(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

RE: BGF
dont think abt whether enough bm for bb ornot.. just give whatever we have.. and most impt, enjoy the latching on process and bonding... hhehee... like poohwei, feb_mum and dodo say.. latching really save alot of washing, sterilising, washing, sterilising.. hhehee.. i also expressed exclusively for #1 also.. last only 4mths.. so this time round, v determined to latch exclusively during maternity leave and nite when back to work.. hehhee..

dodo, shermay can slp up to 4hrs at nite through latching only. i think its because we slp in air con room.. more cooling and comfortable.. because noon time, the most, she slps 2hrs only..

sk, i think breasts r always fill with milk unless u empty through pumping.. if yr breasts r not hard/ lump after latch, no need to pump out..

sk, i got MIM sling as well.. but i dont find that v good to cover during bfg unless u r wearing nursing top. shawl is alot better.. basically u can unbutton yr top to bf without worrying

hi feb mum,
ok, so i just store what I need.
those EBM that i put in fridge, I know can only last for 3-5days.
Just a bit confuse, if i pour out to bottle for feeding, let's say 50mls, and bb only drinks 40mls. the leftover 10mls can store back?

thanks all for the birthday wishes in FB !

tarus, i was like u before...very blur at all the vaccines...luckily ling has explain to me already...now i just need to decide whether to go GP or PD for the jabs...

looking forward to tmr, can go salon do my hair finally ! btw, i have not washed my hair for 28 days liao...i wonder the flies will stop at my hair when i go out tmr...hahahha

Shers,
I also abit stress about BF baby ... Cos my BM every time never enough for my gal must give her FM after each latch. Is it bcos during nite time I seldom give her BM, I dont want her cry so loud n make my hubby wake up. U start drink nursing tea already? I drank twice only last week. Is it fenugreek really can help for increase milk supply? I want total BF my gal.

Porky,
good u can tahan until 28 days ... me only 20 days then ask for wash already. But shower only can do at day 24 cos next day need to go see gynae

lily,
dont be stress up by tbf or not.. i think its good to latch at least 2 months to let supply established... if u let yr girl drinks fm/ bm through bottle at nite, u got to wake up to pump also..
i havent start to drink nursing tea yet coz i think my supply is still quite sufficient.. initially to drink when i go back work.. because going back work is my most worrying part.. supply will drop..

lily,
i think audrey and jamie went fair today.. i'm goin on sat with #1.. coz going there to watch concert..
its almost the same as mother&baby fair but motherhood fair is bigger with more varieties..

for mums who r looking for fridge-to-go, u can find it there. pureen shampoo and bodywash is super good buy also..

FTWM, how many weeks in advance do u start storing for bm??

i'm very worried that my supply will drop when i return work just like #1 time.. so i tot of storing earlier but can only keep bm for 3 months?? is 3 weeks in advance sufficient since i only pump 2-3 times per day?

febmum,
Now due to space constraints, we din get a cot. Bb is sleeping on mattress only w my conf lady + my #1. Daytime he sleeps on rocker or my king size bed. In future, he will sleep w me as I BF at night. Dunno if should get a playpen for him next time. Who will take care of your bb when you go back to work?

SK,
Agree w Shers that Sling has less coverage than shawl. Sling is mainly use for carrying the bb + some discrete BF so good for on the go mother. Whereas nursing shawl is for total coverage. Last time I brought my #1 to KL shopping w the sling, I BF + walk from shops to shop at the same time. Save time ; ) hee hee

sharon - if leftovr fr bb feeding, cannot keep coz milk will be contaiminated by bb saliva. u can let it stand in warm water for up to 1hr, then must discard.

shers - yes, if normal freezer, only 3mths. if deep freezer, i tink up to 6mths. bm kept in chiller is up to 48hrs.

i didnt store bm when i returned to work. was still pumping daily - only hv 1 day supply of bm on any day. started stocking up frozen bm a mth before stopping supply.

