(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

muffintop - yes, the glass bottles can be attached to medela pis. i bought the caps for the glass bottles from tmc but never got down to using them. looking to sell them to someone - would you like to buy them from me?

poohwei,
Hope you have a smooth delivery.
Where's your hospital? Mine was midnight + emergency C-sect. Got extra charges from both hospital, anesthetist and gynae. Sigh... No choice as baby wants to come out early at midnight. We initially booked the operating theatre for C-sect at 9am same day.

Hi Anxylyn,

Mine will be at TMC. Extra charges from gynae only at the moment. Think i must tahan the pain..If not must pay extras for anaethestist as well.

Sorry everyone here i need to rave out, as i got no one to talk to...

Is already 2 weeks and my baby still having jaundice, althot is not on the high size but it still pains me to see him yellow everyday. to make things worst my baby has got G6PD from me. Very worried cos the level of jaundice cannot go higher then 250.

Becos of the G6PD i need to explain to my in-law abt the food tht baby cannot eat, also mean i can't eat cos i am G6PD carrier too plus i am breast feeding. But it just so hard to make them understand. Everytime i have to remind her that these r the food tht i cannot eat, then she will not happy and say ppl say can and she will call all aunty and uncles to ask. And come back telling me everyone say can eat. The problem is those aunty and uncle dunno wht is happening.
At times when hubby not around i will hide in the room and cry cos i really dunno how to explain to my in laws about alot of things cos she won't listen.

I also had some arguement with my in laws due to the way of taking care of baby. I am now taking care of baby myself and in-laws not helping to look after the baby, change pampers, feeding. She only cook for me and bath baby only. At times when baby cry she will qns me if i have given enough milk, have i change pampers etc...and she keep saying do not carry your baby whenever baby cry, so tht it won't be a habit. Just yesterday, baby cried for awhile cos baby wants to be carried so i let baby cry for awhile then pat him and my in-law came and scold me for letting baby cry and lecture me to carry my baby so tht my baby won't cry so much... i was like...huh i thot u say dun carry...then she say must depends on situation. I am gg crazy soon, and i got no one to talk to...i dun wan to tell my hubby cos i dun wan him to be in-between.

I am angry, sad, disappointed and worried now.

Gie:
Sorry to learn abt tt!
Maybe can get your hubby to explain to your in-laws? Rather than you having to get tt down into their mind!

Jaundice:
My #1 girl had bf jaundice & till full mth, she was still very yellow! Since u know what's the cause of jaundice, dun worry too much..as long bb poo & pee regularly.. abt 6wet diaper..

Adv_sports:
You can still use the nursing pillow to let ur had rest on them.. likt tt not too stressful on the arms & shoulders!

Gie, i tried the lying down and sometimes football hold which alleviates the aches..but still when i pump i cannot help but to hyper-arch my wrists to hold the bottles...

Muffintop, yes. the hospital glass bottles fits medela nicely...i pump directly into the glass bottles

Gie, be positive...juz dun let the old folks' comments get to u...this is the time where most of us will be very emotional, so it's good that u let off some steam here.

Emptying Bm
How do we know if the pump or baby can actually empty our bm?

I want to bf or tbf but somehow bm supply really low. Tell myself I must give bb alot of my bm but no result shown.

Poo Colour
My bb also got yellowish curdy like poo, not really hard and can be even softer if I bf more than giving fm.

Re: Jaundice

Joyce, how to know if it's bf jaundice?
i brought my bb to see pd yesterday, he also commented my bb is still yellow and she is already 2 wks old, so ask me go back next week to followup.
He also suspect bf jaundice...

915:
tt time the snr pd in kkh put it in my girl's health book! my #1 got so many prob.. even went for neck therapy.. always have to go back review!

feb mum, let me try using the existing caps first. i cant find my glass bottles now, gotta wait till hubby back.

today first day expressing milk, i know these are regular questions, but can someone help?

1) after expressing to the medela bottle, do i just pour into the milk bag?
2) after sterlising, the medela bottles are a little wet. ok to express straight in or how to dry?
3) do i pour both bottles content into one bag?
4) storage, if feeding bb today, i just leave them in room temperature? can put there for how long?
5) cos i have been on tbf, typically 20 days old bb drink how much?

My boys is already past 1 mth, he still abit yellowish. The jaundice has not gone completely and I am bringing him to see PD this weekend.

nineOnefive (miracle_babe), for pumping then no choice, sometimes i ask my hubby to hold for me.

My doc also suspect is BF jaundice for my case, u can do a test by giving baby FM for 1 day and if the jaundice drop means it is BF jaundice. If not u can do a blood test to determine, can do the test at polyclinic cos is cheaper. I wanted to feed FM to my baby yesterday but he is not use to it, refuse to drink and keep crying so no choice BF him. GG to try later when hubby is back from work. If i does work to keep his jaundice level down, i will alternate the FM and BF.

