(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

audrey, m not very sure but read in another thread that the difference between premier & classic plan ($ is a few hundred dollars) :-
1) for classic, the midwives will assist you until it's almost time to push, then they will call ur gynae
2) for premier, ur gynae will attend to u once you're admitted

heard KKH midwives r very good and u will be in good hands

adv_sports

Oh yes, I opt for the premier plan, only my gynae will attend to me. The downpayment three years ago was $1,100.

Juju
Haha u so funny,not sadist lar :p When i have time at nite, i send to you the pict lar k. anyway it has been saved in my compie

Adv,
Good news that your placenta goes up..

Audrey
I never know that there is a diff between gynae attend to you first or midwives attend to you first.. for my case, this dear gynae only cames in when i was half way pushing kekeke.. i think MtE doesnt have such plan that's y i blur blur gong gong go and deliver already haha!

I remember they have a chart for you to indicate how painful your contraction is.. chart 1 to 10.. hehehe then u measure yourself the pain level that you are in.. is it 1, is it 3 or is it 5? hehehe quite cute..

somebody was saying that spring maternity has tube nursing bra? is it good? i would like to buy also.. will go and see see look look.. anyway i think i have member discount...

rc_cola, dunno whether my placenta has move up yet -- will know after my visit to gynae this sat
has been doing hip roll n enlisting bb's help

rc cola,

shers,
tube nursing bra? bo leh... i jus went spring again @ amk hub. they have tube bra, not for nursing. anyway, if u can find, let me noe also.
if u dun have member discount, i got card as well.

hi jasc, audrey,

looks a few have EDDs first week of may, mine is 4th may. am in week 34 too. getting very immobile. i've put on 12kg so far and i have to sit down just to wear my pants or i'll topple over!

jasc,
u were induced? how was the procedure like? is there any side effects? did u take epi also? i am also thinking of asking to be induced esp after 30 april coz i'm a may baby so i hope my #2 will also be a may baby

hoping to see if gynae will let me be induced on 2nd may coz its a weekend, more convenient lah. but these things cannot really confirm coz baby might want to come out even earlier!

shers,
i got the tube bra from spring maternity. i like it alot! i find the support not bad. what i like about using it as nursing bra is that u jus need to pull down or pull up to nurse, no need to meddle with the clasp. i find it easier to manage when we're out with baby.

haf u thought of your birth plan? ie anybody getting epi or going drug free? hope u can share from personal experience or your own research.

Cheekz
I intend to go drug free this time.. and I hope i could bear with the pain especially when it's dilating.. last time i used epi so i can only feel the unbearable pain for awhile only.. tis time round wants to experience what the real and painful childbirth (crazy thought) but since a lot of women can go drug free, why cant we? besides, they said epi has side effect rite? support me ladies, i intend to go drug free!!!! if really cant endure, later then ask for epi bah hahaa

Shers
Ya tube bra no need clasp, just pull it down to nurse

Adv
i thought gynae confirmed your placenta go up, dun worry too much k, jsut relax and see what gynae says on next visit.

i'm in wk 35. wat prep have done ? erh not really prep yet. eg yoga, kegels

joyce
me not done birth plan. also under Dr Paul. Is it necessary ? thot to just depend on him since I kno he pro -natural birth & flexi

OIO maternity has lacy nursing bras, not 100% though. I bought 3 for less than $30 a few weeks ago when they having sale. not sure if they still selling at sale price, as the salesger said its while stock last.

my EDD also in the first week of May, but seems like only Bean and I will be delivering in East Shore Hosp right?

day-C: sometimes it's not under his control, he will only comes in when you are near to pushing

...for example, CTG.. usually you will be on bed throughtout the CTG monitoring.. it also depends on the hospital..

if got birthplan.. you can assure that the nurse/midwives follow them and not force you into something that you dun want.

i just want to look for tube bra.. doesnt matter whether it is nursing or maternity.. will look for it at perfect mum and spring maternity... thanks..

i think after giving birth will sag.. not matter how supported our breasts r... especially the longer we BF, the sagger the breasts r..

Shers
I totally agree with you.. the longer u tbf the sagger they become.. ho ho.. i miss my perky breasts... mine hor.. sag sag sag.. and somemore shrink in size after stopping.. so poor thing rite? :p but during bf, do expect increase in size!! mine went from b to d.. then shrink to b minus kekeke.. now preg suddently bloom to d, i dunno with breast milk inside would i get e or f?? i must be crazy!!! i am small szie, not suitable to have e or f breasts at all!!

infor extract from: http://www.birthplan.com/

What is a Birth Plan?
A birth plan is a list of all of preferences and choices for your delivery that you share with your doctor, nurses and midwife. Because you might be on medication or unable to accurately convey your preferences, the birth plan is the map your birth and delivery team will use to follow your instructions.

