(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Tinkles, u prob can rent the breast pumps from hospital first if u r not sure.

For my #1, i paid for a single pump coz the price of PIS pained my pocket. Then in the end i waste money for the single pump coz i find that it's not efficient..coz when u pump one side the other side dripped...ended up i bought a 2nd hand PIS from the SMH forum in my 2 weeks of confinement & it really helps to boost the milk flow lor.

tinkles mum - i'm using medela PIS advanced, it's a dual electric pump, very good pump. tink some mummies got medela freestyle. same function but much lighter. personally, feel that medela pump is good investment.

915 - i can identify with wat you shared. i was so frustrated with the single pump i had. then my bb is poor latcher, so end up i have to express and feed by bottle. with the PIS, i could pump so efficiently and regularly and my milk supply also increased.

feb_mum, ya lor...imagine i was so happy when i see the 'spraying milk'effect after using PIS...hehehe *sounds like adverstising hor*

Talking abt that, i think i shld take out the PIS and test whether if it is still working...

re; breast pumps

I've gotten myself a medela freestyle pump cuz I heard is light and it will boost supply. heee Don't want to waste money to buy so many cheaper pumps then ended up still have to buy the expensive one. heee

hey porky shers did we gals receive the diapers from g market?
I receive last night at 10.45pm.. their delivery time so weird.. but they nv call me b4 they delivery the items.

feb_mum: you mean the medela PIS is lighter or the medela freestyle?

915: Can rent from hospital? I am delivering at TMC... let me check if they have such service. Thanks for the tip man! You are so rite, the pump is so expensive that's why I am still holding back the purchase. On the other hand, I am also scare if I don buy first, when baby born early or stg, my hubby don know how to get.

Oh btw, my friend just recommended me to get the hands-free for breast pump, she swears by it cos now she can type and pump! I bought one at the Baby fair at expo last weekend. Did any of you get that too?

Btw I need to learn more on breastfeeding, my prenatal class covering this topic tonite so hopefully, I can feel more confident. My mom who is also my confinement lady does not breastfeed so I am pretty much on my own, hopefully i can manage.

Tinkles, i guess u can enquire abt the pumps rental at the parentcraft in TMC tonite then.

As for handsfree..er u do really want to type and pump? i sometimes can handsfree too, put a pillow on my lap then the milk bottles on the pillow will be handsfree liao.

But being 1st time mum, bear in mind that ur milk doesn't come gushing out in the 1st week.
So u have time to go and buy the pumps while u latch baby direct.

Btw anyone using Lansinoh Cream for Breastfeeding Mothers ?

915, how long will it take for baby to latch on proper on avg? I cant step out during my first mth also. But u are rite, I may hold back the purchase for now. I will asked my 'lecturer' tonite abt the rental - thanks for the advice.

Are you delivering at TMC too?

tinkles, freestyle is lighter. if you don't forsee yourself lugging the breastpump around a lot, then weight is really not a concern. tink there is a $100 price difference betw freestyle and PIS.

not necc to be handsfree lah. i could read and pump at the same time. doubt i wan to be typing, hee.

on bf, it's impt to perservere, esp in the early stages when milk has not come in yet and bb cries. older folks might sometimes pressure you to feed formula. but when bb is full on formula, it won't ask for bf from you and then your supply is affected. always rem demand = supply.

Thanks feb_mum. I do foresee lugging the pump ard after I return to work.

You are so rite abt the pressure to feed formula. My mom was already saying i shld feed formula esp at nite - I was adamant not to!

But what happen at the early stage when the milk flow is slow and baby doesnt have enough to drink? Do you just leave him to cry but feed more regularly? or do you mix formula? I need to prep up to make sure I know how to fend for myself when my mom pressures me.

