(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Hi everyone! long time never log in here, been reading but very difficult to catch up with so many mummies popping! congrats to all who'd popped!

can't wait for my turn! I'd been experiencing lots of tightening at night and today went to see the gynae (and met and chatted with Jean). baby is about 3.1kg and engaged already. hope can deliver on 4 may which is my hubby's bday. i'd been having insomnia, been sleeping only about 4hrs per night. can't stand it anymore, just want baby to come out asap!

Jean: dr woody was scolding someone on the HP when u were inside the room ah? about what ah? oh, u mentioned that TMC only allows one visitor now? confirmed or not ah?

tinyM, ya actually wanna tell u just now but dont wan to waste ur time..hehe...when i inside his room, he ask me to wait...then he talk on his hp...i heard him say "i wan to talk to the hb..ask ur wife put on the monitor now ! if bb heartbeat drop, who is gg to be responsible ?? giving birth is not a game alright ?? if the bb come out dead, who is gg to bear the responsibility ?? " then he put down the hp and shaking his head...then he say "this young couple ah....." i was wondering who is he scolding loh...

yes, i ask him is it only allow 1 visitor if we deliver now..he say at this moment is like that lah...but by the time we deliver, gonna see the situation loh...might be more strict leh...haiz...

adv, just read ur birth story. so touching ! and ur princess is so alert ! u dont have CL to help u ? anyway, have a good confinement

adv_sports: u're so brave to do it without epi! ur labor seems quite short, must be all the exercise u'd been doing!

jean: woah.. so scary.. never see / heard him scold anyone. he was just joking with my hb when we were inside, say bb can come out anytime, maybe mother's day. my hb told him i can't sleep, he told me want bb to come out now or not. i stared at him and ask him can meh and he just smiled. aiyo.. hope the situation won't get worse.. u seeing him once a week from this week on? he never mentioned the strep B test to u?

I am home, let me post a bit before going zz...

So tired with 2 kids! Hubby helps a lot tho, thanks dear (hope he read tis).

My boy: Keagan Wallace Tjioe
Weight: 2.965 kg
Length: 51cm
Born at 2.03 pm on 30 Apr 09

Birth story
Supposed to go for some kind of inducement like (coz i had contractions and dilated already).

But at the evening on 29 Apr, got brown discharge and morning got bloody discharge "show".. told my boy I dun want induce so please dun get gynae to induce him..

Admitted at Mt E about 9am (changed,VE by midwife 2 cm dilated, enema, and poo poo at 9.30am).. after that told midwives i think i still have poo, coz stil got diarrehoe feeling, gynae came at the same time and did VE, 4 cm dilated and cervix is very low).

Midwife prep a big scissors for gynae to burst, i got shocked when I saw the big scissors, water broke by itself haha!! shocked!!

Gynae said: OKAY NOW U ARE NOT INDUCED, U ARE ON YOUR OWN hehe he insisted i took epi, so i just took haha.. that was about 9.40am i think

then he put me on drip to strengthen contractions, at about 12.30.. told midwives I want to push, she did VE on me.. wow fully dilated.. she said will inform gynae later, coz he just went into op theatre for csect..

In my heart i was thinking, if i dun take epi, sure fainting liao, need to wait for him finish op with awful contractions! haha..

Gynae came at about 1.30pm.. chit chat and prepare everything.. push push few times, oh bb facing up.. then he use vacuum to turn bb face down before bb is out.. i think bb is out within 3 or 4 pushes only hahaa..

conclusion: mine is natural - vacuum assisted with epi..

congrats to those who popped.
I need to rest liao..

tinyM, ya he sounds very fierce...but his expression dont look fierce lah still the same loh...then he do the scan for me, still can smile...lol..he say everything ok with my bb and water level is good..he never ask me do the swap test wor..mayb still early ? now i see him weekly..next fri appt..btw, i ask for 2 days mc..hahaha...i can be free from work...yippie !

Congrats AK - hope baby and mum are feeling better

adv_sports, rc_cola - thanks for sharing your birth story. Congrats for your bundle of joy!

tinklesmum, i dun have a specific person to wax with.. i take anyone la.. cuz i tend to last min book so cant be picky with therapist.. oh ya they provide hard wax but i find the normal wax is better for me.. cuz the hard wax is like they have to peel off the wax then rip.. like er.. u try to pick it up before ripping.. dunno if u understand ha ha! but the regular wax is like they hold on to the wax cloth then rip v quickly. short n quick. i prefer.. so i still use the regular one.. i pm u my number.. if dun understand jus call me. i'm v free now. =)

morning everyone...

jus curious...do u gals buy at least a small tin of FM jus in case not enough BM to feed baby...

cuz i have not get any...n also not too sure which brand is good...

Morning mummies..

cheyanne, i think u can try to get some FM samples from the hospital to let baby tries before really getting a tin in case not suitable.

okipoki...

ya i agree such weather is gd for confinement...heehee

ling...

okie thanks...i will get samples from hospital then...

Hi Jamie, I get what you mean... the lady whom I spoke to on my phone said the hard wax is recommended for pregnant woman cos it's last harsh on the skin and the skin will not be too raw after waxing leh... so you mean the ripping process is less painful with the normal wax?

Thanks for PM me your number, I will sms you later on this

They do, but not sure how they would do it - scare the shaving will cause irritation after that. I thought wax is better so that after birth, it's cleaner and more comfy esp with our discharge andall.