A birth plan covers the following items so everybody understands how YOU want your child's birth to run: LABOR PREFERENCES
-MONITORING PREFERENCES
-LABOR AUGMENTATION/INDUCTION
-ANESTHESIA/PAIN MEDICATION
-CESAREAN PREFERENCES
-EPISIOTOMY PREFERENCES
-DELIVERY PREFERENCES
-IMMEDIATELY AFTER DELIVERY
-POSTPARTUM
-BREASTFEEDING
-CIRCUMCISION PREFERENCES
-PHOTO/VIDEO PREFERENCES
-OTHER MISCELLANEOUS REQUESTS

HTHs

cola, ya lor.. mine as previously A.. then during preggie, upgraded to C.. during BF-ing, think got increase abit.. but once stopped BF, reduce to A-... gosh~~~

but its a sacrifice lor.. kinda no choice..

i didnt manage to BF long for #1.. only 4 months.. so i hope i can BF longer..

rc_cola,
i support u for going drug free! cos i am also going to try that.. but i'm a 1st time mum la. but i also got the same thought as u.. if so many women can go drug free, i also can!

plus i want to have that satisfaction of "i went thru this birth 100% natural WITHOUT epi" haha. my husband's cousin gave birth without epi and she said pain like hell but after baby came out, she felt super good. like "wah i did it!!" hahaha

i think epi got pros n cons la.. heard that it makes baby abit high for 1 hour hahaha.

my auntie told me she depended on the gas can liao.. this is abit mad but i want to know how painful childbirth is. but i told my husband if i really really really cannot take it, den pls ask the gynae for epi.. he say ok haha.

plus last week i spoke to my gynae, she say if its really too painful, she will see how dilated i am.. if still only few cm, den take epi. if already almost fully dilated, just tahan awhile more because bb will be out soon.

she very funny la. she say "the pain is like lao sai pain but 4 times more jia lat" haha. den i say sounds ok. cos i can tahan pain so i think try la........

we all must keep in contact so in case whoever go into labour first, can inform each other
i heard that alot of support from friends will make the pain more bearable haha!

mummies delivering at KKH:
B1 got premier and classic? cos that time the nurse say the diff between A1 and B1 is

1. hubby can stay over (cos 1 bedded room)
2. gynae will attend to you straight away

B1:
1. hubby cannot stay over (cos 4 bedded room)
2. gynae will only come down when about to deliver

how come jasC u pay $1580?

i know A1 ward deposit is 2k plus.

Even B1 got premier and classic? i wasn't told about the premier leh. but i also heard the midwives there are good so ok lor..

i think nurses inject less painful than doctors. that time this staff nurse took blood test for me, not painful. but when the doctor took blood, wah lau so painful. i think they seldom do it that's why haha.

I think BFG is best for bb which most moms would like to do.. not forgeting all the benefits, the more we should provide when we can.

a bit of sacrifice is ok le.

my bfg history:

#1 - direct 1mth, EBM till 6mth
#2 - direct 2mths, direct/EBM upto 22mths

ps. EBM = Expressed BreastMilk

I remember when I went for my labour class, Ginny asked us to hold onto a pc of Ice cubes to see how much pain tollerance we have.

drug free birth is about how much pain you can endure.. different pple have different level of tollerance. if usually you have great endurance, you sure can do DRUG Free delivery.

It also depends on how co-operative our bb is..

How we manage our contractions and using each contractions to dilate helps greatly.

C-section vs Natual pain:
Last time heard pple said Natual Pain is one time, C-section is dragged for 5 days.. total pain is the same!

joyce, u did exclusive BF for both??

for #2, u did till 22 months?? thats amazing.. yr breasts must sag alot! i only did for 4 months and yet i can feel and see the sag.. cant imagine i did for 22 months..

Shers - yes.. exclusive bfg for both upto 6mth for solid!

yah.. from C b4 birth to B-!!

furthermore, was doing Freelance in different ofc while bfg #2.. Everyday was a challenge for me to look for rooms to express!

ps. exclusive means no supplements with Formula/water

joyce, i dont think c-sect is that painful. drag for 5 days? abit too much la.. the only painful moment i rem is 1) the moment i opened my eyes and 2) the next day morning when nurse asked me to come down of bed.

thats all.. after that, i can walk freely and behave as normal..

maybe yr 'last time' is really very very long time ago?? now technology has advanced alot..

cheekz
i also want to deliver soon.. i put on 10+kg and my maternity pants all "pua kang" already.. and i don't want to buy new ones because bb will be out soon..

joyce
then the 1st few days when we don't have milk, only the colostrum, do we need to supplement with formula? or no need?

some say no need, some say need. so i also dunno. my husband's cousin said she didn't use formula even though she had not much milk during 1st few days cos she say bb has enough reserves inside to tahan for that few days..

audrey, no need to supplement.. just feed colostrum

Breastmilk contents 70% water..

water contents 0 nutrients, why fill little stomuch with this?

if want to supplement, ask nurse to cup-feed (NO bottles/artificial teats)

i'm curious on this ques also..

my sil was knocked out the 1st day after she delivered.. then she requested bb to be on FM.. then 2nd day onwards, she exclusively BF..

i think colostrum can fill up bb's stomach but maybe need to be latch on very very fast.. maybe 1hr instead of 2hrs?

i had colostrum weeks ago.. so i hope my milk will come on the 1st day?

