(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

caroline:

As long as bb settle down & ur mil sees him putting on weight.. she will keep quiet!

Sometimes, they will ask: is it don't hv milk? u can just ans..there will be if bb suckles.. else, ur supply will loose/reduce if don't let bb sucks!

Also, ensure there is wet/soiled diaper everytime b4 feed!

Re: pumping
Pumping indeed may result in sore nipples and over supply...BUT...Good thing..OVER supply = you will slim down more quickly..Hence, i normally make sure that i have over-supply and cut down slowly.

Re: Day 2 in hospital
My gal was on milk strike on day 1 cos she was so sleepy. Today, she is on milk buffet. Must drink every 3 hourly! And she must feed on both Bs for at least 20-30 min. She must be very hungry after 1 day of milk strike since my milk supply is already there..Hehehe..can still squeeze out milk after she finishes her latches..So praying that she drinks more so that i dun get engorgement. But my nipple are getting sore..The nurses commented that my nipples are quite sore even before i started my first latch. So now using nipple creams.

Thanks Joyce - I was thinking of sending them for BF briefing actually! haa haa...

Anyway will stick to what you suggested

Hi audrey,

Dun worry abt little hair..My #1 also had very very little hair when she was younger. Now that she is coming to 2 years old, hair has grown to a decent length. No worries. Actually, no hair also quite cute one..

<font color="ff0099"> tinkles, poohwei
ok that's good i feel better now. i see everyone else's baby the hair so thick haha. den andrea only the sides n behind got hair.. the front part very very little.. look like boy haha!

i had v little hair when i was a baby - maybe she take over me haha

anyone going for motherhood fair at the expo 4-7 june?</font>

Btw i just had my massage for the day - this is my 4th day already. I didn't used the one Ling used, switched to another one my friend recommended. She is very good- decided to extend from 5 sessions to 2 weeks.

She did massage for me and my baby. I think it helps alittle with my incontinent conditions and also my engorgement - never had it since she started breast massage for me. I like the way she massage Jonas, he seems more comfy and slept well after that too - maybe cos she got rid of the wind.

Audrey,
My dd1 is botak at birth. Now everyone is envious of her luscious black hair

poohwei,
Expressing more than demand can lose weight! My previous 2 pregnancies, I was back to pre-preg weight after 2nd month. So this time, I express extras to put in the fridge also. If my bb didn't drink after 1 day, I give it to my 2 older kids. Don't waste.

Caroline,
Maybe you can try burping your bb after 15 min (if he stops drink), then try latch on again. The longer the latch on, the more milk you will produce. If he cries, then latch him on again. I notice my bb will stop drinking for a while, it's because he has some air and he feels uncomfortable to drink. After I burp him, he continues drinking again.

re: In laws
That day my in law ask why bb was crying. She commented I have not enough milk. I told her I've so much milk that there are many bottles extras in the fridge. She seems satisfied that I'm not "starving" the baby.. hee hee.

<font color="ff0099"> anxylyn, wats dd1? wah okok i shall be patient and wait for my girl's hair to be black n shiny hahaha</font>

Hi Anxylyn,

I totally agree with u abt the part of losing weight. In fact, i ate so much during confinement but still managed to get back to pre-preg weight after the 2nd mth for my #1.

Re: Starving baby
All grandparents are very afraid that we will starve their grandchildren. It is a NORM!! Sometimes, even when u show them the extra ebm, they will still be unconvinced!! Its just a mentality that we cant change..So one ear in..one ear out loh...

Now waiting for baby to be brought back for her next feed..

