(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

joyce,
the only way u can avoid having a taurus baby in this Ox yr is to give birth before 21 April or after 20 may.

I don't think i can avoid having a taurus baby.

porky,
i am very safety conscious. so i will put baby in the car seat on the day way home from the hospital. in fact hospitals in the US and Australia won't allow u to bring baby home if you don't have a car seat lah...in SG, i think more flexible.

juju,
same as u! i haf a new infant car seat but haf not "tested" it on our car yet...but we bought the padding already!

mebbe will do so this weekend

cheeky,
i think TP may spot check. i heard it's compulsory.
mine is 2nd hand, from SIL, she said mine is 8th bb to use the seat. i wonder if the seat is still safe. but hubby dun wan to buy new one.

Hi Juju, hope he will change, cause it is tough if you have to do everything, especially if we have to work after our ML. I try to drag my husband along for talks etc. He understand that husband can do everything other than breastfeeding and I always tell him that breastfeeding is tough.

HEY LADIES!

My EDD is on 1 May. Went for check up at KKH today. I complaint to my gynae saying that I'm having cramps sometimes. So he did a check for me by inserting his fingers into my vagina. Checking whether my cervix is opening. BUT IT FELT REALLY PAINFUL! I'm very worried that I won't be able to take the pain during labour. Cos his fingers are much smaller than a baby's head? =(

Really wish to know how it feels during contraction. I'm really scared! But really wish to see my lil one soon. I'm not as strong as I thought. I feel so down after my check up today. Can anyone please advice?

baby may,
hope so too. his mcp side showing out more & more.

mei ling,
maybe it's painful bcos ur cervix not open yet?
did u ask ur gynae?

juju,
yeah, if TP check, mebbe he will fine...

baby may,
our edd is the same
how's ur progress so far? any idea if u'll be popping earlier? whats ur birth plan btw?

karen,
did u tell ur gynae that it was painful? my gynae did not give me a VE @ all before i popped my #1. but @ the hospital after water bag burst, it was painful when the nurse did the VE, she was so rough, i screamed. Sorry, didn't mean to scare u, but that was my only experience with VE.

hey, gals.. i m feeling so so so breathless nw man.. and can feel my heartbeat pumping v hard.. my edd is on 31 may, i cant imagine u guys hav actually gone thru tat stage and stil working.. really pei fu pei fu....

glenly, feeling breathless is normal for me liao...i have been feeling like dat for the past weeks...esp night time when i lie down on the bed...my gynae say is cos of bb pressing on u...

Hi cheekz,

My gynae says that my baby is not engaged yet during my last visit. I have no birth plan, hopefully can go natural and has opted for epidural cause I have a low threshold for pain. What about you?

Between, I have not done GBS swab test. I asked my gynae about 2 weeks back when I was about 34 weeks. He say it is not compulsory. Will you all go for the test or have you all done the test?

hi karen, u are new ?

ur gynae got apply some gel before he insert his fingers in or not ? u sound like really painful leh...scary...

for me when i slp also v xin ku and also wake up from bed, its like v heavy lei.... can c my tummy nw v big liao... this fri gynae check up (32 wks +) dunno hw heavy my gg is nw...cos her kicks and punches r stronger than b4 nw and more hiccupps.

Mei Ling, wow, VE so painful har? I still thought going to ask my gynae whether need to do VE or not since most of you all mention that it is to check for dilation and I want to know whether I am dilated. I think I will not ask my gynae since it is so painful.

Hi Lalitha, GBS swap test is done to see if we have GBS infection which may infect baby during natural delivery. If have, will take a course of antibiotics.

cheekz - on chix essence, my mum advised me to drink 2 bottles b4 going for delivery to boost energy levels. i drank when i was due to give birth to #1 and i oso had breakfast. but i tink it was all vomitted out becoz of side effects of epi ;p i actually vomitted 4 times after epi and doc had to give me another med to curb the vomitting.

porky - i oso placed bb in the car seat on day of discharge. for safety and oso for getting bb used to travelling in the car seat. in fact, my hb and i are quite radical, we dun sit at the back with the bb. so my #1 is used to being alone at the back in her car seat from young. thus i hv no prob bringing her out on my own everyday. bbs need to be conditioned. my sis wasn't insistent so her gal nvr uses the carseat!

i went for gynae check yest. 35wks and bb is 2.4kg. did the swab test liao, hope it's clear. gynae say bb is head down and very low.

porky - dun worie abt putting the carseat in the car yet. after you've delivered and while you are still in hosp, hb can go home and fix the carseat, set up cot etc. there will still be time. but if you haven't got the carseat, better do so soon.

I am going for my gynae appt later...should be coming to 33 weeks now..Hopefully, baby's weight has gone up after my indulge in durian!!!

Porky,
why u need to set up the carseat so soon ? My didnt let me ger sit in the carseat till she is at least 2mths. NB personally I wont place him there, I will carry him instead unless u drive - my personal point of view

baby may,
dr lim also said that to me for the GBS. he said dunno which college make it compulsory and another not, so it's not a mandatory test..

My doc did the VE last sat.. not exactly painful but uncomfortable lah.. so just be emotionally prepared lor.

my bb engaged liaoz, but my fren said bb engaged can also disengaged one.. so must continue to pray that bb stay engaged.

everyone counting down.. very very exciting..

any mummies working till delivery? i am, actually my doc also encourage me to do that.. cos later end up being very bored at home and have to beg him to induce.. haha.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> muffintop,
engaged can be disengaged too?? I thought once the head is 'locked' bb cant turn up anymore?
I'm working till the day I deliver as well.. Thou I feel very tired, at least wont feel bored.. =)</font>.

