(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

melody, ya...my mil also never bf before...then also keep saying what so good abt bm...she say my hb never drink her milk at all...now also very smart leh...omg...but i will insist to bf my boy no matter wat...

juju,

your hubby's very alert, can get your hint

porky.. relax.... relax.... mil is prob very excited abt her grandson... give her the benefit of doubt. trust me.. its a good thing she loves him. i've one friend whom's mil... didnt even bother to carry my friend's bb... coz she's a girl... sigh... some more like add salt to the wound.. telling my friend tt girl basically dun need to have ful mth celebration like boys de.. zzz

juju78- some in laws are like tt.. but aft a while.. they will also dote girls de.. just dun remember the unhappy stuff lor. only make urself unhappy.. for wad? not easy lah of coz... but i think can try lah.. hehe

adrienne,

aiyo, i will be fuming if ever my mum and MIL says that (girls dun need to have full mth celebration like boys) to me!

haha... star- old folks are like tt.. like my mum.. though she has got... 4 grandsons le.. and 1 grand daughter.. she is still hoping tt mine's a boy tis time rd.. zzzzzzzz...... just imagine tt? as for mil... mm.. she just replied.. oh.. its a girl ah.. ok lor.. good lor.. lol **speechless*

adrienne,
actually some pple ard our age are also very "old school" . They ask if mine is a girl or boy and when i replied "girl" , they will say "dun worry, try again." ...Duh??? i didnt even say i am expecting to have a boy..**faint**

one of the worst i have heard is this friend's auntie in taipei. She had 2 girls and her MIL (super old fashion) wants a boy else she will need her to leave the family . She had no choice but to try for a third one though her daughters are already quite grown up. She went for IVF but aborted twice cos tests showed they were girls.. nearly lost her life . She tried the 3rd time and was blessed with a son . only then did she manage to stay in the family. Very poor thing.. i thot this only happen in those taiwanese soap operas

RE: BFG
i think this will be the topic for many days to come... i failed during #1 time.. thats y this time very determined to try bfg for as long as possible.. latch on 24\7.. anytime bb cries or just wan comfort suckling, i latch.. maybe latching really can boost supply.. dont give up ya!

ak, of course will be v v tired.. bfg must have alot of determination... thats y must take nap.. anyway my panda eyes r getting darker.. hehhee.. just a matter of getting used to it bah..

i think yr bb wants comfort suckling.. my girl needs comfort sucking at nite..

shers - i'm like his walking milk bottle/pacifier. it's really scary that he keeps looking for the nipple when i carry him. and when he is hungry, instead of soothing him when i carry him, he cried even louder when i don't latch him on. the best part is that he can actually recognise me because he does not do that to his dad or nanny.

ak, bb recognises yr smell... its like that de..

my bb will turn her head towards my neh neh and open her mouth big big... though i just finished feeding her..

some mummies use pacifier to 'stop' bb's habit of searching for nipple to suckle.. u wanna try it??

shers/adrienne - i'm still here. just give the mid-night feed to baby greg. now waiting for the next feed. don't dare to sleep, scared i can't wake up.

A little worried here... my girl had a last feed at 10pm and till now (almost 4am) she is not awake for her milk. Actually, I believe in waking her up for his milk feed but it seems that she is able to tahan without milk for a while in the night. Should I wake her up or let her sleep through to the the next feed? Different literature advise differently - nurses told me to feed on demand at night, Gina Ford advises to wake baby up for feed (also to maintain or increase milk supply), older generation thinks if baby can sleep at night, don't have to wake her up... what do you gals think?

Shers, I admire your determination to breastfeed this time round
It was so so tough for me for #1 two years back (insufficient milk and boy had a hole in the heart so suckling was always a struggle for him) but I thank God I persevered and managed to breastfeed my boy till he was 8 months old. The sense of satisfaction I derived from that can't be described
So you jiayou k?

good morning ladies

re: BFG
ju, i hv the breastfeeding pillow but bb dun like it... am still trying to find a best combo of pillow to support my back and hand...

shers, haha, ur description of bb searching for neh neg very funny
my bb also does that -- think she can smell my "suan suan" body smell (can only shower every 3 days) *haha* my hubby offers his neh neh she will turn away :p

ak, wish my bb can suckle longer...

graceofgod, i try not to disturb my bb if she can sleep longer.. i do worried if she has enough milk -- but being baby, she will cry if hungry

this morning, i got a shock! i was getting ready to feed at 5am as bb started to "peddle" her legs -- i massaged my B to squeeze out some milk. but bb went back to zzz so i lied down to wait for her cry... suddenly, i had this "let down" feeling and milk started dripping! gosh, managed to collect 5ml! luckily bb woke up and i latch her on *phew* any mummies hv this experience?

I'm going home today, however, bb doc just came to inform that bb has a little jaundice, now waiting for the test result to see if she needs photo threatment! Crossing my fingers now, hope it's not high..