Cheyanne &amp; Caroline: I'm one of those mummies who were stressed out by bfing also! Just wanna share my story as encouragement!
For the first 2 weeks, I can't latch bb on at all cos my supply damn low and bb kept crying at my breasts. I kept having to pump out the milk (takes me one hr for each pump session) and have v sore nipples! I cried almost everyday for the first 2 weeks cos i'm so upset I can't do something so natural! I did whatever I can to increase milk supply - pump and pump, eat fenugreek, drink lots of fluids (even tho' ppl say cannot drink water during confinement, i still drink about 1litre of water per day on top of 3litres of red dates tea, and soup).
My mum see me so xin ku, kept asking me to give up, say all my relatives say that some ppl are just born with little milk ducts so it's ok and cited many relatives who cant bf. She said my nipples are flat and it's very difficult for baby to suckle. my dad even told me that FM is better and asked me to ask gynae for medicine to stop the milk supply!
I just don't give up, i know that every little breastmilk is good for baby, so if I have 10ml, i give 10ml, got 70ml give 70ml. My mum everytime see the EBM i pumped out, she'll say,"so little, no enough de.." but i still hang in there. I started pumping on a 3/6/9/12 schedule and read on exclusive pumping mummies (thought that'll be my fate if i wanna breastfeed and bb dun wanna latch on).
The milk supply came in slowly and on baby's 15th day, she managed to latch on finally! She'll suckle for 30mins and after 30mins, she'll wanna be fed again. I just kept latching her on until my nipples were sore (worse than pumping) and one even bled. But I was happy.
Finally today (BB's 20th day) she can latch on and sleep for more than 1hr without crying for milk!
My mum still asks me during every feed that whether my milk enough for baby or not but i learnt to just ignore the comments. I just know that as long bb got pee and poo, it means that she's taking in the nutrients! I'm still supplementing with FM at night cos bb is taken care of by my parents at night and I want her to sleep longer but I'll wake up to pump out the milk during my bb's feeding time. My pumped out volume still very little (as compared to the amount of formula milk she needs to drink) and my left breast like forever can't pump out much milk but leaks a lot (dunno why?). Am trying to go tbf after baby's first month when I'm more confident of taking care of baby at night also.
I think latching is the best way to increase milk supply cos one fren of mine said bb's saliva has an enzyme to increase milk supply but if baby doesn't wanna latch, just keep pumping and try to latch! And seeing a lactation consultant may help! I'm going to see one tomorrow for my sore nipples and to see if the latch is correct.
Don't give up and jia you!

Re: Pumping after latching
I wanna try this to increase milk supply (I want over supply to store!) but how to go about doing this? Do I pump right after latching? Will pumping after latching affect my supply for the next feed, esp. my baby wanna feed like every 30mins to one hr?

Hi Tiny M,

Your perserverence will pay off definitely!! Jia you. Btw, are you using a good dual pump? That may help to boast supply also. Try drinking hot milo or hot milk. It increases ur calcium intake and may increase ur bm supply. At least, that was what my colleague did when her MIL refused to let her drink fish soup for 1 week after she was discharged (she had c-sect).

tinklesmum, tinym,
JIA YOU!!! bfg works well only with the combination of mind, body and soul. must relax~~ dont get stress up by the qty u have.. instead concentrate on the bonding part u get when u latch... initial few weeks will be v hard and tough esp every 30 to 1hr latching.. but when bb gets older, they will suckle longer and slp longer. so long they poo and pee, no worries abt how much they drink or whether they have enough ornot..

RE: motherhood exhibition
i will be bringing my #1 to the kids concert. so probably will drop by to see whether got good deals..

my confinement ended yesterday and just at my mama place continue another 12 days.. my mama still says can wash hair once a week only.. i say NO WAY!! i have enough of it.. the most is alternate day.. but i must shower 2 times per day!! and with 2 kids, i'm going abit crazy! esp #1 kept wanting to 'carry' meimei, touch meimei, talk loudly.. and poor meimei couldnt really slp well yesterday..

audrey: i also dun really knw hw to burp bb.. always my hb do.. everytime i try, she dun burp and when i put her down, she vomit, then my hb will give me a knowing look. =p

pooh wei: hw to u cut down ur over supply? nw i hv to pump/latch both sides every 2-3 hrs cuz boobs v full and hard.. its kinda flooding my fridge nw cuz my girl dun drink so much also. and i hate to see the milk go to waste..

adrienne: ya i also broke all rules liaoand been out shopping 3 times since i popped 10 days ago. lol. snucked in 3-4 midnite bathes too and drank pokka green tea and lychee drink on a few occasions. and it's only been 10 days!! sometimes feel bad tho cuz my mo really gt put int he effort to cook for me all my meals.. =/

does anyone knw hw long to latch bb on for each B per feed? like latch until bb let go on her own or got timing like 15 mins each like dat? hw do we gauge hw much bb is drinking when we latch?

good evening ladies

yeh, my confinement is finally over! we celebrated with our families and brought bb out on first shopping trip at Compasspoint. haha, a bit stress due to the short feeding interval (1.5-2 hours)... bb started crying while shopping in metro.. when we asked abt nursing room, the staff said there is none but she is very kind to let me BFG my bb in the changing room
we managed to make it home in time for the next feed -- bb slept soundly during the bumpy ride in the car

shers, haha, shermin so cute -- wanna carry shermay

re: EBM
my first attempt is 60ml on 1 side using avent manual pump (finally i got the hang of it!)... hmm, no wonder the feeding interval is getting shorter... bb should be drinking 90-100ml now

tinklesmum &amp; tiny_m, jia you! juz do give wat u can

Hi Jamie,
Once you think u have lost sufficient weight and ur milk supply is established, you can cut down by extending the interval between 2 pumps. Or you pump for a shorter duration. It definitely helps.