Sigh - I wish she can go on prenatal classes with me too...

porky/shers/tiny_m, i got the various brands of diapers from this forum and decided to do a comparsion -- coz hubby(techie guy) will ask me what's the diff between price/weight/package... last nite, i show him the list, too, and we decide on getting huggies since it is on promo now

re: coconut drink
saw the thai coconout (without husk) @ shop n save near my place (usually pass by when we go for evening walk after dinner)... will start to drink when i reach 32-week

re: rental of breast pump
any mummies know whether KKH can rent breast pump? how long can i rent it for? we plan to get the avent manual pump first...

tinkles, i used to lug my PIS to work too. not dat bad lah.

older folks is under the impression dat formula milk is more filling, that if you feed formula, bb will sleep longer thru the nite. but this is a myth. our breastmilk's consistency changes throughout the day - it's actually thicker at nite. so nature has its way of adjusting to bb needs.

bb doesn't need a lot of milk in the first 3 days or so. dat's when our breasts produces only colostrum, it's a thin fluid that is good for boosting bb's immune system. the bb's latching on will cause the body to produce milk. so in the initial days, you got to let bb latch on regularly, 3hrly interval or on demand. milk will come in then.

Tinkles, yeah i am going to deliver in TMC. if i remember correctly, i think during the breastfeeding session, the trainer will prb talk abt the pump rentals.

btw i did not do full breastmilk for my #1 coz i really got no milk in the first week..so i had to try latching and formula. in the end i give baby formula at nite but latch on during the day.

If u r cost conscious, u can consider getting 2nd hand PIS like me. I paid arb $250 for the 1 year old PIS then i bought the accessories separately for hygiene purpose.

Like what feb_mum said, perserverance is very impt in bfeeding coz u can have so little milk in the first 2 weeks that u will feel demoralising lor...but after that the milk will spray like water hose!

Adv, i think for my newborn i will prob get petpet considering the high frequency of poo...it's more cost effective lor.

re: diapers
915, with current huggies promo, the price is same as PET PET -- will try huggies first... later on, if my baby's backside is not "choosy", can switch to more cost effective brands

re: bf
heard so much about demand = supply and persevere... my fren described it as climbing over a steep hill! hope i can overcome and reach the top of the hill
all mummies, jia you!

thanks feb_mum and 915 for your advice. feb_mum you are so right abt what the old folks think - that's what my mom told me too. But i will persist - thanks for both your encouragement. I will let keep you guys posted

Oh btw, my gynae recommended Medela nipple cream, he said it's good for sensitive skin cos i had rashes when I tried to use Palmer's cocobutter cream for prenatal stretch mark so he prescribed me that and he said to be used even post-natal. So far I like it in case u wanna try.

yuki, i receive the huggies abt 9.45pm...u never receive their sms ah ? they got sms to me abt the timing before they send...

915 - i used avent nipple cream. didn't like medela, coz find it too dry to apply. avent is of smoother consistency.

tinkles, adv sports - yes, must jia you for bf. this is the most natural way of feeding. if pple long ago can do it, why can't we?

porky i nv receive any sms or call. My mum is the one that receive the items. The delivery man say he call me. But no le.. i keep waiting also noone call. Now i trying to go online to order s size diaper but error cannot order..

yuki, the man also say call me but i did not receive their call....instead receive sms only...

ya hor, today cant go into their website leh...dunno whats wrong...just now my hubby received a call from Gmarket say ask him do a survey...is a china man call him...very strange leh...anyway we receive our huggies, so no worries

Porky, i also got sms on the delivery then i got my huggies

Agree with feb_mum that the Medela cream is too dry. i haven't tried avent but i used lansinoh previously, it's very rich and smooth.

As for palmer, i dun like to coca butter smell...coz make me feel like a bread with butter...heheh
but thanks for suggestion, tinkles!

just to share.

Breastfeeding is a confidence game. If you are confident enuf, DON'T stock up or have any FM in the house. With this, you have no choice but to persevere on and give the best to your baby. Ignore all "kind suggestions" and always believe you can do it.

It is NOT easy definitely. Expect crying from you AND baby when latching on is still in the learning/early stage. Frustration happens often.