Shers
haha.. I did TBF for 7 mths during my #1, this time round i hope to do it longer.. as plan to just stay at home end of the year or early next yr. if can tbf then can save up a lot on milk powder!! :p nowadays the milk powder is so expensive.. i think by pumping, sagging excelerate hahaha.. latch on not too bad :p

Joyce,
Wow I salute you! 22 mths of BF while doing freelancing! not easy at all

Audrey
I think if you have an elderly at home, better prepare FM, they will sure nag at you one.. sayign bb keeps crying, is it hungry, is it coz u got no milk bla bla bla.. so in order to shut MIL up, i just feed the baby with FM at nite! anyway we are trying to build up our supply which will only come in about 1 wk later or so.. anyway after 1 mth u will start to see yourself moo mooing hehehehe.. even MIL also said.. wah today supply good huh, then i just smiled :p when supply is too much, she told me, eh the milk in the freezer is getting more and more, I have no place to put all the meat! they are so ma fan rite..!!!! just have to close one eye, or 2 eyes if possible..

rc_cola: WRONG to prepare FM... if got FM.. they surely feed b4 letting u to bf.

If no FM, they have no choice but to pass bb to u to bf..

You are good.. 1st one already 7mth.. mine #1 was exclusive EBM after 2nd mth (no direct latch is difficult).. but I persist to pump till 6mth loh..

yah.. freelance/ebm/big bag to carry pump/ice bag.. all I have to lag along daily..

Thanks Juju78, Audrey - I am working in Bishan so can check out Mom in mind during one of the lunchtime

Btw Juju78, I am delivering in TMC. Due date 24 May but i hope earlier too like everyone here

Thanks for the info on 4D scan - i will opt for that! So cute to see baby moving...

cheekz,
Yea i've pile probs for this preg too. Think is in me alrdy so tho I din really has constipation this time round it still came out but not as bad. Last time was bleeding and very painful. This time it juz made its appearance but not really sore. *fingers crossed*

Re confinment,
I din wash my hair daily too for my 1st one. Depended on lot on dry shampoo, din really like it but it's better than nothing. At least when guests come, it's a quick 'wash up' to look presentable.

Joyce
I close one eye tho.. at nite bb drink FM and i sleep peacefully.. only on the day i latched on..
after 2 months, this little girl refused my nipples!! and cried like mad when i forced her to suckles, so ended up exclusive pumping til 7 mths..

During bf time, i always fell sick!! everyweek sure got fever.. biweekly i have flu.. i think all the antibodies passed to my girl
she is an easy baby when it comes to her health!! so mummy suffers a bit nevermind so long as bb is healthy rite? i think my sickness is due to tiredness so caught bugs and virus quite often hehehee

rc_cola: I think it's due to the fact that we introduce bottles too early.. bbs are smart, when on bottles, they do not have to work so hard for the milk, if bfg, they have to work harder for the milk..

Hence, at certain age, they will choose bottles over breast! This is at least the case for my #1.

I still remember, for #1, when she was abt 2mth old, she slept thru after 8pm, last fed was 6pm (when I reach home, it was too late for her last feed of the day) ended up, she reject my breast totally after 2 wks!

Hi cheekz

I have induced birth at 37 weeks as my amnio fluid was insufficient. Prostin tablets were used which last 8 hours each to soften the cervix. Some people response well to it but not for me. I had 3 tablets inserted and still not much contraction after 30 hours. Every tablet inserts, I stayed in the delivery suite for about 2 hours and then go back to the ward to rest. Few CTG were done too. Gynae broke my water bag after 30 hours and said try natural birth first, if not may need c-section. Insert of Prostin was quite painful to me, everytime I screamed so my gynae suggested I should have epidural when I'm still calm so I did! I gave birth after 38 hours upon admission!

My gynae was the one who insert the prostin tablet in me upon admission. After she broke my waterbag, she would pop in to check on me once a while and the midwive was there to assist her. No trainee doctor was allowed to go in to my delivery suite.

RE: confinement
i wasnt allow to wash hair for whole of 28 days except on 2 occasions - 1 to gynae check up and bb's jab and another on full month celebration. depends on dry powder shampoo.. when washing hair is not allowed, thats next to best!!! chocolat, i used powder instead of spray.. worked well on me.. though abit messy.. needs alot of combing.. i bought the same this time round.. intend to do the same - bun up hair, clip all fringe..