(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

audrey,

when i went to her pushcart, her sales assistant told me its diff material.. i cant tell coz in air con environment. and she told me only peony is diff material.

xue, i want to check on peony whether is the same material ornot.. if same, then i dont wan that colour already.. wan to consider other colours..

audrey, the darker grey is called anthracite. i like this colour..

hi audrey,
Thanks! got ur PM

Shers, i saw anthracite out of stock on the website liao

re: EBM n FM
can i mix EBM with FM in the same bottle to feed bb?

re: bb immunisation
we brought bb to PD (kidslink opp chinese garden mrt) for hep b 2nd dose. total cost plus development assessment + fever medicine is $92. 5in1(3 jabs) is $110 per jab.

re: BM jaundice
PD said my bb has breastmilk jaundice but will go away between 4-6 weeks... bb's eye white is white, not yellow and she pee n poo many times a day... he din ask for blood test -- should i be concern abt the level?

Adv_sports:
EBM n FM:
I think it's better not to mix them in the same bottle!

BM jaundice:
Don't worry, BM Jaundice is common & since she pee & poo so often. My #1 was yellow even at full mth..

joyce, thanks!

last 2 days, my bb cries for milk every hour
dun think my B can produce enough milk after 1 hour... in the end, we decided to supplement with FM... now i express milk once a day when we gave bb FM ard midnite -- very low yield at 50-80ml for both B
hubby is worried that i will become too stressed and depressed...

adv_sports,
i checked with PD b4, can mix ebm with fm. u just treat emb as norm temp water to add into the mixed fm to make it luke warm for bb to drink.. can mix de.. dont worry! i also worried abt mixing because my #1 drinks my emb also.. so i call and check with PD

Re: EBM and FM
I checked with the nurses at TMC and they are say it is perfectly alright to mix (For the older kids). Not too sure about babies tho. For mixing, just prepare the formula and mix them with warmed ebm.

Hi adv_sports
Dun be overly concern with ur supply. Tho i have good supply, my gal still latches on pretty often. Sometimes, it is because they are small drinkers or the milk has not gone down. Try burping them and latch them on after a while.

adv sports,

re: EBM & FM
agree wi joyce, i remembered my elder boy's PD ever told me not to mix..

is ur girl going thru growth spurt? dun get stressed up gal, more supply will come in after frequent latching on and expressing.. cheer up k!

btw, adv_sports, i think its best to latch yr bb 1st.. if still not enough for her, then make fm for her.. rather than pump out and mix.. what if she cannot finish the bottle? then yr ebm will be wasted le

poohwei,

haa! lucky u have a power sucker girl!

my boy quite lazy, suck suck abit then fall asleep.. sometimes when i latch him abt 30mins for both side of breasts, he cries for milk abt 1-1.5 hr after the latch on, im too tired and wana nap so my mama helps to bottle feed him EBM... wonder did he suck any milk from my breasts or not..

haa, ur EnEn also same as Zq huh? but i only mix in 30ml of EBM, will try to add more later :p

ya, i only mix EBM wi FM for my elder boy.. dun dare to mix for my bb boy.. think for elder kids shd be okay since they are eating lots of variety of foods already!

re: how much milk per feed?
did u get this "formula" from ur PD?

(bb's weight x 150)/ how many feed per day: how many ml of milk per feed

wonder is it significant?

any mummies still able to express out quite alot of milk after latching on?

im wondering whether bb got suckle milk from my Bs or not.. coz after latching him on for abt 30mins, i still able to express abt 100ml immediately..

and bb will cry for milk soon after the latching on.. wonder is my latching position correct? he seems unable to empty my Bs.. not sure am i doing it the wrong way.. any mummies can advise on this?

Dodo,

I expressed 100ml after every 2-3 latches. Its day 5 for me now. So for now, i have approximately 300-400ml excess ebm a day after i latch on fully. Baby cant empty my breast also. The best that she could was to leave ard 25ml in one of my breast (That's becos she fed on that 1 and only B.)

