(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

joyce: i tot alot of ppl use cabbage w/o any probs... even the parentcraft Mrs Wong also say use cabbage is gd. Myabe it depends on ur own body? Works on some but not all and vice versa??

adrienne: wah!! 1.5kg.. bt bb no gain?? y u gt sng feeling? the bb low is it? hey 15th ur anniversary ah? same as me. bt mine is 15th june 2008.. u 15th May??

jamie- bb gained 500g.... according to gynae.. but i gained more coz placenta nt working too well..
yea. my anniversary falls on 15th may.. and i dun want to share my anniversary with girl's arrival!! such a nightmare... no couple time esp... and gotta meet in laws for girl's birthday on our anniversary.. grgr.. the thought just leaves me.. shivering with fear.. lol

I think the old way is use cabbage.. but, massage with warm/nearly hot towel really helps! This is at least applicable to me le...

my friend who does not want to bf, use cabbage to reduce the engorgement & ultimately the supply stop.

When I stop pumping for #2, I just reduce the no. of expression.. it stop wonderfully well.

adrienne: kekeke!! so funny la u!! machiam they are some monsters! jus nw i went to visit visit in laws.. tmd, my mil say i grow fatter. i was like DUH, i'm friggin' preggers lor!!! wat u expect!! shld b worried if i was skinny-assed rite!! faintz. so i told her, ur the first person who say i fat. =p this whole time, hb was pretending to fiddle with the cordless phone, trying to "fix" it.

jamie- ok.. tts hilarious.. ur hubby is trying damn hard to siam the awkward scene.. i bet.. if.. he can say he needs to work at tt moment, he would!! hahahaha..

with regards to sharing wedding anniversary with girl's birthday just doesn't excite me.. coz my no. 1's birthdate is on the same day as hubby's! AND hubby was saying.. he feels super not priviledged lor.. and i gotta spend hubby's birthday with son's (with in laws some more)zzz..

Yuki: You want a themed party celebration or just a home celebration?

For me I think I will just do a celebration at home. Maybe only cater food and no traditional stuff like giving of ang ku kueh, red eggs etc...

Want to save $...the extended days in hospital cost us more $.

SK: Are you expressing your breastmilk? To relieve engorgement, I just express my breastmilk if left nipple sore and cupfeed. But so far my nipples not sore.

If got pus means infected, you might want to see dr.

Joyce, can I ask for your opinion. Will gynae tell you if you are dilated? How come some moms here know that they are dilated or how much dilation they have?

My gynae is only keen in knowing if I want to induce. other than that, he said just wait for actual labour.

I don't even know if my baby is engaged cos he said no real definition... ???

tinklesmum: my gynae did the vaginal exmination and told me that im 1.5cm dilated.. she also told me bb is engaged, meaning bb head is settled into pelvis area and wont come up anymore.. bt she can still turn side to side..
oh abt porky, she wanted to go for natural bt water already broke at home bt when admitted she "dilated too slowly" so doc gave her a choice to induce or c sec, she choose the latter..

tinkles, I think diff gynae will react differently. My gynae nv tell me if I am dilated. But that day his colleague took over and told me I was 1 cm dilated from reading his notes. So dun worry Abt it. No point knowing or not also right?? Cos it's the active labour that matters.

Morning all mummies!
currently i'm at kkh and my baby boy just pop at 12.47am.
will update soon on my birth story.
have a nice day everyone!

good morning mummies

wow, congrats to mummies who popped!

SK, ur baby very cute

jamie & yvette, i had "the show" 3 weeks before my delivery -- that time, i was 3cm dilated... 1 week before my delivery, i started to hv brownish discharge again(after gynae did VE) -- becomes 5cm dilated... and I induced birth via breaking waterbag the next day...

joyce, hope ur BP goes down soon! it works for me to listen to soothing music to keep a calm mind
give it a try?

adrienne, hope ur baby gain more weight in the next 1 week -- so that u can celebrate wedding anniversary with hubby before pop!

re: bf
i will feel pain when my bb starts sucking but once she got into a rhythm, it's smooth going -- juz that i had to tickle her to continue sucking (she will dozed off after 5-10min)... is it normal to feel pain at the start?

also, my bb will hiccup after a feed... suspect is the position that i feed her (cradle) -- need to burp her to 1-2 times between feed... any mummies having the same prob?

Adv_sports:

I woke up this morning.. feeling fine..no more giddiness... so I guess BP already drops.. anyway, not going anywhere today. But will have mother's day celebration at bro's home tmr!

I think it's normal to feel the 'pain' when bb starts to latch, you will then have the 'let down' which means milk starts to flow & the pain goes away!

Tinkles Mum:
My gynae never tell me or did any VE, but when hefeel my tummy, he will tell me where the bb's position is.. & also the est size!

This is the 1st time my gynae tell me abt induction due to my high BP.. else, he will let everything goes on it's own timing!