Adv_sports:

Driping:
That's very common.. I had tt often with #1. I call this signal...

BFG #3:
I'm glad that so far this little girl, really little, small mouth, can suckle quite well and nids to suckle on 2 Bs to be contented.

adrienne,
ya lor... hv to 1 ear in 1 ear out loh

shers,
comfort sucking can up supply? then i more than happy to keep latching & get bitten

adv,
i see. i use the big cushion from ikea to put at the side of my bed for my back. then use a semi-soft pillow to support bb so dat i dun strain my back. she quite like it & will stay put

graceofgod,
i also dun disturb my bb if she is sleeping. sometimes, she can sleep up to 5hrs without stirring

joyce,
ur kids so lovely. ur bb gal look so cute...

Hi Graceofgod,

I also dun disturb my #1 if she wants to sleep. Just let her sleep for as long as she wants. They will cry for milk when they are hungry. Being able to sleep longer at nite may also mean that they have taken sufficient milk during the day time. Hence, it is a process that they learn to sleep thru the nite.

Re: Boy vs Gal.
My SIL has 2 gals and 1 boy (Just delivered in March). Hence, my MIL has been hinting to me MANY MANY times to have a #3 whom she thinks will definitely be a boy...Episode 1: She told my #1, ask mummy to give birth to 1 more so that you have both brother and sister(#2) to play with. Then second episode: When i was carrying my SIL's son, she told the boy: Let your aunty carry you so that you can bless her with a boy for #3 ok?? I told my hubby and her was like...I am destined to have 3 gals!! Hahahaha..And he does not mind 3 gals cos my #1 is super sweet to him. Will hug him and force her kisses on him...

joyce,
you have such good looking kids.

its always nice to see elder siblings carrying newborn. your darling newborn is so smiley. Mine always knit his eyebrows. Dunno mad about wat.

grace, its ok that bb doesnt wake up to feed.. but i will wake hr up to ease my engorgement.. up to individual.

adv, its true right?? my cl also says bb can recognise mummy's smell.. for me, even worse!! i just had my 1st hair wash yesterday.. 2 weeks!!! showered 3 times so far - 1st when brought bb to pd, 2nd when i go c gynae, 3rd is yesterday.. i'm even more sour!!!

Thanks for the priase..

I'm going home without bb today, if time permits, will return by 2pm for the post-natal course provided by Mt A, and bf her again..

Which means, today I will have to start expresso my bm.. sign.. do not really wish to start this early, but, no choice for me le.. as the elder kids demand my attention too..

They were upsad that I was not able to be home with them last nite when they came!

Ouch! My piles is driving me crazy.. can't side properly.. later my back also got problem..

thanks for all the advices!
hubbby and me had decided to deliver bb via c-sect after considering all the factors. bb's and my safety is our topmost priorty. though i really wish to give natural birth a try but we think it's not really that advisable for this delivery.. so i shall recover fast and give lotsa and lotsa love to my boys! we decided to welcome our little one on 23 may (sat)... really look forward to meet my little boy!

dodo, u check the webbie and 23rd is a good date??

dont worry.. u're making e right decision.. mummy knows best..

dodo - have a safe delivery.

re: showers
i have multiple showers a day. using the hot water to clear my blocked ducts. but the weather is so hot and i'm still so sour. yucks!

shers, baby may & ak,
thanks for the well wishes

shers,
ya.. checked some online websites and lunar calendar.. din consult those shi fu on this, just DIY.. haa!

dodo, yaya... DIY will be good enough... hehhee.. just believe in yr own theory... just like me... hehhee...

when i get to shower, i use normal shampoo and shower foam... then herb water to rinse away.. but last rinse, i used hot water.. because after smell of herb will have abit of sour sour...

Thanks for all your advice on waking baby up for milk. last night she skipped the 1am feed and then woke up at 4.30am and cried so loudly for her milk

BabyMay, I use shampoo and then wash it down with the herbal water. I dont use soap though.

Shers, you champion man... in this kind of weather, you can tahan not washing your hair for 2 weeks! Good for you
I have no discipline, broke all confinement rules already (wash hair, wipe body with warm water on alternate days, turn on fan and aircon, etc...)

Dodo, all the best!

dodo, when u discharge from hospital, will be 26th may.. and i still left with 4 days of confinement to go!!!

but many mums have already finished their confinement next week...

Looking at facebook, so many mummies posted cute baby picts :p

For those who are stil in waiting games, jia yio!! enjoy your long undisturbed sleep!!!

porky,
me using avent manual too. yesterday 1st try @3pm: 20ml only...8pm:barely 5ml... sob sob... trying super hard...i guess i tend to control the pump pull...dun dare fully depressed. cause will pull the skin around nipple real hard (pain)

bean,
envy ur output...

i have been wiping myself b4 every feed. due to time constraint... using cold water liao... dun want baby to suck when i am all wet and salty from perspiration...