(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

VE is not painful, but uncomfy.. you can request minimal VE.

Natural birth really depends on your pain tollerance or what they say pain management, if you can't endure pain , get to know what pain relief is available well in advance & know how it helps.

Basic:
1. Entonox (some call it laughing gas)
2. Pethedine (injection in the thigh)
3. Epidural

These 3 are the most commonly used here.

thanks audrey,
will go there tm
btw tx I email tinkles mum already.

Tinkle > I dun no where's the shop. But I read that a mummy commented that there's one shop at Chinatown selling baby clothes cheaply.

Lily > I was tad scared when I watched the videos. I still think pain is unavoidable. Rem to get your hubby to crack jokes to you. To some mummies, epidural helps alot to ease the pain. Maybe can try?

Porky > I almost wanted to visit Red Tomato today at blk 722 yah? Was pouring so heavy this pm after my class and not convenient to walk thru the pools of water in my big tummy. Spinal a tad pain too so ended up window-shop till Guardian only.

Lily, saw the underpads - 10pcs at $3.85 but dunno if im able to utilise all or not leh. So hesitate for a while then dismissed the idea of purchasing them.

SK,
u wanna share? i got the pack, but also thinking how to finish up the pads. alrdy brought 2 to office... haven't start using a single piece.

Ling,
for me I prefer to buy first cos nobody can help me buy if not have the sample
n since that one can keep better I prepare so everything settled when baby pop liao

lily, yes red tomato is near the polyclinic..opposite pizza hut..

ling, my CL say the bath herbs need to buy first..so i will need to prepare them next week..hehe..aft see the new mummy pop so early...a bit scare and excited lah..i think must stop my mahjong sessions during weekend liao..so i can have more time to prepare my bb's arrival...hahaha

Lily > Oh u manage to get the details of the shop? Think still worth to get from nearby shops cos troublesome to travel unless u go there often or want to get in bulk.

Ling Lim > I think the confinement herbal bath can get before delivery. Cos can shower dunno after how many days. Can wash hair after 12 days already.

Jul > It's okay bah cos I will borrow my baby's waterproof's bed mat first..haha..hope she does not mind sharing with mummy.

Was told by the instructress that the feel and smell of "Lykwa" (dunno the correct spelling of it) aka amniotic fluid is different from urine. Quite warm and can leak either slowly (high leak) or "gushing" (low leak). So need to judge loh.

porky, lily,
okie noted.. think i will my mum to get some first then.. haha... ya.. everyone is getting kan cheong now heehee...

okie, going to sleep... chat tom! Nites to all mummies!

joyce, i scare of VE...cos 1st time mummy mah...i heard 1 finger is 1cm...i wonder how many fingers my gynae need to put in to check for dilation...scary...

VE: I think is 2 fingers.. usually they will check when you admit, then depends on how your CTG reads.. if not use Doppler (listening device) same function as CTG machine. CTG is to record the contractions duration & frequency. The higher the frequency, longer durations, means you are pretty close to delivering ur bb.

VE seems to be a standard procedure.

hi.. audrey.. induction can be done so long bb reached its full term of 37 weeks. but usually ppl do it for various kind of valid reasons. like.. bb not growing well, mummy got high blood pressure... bb... too big etc. So, sit back and relaz... dun be too worried..

when bb comes, she comes.... u will know..

Aiyoh.. when I 1st time pregnant with my girl 7yrs ago.. I also blur blur.. dun read any material, dun attend antenatal class.. everything just listen to what gynae advice.. chosen KKH..

All haywire..

Till 2nd pregnancy, then start to join forum, attend labour class.. be informed of everything..had a wonderful birth story to share!

unlike most of you, 1st time moms know how to join forum, get info..

hi adrienne..
thanks.. i think i'm overly anxious already.. will enjoy more couple time first before bb arrives

have lah.. not singapore motherhood.. but other forum.. I joined one is UK forum... 'babycentre', talking to those 'ang mo' is totally different!

hi juju,
its more of homewear.. not those fancy dresses or outing clothes..