Jus woke up to pee n when i wipe still got the discharge.. but from my liner can tell that blood has stopped.. maybe i pee got "gek" then the discharge come out.. adv sports, ur "show" or discharge is jelly -like? should i be concerned dat until now still having discharge from a VE?

just now SK came to visit me..i cant login in yesterday..then SK suggest i ask for assistance from the reception, and they gave me a handbook..so now i can login in liao. haha

thanks everyone for the best wishes ! just went thru the thread, so many mummies at tmc NOW ? but i dunno anyone yet...i am in 4 bedded...no free upgrade leh...cos all ward fully book..TMC so good business ah ! somemore my ward got 3 patients is under dr adrian w...

i cant really remember the timing for my delivery...everything happen like so fast...below timing is estimated only..

10.10pm waterbag burst while i climb down from the ladder..trying to get smt on top the wardrobe..rush to toilet and let the water continue to flow...hb not home yet...very panick so called woody first...
10.20pm Woody say admit tmc cos he is gg tmc soon...called hb and quickly showered then off we go..hb kalang kabo dunno how to react liao
10.55pm reached tmc, waiting for temperature check and registration...the nurse say no ward...put me at temp ward first...so lousy the temp ward...no toilet and aircon, tv all spoilt...very suay ah !
11.10pm Nurse came to check ve say 0.5cm dilate only...then woody called ask me wan induce or how ? he say c-sec faster not so stress...so hb and i decide to request for c-sec with spinal...he got 3 other patients waiting for him at labour ward !!!
11.20pm Nurse came to do shaving..luckily i poo ard 9pm+ alrdy so no need to insert liquid for pooing...
11.30pm push to ot and get ready for spinal inject...my ma zui si Dr Loo, not bad leh...not much pain and less than 5mins i already numb half body..then the nurse did the other preparation work and insert catherer..no pain..haha cos numb liao
11.45pm Woody came in and say "dont worry very fast one" i keep asking him where is my hb..he say will call him after he cut me...
11.55pm Hb came in fully dressed...then i feel some pushing and tugging...and hear bb cried ! bb is out at 12.02AM weighing 3.000kg very zun as per woody's estimation...woody did sewing very fast, congrats me, then he left...nurse say he gg to rush for another one in labour...nurse say today good day a lot of delivery...some is scheduled one...

2436011.jpg

ling, glad to know that it is normal for bb to hiccup after feed

joyce, great to hear that ur BP is going down
enjoy ur mday celebration 2molo... we r having it at my place -- coz my mum is doing confinement for me... my siblings r cooking chilli crab for my mum -- haiz, i can only watch them eat the feast while i had my confinement food

oh, so it is "natural" to feel pain at the start! haha, i dunno wat is a letdown -- only knows my B will drip if i massage before feed... so i let bb latch on and massage while she sucks -- also a good way to keep her awake

jamie, my discharge is jelly like... think brownish is due to the blood becomes "old"... the discharge only comes a few times a day -- not always flow out...

congrats muffintop, porky & melly

adv_sports,
i have finally managed to TBF my girl.. and now the frightful thing for me is that each time when she first suckles, its so so painful. but when she continues, its ok alrdy..

the starting few sucks is damn damn damn damn damn painful omg. until i get frighten when i see her moving n going to wake up soon for her feed.. zzz..

Congratulations to all mummies who have popped. Hope all of you are enjoying the beginning of motherhood (be it first, second, third or...

For those who are still waiting for your precious darlings, all the best!

I delivered my little baby Joelle on 4 May 09 (Monday). It's really a great feeling to be able to hold a newborn baby again and experience a 'new' mum's role all over again...

Birth story:
EDD supposed to be 15 May but Baby Joelle came along a little too early (4 May, the day my antenatal leave took effect!) and I wasn't prepared at all...

3 May (Sunday)
10.30pm - was very tired so decided to sleep early. was coughing quite badly as well.
4 May (Monday)
2.30am - woke up with a contraction, thought it was due to my cough
2.30 - 4.00am - contractions stronger and intervals of 8 min, then 5 min.
4.00 - 5.00am - contractions quite unbearable but hubby and i thought we could not admit ourselves without the burst of waterbag or the presence of bloody show (we were turned away by hospital for the first delivery so once bitten twice shy)
5.15am - couldn't bear with the pain anymore, rang gynae, was told to admit
6.00am - reached hospital (gynae couldn't check on me cos she was at an emergency c-section for a prematured baby.) Asked for epidural but again dr also busy at the emergency case. Nurse checked, only 2 cm dilated
7.00am - gynae finally saw me, 3 cm dilated and suggested epidural cos my threshold for pain is low.
7.00 - 8.00am - was in great pain waiting for epidural to be administered. Finally, after a long wait, epi was given but TOO LATE!
8.00am - pain was stil intense, no effect from epi. Midwife checked, 6 cm dilated
8.00 - 8.25am - was pushing involuntarily... (still in pain)
8.30am - 9 cm dilated and gynae arrived.
8.33am - pushed, with 4 sets of 10 counts, baby Joelle arrived!

