(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Jas

I think your bb is quite big hor.. last check up i check with my gynae what is my bb's weight, he said less than 2 kg (at 32 wks and 3 days), tomorrow check up will be 34wks and 3 days, i dun think my bb is that heavy ler..

Anyway I am trying to beef myself (or bb) up hehe.. i've made a big bowl of avocado juice 2 days ago... will consume it together with my girl tonite.. mummy and daug share share hehehe...

rc_cola, saw the cute moo moo chair that u got for meg! where did u buy it? think i saw similar one at kidzloft -- hubby said too early to buy now...

hi chocolat,
the opening hours this sat is from 11am to 4pm..

tiny_m,
sorry for the late reply, didn't have a computer to check.. u can buy online.. its the same price, just pay 1.50 for normal mail delivery.. courier also have, registered mail also have.. just cost more.

i will probably buy online too cos i don't have time to go down

moms in mind is located at jalan pemimpin, its directly opposite RJC.. and the building is called TAT ANN BUILDING.. and its on the 4th floor.. i forgot which unit but its one of the first few units on the right side..

will our tummy run out of space? i don't dare to beef up my baby. scared he gets too big and have to deliver earlier. trying to keep him in there as long as i can. gynae used to remark that there is not enough space for my baby and i got very worried

<u>ITCHY?</u>
I am itching everywhere on the legs and hands. I try not to scratch the Belly, so I put powder to prevent itch. Sometimes, lotion works and sometimes powder works.

<u>INSOMNIA?</u>
I can join u gals for late nite chats, as I have difficulty sleeping at nite too. Baby moves alot n in slow motion. so it's very uncomfortable.
My baby's head down and legs r up at my ribs, so its painful at times. I can't bend over or stretch too much. Belly is tight n uncomfortable.

Hoping to deliver in April if possible.

<u>Packing for Labour at KKH?</u>
Anyone packing bag to go KKH?
What are the things to pack and what will KKH provide us with?

hi lalitha,
i'm packing my bag to go KKH soon..

i asked KKH, they said they dont provide a hospital list.. so this is wat i packed:

1. 1 set of clothes for me when discharged
2. extra sanitary pads (KKH will give a few)
3. disposable panties
4. nursing bra
5. disposable breast pads
6. 1 new set of clothes for baby
7. 1 receiving blanket
8. 1 set of mittens n booties
9. 1 hat for baby (not necessary haha)
10. extra diapers for baby (KKH will give a few)
11. toiletry set (in case KKH dont provide cos i'm not under A1 ward)

i bring extra sanitary pads and diapers because if we use up the ones that they give, they will charge. everything also charge..

i don't know if we will get to shower after birth.. if not i will bring my own towel..

any mums have any idea if we need to bring own towels if not in A class ward? i'm in B1..

for mummies with long hair,

do you intend to cut your hair short for the delivery? i m in a dilemma if i should crop my hair cos i am afraid i cant stand the heat and the 12 days of not being able to wash my hair! but cutting my hair short now would mean my face will look bigger;p

2nd time and above mummies,
pls share your experience

feb mum - just notice that you are also staying at b.batok. i'm living at street 21 near the ite. wondering if you live nearby.

star - i have long hair. i intend to cut it shorter but long enough to be tied up.
i've curls and they look really messy when my hair is short.
then again, i intend to wash my hair on alternate days during confinement. just need to blow dry after wash.

Thanks Audrey.

That's useful. How about registration for child's birth certificate and applying for Baby Bonus? What documents do we need to bring along?

porky,
I cant find the similac mum at ntuc (hougang mall) selling at $15. wic outlet u went to?

btw, is mamil mama same as similac mum?

Also, rec'd the dumex gift pack.. the makeover can only be used after 16/4...

j&amp;m,
yeah, same gynae! how do u find him? my next appt is 31 mar! when's urs?

lalitha,
dun salute me, pls! i only feel the labour pain for an hour before getting the epi! when i got to the hospital, the nurse said i was almost 6cm dilated! i quickly asked for epi!

i'm v worrried i might not get it in time for # 2...i am so scared of pain too!

hi ak,

i am staying at Bt Batok St 21 too ! wat an coincidence.
I dun intend to cut my hair short. Rather tie up. haha

Rem to also pack your nipple moisturising cream into your bag as well in case BF nipple pain !

Just went for an impromptu visit to my gyne just now. Cos the itch was totally unbearable.

Was given some cream and pill to stop itch. Hope it could get better.

Sad thing is, I got a quick check on baby's position too. Still not engaged. Not head down position.
Hopefully, my gal will turn in the time to come.

Only worry that she gets bigger and deprives of space to change position leh. Any mummies can advise me? So worried leh.