GBS Swab Test:

My gynae has advice me to do the test during next appt which is next wk, then I will be in wk 36!

ML:

I will be working till date of delivery too! Praying hard tt it comes during the nite.. Midnite ox has better live than day ox (in my opinion)

Car seat:

Mine will not be in the car when discharged from hospital.. instead, I intend to bring my sling &amp; wear nursing tops (make sure it's bigger sized) when discharged. I had experience tt bb wants to drink milk while on the way home.. I was not equiped.. so very 'karang-kapoh' tt time!

I will be going for my gynae appt today, should be about 36 wks now.. ahve to ask him how heavy my bb is..

Joyce
Yeah, same opinion, nite ox should have better live hahaha.. i am a wee hour ox (born about 3.45am), mum said luckily not 4am yet, coz by 4am or 5am ox should be on the farm ploughing land, goodness haha! so far i think my live is good or far from comfortable level
hahaha!

Re: ML
I will be working til end of April (by plan)..

Mei Ling
Ya perhaps it's not comfortable and you are too dry perhaps! Next wk if your gynae wants to do VE for you again, told him put more gel pls :p

i wanted to work till date of delivery too. was very gungho, wanted to take ML just 2 weeks before EDD. but i'm already on hospitalisation leave this week. not sure if gynae will be extending my leave.

i want to go to work too. but feel so inefficient and careless at work. what i used to finish in 2 hours, now takes almost the whole day.

Joyce,

The taxi drive from MtE to my place only 10 mins haha.. wont bother to feed bb in taxi haha.. i would probably just carry him.. so sleepy now.. I've never done any swap before, gynae didnt mentioned either.. btw how come my gynae is so relaxed.. haha i think my CTG would probably be done at the next appt, and then VE to follow..

Xue
For #2, the baby can engage just before labour starts, unlike #1, bb can be engaged weeks before u deliver..

Joyce,
that's great advice to wear nursing top on the way back! I was still thinking wat to pack.

Xue, I heard that from more than 1 person.. so just pray hard that bb stay engaged lor.

I agree with the tired part. like back to first trimester tiredness by evening but can't sleep well. like that better than staying at home and very bored.. if second child, maybe will consider staying at home and spend time with the first.. heehee.

Car Seat
I will need to put bb on car seat early, cos I will need to drive bb to and fro mum's place after confinement. But when just discharged, i am thinking of carrying the bb.. only for short journey mah..

Hospital bag
I have packed
2xnursing bras
breast pads (mendela free sample from baby fair)
chicken esscence x 2
maternity underwear x 5
maternity pads
2 pj- button fronts
vanity bag - facial wash, brush, hair band, eye cream, .. (long hair ones dun forget ur hair band)
admission letter
singapore cord blood bank letter to pass to nurse
bible
wedding cert - husband to bring on second day cos dun want tis in the car and spoil..

Things yet to put in
face towel (haven't wash)
camera - make sure it's charged and empty the memory card now
gg back clothes - nursing top thanks to joyce

Seperately, I will put towels (in case water bag burst) and a set of comfy clothes for my husband so that he can change in, in case he is at work.

did i miss out anyting?

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Cola, Muffintop,
Still hv chnce to turn!!? my gynae told me around 2% of the bb will still manage to turn at ltr week arnd 37wks+....
Will see how during my next visit...

Working till deliver:
I'm already feeeling very tired recently.. Even if i sleep from 10pm till this morning.... Even now, I cant keep my eyes
open.... Keep yawning too... Still have to tahan for another 2-3wks...</font>.

oki, i have not even bgt the car seat yet...as i saw some of u already prepare and standby car seat in the car..tats why i panick...anyway, my mil insist that she will carry my newborn on the day of discharge rather than put him inside car seat or carry by me...**faint**

poohwei, i am also 33 weeks today..but next gynae appt is 17th...hope my bb will put on weight after my durian feast last fri...haha

i also hope to work till deliver...else at home also very sian...gonna face my mil the whole day...more sian...

Hi Yvette I am also 34 next week and will be seeing my gynae too! Your due date is end may?

Btw what is GBS Swab? My gynae din ask me to take that leh... shld I be asking him?

re : baby head turn up after engage
i heard abt this also...one of my ex-colic's bb head turn up on day of delivery 39weeks..end up emer c-sec...

tinklesmum, i sign up babycentre and it says i am 33 weeks today. edd is 23rd may..however my gynae say the edd date is not acurate...but i still hope my baby will be out in may after 21st so i can have gemini baby same as me..hehe

Xue

I thought bb's position is final by about 32 wks?? I dunno about the turning part, but engaged means the head is really stucked to birth canal (around there) and not engage (meaning bb head is still floating and not stucked yet hahaha)

Porky,
Haha why ur MIL insists to carry, I wont be happy if my MIL does that to me. I will want to carry him myself..

I do hope to work till deliver leh but my boss asked me to take 1 week leave before EDD.

Hi Porky, I signed up for baby center too! My EDD is 24 May.

Btw I am thinking of changing gynae at this point - is it advisable? After i joined this forum, I learn more from you mummies like the tests that you are taking and advice your gynaes are givign... Mine always just say eveerythign good good. never arrange for any tests whatsoevert for me leh.

What is your advice?

A little troubled now...