosai right.. just find that he poo quite alot and the amt each time is quite substantial..

mummies wi 2 kids,

i think it's easier to set bb into sleeping schedule if they sleep in different rooms so they will not interupt each other.. my 21mth elder boy has been sleeping in his room himself, he sleeps from 830pm to abt 730am everyday..

as for my 8 week old boy, he sleeps quite late ard 1030pm to 6am w/o feed in between.. i also wana train him to sleep earlier but i guess he naps too much in the day, and he nap till so sound n deep so i just let him sleep loh, as long as he still can sleep at night..

joyce,

ur girl also poo 2 to 4 times a day huh? im relieved to hear that.. thanks..
coz i have been wondering is he having tummy upset..

Mommies

i tried to get my boy on bottle feeds n failed, he cry n cry, hear until heart pain.. been latching him on from sat till today... tmr going out 4 lunch n ve to rush back to check on his feed... any other suggestions?

also anyone still using pet pet small size cos i still ve 1 unopen pack n my boy going to outgrow b4 using this pack..

Is the gathering at Sher's place? Its near the train station right? If so, count me in..

Mass gathering

1. Shers
2. Joyce
3. Lily
4. BB_may
5. Abby
6. juju78
7. audrey
8. Yuki
9. porky_jean
10. Yvette
11. Michelle + Helper
12. Sei + Helper
13. okipoki
14. Poohwei + Helper

Re: Nite routine for 2 kiddos
My baby gal seemed to have changed her sleeping pattern. Ever since she started to "accept" bottle yesterday, she is able to sleep earlier at ard 10+pm? But the Jie Jie will always disturb her. Haiz.

And my #1 is driving me NUTS!! Keep throwing tantrum to attract my attention...Grr..

I was at the gathering today at JP... i wanna join the gathering next week too? can? ... i have added my name below...

Mass gathering

1. Shers
2. Joyce
3. Lily
4. BB_may
5. Abby
6. juju78
7. audrey
8. Yuki
9. porky_jean
10. Yvette
11. Michelle + Helper
12. Sei + Helper
13. okipoki
14. Poohwei + Helper
15. Gie + Hubby (Helper)

shers, 933 is good ! we ordered before for one of our col's bday celebration...they have other stuffs like fried bee hoon, salad...

gals, how is the gathering at JP today ? must be quite fun ya

re: Mass gathering

1. Shers
2. Joyce
3. Lily
4. BB_may
5. Abby
6. juju78
7. audrey
8. Yuki
9. porky_jean
10. Yvette
11. Michelle + Helper
12. Sei + Helper
13. okipoki
14. Poohwei + Helper
15. Gie + Hubby (Helper)
16. ak (tentative)

shers - i'll join if i'm not working that day. not bringing baby though. we can go home together after that.

Thanks Baby May. I need to plan how to get started on my baby's night routine. So far i did what you do - keep the day bright and use orange dim lights at night. He still wakes up once/twice for feed..

hi mummies.. ur bb's seems v gd lei.. only 1 or no feed at all.. hiaz.. mine nw at 8wks, still having 2-3 hrs feed in the night lei.. and her timing really unpredictable... the day b4 only wana slp at 10.15am lei....faintz sia... dunno is it becos of colic la.. yesterday i try to train her slp early, she slpt at 10am, woke up to feed at 12am, 2am, 3.30am and she woke up at 6.10am.. but after feed she wil slp back and wake up at 2.30pm. normally after feed at night she wil slp while atching on, jus when i put her dwn on bed, she wil open eyes and look at me most of the times.. pat her sometimes she wil slp sometimes she dun.... :-( i also dunno wat to do, despite FM or BM she wil also wake up 2-3 hrs, but most of the time is 2 hrs... any1 can advice...? btw, i m fully on BF latching on...

Shers: i stay at west coast area. what's your condo's name? or can just pm me the address?

okipoki: where u stay?

BTW mummies: those who are you going for the gathering, how to breastfeed at the function rm or change diapers huh?

Gathering:
Sorry, missed out the earlier posts - may I know where are we having the gathering? Only saw the function role but not the condo name.

Bao Ying Dan:
Bean - when do you feed Claire that? Morning or evening before she sleeps?

morning..

re: Mass gathering

1. Shers
2. Joyce
3. Lily
4. BB_may
5. Abby
6. juju78
7. audrey
8. Yuki
9. porky_jean
10. Yvette
11. Michelle + Helper
12. Sei + Helper
13. okipoki
14. Poohwei + Helper
15. Gie + Hubby (Helper)
16. ak (tentative)
17. Sallen + Helper

Grr!!! I took a can of coke at 9pm and baby was so awake until 4am!!! She just open her eyes big big and wants me to carry her...Grr....Stupid COKE!!

i want to train my bb not to ask for feed in the middle of the night (between 2am and 4am). his last feed is between 9pm and 10pm. but my hubby heart pain that his son goes hungry so he volunters to do that feed. i decide to leave it as it is. hopefully, my bb will grow out of it after he starts on solid food.

Mummies with 2 kids..
I've got sth to tell you all about our #1, i am actually enlightened by what my MIL told me..

She said our no. #1 is still very young, and they will try 1001 ways just to get our attention since previously we only have them and they are the only precious, thus with #2 coming along, they feel threatened, thus try not to lose your temper (i lost mine every now and then!!) whenever they misbehave, because all they want is just your hug and kisses and they wanna make sure that you still love them as much as previously..