anxylyn - not sure abt your views on co-sleeping with bb. but good to let bb hv own sleeping area, even a mattress on the floor is gd. once they are used to sleeping with u, quite hard to 'get rid' of them in future. u can get a playpen and put in a mattress but playpen usually smaller and bb will outgrow it quite fast. my mum will tk care of my bb

lily - if you dun pump at nite, won't u get engorgement? milk ss at nite actually tend to be higher and milk consistency is thicker.

gd evening ladies!

for mummies with 2 yr olds(Feb_mum,poohwei,shers...who else), can i check if u bring u r kid for HepA, Flu or Meninggococcus jab?
looks like it's optional but my pd says better to take...

shers - normal freezer is the freezer compatment of our fridge. deep freezer is those that shops used to store ice cream. i knw of mums who bought a deep freezer specially to store their bm.

Shers, feb_mum,
if we not drink soup now will efect our supply or not? Cos I feel since my mum go back I never drink soup n eat spinach or veggie n my supply become abit low.

hi dodo, adv sports, i m also struggling to increase my milk supply n was force to supplement with FM. my boy has prob latching, after latching for 10 mins, sleep then refused to latch. once i m done with 2 breats, he sleeps for half an hour waked up again n ask for milk again. this culd go on indefinitely n it's tough for me to keep up. So now, i m planning to pump at least 3-4 times a day to make sure he gas at least 80ML-90ML supply, esp for nights. Just to set some routine in place hopefully.

I have the same questin too when it comes to foremilk vs hindmilk. If baby only latch for 15 mins, arent they getting only foremilk which is not the fulfilling milk?

tinkles mum,
i like nepia too. find dat bb's diapers dun get overloaded so much when i use nepia due to the gauge lines.

Feb mum,
re: co sleeping
Understand what you mean about "getting rid" of the kid from the bed. I only managed to get rid of my gal when she was 3 + yo. She insisted on sleeping on my king size bed. It's a bit of dilemma for me. As I work full time, the only time to bond with the bb is night time. Early part of the night time is occupied by my 2 elder kids. So I feel bad if I let my bb sleeps on his own or let my maid take care at night. Sigh... Glad that now there's 4 month maternity leave now.

Anyone has chiong to Singapore expo Motherhood? Read from a thread, one mummy say Nepia is $14 per pack regardless of size. Hee hee... time to stock up. Should we start buying M size?

Just received the following abt bfg bonding & I thot some of you may be interested to attend:

Hi mommies, do encourage your expectant or new mommies friends & relatives to attend this talk. If you're not yet a member of BMSG, this would be a great time to join or re-join!

==========================================
Public Talk "Building Bonds That Bind" by Mrs Doris Fok
27 June 2009 (Sat), 12pm-2pm, Macpherson CC Theatrette

This is a talk not to be missed by expectant and new parents; grandparents are encouraged to attend too! Join us as we discuss how breastfeeding builds bonds within the family. Expectant and new mothers may also take this chance to ask questions relating to breastfeeding (as time permits).

Fee at $2 per family of 5 persons (adults/kids above 3yrs) for BMSG/PA members, $5 per family for non-members. Light refreshments served 12pm-1pm. Babies are welcome and free-entry!

More details at BMSG official website www.breastfeeding.org.sg

Shers > thx for clarifying.
Will get a sling n mayb diy a nursing shawl. See if mum cam help not.

I think my gal is drinking lesser feeds each day. Cos I think her latching will tend to drag her feeding time longer. More space out. Night time I just let her latch all night long till daybreak.
Is it good?

Bb sleeps with us now...originally in her playpen but I cant do the latch if doing this in the night. Used to make fm during night when she sleeps in her playpen.

Mummies, any ideas what can I do? Think I can bf only in the night time when I return to workforce. Then again, supply will be lower.

thanks feb mum!

milk supply:
Initially i don't have enough milk supply. so I went to KK's lactation consultant. She helped me massage to clear the blocked ducts.
Ever since then, I'll keep up on massaging my breast to clear the ducts. Bcoz she told me if dun massage then the duct will clog.

