(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

hi sk,
i never buy coconut yet.. i just drink the raspberry tea. supposed to clean up the uterus n strengthen. i think i will ask hb to buy. everything also can try now la! haha.

hi tinkles mum,
no problem! glad to be of service!! get back to me about the embroidery ok!

hi adv_sports,
the swelling never go down at all.. i feel like one big ba zhang haha. dunno why can swell until like that. baby @ 33 weeks only 1.8kg still can swell until like that..

baby movement:
baby andrea likes kung fu and action movies.. everytime got fighting/action scene, she kick non stop so funny! always make me laugh also

The thread is going super fast.
Nowadays is very tiring, so I seldom got time online.
Hope everybody is going well, and thanks for those information about signs of giving birth.

Leg swelling,
Audrey, my legs also will swell like that, but everything morning will go back to normal size. I'm not sure if keep persist like that, whether you should call your gynae to check?

hi sharon,
yah the thread moving very fast. i more or less stop working already at music schools so i always at home, nothing to do until the student comes to my place or i go to their place.. so i get to use the computer alot haha

my legs never go back to normal size for 3 days alrdy..my gynae just say if contractions 5 mins apart / water burst / blood, den admit, if not all other signs no need.

she always seem to be in a rush one leh. so i also don't bother to call her. haha.

morning mummies !

audrey, thanks for the link..very useful !

adelyee & chocolat, haha...i thot diarrhoea is a sign of labour mah...cos some mummies in the forum say that...anyway today feel better liao..yesterday was really feeling terrible...got no mood to come online also...

porky, I told Dr Woody that I had diarrhoea and he just told me to stop drinking milk and asked if I want anti-diarrhoea medicine. I didn't want to take medicine so I just cut down on my milk intake.

hi mummies.. can check with u guys? do u thnk its necessary for my bb to slp in sarong/ yaloan? tout the sarong can make my bb gal head more rounded, and hence nicer? was thnking to let her slp in the afternoon (cos nt so hot) then cot in the nite.

dunno shld i get one.
any 1 can advice? ;-)

Morning ladies !!

I had one for my #1. I would say your bb will feel much more secured in yaolan - kinda like when she is in your womb being "wrap" up

I'm new here
and would like to seek for your advice.

Me edd 7-May and gynae told me my baby head is now on the top. Is it normal for baby head still facing upwards at this stage?

Btw, how many small Thai coconuts can we consume in a week? I having 2-3 coconuts from Pasar Malam ... ok right?

hi sei, u also seeing dr woody ? SK or CCK ? my diarrhoea is not bcos of the milk powder leh...cos i have already finish more than 7tins so far no problem mah...only sat & sun i got diarrhoea but i never ask dr woody lah...anyway today i am fine liao..

Gd morning everyone,

my boy's incident:
Thanks for concern, he's feeling better & he's happy tt he dun have to go school today.. just hope that he will not scratch it when it's starting to recover & hopefully the scar will not be that bad.

Washing Bb's stuff:
Not neccessory Hand wash, I use machine to wash most stuff. For nappy, if soiled, MIL will rinse off the dirt, then soak in the detergent, then ask helper to handwash them.

Dryer:
I do use Dryer occassionally if it's rainy season. 'cos the elect consumption is high, I dun use frequently & it will create lot's of heat in my kitchen.

Miker,

Think can ask ur gynae to try turn the bb, so that you can deliver normally, else, if breech bb, some doc will ask u to go for C-section to reduce the risk.

Young Coconut:
my edd 16May, already started drinking it for 3wks.

Hi besides longan red date tea, can we drink other stuff after delivery?

Saw in Korean store selling honey ginger (similar to honey citron except this is ginger). Wondering if confinement can drink or not.

YaoLan (摇篮):

Pros & Cons.. some said if already getting use to nap in it, when you are out, they can't nap..then, some like the swing.. if no swing, can't sleep.

I dun use it for both my elder kids & they can sleep in all conditions! They sleep in their tummy when nb.