J&amp;M > Thanks for the info. Shall pop by Robinson either at Raffles or Centrepoint. BTW, I like to get a brand new stroller. Is it worth to buy it there?

Any mummies to advise again?

Adv,
haha... urs still prob before exams. think mine is right in the middle of exams!

jus tried the cenosis maternity disposable panties while i was admitted for observation. very comfy! no regrets buying!
also had ctg done numerous times... ok la... only thing is can't move much while being strapped, else they wun be able to detect properly.

Audrey,
maternity pads so rough ah? i alrdy bought 2 packs of mothercare maternity pads (total 24 pcs), plus sofy &amp; laurier overnight pads. hope dun nid to buy anymore.

JasC,
how come leh? SIL is a hainanese who married hainanese. during her confinement, she moved back to family home so dat her own mum can do for her leh...

adv,
car seat padding can get from kidzloft leh... i bot 2 during their sale, 1 for car seat &amp; 1 for pram.
wat kind of car seat protector u got? issit the underpads from guardian?

audrey,
B1 Ward got give toiletries set - 1 pen, 1 toothbrush, 1 mini toothpaste, 1 shower gel, i conditioning shampoo, 1 small washcloth, 1 shower cap, 1 comb. think need to bring towel, unless u ok to use small square washcloth

ling, i bgt my similac mum at TPY ntuc at $15...i think all ntuc shd have leh...ya, i saw the dates is 16/4...seems quite late leh...will try to call tmr to ask if we can go earlier

sk, i also see dr woody today..he confirm that my boy is head down already..weight 1.8kg at 31w3days

hi star,
my receiving blanket has a hood but i want to let baby wear the hat that tinkles mum customized for me.. haha!

lalitha,
registering of birth certificate:
Births should be registered within 14 days from the date of birth, including Sundays and public holidays.

need to bring
1. original marriage cert,
2. both parents NRIC
3. birth certificate given by the hospital when baby is born.

u also delivering at KKH rite? we can register there.
check out the website below, tells u everything.

http://www.ica.gov.sg/page.aspx?pageid=144&amp;secid=143

baby bonus:
when u register for birth certificate at KKH, u can request for the form for the baby bonus scheme. den just fill it up and submit to KKH as well.. can do together with the birth certificate..

more info here:
http://www.babybonus.gov.sg/bbss/html/faq.html

hope this helps!

hi lily, KKH will give us a standard welcome gift pack.. but if we use up the pads or diapers in there, they will charge haha. so just bring our own in case we finish using it too quickly!

hi juju,
i don't know if maternity pads are uncomfortable, but most 2nd time mummies say that the sofy/laurier ones more comfy.. but i think the mothercare one should be good quality.. my friend used the madam pureen one, she say super uncomfortable! i think its more than enough. i only bought 16 pads (sofy).. its longer than the maternity ones.. maternity ones 28cm, sofy nite safe is 35cm..

i think i will bring my own facial wash and towel la. more convenient. thank u for your help
i am getting excited as the due date approaches

audrey,
laurier got 1 type overnight up to 40.5cm, i bought 1 pack of dat. will use mothercare first, then laurier then sofy last.
the toiletries bag from kkh quite cute/sweet looking. small transparent pouch.

Hi cola

My bb is probably big because I have gestational diabetes. Quite worried too, gynae said due to the GD, I definitely cannot overdue ie. my due date 5 May, 6 May must induce if there is no sign of labour.

Audrey
No need to pack so much things.
Provided by KKH (as far as I remember):
1 pack of diapers(enough for at least a week), /a box of tissue to clean poo poo
1 or 2 packs of maternity pads
Toothbrush / Toothpaste/comb
Shower cream
Disposable panties
Bath towel

I'm packing only (normal delivery up to 3 nights stay as in 2006)
1) camera
2) going home clothes / nursing bra/ disposable panties (optional as kk is providing)
3) clothing for baby / receiving blanket/mitten / botties
4) 1 small box of tissue
5) slipper (showering use or walking to toilet) (no need to pack if you are wearing the slippers to hospital)
6) ROM cert (for registration of bb's name at the hospital)

Basic toiletries are provided and are charged into your bill already regardless of the ward you are staying. You'll need to leave extra space in your bag to bring the diaper / maternity pad home.

juju
My mum doesn't allow me to go home for confinement, no choice, she rather travel so far to visit me every weekend although she still keep my room for me. Even my husband may travel during my confinement also doesn't help. May be is individual practise. (I believe my mum would rather stay with me at my place to help doing confinement if she's not taking care of her 10 year old grandniece). However, she asked me to stay over with her before I give birth when my husband is traveling oversea as I would be alone with my little girl at home.

cheekz
My colleague's sister gave birth to her #2 at her mum's place. One midnight, she felt a sharp pain and then baby's head going down. Everything finished within 5 mins. She lied on the floor and her mum placed a towel on the floor to receive the baby. Mother and baby were sent to hospital by ambulance.

to two mummies whom might have added me in msn. Sorry. I accidentally rejected it Coz forgot abt asking mummies to add me. Mind adding me again?? And we'll brave thru the late nights together!! Haha.. Applicable to those whom's suffering from insomnia like me.