(Actually, I could have made it without this epi this time round cos there was no effect felt at all after the administration. The effect only came after I was transferred to the maternity ward... Complete waste of money!)

So, that's my birth story. Sorry if too long-winded!

Actually, friends... I came in here to post with a very heavy heart... We were discharged on Wednesday. Joelle was cleared by the PD of her jaundice and we were happy... BUT yesterday...
we were at the PD checking on her heat rash when the PD told us about his concern over joelle's jaundice. Was 4pm so we rushed down to polyclinic to do a lab test. True enough, jaundice level was very very high and joelle had to be admitted to hospital straight away. Went home, breastfed her (struggled the first few days cos milk didn't come in and now, milk is coming in and Joelle has no problem latching on... but she has to be away from me...) and then sent her off to the hospital... Cried like mad! I know jaundice is very common in newborns but the thought of admitting her to the hospital really scares me (after julian's heart op). Leaving her at the hospital was possibly the only option we had at that moment cos we really want Joelle to return to us asap (we know can rent the machine but who has the heart to strip Joelle and place her under the light... hubby knows I cant so suggested admission cos of professional help we will get). Came home after that, was crying again... but was overjoyed when I realised that my breastmilk was coming in fast and knew that I could deliver the expressed milk to her.

Please pray for us. Thanks.

Audrey:

Yes.. yes.. it's like tt.. as long as there is no sore nipple, u are doing fine.. once bb settle down & drink the milk.. there is no pain, rite? dun hv to worry abt it, you will get use to it & ultimately, no pain at all..

Remember what I said? Our body is adjusting to changes at each different phrase, this is only experience by women!

Congrates, Graceofgod for the safe delivery of your girl.

I can relate myself to that! With #2, he was admited due to jaundice & my dear hubby was away, I was strong when talking to pple, back home, I cried!

Take care, she will be fine!

porky & grace, thanks for sharing ur birth story!

grace, hope ur bb will be home soon!

audrey, great that u can TBF now
yup, the first few sucks r PAINFUL but after that, it will be ok -- let's bear with it
does ur bb falls asleep while sucking? how often is her feed?

oh, i heard that breastmilk is the best cure for sore nipple -- so i will squeeze out a bit to apply on nipple after each feed and air dry

adv sports: ya mine abt the same. esp aft i pee. anyway nw it's brownish so dun bother liao la. as long as nt flowing like menses can le!

porky: nw they nt strict on visiting hrs?? ytd i went they dun allow me to visit u!!

Congrats to Mufftintop, porky, Melly & Grace. Have a good confinement, glad that the weather is not as hot as the past few weeks

congrats muffintop, grace.. and melly...
welcome to motherhood...

jamie- eh.. u dun need to zzz one ah? saw ur last post ard.. 4.. then first post at 10..this morning.. lol.. getting all geared up to wake up for night feeds ah.. lol

Thanks Joyce, Muffintop, Jamie... I just felt rather uncomfortable with this gynae at this point but I know it's too late to change. Anyway I think he is good with schedule delivery like C-sect and induction... maybe that's why he is encouraging me to do that.

COngrats to all mummies who have popped.

Porky - i was equally shocked with your delivery news! Remember we were still saying last week that we cld be delivering together! Your baby really very eager to come out

He looks really cute btw... congrats congrats!

jamie, still strict leh..ytd my hb visited me until 9pm+..the nurse alrdy chasing him to go back...but today mayb is public holiday hor, they allow few pax visiting at a time leh...my 4 bedded ward was so crowded this afternoon...

ibite, thanks..hehe..tmc good business lah..the nurse say all other operation stop due to the swine flu but maternity cant stop one..haha

jamie and tinyM, soon will be ur turn, have more sleep first...i was so sleepy after the day i pop..and the little one is difficult to handle..mayb 1st time mummy, still dunno how to carry and coax my bb well when he make noise...hb also panick when his boy started to cry...

sallen, ur scheduled c-sec is coming too ! excited ah...go for it, the 1st step is painful but after that u will feel better

btw, i can be discharge tomorrow ! yeah !

Thanks for the well-wishes and congratulatory notes

Baby Joelle is doing fine, jaundice level went down a bit in the morning but dr suggested another day of stay...
Yup, Joyce, I cant talk to anyone about Joelle now... will cry big time... heart pain...but we have to be strong for our little ones no matter what happens!

Good luck to all who have popped and let's press on and look forward to the end of our confinement.

All the best to mummies who are waiting for the big day

anyone can advise...is it c-sec cant take chicken ?? cos tmc keep serving soup inside got chicken cubes leh...can drink the soup but dont eat the chicken cube ?