Sorry to digress... but need some advice on CordBlood Banking here, i have not sign up yet!
I remember some Mummies here signed up with StemCord. My hubby and I are thinking of meeting up with their sales reps, but no contact... anyone has any contact to refer? If we sign up with them, can get referral fee also right?

Pls PM me with the contact and your package, if possible?

many thanks!!!

Yaolan:
My 2 kids also never sleep in yaolan. Can be dangerous too. Cos my sister was strangled at the neck when she moved and fell off the yaolan. Lucky my mum saw it happening but we never ever use yaolan again.

Maternity disposable panties:
How much supplies should we get? I bot 21 pieces dunno enough or not.

halo all mummies,

i had hard time catching up reading the posts.. hehehe...

RE: BB clothings
Finally ask my helper to handwash the clothings. some need to soak coz turn abit yellowish (2nd hand from #1)

RE: Hospital Bag
Will pack so this week

RE: Raspberry tea
Not sure abt excessive bleeding. But i drank 2 cups per day starting 2 weeks ago. I love the taste and smell.

RE: Coconut water
Started 2 weeks ago as well. I took 3 per week. Esp in this horrible weather.

RE: Yaolan
initially i dont wan to use for #1 but she was cranky. So i tried all sorts of pattern - yaolan (that calmed her down alot), FP infant-toddler rocker, cot, playpen, netted rocker, sling.

But i kicked off the habit when she turned 4 months. better dont let her slp too much else will depend alot on yaolan. moreover, my mama was saying that bb's head will be round within 4 months (after 4 months, the shape of head will be determined) if u rotate their slping pattern left and right. at month 4 onwards, my #1 can slp anywhere.

RE: disposable panties
someone ask me b4 abt that... finally i got mine at kiddy palace. maternity size 5 packs for $4.90. cotton material. that is very comfortable and not easy to tear. moreover can cover bum nicely, wldnt be loose like other disposable panties..

Anxylyn, i bought 15 pcs. then will buy another 15 pcs for normal size - hopefully will regain back figure... whahhaa.. anyway my hb asked me to keep the package in case i need it then he will buy for me.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Yaolan:
My #1 slps on yaolan due to the shape of his head. most of the time he'll be on yaolan, but luckily he's not 'addicted' to it. he even reject slping on it when he's 8mths+. my mum sew zipper at both sides.. So even if he sits up, he cant get down from yaolan. Can only ask for help. haha...

Shers, i oso bought the D.panties from kiddypalace. Forget the brand but it's very comfy and fits nicely as well. Use that after delivery when i had #1...</font>.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Shers,
bt quite exp... it's like $1/pcs. Thou it's written washable, i don think i'll really wash and re-use.! lol.

I'm still ok... the contraction is getting more freq &amp; strong... bt painless type.. the out of breath feeling is not good at all.. Nv experience this before.. </font>.

xue,
ya.. i wldnt wash and re-use anywhere.. but for the sake that its comfortable, no choice la.. anyway i bought 3 packs. however, by then, i can wear normal D.panties. hahaha.. *wishing hard*

u must take care wor.. did yr gynae mention that u r ready? u going for natural this time?

ya.. i also realise diff pregnancy got diff exp.. alot of funny things happened to me for this pregnancy - like spotting, BH, leaking of colostrum, low iron, blah blah.. just have to take care.. anyway few more weeks to go before we enter into the confinement period!

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Shers,
agree that all pregnancies are different... no matter wad, we all are already at the last stage.. I'm quite scared of confinement.. esp the bathing part... it's either to bath with herbs or don bath... the smell.. ewwwww... food is yummy thou.. =) </font>.

YES!!! jia You for everyone!

Diff mummies enduring differnt pain or discomfort.

I woke up this morning only to find something interesting. The top right of mym tummy (closer to my right breast) and diagonally across (lower part of my tummy, further away of my left breast) got "hardened".