Nepia diapers:
I've tried huggies, mammy poko, petpet, pampers, nepia, Goo.N, drypers. I like Nepia and Goo.N

BM storing:
Any working mum got any formula where when will we need to start storing BM for after maternity leave? Thanks

sharon - actually no formula. it depends on whether you are still breastfeeding when you return to work. if you are, technically, you dun hv to store. you can pump and send ebm to caregiver daily. i used to pump 3x a day and the amt is sufficient for my bb's feeds for the day.

sk - wat do you mean by 'latch all nite long'? u mean bb is on your breast thruout the nite, even when bb is not drinking? dat will be comfort sucking - can be a difficult habit to kick.

another lelong - i hv a almost brand new tollyjoy food/bottle warmer for sale @ $20. Original packaging still intact. anyone interested? PM me for details.

tinkles mum,
my gal still using NB sizes, and alrdy hv 2 packs of nepia S in storeroom. so, wun be buying yet.
u can jus call nepia hotline to order. dun nid BP.
S size is for 4-8kgs. think NB is below 5kgs.

my gal is using nepia & pampers. these 2 better for her skin.

saw that some of u already planning storing ebm for work... I also want to continue bf when start work but office dun hv nursing/'covered' mtg rms! is there any other way to pump in office?

Gd morning,

Pumping @ work:
I used to do 3 times a day at the ofc with #2, was working freelance then, with no fixed ofc, but managed to do let him have ebm in the day, direct latch when I reached home.. he was bf'd till 22mths. As time goes, I gradually reduce the no of pump to 2 then to 1 & 0...& stopped naturally!

Those freelance ofc I went was quite good, managed to request for my own 'private' space to express.. in some ofc, I used to stick paper informing them that someone is using the mtg room with 'milking in process', some doors have little windows, what I did was pumping with back facing the door, so that pple will not be able to see!

In my current ofc, I have checked and the HR is not really supportive of pumping in ofc, & I don't even have to think of using the mtg rooms! However, this is what I intend to do: go early lunch, use the public nursing rooms in the building, then, pump another time arnd 3plus!

Hi mummies, got a question on pumping milk.. Initially when I pump the milk, the milk is like gushing out.. recently, the flow is like tickling out.. so its taking very long to pump.. is that normal?

Hi Mummies, does pumping milk helps to increase milk supply? Or only direct latch can increase teh supply? I am thinking of TBF but through express milk instead of latching due to my boy's poor latching habit and constant requests for milk when i latch him. Any advice?

btw thanks to mums who have shared their review on Nepia, I called and order this morning but they have run out of stock for NB. Stock coming in only mid-June FYI so I have asked them to contact me when stock arrives.

Caroline:

My sil who pump & feeb bb on ebm only sustained for 2 months...no direct latch at all..

Hence, I do not encourage you to follow her footstep!

Joyce - I have been latching before, only tried EBM more these couple of days, find that my boy felt more full and slept better with what I have supplied which is not much - both breasts for 80-90ML only. Hence he is always asking awake and asking for milk every half an hour to an hour... is that what you have experienced before too?

Jamie:
Here Caroline intends to pump only without latch.. I merely mentioned my sil's experience, no mine tho..

I'm not sure if no latch will really decrease supply as I'm not sure if my sil just stop after 2 mths or really supply dipped.

Yes, pump after latched will increase supply (Jamie, you experience this yourself, rite?) as the body will take it that your bb requested for more milk.

Caroline:
With #1, she stop direct latch at mth 2, I insisted to give her ebm till 6mth. My supply was miserable, but able to meet her full supply.

I think there are some mummies here with full ebm experience beyond 6mths who can share their experience.

But, you have to be very hardworking if you choose this path 'cos you will be always pumping for milk.. initially can takes upto 6 times in 24hr!

My girl is now 3wks old, occassionally she will request milk every 1 or 2 hr. sometimes, she will take 10mins suckle & sleep 2hr, sometimes she just refuse to sleep & keep wanting the Bs.. really hard to gauge her timing!