MIL said my #1 is very pitiful, because she is not even 2 yo, and always get the first scoldings whenever both kids cry at the same time.. so now i am trying to be as patient as possible and not to scold her but to tell her nicely.. so far so good, tho most of the time my blood is boiling but I have to keep calm..

oh ya.. i think if mummies can put both of them to sleep together, it wil be good for the mummies, coz once both kids are zz... u can either sleep or do other things.. no need to waste time ie. 1 hour to put bb to sleep, another hour to coax the toddler to sleep..

good morning ladies

re: mass gathering
1. Shers
2. Joyce
3. Lily
4. BB_may
5. Abby
6. juju78
7. audrey
8. Yuki
9. porky_jean
10. Yvette
11. Michelle + Helper
12. Sei + Helper
13. okipoki
14. Poohwei + Helper
15. Gie + Hubby (Helper)
16. ak (tentative)
17. Sallen + Helper
18. adv_sports

shers, last sat i ordered mini-buffet from le xin and golden pillow + fried mee siam -- good feedback from my friends... mini buffet dun come with food warmer -- so best to eat within 1 hr...
either my guests has small appetite or the portion is big, i hv lotsa leftover esp. fried rice...

wah glenlyn_lyn 3 am u stil awake..u mention u feed bb at 610am n she wil slp til 230pm then wake up,so is it ur bb slp too much during day time ??,
my boy also got slp n drink milk problem lor,we hav to carry pat him slp,if put him into cot he wil cry liao lo,he also every 2 hrs wake up for milk.endup bo bian i buy him a sarong for 24/7 swing n TuTu.wit tis 2 "fa bao",he wil slp at least 5hrs to 7hrs then wake up for milk,of course cant allow him to keep using tis 2 "fa bao" de lor ,so now in between i wil switch off the auto swing,pull out his TuTu,now he can slp witout TuTu,without auto swing during day time,but wil stil need auto swing at nite time.coz i slp like a pig never wake up to switch off lo haha..but i wil get a timer plug soon.

Colic...haiz..my boy sometime also hav colic pain problem,tat the reason i buy so many brand bottles,i need try out those bottles n know whicn brand bottles can help bb reduce the amount of air he swallow during a feed.

rc_cola,

If your girl is able to understand: try telling her that, you had mummy for a good 1+yrs ALONE, yet, and bb has always need to share with her.. so now allow mummy to spand a little time wif bb.

I always remind #1 this whenever she says something about fairness!

Glenlyn, your gal sleep between 610am to 230pm, that is around 8hrs. If it is from 10pm, then she can sleep till 6am. Maybe you try to shift the timing that she sleep longer. ie. first day don't let her sleep till 8am, 2nd day keep her awake till 10am, 3rd day 12pm, 4th day 2pm, 5th day 4pm, 6th day 6pm, 7th day 8pm, 8th day 10pm. It will most likely take much longer than 8 days. Or you can shift the other way.

Good morning ladies !

1. Shers
2. Joyce
3. Lily
4. BB_may
5. Abby
6. juju78
7. audrey
8. Yuki
9. porky_jean
10. Yvette
11. Michelle + Helper
12. Sei + Helper
13. okipoki
14. Poohwei + Helper
15. Gie + Hubby (Helper)
16. ak (tentative)
17. Sallen + Helper
18. adv_sports
19. 915 (tentative)

Sallen: pai sei.. i mean after that 6.10am, she wil continue with the 2-3hrs rountine, then aound 2.30pm then eyes wil open big big and wake up. nt from 6.10am slp til 2.30pm la, whr got so gd... :-( i nid to wake up everyting 1 hrs plus ma to feed her, tats y at 3+am i m awake lor..

btw, regards on the COLIC, i managed to find a bend her body dwn position to burp her liao, she seems gd nw, and din merlion(puke) liao. haha... i guess i m lousy in burping her tat time, lets c hw nw.... :) hopefully nw i can start train her in her routine since she feels better nw.

me too! (tentative)

1. Shers
2. Joyce
3. Lily
4. BB_may
5. Abby
6. juju78
7. audrey
8. Yuki
9. porky_jean
10. Yvette
11. Michelle + Helper
12. Sei + Helper
13. okipoki
14. Poohwei + Helper
15. Gie + Hubby (Helper)
16. ak (tentative)
17. Sallen + Helper
18. adv_sports
19. 915 (tentative)
20. Glenlyn (tentative)

can we order from lexin catering instead? with this no of pple, we can order good and cheap buffet..

also last confirmation of pple attending on thur before 3pm ok? pls indicate whether u have helper coming ornot because need to count in their share of food as well..

abby, no worries abt latching on bb because i have booked another room beside the function room. can lift up and latch there because can draw curtain. as for changing diaper, can place changing mat on table and change. btw, u can use nursing shawl or sling to cover up for latching.

re: water
when should we let bb drink water? my gal coming to 3 mth.. we hv yet to let her drink water... her urine is mostly clear color...

my mum asks me to give her 'fei zai shoi' -- cantonese for fat man water

my mil asks me to give her barley water + a bit of rock sugar...

adv-sports, i fed shermin with water because she was on partial bm and fm last time.

but for shermay, she only had a taste of water i think less than 5 times. my mum is ok because she was fed almost every 2-3 hrs interval with bm. so i let my mum sees my ebm.. got lots of water at bottom and the fatty milk is on top.. so i told her without water also can...

as for feizaishoi, u can give abit la.. this is good if bb is constipated or colicky.. will help..

barley water.. think better dont give because might be too cooling.. somemore got rock sugar.. if yr mil insists, then add more water..

jaime, location will be at hougang.. if u r keen, please add yr nick in the list and PM me yr email address or add me in msn..

thanks sher...will pm u

about water, i have been giving 1-2oz in a day since 2 months old..sometimes if he is fussy a bit of water, he is also happy. not too much coz later baby feel too full for bm.

1. Shers
2. Joyce
3. Lily
4. BB_may
5. Abby
6. juju78
7. audrey
8. Yuki