(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

star - i had spinal c-sect. i can feel the pull and pressing but not the cutting. i was awake and was back in my ward 2 hours after my ops is over. my wound healed fast and well. i was able to walk around by the 2nd day.

ak, i dont feel so much of pulling and pressing leh...my wound also heal quite fast..2nd day when off the drip and urine tube...i can start to walk and go toilet by myself le

Porky,
I know! That's why I freak out when my Gynae told me I may need to go for c sect n I m deciding if I should opt for GA - totally knocked out but my hubby won't be able to witness birth of our bb. But so far, I have only heard 1 bad case.

joyce,
thanks for the reply!
actually many encourage me to opt for c-sect also.. seems to be a safer option for me and bb...

fireflies,
gal, i mentioned abt this pelvis xray to both my gynaes but both discouraged me to do this coz they mentioned the result is not that significant and many other factors involved also like the mould of bb's head etc.. and this is my 2nd bb (my 1st was c-sect), so there's an additional risk involved..
gal, i hope u can give birth naturally successfully! yes have faith! i will keep u posted of my decision.. if really opt for c-sect, will choose a date next week.. take care gal, dun worry much, just pray for the best ya!

porky & star,
for my 1st c-sect, i opted for epi c-sect.. i could feel the pressing and pulling but it wasnt that terrible at all, actually i felt rather excited coz could finally see my bb after the long labour! and it was not that painful even when the epi was adminstered (to me, the contraction pain is more unbearable coz i had it once every min)...

i could walk to bathroom the next day but v v slowly.. and we must take good care of the wound so will not result in tear and infection..

hi ladies...my little boy arrived last nite.

Briefly on what happened:
7.30pm - Contraction started
9.00pm - Think contraction abt 15mins apart
10.45pm - Went for nap
11.15pm - Contraction intensity increase
11.40pm - Decided to go hospital
12.10am - Reached mte
12.22am - Baby born

Was already fully diated when arrived, no time for epi. Baby born before gyne got here.

Baby latching now, will write more later.

joyce,
i told kk to use cup feed. came back, she also refused the nipple. now, i got some supply, i jus express out lor... else, also dunno how...

andrea,
i birthed at kk. hubby going to register bb's BC, i'm thinking to call in the morning & try to get PM appt to see LC.

porky,
she staying for this 1 mth, dunno she will extend her stay or not, i hope not! mil's my CL...
bb's drinking/peeing/pooing times i noe, unless i'm off shift (sleeping).
managed to pump twice today - 35ml & 20ml. haven't try the 3rd bottle yet... but, ya, she's expecting me to produce something... i can feel it!

liewb,
congrats! dat's very fast labour!

BF:

i also got prob to latch her on...

think my supply come...can pump ard 120 ml after pumping 1 hr from both side.

but bb dun wan to latch on.

kkh given her cup feed from begining...now is cup feed on mixed formula and bm.

but after i tried to latch her on...even thou is unsucessful...she seem refused cup feed..wasted quite alot of milk especially bm..pump so xin ku.

my mum suggest to bottle feed.....

but i scared if i bottle feed now...she may refuse to learn latch on.

i remembered antental class taught us not to bottlefeed until bb can latch on sucessfully...
so i dunno how...any experience mum can advise??
furthermore my bb is so small 2.5kg....scared she cant get enough....

andrea,
did u supplement bb with formula after trying to latch on 15 mins?

hi dodo,
I'm a mummy who had 2 c-sect, 2nd one born on 4th May. The healing time is about the same for #1 and #2. In fact, I think #2 healed a bit faster as I know how to avoid "disturbing" the wound this time round. You need to learn to get out of the bed, how to position the baby during feeding, and avoid using your tummy muscles. The surgical binder across the wound is very very useful.