Re: Confinement Rules
I am going to "START" my confinement officially tomolo while many of u have ended urs. Will miss the GSS!! Arh!! Anyway, hubby just bought me fried chicken and egg oyster (w/o oyster) to the hospital for our supper. Yummy!! Once we finished our supper, it was time for my gal's "supper". She was wailing so loudly that u cannot miss the fact that she is hungry! She is slowly latching on for a longer duration but with breaks in between. She will latch, rest/be burped, change sides and the cycle repeats until she suckles for ard 20-30 min in total.

Re: Older sibling
My #1 dun seem to want to carry my #2 leh..She only wants to kiss her and touch her head...Let's see what will happen when i return home tomolo. Got to adjust to 2 kiddos liaoz.

Got to zzz...Lotsa things to do in the morning tomolo. Birth cert, CDA account, discharge procedures etc...

Re: Confinement rules

What confinement??!! I WENT OUT to school to sit for my exams. Spend 3 weeks of my confinement mugging and rushing projects. My confinement - SCREW UP! haha. But thinking back, I quite silly leh, I washed my hair with the herb and it made my hair extremely oily...LOL

Re: Motherhood exhibition

Anyone gng?

Re: GSS

Till my pay comes in on the 12th, I am going shopping!!!! (For Chelsea.) Poohwei, dun be jealous hor. :p

Poohwei, Shers &amp; adv_sports: Thanks! I managed to TBF the whole of yesterday! And feeding interval longer, about 1-2hrs. Hopefully can continue.. Just dunno how I can pump now, do I pump after feeding or what?

Prob not going cos still doing confinement.

Re: Vaccinations
Can anyone share whether u go for 5-in-1 or 6-in-1? and where does ur baby get vaccinated? Am considering 5-in-1 cos heard 6-in-1 will cause fever?

Hi Tiny_M
Try to pump after your latch so that your breast is completely emptied. This will help to send a signal to your Bs to produce more milk. Its ok that the yield is only 10-30 ml after the latch on.

Hahaha..I dun even need to dream of going...CONFINED at home at least for the 1st week..

Re: Vaccinations
My #1 took the 6 in 1. She had slight fever but it was ok. The jab afffected her appetite slightly also. Not too sure if 5 in 1 will cause fever or not.

Now, i am waiting to be discharged! Waiting for the bill to be processed. Luckily there is internet service in the room. If not i will be so bored! Baby is still so sleepy! So hard to make her latch on. Have to keep waking her up to drink milk.

morning all mummies...daddy bring bb go chk jaundice level...cuz quite high...so i free abit

RE:BF
i latch whenever he wan to drink...supply is getting more but still not enough for bb...n i realised tat FM make him slp longer compare to BF...

Daytime i will combine with abit of FM...cuz not enough...

Nitetime i BF...so like almost every 1.5-2hrs i will latch him...n fall aslp together with bb...

i only pump once to see how much milk i have...but now i dont...

n once my breasts leak...is really cfm bb hungry and want to drink...i find it very facinating...

RE:Burp
wah biang...me n hubby so stress duno how to burp him...then we tried to put him on his tummy to slp le...now will monitor if works on bb...

if cant...we intend to buy gripe water le...

RE:Confinement
sian la...muz tahan for 12days then can bath and wash hair...meanwhile can only wipe body with hot water mix with rice wine...

RE:pOO
can i check...does bb poo everytime during feeding...mine like no proper toilet train..is it normal? he will poo then drink milk...then aft tat poo again...then continue to drink milk...

n i cant use cloth diaper cuz he wets them too often...so use diaper...

i change his diaper once every 2 feed...is it okie? or should i change aft every feed...but after each feed i change, he will poo again...thus i abit fedup &amp; scold him...

re: motherhood exhibition
hope to go on sat, since i alrdy can go jalan jalan on friday! only need chauffeur.

re: vaccinations
i intend to do 6-in-1 for jodie. get it over wif!

cheyanne,
my gal poo &amp; pee every feed. sometimes twice! if change everytime they do it, diapers run out very fast. since my gal skin is ok, i wait for her to feel uncomfy then change. so far, ok. jus apply desitin cream when changing diapers

<font color="ff0099"> cheyanne
the PD don't recommend gripe water until bb is about 1 month or 2 month onwards. but its not a big problem la, just that PD recommend infant colic drops. can buy from pharmacies..