But if you think you can't do it or give up, don't feel guilty. You aren't a bad mummy. At least you tried your very best. All the best to all mummies on trying to breastfeed darling newborns.

i juz got a cust satisfaction call from Gmarket. the number is +82 in front...think they call from korea leh...asking me whether i recieved my goods and asking me to go into my gmarket acct to click 'receipt'button so that the seller can get his payment.

did any of u get this call? Porky?

915, yes yes ! my hubby got this call also...but he say sound like china man...hahaha...anyway i have given them my comments in their website..

yuki, can go in liao..u try again..i just place my order

i'm back!!!

915, i didnt buy for u the blue egg le.. sorry.. u want to buy direct from 1giftshop instead? i got it from her..

btw, i havent get my diapers yet.. i'm frustrated with them! anyway i received the call so i said i havent receive my items so there is no service at all. then the china woman quickly said she will check and call me back asap.. think they have so much orders that they cannot cope already..

idiot right? anyway i wait lor.. he says he will deliver today.. i wait lor..

my damage at tangs is abt $120 only.. mainly my gal's things.. pigeon breastpad consider quite cheap la.. $7.80..i bought 3 boxes..

tollyjoy things got 20%+10%+12% rebate.. so very worth it..

sorry mummies,
i have a pack of 2 NUK Teats to let go. Latex, Medium Feed hole, Size 1 (for 0-6mths). Interested, pls PM me.. thanks!

Shers
You went to tangs? Oh the breast pad are cheap..
I wanted to buy the baby cot from tangs actually..

Btw, do you have good suggestion on where to buy the cheapest fisher and price newborn to toddler bouncer?
Prices varies, at robinson, it was sold at 129.90 (after disc), at isetan it was sold at 139.90 (after disc).. now i am confused, should i wait for taka baby fair and c?
Btw, my dear hubby keeps deally delly since last year wanted to apply for taka card to enjoy disc, until today hor, he never applies yet!!!

rc_cola,
yes.. just came back.. yup.. very cheap.. i have prepared 6 boxes.. dont wish to stock up too much.. hopefully by then, got sales again.. hahhaa..

oh.. i got 1 at home and another 1 i bought 2nd hand from a mummy to put at my in law house.. at $40.. very very new.. the carekeeper didnt let the bb use..

tangs is selling at $99.. but another 12% rebate.. so its $87.12... cheapest of all!!! the price for this item will never go down below $99.. unless u want to wait till the jurong warehouse toys sales... they r selling at $80..

btw, i nearly went crazy at the tangs sales.. fisherprice toys r going 20%+10%+12% rebate for member... urgh!!!!

Shers, no worries abt the blue egg

HOw come u gal got calls from china ppl? the lady who called me sounded filippino leh...but looking at her country code it's from korea....wah ..难道是..china woman faking filippino accent and calling from korea?? hehehe
*talking nonsense*

$7.80 for piegeon breastpad is cheap! when is the sales until?

the no is +82 xxxxx.... the accent is china le..

anyway dont care la.. so long they deliver my items..

the breastpad is cheap hor.. u want?? i ask my colleague to get for u.. she is going tonite.. but not too much la.. coz she is preggie too..

today is closed down sales for member only.. tmr is open to public.. of course if u r tangs member, then got 12% rebate la.. else its same price $8.90

only today and tml

Shers
Oh really? the newborn to tod bouncer ler... usual price i think 169.90
so cheap?????? I should go and grab liao by this weekend.. when is the sale ended?? breast pad is cheap! I got a big box left from my #1, the 60 pcs (bought from indo), dun really plan to stock up ler..

No lar, we dun drive, so i dun think i will go far faraway jurong to buy toys hahaha.. it doesnt worth my transport costs haha..
that means cot also on sale..

Have u ever tried the washable pad? i think more economical hahaha.. coz breastpad hor.. wah.. like using sanitary pads like that, and have to use everyday, quite siong haha..