Don't worry, c-sect is not that bad, and recovery is quite fast (about 1 week). And you don't have to worry about attending to the episiotomy wound. If I do have #3, I'll opt for c-sect again to keep the vagina and cervix intact ;p

joyce,

thanks. same sentiments... if i were to go for Csect GA, i may not be able to latch on the baby as soon as i want to.

dodo,
How long did the c sect take? How long did the pain last? Do you have to clean the wound everyday?
Apologies for the list of qns...

liewb, congrats! tell us more when you are more settled

Seems my bp still high, hubby and I decided to induce bb and inform doc when he comes later!
Not of a choice I wanted, but, I don't want this bp thing affect both myself and bb.
Had some contractions, but, seems not very regular yet!

good morning ladies

liewb, congrats on ur super short labour!

icyen, wow, 4kg bb! congrats!

joyce, jia you & wish u a smooth delivery!

porky & ju, try not to be stressed by MIL... one eye in, another ear out... jia you on BF!

joyce, envy u that ur bb will be born 2day! enjoy ur surprise and do share with us

hubby n me really want our bb to be born today -- so that she can celebrate our special day(13th of every mth) with us!

morning everyone ! i wake up early to day to suntan my bb..later bringing him to pd...hope his jaundice level will be lower...

joyce, how are u now ?

star, are u considering c-sec ? actually i am like u having millions of questions to ask...then when i decide to go for it...i only feel excited to see my bb...i forget abt all the other pains or the proceduce that i have to go thru...but i am glad that everything just happen so fast...adminstered of the spinal jab is bearable to me...not really that pain kind loh...

adv, i try not to be stress by mil...but it is so difficult sometimes...luckily my CL encourage me a lot...else i sure break down ah...today is ur wedding anni ?

Hi Dodo,

My SIL had 3 c-sects so far. No problem with healing for all her 3 c-sects at all. Think she could walk around after 3 days for all her c-sects.

I guess you have more or less decided on your choice by now. As a mummy who has carried the baby in the tummy for 9 mths, nothing beats bringing the baby safely to our arms during delivery, even if it means more pain to the mummy...Mummies are the GREATEST pple on earth!!!

Hi Joyce!
Jia You!! Hope that you can have a drug free delivery...

Joyce, good luck to you! Have a great time with ur little one later on

Porky, i am so envious... u have such a good CL. Maybe when u are better, i get her contact no. from u. my friend needs one later on this year

Icyen, congrats! A real huge one there uh
What did you eat during pregnancy uh?

Congrats to all mummies who had popped... I'm due on nxt mth...nervous & excited.. just a few qn to ask..
1) I've engaged a post natal massage liao but if during massage bb cries for milk, shld i pump out before my masseur comes?

2) is it true that once ure waterbag burst or hving contractions, best to admit to hospital & the staff at the hospital will call gynae up? cox my thinking all along is to call gynae 1st & admit to hospital wor...

porky, good that ur CL is encouraging u
hope ur hubby is supporting u, too!

my mum is not pro-BF(coz she wanna me to rest more) and actually wanna us to get FM in case my milk not enough... we insisted we wanna try and luckily my milk came early... now she beri eng coz no need to sterilize bottles & make milk... in fact life is so good that she put on weight for the past 2 weeks here

our birthdays, wedding anniversary, day we met etc.. falls on 13th of different mth... so we make 13th our special day where we go out for nice dinner to celebrate

I have a few questions to ask...

1. Been having constipation for the last couple of days, is it ok for me to drink fibrogel or use stool softener? I have tried drinking yakult,
water and eating fruits but no use leh..
2. My gynae wants me to admit myself tmr nite (ard 8pm)so tat he can induce me and prepare for the labour on fri.. will my husband be allowed to stay with me from thur onwards or he can only join me on fri? i will be delivering at Gleneagles.

hi laatzy & poohwei,
thanks for the reply! appreciate it so much..
ya, the last thing i wan is to endanger my little boy.. actually been harbouring on the thought of vbac once im conceived wi this bb.. coz i have an elder boy (18mth) at home, he was so active and clingy towards me, i have been taking care of him myself since he was borned.. i worried the long recovery period of c-sect will affect my relationship wi him, coz i may have to reject his needs to be carried and play rough for the 1st few weeks... this thought sadden me.. so i hope to have a natural delivery this time round if conditions allow, praying for a shorter recovery period... but seems like all the factors are not so favourable now.. hmm...