1. rid wind infant colic drops (light blue box)
2. dentinox infant colic drdops (white n green box)

for me, rid wind works better. 1 box about $6 plus. that one can give before every feed

re: poo
my girl poos before feed, during feed, after feed. but not all the time, but MOST OF THE TIME!! and i using cloth nappy so imagine how troublesome!!! only at nite i let her use plastic diaper..

actually if my girl falls aslp after feeding, i dont change until she wake up n cry for me to change it haha. but if she is awake, den i change haha.

iBite:
i'm going i'm going!!!!!!!!

Hi Cheyanne

Its normal for TBF babies to poo and drink and poo! You can change up to 12-13 diapers a day easily for the 1st month. Hence, i really admire mummies who use diaper clothes! Nornally, i dun change the diapers unless baby poos for the 1st month. If need to change, i will gauge by the heaviness of the diaper which comes with experience. Not necessary once after every 2 feeds.

<font color="ff0099"> cheyanne,
because i use cloth diapers everyday, that time i feed her den she give one loud fart, den her poo shoot out of the cloth diaper, onto my shorts and all over the sofa... i never dare to eat curry until now cos the curry gravy look like her poo poo haha..

but yah juju is right, apply the nappy cream (for me i use drapolene), it is meant to prevent nappy rash so can tahan awhile .. skin won't be affected unless kaiden has super sensitive skin lol.</font>

audrey,
dat bad ah? look like curry gravy!
my gal had blanjah my masseur, me &amp; her granny pee &amp; poo liao! only daddy haven't receive the royal present yet!
i also bought drapolene, but was told drapolene for normal usage. if look like going to have diaper/nappy rash, better to use desitin wor

Hi all, thank you so so much for all your encouragement. I am latching my baby everytime he wants food for about 15-30mins per breast depending on him. After that, if he wants more, my hubby will supplement with FM but only like 30ML. I hardy pumped out my milk, but i intend to only after baby suckle and my breasts still feel full.

Shers - you are so right, I felt much better after i focus more on bonding and less of the feeding arrangement. I still want to go full BF soon, but in the meantime, I just give as much breast milk as I can give and be thankful as long as baby is latching on.

Pooing and peeing

I am so glad to learn that this is normal. My mom keeps telling me after every poo that baby cant absorb nutrients, thus pooing everytime, blah blah blah... really taunting!

Confinement

My mom kept nagging every minute that I did not discipline myself - like I still use tap water to wash my hands at times (subconsciously), I don't take hard liquor, I ate too little ginger, I did not put on warm clothing (NO WAY, at 34 degree!), i should not use computer, etc... If there's anything depressing postnatal, it will be my confinement and my mom. I thought it will be easier with own mother helping, but she gets pissed with me and started to throw tantrum. So really, I felt like i have to please her as well as take care of myself and the baby. Sigh.

Re: Poo

okie i will tried to gauge slowly...

tat day we tried cloth diaper...he poo n pee on me even nappy liners also no use...

i dont even use nappy cream yet...cuz i see tat kaiden is okie...although i got buy the cream...

or should i just apply everytime i change his diaper?

thanks audrey for the recommendation...i ask hb go buy later...baby andrea so cute...

<font color="ff0099"> juju,
yah look like curry gravy yucks hahah look like laksa and sometimes like lor mee (but not so dark la, look like lor mee texture haha)

i use drapolene for everyday usage.. i heard desitin better cos got some other content which is much better at preventing nappy rash. maybe i try also hehe.

tinkles
my mil keeps saying baby must only poo 2 times a day so she keep saying i must feed FM cos they poo less. but i don't care hahaha. TBF is like that one la, keep pooing n peeing. i rather clean n clean and know that andrea is getting all the right nutrients.

i also thought living with my mum will be much better but she always nag nag nag haha mummies all like that la so cheer up k ure not alone! my mum will cook fish for me and when i don't finish she will scold me say i waste her money haha. and when bb cries, she says i am stinky so bb don't like haha. but she support tbf so im ok

hang in there!!!</font>

<font color="ff0099"> cheyanne
gripe water tastes much better hehe. the PD says its v nice tasting but sometimes it can be too "strong" for infants. some babies can some babies cannot. old folks only know about fat man gripe water cos i think their time they use this, my mum keep asking me wat is rid wind wat is dentinox? den i say PD recommend den she say ok lor haha.