Xuan Xuan also sucks for abt 10 min and then she will stop. Too much milk for her at one go. Can even see milk dripping out of her mouth. Then she will rest for 5-10min or sometimes 30min , then she will suck for another 10min. That would last her approximately 2-3hours of good nap. Xuan Xuan is a power sucker cos she can clear my blocks and engorgement!! So happy!! If not i would be in great pain like when i had my #1.

Btw, i am worried that when i have abundant supply, baby is only drinking the foremilk which is less fattening. Cos when i pump, the milk is so thick and yellowish. Which means i pump out the hind milk which is richer. Any mummies encounter this?

dodo,
i think there r some mums who post this formula b4..

ya.. i can still pump out milk after latching. but i'm lazy. i dont pump that often. only 3 times per day. morning, noon and nite. the rest just latch.

i always feel tingling feeling and follow by tightening on the breasts when i latch on shermay. then breast will feel softer.

usually after latching for ard 20-25mins, shermay can slp for 2-2.5hrs. nite time, after latching her, i will pump put excess. yield will be ard 200ml..

poohwei, i had this situation as u do during 1st 2 weeks.. so i bottle feed shermay 2 times per day (before my nap and nite time)... then i can see the diff in her face within few days..

but this situation will overcome de... when come to week 3 onwards, bb will suckle longer..

Now only got time to check up forum...
Has been busy, busy and busy with bb... haha...

Is there a motherhood fair at expo?
Anybody has the details of the fair?
Thanks ya!

shers, poohwei & dodo, thanks

dodo, my bb has been demanding milk at every hour since last week... 2 weeks of growth spurt? last week, my mum was ard to help.. this week, m alone and totally shagged by her constant crying at every waking moment! felt so bad that my milk is not enough for her

poohwei, my bb will latch for 15-20 mins and doze off... then wake up 1 hour later crying for milk...

shers, so far, we din mix EBM with FM... if after latch, bb is still awake and ask for more, will give EBM (only once)... FM at nite will last her 3-4 hours -- so that i get some sleep...

re: EBM
my yield is 80ml after 5 hours from last latch and 50ml after 4 hours... should i wait longer before i express?

Hi adv_sports,

Its quite normal for BF babies to demand for milk as and when they want. Especially when we latch on and have totally no idea of how much they are drinking. So just relax and enjoy the process. If you have 10 ml, give 10ml. 100 ml then 100 ml..No need to be stress over it. You should be enjoying the bonding process with baby..

Audrey,

Chocolat wanted to get a poncho too.

poncho
1) Poohwei: Peony
2) nineonefive: elven
3) dodo: framboise
4) audrey: peony
5) Jamie: peony & framboise
6) okipoki: elven
7) muffintop: elven & peony
8) graceofgod: peony
9) shers : peony
10) xue : elven
11) adv_sports: peony
12) Chocolat: peony

total 14 shawls

Adv sports,

Don't be too stressed out by the amount of milk you have. If you find that baby is like crying every hour for milk, do supplement it with some FM otherwise you will be so tired and stressed out and maybe in the end your milk supply will get lesser due to the stress.
Just give whatever you can don't think too much.
Jia you jia you!

poohwei,

i expressed out after each feed as i feel bb cant empty my milk.. and each time can get ard 100ml.. for morning feed i can get ard 160-180ml.. dun worry abt the hindmilk gal, coz today is my day 12, and the milk just turn normal white colour today, prior to that was like what u mentioned thick yellowish colour.. so i think xuan shd drink be drinkg ur nutritios yellowish milk also..

shers,
my boy can sleep 3-4 hour after each feed if i top up wi my EBM after latching on.. just latching on can only last 1-1.5hr leh.. but the strange thing is during mdnight when i just exclusively latch on, he can sleeps 3 hours w/o topping up of EBM..

adv sports,
yes, dun be stress! stress will affect ur milk supply also.. relax, just supplement wi FM if there's not enough.. and dun be stress by bb's crying, last time round when i was left alone wi bb at home after my confinement i was v stress also, bb cries make me super gan jiong.. just take it easy, no big deal that bb cries ok, they need to exercise their lungs also.. cheer up ya!