Star,
mine was an emergency c-section (wi epi)... i was 27 yr old when i had my operation, so im not sure whether age matters or not in terms of recovery.. i walked v slowly for the 1st 2 weeks after the c-sect, coz worry my wound will be affected and infected.. but subsequently i can walk as per normal, just avoid lifting heavy stuff.. i din wash my wound daily coz it was bandaged, i think my gynae removed the stitch for me abt 10 days after delivery? couldnt remember clearly for this..

joyce,
all the best! jia you!

Hi <font color="0000ff">icyen</font>,
just realised u give birth same day as me @ TMC too!!! Which ward were u @? scully ure my neighbour... ...

Hi Dodo,

My #1 is only 20 months old also. When i had a threatened premature birth at week 33, gynae also advised me against carrying my #1. I can understand the clingness that your #1 has for u cos my gal is also like that. Dun need to feel remorseful. So long as deep in our heart, we love them..it will be good enough liaoz..

dodo, not to worry. i had my #2 c-sect on 30 april. hehhee.. this time heal much faster and i dont feel any pain at all. in fact getting up from bed and walking on 2nd day is not a prob for me. healing i think will be faster than 1st time.. i think most impt, must eat well for 1st 2 weeks.. maybe get someone to help u out during yr confinement. u can still play with yr #1 but no rough play and no carrying.. when my #1 wants me to carry, i will sit on sofa and ask her to sit on my lap. i show her my wound and let her know that mummy pain pain.. so mummy cannot carry her.. toddlers will understand de.. dont worry ok?

congrats all mummies who had popped or going to pop.. been busy resting, slping, eating, bfg... so didnt really read archives..

poohwei &amp; shers,

thanks for the assurance and the comforting words!

shers, yes i agree wi u.. must have good rest for the 1st 2 weeks.. that's critical... i think maybe like what laatzy said, for the 2nd c-sect we will know what to anticipate and able to take care of our wounds better right.. maybe im worrying too much...
ya, i got a CL and my mama to help out, so i hope i can recover fast and attend to both my kids soon.. and also wish to establish my milk supply soon!
gal, did u engage a master for the selection of auspicious date &amp; hour for ur c-sect?

porky,

if the need arises this fri and baby still hasnt moved down, gynae advised me to go for Csect cos he's afraid bb may have injury if she is delivered by natural.

Dodo,porky
thanks for helping with my queries

yvette- of coz ur hubby will be allowed to be with u at all times once ya in the hospital.. (provided if ya going natural delivery) inducing doesn't matter de..you'll be on a drip only....

hope this helps! and congrats!

hi everyone !

graceofgod, my CL is only available in jul...sept she is booked already till end of the year...

adv, ya my hb also quite encouraging cos he knws bm is good for his little boy...my mil also very eng until she wan to find things to do liao...she keeps gg to carry my bb which i dont like...cos CL will tends to my bb not her...this 1 month, i just ask my mil to rest and relax cos my CL helps me do housework also leh...wash clothes, sweep floor, wash toilets...so basically my mil has nothing much to do...but she cant get used to it...

dodo, i didnt not engage master for selection. #1, i didnt do.. #2, i didnt as well..

just that i have my own theory.. avoid early in the morning because cow needs to work. so best time is lunch time 12-2pm.. then cow needs to go work again.. till 5pm.. best time is lunch time.. whahhaa... so i told my gynae i want between 12-2pm.. thats all.. then my gynae chose 1pm so there is some time to play ard...

in the end, when come to naming chinese name, we have a master to name because my hb and my chinese is limited edition.. then master says my gal's ba zi very good... got 'gold, wood, water, fire, earth' ... so my theory quite good hor?? whahhaa... plus flommy had a webbie to say which time to avoid (not to crash with mummy and daddy's zodic)