dentinox must drop after feeding and only 6 times a day so every 4 hours lor. but ridwind, if u use FM, only can drop 4 times a day. but if u are bfg, u can use it every time before u feed her. so each time andrea wake up for milk, i will just drop into her mouth.

oh yah, dentinox must buy the syringe to drop into her mouth. rid wind comes with the dropper in the bottle so much much easier to give baby. i finish 1 bottle of rid wind liao hahaha.

andrea cute? today her 1 month, i wake her up to sing happy birthday to her hahahaha. den she slp. and poo hahah</font>

<font color="ff0099"> cheyanne i think just apply the cream everytime to prevent la. prevention better than cure. yah i agree nappy liners also useless.. all the poo poo also can come out.. zzzzzzzz</font>

thanks Audrey... Yeah i will endure la, for the sake of baby, shouldn't have so much negativity in the house.

Btw i did not have any droplene or destini cream, is it a must to apply for bb everytime we change diapers?

Anyone with suggestions to handle breast engorgement? The pain is terrible.. I went to A&amp;E last nite as I'd a fever of 39.7 degree..and the doc prescribed me panadol... $75..now heartpain oso..haha..

morning:

Diaper/cloth nappy:
I use Bumpwear!
My girl is on tbf, poo/pee everytime just started bfg.. &amp; she usually fall asleep soon after feed, hence, I will burp her/wash &amp; changed her bumpwear, apply Palmer Bottom Butter everytime when she wakes!

With Bumpwear, the poo/pee will not penatrate to our clothes as there is a waterproof layer!

Thanks, Joyce.. the pain is so terrible that my mom asked if I wanna give up breastfeeding.. somemore with the fever, I was shivering.. haiz..the agony of a mother..

audrey,
yikes! lucky my gal's poo dun look like any food items!
drapolene is good enuff if no rashes. cos my gal's look a bit going into rashes mode, so better to use desitin for the time being.
ya, common for bfg bbs to pee &amp; poo a lot. mine is abt 80% BF, but she use abt 8-10 diapers a day. mil keep saying bb's poo dry, wan to give her water. piangz. only dry dat 1 time in the morning cos nite feed fm mah... hee

audrey,
is rid wind or detinox good? can buy over the counter or need PD to prescribe?

tinkles mum,
drapolene can buy at medical hall, supermarket or pharmacis or bb shops.
desitin - i saw at guardian but very ex. i got mine thru BP, much cheaper. i have 1 tube extra if u need urgently &amp; can't wait for BP.

<font color="ff0099"> tinkles
yah use drapolene or desitin, like wat juju said, drapolene for everyday usage if no rashes, but if u see the area starting to get red, den use desitin. desitin guardian sells, drapolene anywhere sells (ntuc etc).. must buy its v important to prevent nappy rash!

juju,
i tried dentinox n rid wind.. i prefer rid wind cos can give before every feed, dentinox must give every 4 hours only.. ridwind easier to apply la. comes with the dropper to drop into bb's mouth. just buy over the counter. i bought from the pharmacy inside ntuc.

audrey,
i saw desitin at guardian - ex ah! i got mine from BP abt $8/9 only.
k, when i go out again, i go get rid wind for my gal to standby.

thanks everyone...

ok i will start applying sudocream everytime i change his diapers...

hmmm i will try rid wind later...

okie i gtg...baby is hm fr chkup n his jaundice level went down...

chat other time...take care...

<font color="ff0099"> juju
ya guardian sells desitin for super ex!! so i just use drapolene.. $5.50 enough liao haha can last me 1 month haha today just open 2nd tube of drapolene..

ridwind good la, i like it haha. i stock up 2 bottles also hehe.

ling,
i'm going i'm going!! haha cos i just want to get out of the house and go walk walk. i'll be bringing andrea along with me haha. with hb too cos i dare not handle andrea alone yet haha.

i going to try the pupsik baby pouch, ask the pple to teach me how to use the MIM sling and i need to buy nursing bras. and also want to stock up on plastic diapers. lastly, I JUST WANT TO GET OUT OF THE HOUSE AND HAVE SOME AIR CON!!! heehee

audrey,
u bringing andrea along? it will be v crowded i think.. dun noe wan to bring Kayden along coz ppl kept reminding me not to bring bb out due to the H1N1... even last nite, i wan to go foodcourt eat... oso kana reminded not to bring him along!

Me too! just want to go jalan jalan.. real bored!