Joyce Yong, thanks, actually my hubby already printed out the G6PD in chinese for them to read and already tell them abt it, but old folks just dun believe in what we say. Which is why i am feeling frustrated abt it.

Muffintop,

Must refer to our BF consultant Ms Joyce
Keke

This is what I did:- (Joyce pls comments too

1) Yes, if u dont intend to feed immediately
2) I express straight
3) Yes
4) Not for me, I will place in the fridge (lower compartment) & warm it up when bb wants to drink. If in room temp shld be upto 4hrs but in SGP shld be lesser due to our humid weather.
5) Currently, my boy can drinks upto 100ml

Gie,
I actually stopped bfg and fed my bb FM for 4 days then I can really see the result that his jaundice level has gone down.

i just managed to pump out 100ml on both b, 50ml each, 20 mins. my last latch on feed was 1145.

yeah, if this works, maybe i will pump occasionally so that i can finally go out!!

now sterilizing the teat for feed. immediately after pump, must i cover the bottle?

Oki:

Paisey leh..

1) after expressing to the medela bottle, do i just pour into the milk bag?
If u do not have enuf bottles, yes.. trf to mil bag, unless u want to feed bb later.
2) after sterlising, the medela bottles are a little wet. ok to express straight in or how to dry?
Just shake off excess water!
3) do i pour both bottles content into one bag?
Yes, can combine.
4) storage, if feeding bb today, i just leave them in room temperature? can put there for how long?
4hr in room temp.. fridge is 48hr
5) cos i have been on tbf, typically 20 days old bb drink how much?
someone posted a formulae.. dunno who.. maybe try 80ml, 1st?

hi Gie, i totally understand how u feeling abt mil...anyway, just let hb explain to them clearly...

anyone believe that noises can wake a sleeping baby wake up ??? my mil dont believe at all !!! i am gg crazy also...my CL rock and pat my boy to sleep finally...cos he has not slept from 9am feed till 1pm...now my mil is wiping the windows...and all the "king king kong kong" sound is so loud which makes my boy wail and wake up again...then i tell my mil to do it softly...she say baby wont hear the sound at this age...omg...

then somemore can come to my room and ask me why baby wake up again ? isit wan to drink milk huh...then my CL smile at me...

Re. Kiddy palace sale
Nothing much special sale.. only 20% (member) disc off regular price.. anyway, i got a bouncer wic oreadi on disc..

Porky,
ur MIL really always think ur boy v hungry leh.. cannot be drinking milk all the times mah.. think u have to tell her dun make so much noise esp ur boy v difficult then fall asleep nowadays..

i really hope my confinement ends soon so tht i can get out of here. And i can bring my baby to my mum's place.

ling, whenever he cries my mil will go question me or my CL is it baby wan to drink milk...my CL also blur then come to tell me that why ur mil only ask abt this...she say baby just drink milk 1 hr ago wor...i tell her baby cant sleep tight cos too noisy mah...she say then like dat if my baby sleeping she cant do any housework loh...aiya i say up to u lah then i complain to my hb..

gie, at least u can get out of ur ILs hse...this is my hse and i cant go anywhere else...

my baby actually likes the vacuum cleaner noise. he will pause and listen to it. then again, we are not going to try any other loud noise. it's bad enough that my flat is having lift upgrading at the moment.

mils are strange creatures! hope i won't behave strangely if i ever become one.

ling, i try to keep my cool...my CL rocking my boy to sleep again...my mil is too used to her own way of doing things...now we have a baby in the house, she also cant do things softly...she say she dunno how to do housework softly cos very slow mah...my hb say tonight will talk to her..

ak, hahaha...i also hope i wont behave like one when i become a mil in the future...

okipoki. help me update. i've pop alr!

nick: mellyaan
given edd: 18may
actual edd: 9 may
week: 38th week
hosp: KKH
method: Natural with epi
current: #1
weight:2965kg
name: Ferral Adryan

MY BIRTH STORY
07 may
10.15pm:
just reach yishun mrt station. just get bck frm shopping at vivo.
10.30pm:
while walking home. suddenly felt like water leaking.
ignore because thought that i was peeing.so continue walking bck home.
10.35pm:
reach home. water still leaking. so i ignore. slept the whole night.