6 tops for $10

pants i'm not too sure cos i didn't buy.

should be the same.

mittens 6 pairs for $4.
mittens and booties 6 pairs $7 i think.

face towels 12 for $3

cloth diapers 12 for $9 around there..

must buy in bulk.. they don't sell 1 piece 1 piece..

if u haven't bought homewear, this is really cheap. they have sizes from NB to 3 mths, 3-6 and 6-12 mths..

Hi Audrey

Induce birth is only recommended by doctor if is necessary and doctor will only induce from 37 weeks onwards for medical reason such as baby is safer to be born than to keep in the womb until full term.

Morning mummies and MTBs

Re: nb pict
Oh the bb's pict is out? I didnt check FB at nite, and will only do so if have time at home later.

Lily
Aiyoh, I hint hint u so many times, yes dear we are from same country

I know the shop in chinatown, used to order big items from them (ie high chair) coz they sell cheaper and willing to send to my place FOC coz quite near hehe!

I wanna get some more mittens ler.. stil wondering if i should buy from mother care, 3 pairs $12, good quality
but a bit exp..

Audrey
Induction will only be done if your bb has already matured, i dun think gynae will do induction when bb is not ready.. Ya like others said, it has some risk, better to wait till bb is ready.. dun be too gan cheong

Re:VE
Joyce I think VE = vaginal examination, not virginal rite? hahaha!
First time mtbs, dun be too scared, it's not painful just uncomfy.. my gynae will only do VE late in preg stage.. i remember he only did once for me, and 2 days later i went for delivery.. some gynaes start VE at 37 wks, which are quite scary.. i dunno i feel super uncomfy and super phaiseh :p keke!

Dilated 10cm: wont put whole hand inside!! haha make me feel like rolling on floor readin gthis, use 2 fingers and the midwives open it up, 10 cm, u can even see the head + hair, my hubby saw our girl's hair (crown) when i was 10 cm dilated
hubby said it just opened and wont close liao under bb is out

Btw, when was JRT's edd supposed to be? I think bb come out at 35 wks plus rite?

good morning mummies

i know who that mummy is.. but i cant relate her nick and name together.. whahaha..

cola, u leaked out the information already.. but i think its a joyful event to share when pop right?? whahaha... if i ever pop, i sure sms all the mums here if i have yr no.. whahaha..

VE isnt scary la.. just abit er-xin for me.. because my gynae is a man! for #1, my gynae checked for me once only.. when my bb was overdue.. think over in less than 3secs?

then i was telling my hb.. i paid him money to touch me!!

Morning Mummies,
got leg cramps early morning

Audrey,
u wake up early today. Think I want to get cloth nappy frm Bugis shop.

rc_cola,
hahaa ... so good got friend same country here

at bugis they also got sale 4 pairs mittens at $9 that one got write I lov Mum n I lov Dad ( i bot this frm there ) outside sell 1 pair $3.30.

RC_cola:

Dun make me paiseh leh.. spelling mistake! keke

shers:

There are 2 types of men..

1. Gynae - we pay them to touch us
2. those who visit prostitute - they have to pay to touch girls.. :p

Shers,
I agreed with you, abit "er xin" but think in term that they are professional. For VE, my exam checked twice afterwhich are done by the midwife. Actually when u are in epidural u dont feel anything. Hahahha....

Joyce,
U are funny !! ;p

OH... finally i know what is her nick already!!! whahaha... i'm S-L-O-W~~~ and i saw her b4 in the bb fair at expo..

oki, 7 may??? gosh~~~

thats fast! 35weeks and 1 day.. r u nervous?? u r supposed to be 1st few to pop!!! u and xue.. when juju 'announced' i tot its u or xue until both of u appeared online.. whahaha