<font color="ff0099"> xue
the fair only starts tmr,,

xue/shers
do u still want thr shawls? i need to submit alrdy..</font>

adv sport - ya, dun stress. i rem the same thing happening to me with my #1. i cldn't rest at all coz she was on my breast almost every hr. she will juz suckle a little and go to sleep, then cry and the cycle juz repeated. i was so tired dat i cried then. i gave fm when i was juz too tired to carry on and to keep my sanity. subsequently, after bb was 1mth, i stopped latching and gave ebm. suddenly, i felt i was in better control and i was a happier mummy. in fact, with the regular pumping, my milk ss oso increased. i managed to bf my #1 for 6mth using this mtd. i've started on ebm for #2 too. a bit radical but i guess i'm juz not the latching type of mummy ;p

I saw that some of your bb poo alot of times a day.. mine during 1 mth is like tt.. but now 6wks, he only poo 1-2 times a day.. is it okie? I gv him ebm n 2 feeds of fm per day.

feb mum,
yes.. for my elder boy, i exclusively expressing milk and fed him on EBM.. agree that wi this we have better idea how much they drinks and their drinkg and napping timing more predictable.. my milk ss also increased wi exclusive expressing..
the troublesome part is the sterilising of the pump parts &amp; the bottles, and also the warming of milk! :p

dodo - ya, wash and sterlise like xiao! i wash until my hands gone case liao. and then kan chiong when bb start crying and milk is still being warmed up. haha. but this is how i managed to perserve to give my bb bm. if i hv to continue latching, i tink i long give up liao. hee.

feb mum,
tks.. i was worried my bb not doing well at the poo poo...

i also agreed that ebm allows us to better gauge the amt n the time interval.. latching can be every hr.. i will go crazy lor..

feb mum,
yup! somemore i SAHM, so my daily cycle then was all evolved ard pumping + washing + sterilising + warming BM + feeding.. tired! hee.. but it was like a routine to me so i continued till bb 1 yr old.. but latching on got many benefits also, can do away wi all the washg and sterilising, very convenient, and the bonding wi bb also.. give n that in some ways

how old is ur #1? mine is abt 20mths.. coz i latch on most of the time for my this bb, i find that sort of deprieve that quality time wi my #1..

oki, thanks for collecting for me. Let me know when is convenient for me to come over.

poohwei, dodo, bean n feb_mum, thanks for your encouragement

poohwei, if i express after each latch, the EBM is very little... how to store them? do u sterilise ur pump after each express?

dodo, haha, my bb is exercising her lung daily! for the first 3 weeks, my mum n me thot my bb very "girl" -- her cry is soft n gentle... then on the 4th week, suddenly can cry till whole face beet red n tear down the house!

feb_mum, yah, we decided to supplement with FM to get my sanity back... hubby is very supportive and he is very happy as now he can bond with bb using bottle feed

adv sports,

yeah, that's the way!

haa.. so we need to be "seasoned" to their cries.. :p yes, happy mum = happy bb and happy daddy!

gal, then dun express out after each latch on if ur breasts are not lumpy/ hard.. express out when u feel that way.. and yes, i sterilise after each express..

sharon,
hmm.. i express out coz i feel my breasts still lumpy and abit hard after latching on.. coz i had infection &amp; blocked ducts last time round when i BF my elder boy, v painful experience.. if breasts feel tender and soft after latching on, then not need to express out i think.. anyway EBM can only store in lower compartment of fridge for 48 hours, so not need to store so much la unless u wana freeze them
i heard some mummies freeze their BM to standby when they back to work after maternity leave..

dodo,
I see... bcoz i only express once a day. for night time use.
I did freeze some excess BM, during confinement period. Bcoz CL wanted me to do so.
I find that expressing milk also quite tiring. Like that I have very little 'ME' time..

Regarding bb cries...
I feel very nervous when bb cries until face red red...
Got this kind of feeling, bb is bullying me... haiz

audrey,
i went down expo just nw for john little. pass by motherhood fair n went in to take a look. cant find the poncha booth leh. btw there's nepia booth. mom'r us and mum &amp; babes hv big booth. just beside each other...