08 may
11am:
woke up. water has reduce leaking. still not confirm is it waterbag leaking. call mom. ask her. she say better go hosp and check. still unsure cause waiting for contractions to come.
12pm:
water still leaking
1pm:
call kkh instead and ask. they ask me to admit to delivery suite straight away cause it cn be waterbag leak.
2pm:
take a shower, get ready and repack hosp bag
4pm:
eat lunch
5pm:
go out and decide to take bus to KKH cause i haven't feel any pain yet. ( btw my husband dun drive)

6.25pm:
reach KKH and check temperature all.
6.30pm:
already at delivery suite. check on my waterbag. get to know that water is coming out actually my WATERBAG LEAKING.
6.35pm:
Admitted into the delivery suite
6.45pm:
Strap to CTG.
7.38pm:
Doctor came in to ask ALOT of question.
7.50pm:
Doctor check and i was 4cm dilated and expand my cervix more.
8pm-10.30pm:
feel contractions and try to tahan. suddenly last minute pain was so unbearable alr!! so ask for epi

10.30pm:
Epi was given.
11.04pm:
doc came in again and did VE and i was 8cm dilated!
12.15am:
suddenly i feel like pushing alr. midwife check and i am 9cm dilated! so start pushing
12.47am:
my baby boy was born after 7 push

joyce: i didnt kw that emptying the breast will overproduce milk.. currently pumped abt 90-100 on my right. left side jus nw latched her so only abt 40.. think my right side gt more.. i tot aft latching i will pump the rest out cuz i scared engorged or blocked ducts. wah lau! no wonder la!! usually i will pump out watever she cant finish and my supply is increasing everyday. so it's because i kp emptying la.. does it matter if it's emptying thru latching or pumping?

porky: ur CL v cute. smile at u.. my girl doesn't wake easily tho.. she can sleep and slp and v hard to wake her up for feeds.. even when my dog barks or many ppl surround her n chat loudly she still slp.. but it makes me worried dat she might nt b drinking enuf..

ak: mils are nt jus strange, i think they are evil. =p

muffintop: cup feeding v difficult lei.. i tried and gave up in 10mins. lol!! did u manage to do it in the end?

i tink if i become MIL next time.. i will not want to stay with DIL to avoid conflict! haha..

yipee.. looks like it is gg to rain!!! good for mummies doing confinement

actually, i dun like my MIL to say negative things. like, naughty boy, greedy boy etc... dunno why she needs to use this negative words, given she is educated and working person. The other day, when i went toilet and bb needs feed, i overheard her say your mummy so slow.. piss..

summo she is not a caregiver, just came and visit.. makes me not want to bring bb to her..

gie...my boy is 2wks old and he's also still yellow. doc told me it's bf jaundice and will take sometimes 3-4wks to go away. as long as it's not high level jaundice, it's ok. he din even tell me to sub FM but i do give 1 feeding of FM cos i kiasu.

massage:
just had 3rd session with mdm sharifah, feels soooo good. but she's bind me so tightly that i cant sit properly..hahah. btw, does anyone continue to bind after massage session?

anyone with bb suddenly cry when sleeping? do they dream? and everytime I carry him, he cries and wants the b. but i pass to my mum and he will settle down.

jamie, ur bm supply so good ! keep it up ! my CL smile at me cos she dun wan to talk back at my mil...these few days my boy cant sleep very well altho he is quite sleepy...for the 1st week after discharge he can sleep a lot and whatever noise he also hack care..haha

muffintop, my mil also say those negative words infront of baby...esp she like to say "chao baby" meaning smelly baby in hokkien...why must she say that...

ling, ya loh...better dont stay together so less conflict...we must know how to be auto next time we become ppl's mil..haha

porky: dat sounds so bad.. like vulgarity..

muffintop: i heard ppl say must say bad things abt bb cannot praise, cuz praise le the opp will happen instead. like i was in hospital dat day then i say my bb v guai nvr follow my nighebor's cry all the time.. then they shushed me say "bu yao jiang" like dun say dun say.. siao. stupid old folks.

jamie, managed to feed 100ml using the nuk latex teat, but not by me cos when i feed, he keep shaking his head. think looking for my b. so had to ask my mum to feed.

hi all mummies,

i wants to get a sling to carry my bb around. which type of sling is gd and what brand? any recommendation?

thx alot.

yah lor, i belive in positive reinforcement. scarly become self fulling prophecy. i rather say good things..

Ling, what do babies dream about?? how do u calm your bb down?

liewb (liewb), is it? my PD ask me to continue with BF, but becos of saving cost my in-laws told me to bring baby to polyclinic, and the doc there ask me to stop BF and give FM. So now abit lost... BF or not cos my boy doesn't like FM.

may i know whether do you gals feed ur bb with water? my bb is currently on FM. no BM cos my milk supply is super super low. since he is on FM, do i hv to feed him with water? i heard some PD don't recommend to give water to bb. is it true?

muffintop,
err.. i dont know y they dream.. i just carry him n pat him.. then he falls asleep again..

but somehow it might be true.. try nt to say baby is quiet in front of them.. my MIL said that few times in hosp when she carried my boy.. then next day onwards.. got all the wailing etc.. sometimes, it is really pan dan lor!

gie...doc told me if jaundice level is not too high and BM is flowing, then can just continue to BF. but if jaundice level is high, then bb needs to go under the light and in that case, he'll generally recommend to sub with FM. can still BF but still needs to feed with FM coz bb needs lots of fluid to flush jaundice.