Not sure if baby's turning leh. The "hardening" part still exists now. Feel some movements at bottom so I am hoping my gal to turn more.

xue, ya lor.. i'm also scared of the showering part.. the thought of it made me real scared!!!

but i also enjoy confinement food.. whahaha...

my hb is also looking forward to the confinement food.. whahhaa

i'm actually enjoying being pregnant. love being able to carry my baby where ever i go. enjoy his "kicks and punches" which i will certainly miss because it is something shared by only the 2 of us.
then again, i'm only in week 33. maybe i will change my tone in another 2 weeks.

porky, I'm seeing Dr Woody at SK

I got some hand-me-down baby clothes that have yellow stains on them. Any mummies have advice on how to remove these? Look like milk stains.

Anyone planning to donate cord blood?

sei, what my mama did was to soak the clothings with colour bleach 1st.. then scrub. then rinse away and wash again with bb detergent.

but pls put colour bleach in water 1st before putting clothings into it..

lalitha,

this is what i read from webbie..

What you're noticing is probably normal leukorrhea — the odorless or mild-smelling milky discharge that you occasionally noticed in your underwear before you were pregnant. There's just a lot more of it now, partly because of increased estrogen production and greater blood flow to the vaginal area. This discharge is made up of secretions from the cervix and vagina, old cells from the walls of the vagina, and normal bacterial flora from the vagina.

You'll probably notice more vaginal discharge as you approach labor, although it's likely to look somewhat different from the flow you've become accustomed to. In very early pregnancy, cervical secretions filled your cervical canal and created a protective barrier — the so-called mucus plug.

As your cervix begins to efface (thin out) and dilate, it may expel this mucus, and you'll notice discharge that looks like egg white or mucus from a runny nose on a cold day. You may even expel the plug in one gelatinous glob. This discharge might be tinged with a bit of blood.

no worries.. so happen that i'm quite free at work today.. hahhaa..

btw, i think its better to wear panties liner and get change every few hrs.. like that no need to worry abt 'wetness' below?

sk, i also experience that leh...my baby's movement was so funny...then when i go for checkup, dr woody show me my baby's head is below liao...so i suspect those movements are shifting positions..haha...a bit pain leh...

tinkles, same same...i also like being preggy ! can carry our baby around and talk to them when we are bored...haha...now if hubby is not back yet, i will talk and sing to bb...mayb is our first so we enjoy doing it loh...my last pregnancy was not so smooth so i never get to experience all this at all...

sei, i also seeing dr woody at SK..mayb we shd meet up one day ? my next appt is 17th april

hi shers,

yah i receive already.. but then ah, why i drink like no taste one..

taste like normal chinese tea.. i cannot smell the raspberry..
den i try to mix with the tea4two.. same taste.........

audrey, what i did is to put 2 teaspoons of tea4two and 1 teaspoon of raspberry tea. pour boiling water inside. steep for ard 15mins.. will turn very 'chinese tea' colour.

should smell of raspberry.. quite strong.. and taste of course abit sourish and flower smell..

Thanks shers, will go try it out

juju and audrey, what is the process like to donate to SCBB? Just call?

porky, I usually go see Dr Woody on Tues and next appt supposed to be 7apr but hubby on reservist so can't make it and we change to 11apr. Maybe I will change it to 4apr and the next one 17apr then can meet up with u! I'm seeing him every 2 weeks now.

is it because i use too big a teapot? my teapot can make 4 glasses but i put maybe 2 teafor2 and 1 raspberry..

or is that meant for 1 cup only?

no taste. haha.

hi sei,
the lady who attended to me was super lor sor. she ask and ask so many questions..

cos i'm delivering at KKH, i just to go down personally to sign the consent form and fill up the question form asking alot of questions regarding medical history about both families..

that's all. sign form and they will come and collect the blood when u give birth..

u can call them at 63945011.

sei,
which hospital u at?
for me, kk - jus go to SCBB office at B1, outside clinic D. tell them u wan to donate, someone will come out and talk to u plus counselling, sign papers. she will explain all the procedures.

Shers,
Good idea. I should buy disposable normal panties afte I use up the 21 pieces... hopefully by then my usual shape will come back. Can't wait to go shopping and buy NEW non-maternity clothes. Window shopping makes me droolll....

Btw, where to get the rasberry tea. How is it supposed to help? Coconut juice - can drink now? I thought must only drink from 36 weeks onwards...