Muffintop- you can add ebuddy to ur blackberry, no? Then can chat also at night..

I'm new to this thread. Had my postnatal massage recently frm traditional &amp; holistic postnatal centre and personally request for Mdm Rokiah service although I have to pay slightly more expensive. My hubby frens wife who've use her service before recommend my hubby to have her service personally. We are very satisfied with her service. I got bad engorggement on the 5th day and my bb cry very badly and did not sleep well. When she came for my 1st sessions, she help me with my breast and my milk flow very well and I dont feel its heavy and she help us to see if bb got colic. Did bb massage and my bb sleep very well that nite. Even teach my hubby on how to support me on bf and how to compress my breast before express. Lots of tips that I got from her. Even bought me the vege that helps to increase milk supply. I find she is more motherly and her massage is really relaxing as I've many frens say that postnatal massage is very painful. Tks to her very much as I can cope well with my bb now and milk supply increase by following her advise. Could visit their website jamumassage.com abt their service

Hi Adv_sport,

Yeah, I think you better KIV the padding first. Perhaps wait till your bb is born then check it out.

Hi! Star,

I cut off my long hair till very short when I had my first baby. I would say it is easy to manage during confinement. My boy was born in April. It was a hot period and I was sweating like water tap. At least my hair was not that oil as compared to having long hair.

Hi Cheekz,

I got to know Dr Chan through a close friend of mine. She used him for her last 3 pregnancies. Personally, I find Dr Chan friendly and competent but his charges is really ex. Are you still seeing him once a month? How do you find him? My next appt falls on 7 Apr. Too bad...otherwise we can meet up at his clinic..haha.

Hi SK,

Dun worry, your baby may turn at last few weeks. I have a friend who gave birth last year. Her baby gal was in breech position during her last few checkup. She turned downward suddenly at 39 weeks plus.

As for stroller, which brand are you looking at? Robinson only carry a few brands such as Gracco, Aprica, combi..etc. I vote for Pre Prego Piko 3. Very sturdy...was very tempted to buy but hubby wanted to use back the old pram.
Taka baby fair is selling at SGD500plus.

Hi Chocolat,

I have also bought a gift for my #1. Hide it in the studyroom so that my boy will not notice it. I am also heading to Robinson tom in the afternoon.

Hi J&amp;M,
what did u get for ur #1? We suppose to bring to hospital and give when they meet bb for the 1st time right? My son had wanted a Thomas Train set I remember it was abt $70 plus ... Had been waiting for this sale to grab it

Hi! Chocolat,

You are still awake at this time. Wow...Thomas Train set used to be my boy's favourite too. I got him a LEGO racer with remote control. He loves to play LEGO so I think this will make a great gift from his little brother. Yeah, my friend told me that I shall give him the present when he visits me and the baby.

Hi Audrey,
Thanks for the tea info.
I'm still thinking whether to go down personally, if I can on leave on monday

Hospital bag,
just like what JasC mentioned, My colleagues told me no need to bring maternity pad and diapers, bcoz kk will provide and is enough to use. the maternity pad is adhesive type. diapers USUALLY is PAMPERS brand.
The prenatal class nurse also did mention about this. so u no need to bring extra.
Regarding the toiletries, my colleagues told me if I got preference, then bring my own set, they even tell me, if i want to bring make up also can, in case i look very very pale... hahha...they say at least put on the make up base...

Morning mummies ...
huh still cant sleep last night
end up play my NDS until battery flat.

Sharon,
I think monday they not open leh. Open on Tues - Thurs 11 am - 4 pm.

Audrey,
I got mine already yesterday ...

Understand that most of us are having problems sleeping at night.... anyone using any other method other than brown rice tea to help? I can't sleep on my left or right side cause baby will kick badly as if I'm pressing her body if I can't sleep on my back as it's also very uncomfortable... have resorted to sleeping on my beanbag curled up like a cat :/ please help....

Morning Mummies!
It's Friday!!!

Porky, hougang outlet is selling $19.95 with a vcd included.. i will go chk our punggol outlet.

Juju, the laurier 40.5cm nver state if it is the cotton type.. is it so?