<font color="ff0099"> sharon
motherhood fair 4-7 june at expo hall 6

xue
the booth only start tmr i think.. started today liao?</font>

audrey,
same here. I'm enjoying every new discovery with her...
Don't even dare to think what's the life after my maternity leave...

Wow..wonder how to measure how much bb has suckled prior to expressing out the remaining milk in our bs? You mummies sure know the volume well leh.

Just curious to know, my bs are always soft and tender but wonder how come still supply rather low (or psychologically think that they are on the low side?) So....like to know if im having block ducts too. How to know? I saw that my left nipple can squik out some milk when squeezed...like coming out from 3 nozzles. Very amusing but not the right nipple. So does that mean those 3 ducts have been cleared at my left nipple? My right nipple drips only.

Can someone advise?

Hi adv_sports

I do sterilise after each pump. Like dodo, i had bad experiences with blocked ducts. Hence, we will faithfully pump out after latch on when our Bs are hard/lumpy.

For my #1, she was on ebm for 80% of the time. Hence, i sterilise like mad. Had so many bottles to wash everyday. And i also dunno how i persevre until #1 was 10 mths old. Stopped only becos i was expecting #2. Now, the only bottles to wash are the ones tat i use for pumping and are meant to store milk for #1. Such a big relieve.

Just calculated. #1 took 260ml of my ebm today. That will save me at least 1 tin of FM each month at least. Thats ard $25 worth of savings!! Yippie. Got to try to up her intake of ebm to save more $$ and to avoid clogging my freezer. Think i will start freezing my ebm soon for emergency purposes or for start work purposes by next week.

Hi SK
If you see nozzles, it means that the ducts are cleared and can produce a lot of milk.

Re: Bottle feed
Looks like i have to start bottles soon. Maybe week 3? Cos baby seems to be rejecting bottles leh. When i was doing my massage just now, xuan rejected her milk. Drank like only 5ml from bottle.

Just finished my pump. Got to sleep. Baby shall room in with me again and latch...so that i can tahan until 9am for my next pump.

<font color="ff0000">Happy Mummy = Happy Baby!!</font>

Finally had time to read all your postings.. daily routine has been waking up...pump milk, bathe the boys... the list goes on..

My breasts are really overworked the past few weeks.. milk production can't meet the demands of my 2 growing boys.. was pretty depressed for awhile but with encouragement from my parents and hubby, I do feel much better...and of course supplementing with FM.

My mil kept worrying I have not enuff BM for the 2 boys..brought alot of fish bones for my mom to make soup for me.. my mom secretly no make for me as she doesn't want me to have breasts engorgement (which I already have). I am already trying my best to produce as much as I can till my breasts sore so I really don't wish to get unnecessary stress...

Like to know how fast/early can we know our breasts are "re-charged" again with the bm after each latch?

I latch my gal thru out each night and find that the bm turns to hind milk (cos already in whitish colour) then not sure if continue to pump sill got milk or not.

Sling vs Shawl
Think sling would be better for me but contemplate to get a shawl like you mummies. :S

Sling:
Tried using the MIM sling today. The bb loves it. Fell asleep within 5 min of snuggling in the sling. I look like a kangaroo with a pouch ; )

Survey - playpen/walker?
Is playpen is useful? Where do you intend to put your baby when he/she can turn or crawl? Now still can put on the bed and rush to toilet. Next time dunno how to manage because I only have maid to look after the bb + my son during the day.

dodo - my #1 is 2+. i'm a ftwm so by the time i returned to work, i've 'tuned' my body to only 3 pumps a day. the amt is sufficient to feed my gal then. had initially wanted to continue beyond 6mths but gal started to reject bm once we intro solids at 6mths.

adv sport - ya, an encouraging and understanding hb is very impt in our bf journey. glad dat your hb is so. jia you. juz give whatever bm you can, we are all trying our best for bb.

sharon - store what you need. no point having over stocks coz frozen bm can only last 3mths.

anxylyn - where's your bb sleeping nw? if you hv a cot, technically, not necc to have a playpen. can keep bb in the cot. however, some pple like to have a playpen for day use to help bb differentiate betw nite and day. for me, bb use cot at home and a playpen at my caregiver's pl.