Cheyanne:
I will not standy FM, if standby, CL or care taker may just relay on it and not bring bb to mummy for bfg.

Shaving:
I was not shaved for #1 @ KKH, #2 @ Mt A.

Cola:
That's a quick one.. congrates again

The FM sample is normally around 90-120 ml depending on the brand. usually, hospital will use these pre-mix samples to feed babies in the nursery who are on partial bf only. Can recycle the glass bottle to store ebm but u need to buy the plastic caps from the pharmacy.

oki and ling, how is confinement so far ? very soon is gg to end...hopefully when is our turn...the weather is better...last night very good to sleep

cheyanne, i also never prepare any fm yet...will get from TMC to try first if necessary..

no posting from Xue and Muffintop...mayb they pop already ?

good day mummies... Congrats to adv_sports... Smooth delivery.. U sure know hw to 'ren' man...

Porky- i also bought bedroom slippers from daiso.. But i find them sooooo hard. Then i went to aussino.. And bought bedroom slippers.. They are so soft and comfy. Costs abt 7.90.. mm worth considering.. And i never looked back since..

we survived our first night with the baby at home! hubby is wore out.

i find the pre-mix formula used by the hospital very useful. don't know why they are not available for retail sale. used it last night and finally managed to get 4 hours of sleep. Unfortunately, hospital had given me only 2 bottles. now i have only 1 on standby.

wonder if any other first-time mums are facing challenges coping like me???

congrats to audrey, adv_sports, rc_cola and other mums who have given birth. don't have time to catch the past days' post. :p

Porky, confinement so far is HOT!!! haha.. i cant have aircon n fan on.... today (gotten mum's 'permission' n can bath n shampoo!! shiok!
now supply better so baby is able to drink more n last longer! better sleep at nite...

Ak, i din use the pre-mix formula during the 1st nite.. baby every hr wakes up for milk! super tiring... super panda eyes..

ling - i'm giving up. i'm expressing my milk now and feed him in 1 go. faster and he sleep longer. i also know how much he is drinking.

Ak, quite true.. if BF, dun really know how much he drinks.. i gv up on expressing coz im using manual pump.. wah.. pump until so tiring.. unless must go get electric one.. :p

If u feed him enuff milk, think he will gain weight v fast.. mine borned at 3.05kg.. discharged tat time dropped to 2.85kg.. now after a week, weight at 3.3kg already..
so u dun worry so much.

Porky > Wow..what did Dr Adrian talk to the couple? Im so curious. I called him at about 12.10pm ytd to confirm my timing of my C-sec on coming Tues. however, he kept hinting if I want to change to today haha....think he dun have many patients doing c-sec today so wanna me to do today to occupy his slot? (Just my thinking but I rejected explaining that today is definitely not gd day for us.)

Sallen > Yeah that is why I wanna ask mummies who had the experience too. Wonder how long will it take to recover from C-sec wound. Forgotten to ask my gyne.

TMC Wards
Can someone advise if there's wireless for internet surfing for all types of wards? 2-bedded?

TinyM > So you be delivering a day earlier than me. Maybe we will bump to each other? Hehe. U opting for single bedded?

Baby's weight
I told mum ytd that bb is 2.8Kg as of wk 38. Last night I had a wedding dinner and she called me twice before I returned her call to assure her that bb should be alright...she quite gan jiong. Told her bb is tad small but healthy will do then got my 1st sis to text me 11pm++ to ask clearly on bb's wt. Had replied her that bb's well being is determined by paed doc. Then this morning, she got my youngest sis to ask abt the weight again. Then I realised mum thought it's 2.8Ibs. haha....then mum got insomia the entire night kept thinking how come bb is so so small....then how to take care? Hahaha..I went home to sun the playpen then she told me she was shock and din sleep well. Ayoh...really ah. BTH her.

ling - i think breastfeeding is a major cause for post-natal blues. problem is that i don't know if my baby is getting enough milk. as of his 5th day, his weight was still going down. i'm so worried. feel like changing to FM so many times. at least can measure, time and gauge.

SK - i had c-sect with epi. i was able to sit up right by 2nd day, and was walking around on 3rd day. so far, i don't feel much from the wound.

Ling > Exactly, she scolded me for not being clear. :S Then I told her local schools taught us mainly in Kg mah. Hate to see her in stress cos later will affect everybody's moods too. Haha.

AK, realy ah? The wound will not hurt at all? Cos i am imagining getting down from a low-raised bed so not sure will cause any discomfort not. So now I know it will not. Thanks!

Congrats on your newborn! So happy to see many mummies are delivering soon too.

however, this kind of weather machiam stay anywhere (except in aircon room) will be hot and warm. I really cant imagine "sun-bathing" or suana-ing myself in non-air con places leh. How ah?

AK, dun worry so much.. if u stress, then will affect the supply leh. think can check with PD to see if baby is absorbing enuff.. Must stay happy k?

SK, i understand wat u mean...

SK,
am so glad hubby alrdy approved aircon + fan, plus showers & shampoo, wif the necessary stuff la... no matter mil approve or not! yeah, win half battle liao!

SK - changing of positions, e.g. from lying to sitting, and sitting to standing, is not painful but not nimble as before op. but once, i get into the new position, it is quite ok.

i already give up on the fan and shower rules. how to hold the baby to my body to breastfeed if i'm so saltish. (i didn't install air-con at home.)