(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

ok thank you so much! no wonder i keep trying to click here click there also cannot find anything

this forum is very useful and interesting!

anyway, what prams do you all recommend? i was at the expo sale to today, the combi pram seems to be quite good.

but i asked around, alot of pple recommend graco or mclaren.

so confusing!

My friend handed down an aprica but i bought a peg perego P3 and infant car seat (which can be attached to the pram) today at the Baby hypermart . Hubby and i have been eyeing the peg perego for a long time and still think it's more stable and easier to have an infant car seat attachment to the pram so we can easily port the infant car seat onto the base in the car without causing too much disruption to the baby .
Also , i met my friend at the fair on Fri and he's using a combi and his wife had trouble going through places which are bumpy and with grooves as she said it's not stable and baby nearly topple over a few times hence he advised a more sturdy pram like peg perego or mclaren too.
Graco is very sturdy too but i think it's one of the heaviest among all the European brand prams.

oh ok thank you so much! my hubby n i almost bought combi miracle turn today cos it looked pretty impressive.

where can i find peg perego? we dont have a car so maybe we wont need the infant car seat.

i was reading through and everyone says not to buy too many newborn clothes.

but i prepared 3 long sleeve n 6 short sleeve. dunno if its too much. jia lat.

den some say dont buy tie string , some say dont buy button. so many things so little time!!

you can go Baby Hypermart - 69 Kaki Bukit Ave 1 Shun Li Industrial Park where you can find Mclaren, Peg perego , Quinny strollers, other baby items, cot, etc under one roof. They usually give 10-15 % off .
Me too, i was too kan cheong in the begining, i bought so many pcs of 0-3mths both long and short sleeve - lost count of the no i bought;p
I heard the string comes loose hence some do not recommend.

Hi MTB,
After my delivery I've got very bad engorgement, till I feel like giving up bf. My advise don't give-up so early. My fren recommend me Mdm Rokiah frm traditional holistic and she really like a God sent to help me. I saw my milk flow very well after my session as I've tried to visit lactation but no improvement. After a fren give me her no, I make appt with her. My advise it you encounter prob on Bf like me just call her for advice. She really give gd advise on Bf & bb. You may also visit her personal blog aboutpostnatalmassage.blogspot.com or her website jamumassage.com to see her testimonies by many mums in these forum.

Good morning everyone!
Its a new week today! One week nearer to all our EDDs. Yeeks! Getting nervous.
Me too didn't get much stuff at the baby fair. Only pureen products and a playpen for my baby. Spent less than $150!

heard from rustic that pre natal message can only do till 8 months. I use them for detox message before pregnancy and just tried their prenatal. Quite good, feel more relax.

re: bumwear
i saw a similiar one in Mothercare, and it looks very nice, white in colour. but dun seem to be cheaper leh, cos the pack of 4 cost about 100+ and the disaposable lining is about 9+ for a pack of 25. So for mum using bumwear, can share your rational?

Bean:
really closer to the EDD, i have been dreaming abt managing the baby.. heehee.

Sterlizer:
anyone not getting one? I am just thinking is it absolute necessary.. in the past pp dun have sterlizers right? miss buying the avent sterlizer during the expo and it is sooooo expensive in Mothercare. the ielectronic is 200+ as opposed to 160 at the fair. but when i asked my fren to help me get yesterday, it was sold out.. any other lobang?

Muffintop,
Yeh, i have having dreams abt managing the baby too! haha
I got my steriliser from BHG. Its pigeon rapid steriliser. But think now the sales is over. You can still try kiddy palace. They are selling at $95. Many people in this forum have bought the pigeon steriliser too!

porky
the auntie is my office helper.. dun worry, as long as the doc says bb is ok, dun care abt what others say..

heatiness.. think we can start drinking a some barley water and such.. i even got a fan in the office to blow at me in the afternoon.

muffin top,

The opther option is to wait for the taka baby sale on 12 March, dun know if they will be having 20% on steriliser though.

mattress:
what kind of mattress did you buy? I got the ten dollars one (foam) from Kidzloft but all my frens say must buy a good one. Any latex one to recommend? I have to buy 2, cos i need one at my mum's and another at my place.

Reason given for better mattress : bb spine still not strong. so need a firm mattress for help in the foundation

hi xue,

pls help to add me to the list:

Nick: iiskies
EDD: 18-May-09
Gynae: Dr Irene Chua
Hospital: KKH

thanks..

star - I used avent steriliser though i had medela breastpump. avent bottles are big-mouthed, whereas medela and pigeon bottles are smaller and narrower so will have no prob fitting into the rack.

morning ladies!

Star, i dun have to remove the racks when i use my pigeons with Avent steriliser.
so far i am using 2 racks, bottom ones for bottles and top for teats and caps.

Audrey, just go to ur email to check ur PM

As for prams, personally i din use any prams for my #1 until she is prob 7 mths old leh.
As for NB clothes, i think the 9 that u got is good enuff, plus hospital will give u one top too..if u find that it's not enuff, it's never too late to ask ur hubby to buy when the baby is home

Muffin top, Steriliser is not neccessary if we have the time to boil the bottles.
Like for my case, my mil uses the pot boiling method but for me , i will use the steriliser coz i dun have the time to stand there and make sure the bottles are boiled. If use steriliser, u know the bottles will be sterilised after that 8-10 mins, so it saves alot of time esp u r back to work or during confinement.
Imagine the CL has to cook for u etc..with the kitchen so oily u still have to watch the boiling bottles in the pot. so in that sense i think steriliser is safer since nb is sensitive lor.

good morning ladies

wow, seems like most mummies got good buys @ baby fair
i miss the fair as i was too tired after my seminar over the weekend... hope to have some good buys @ taka bb fair

bean, yah, getting more exciting... oh oh, my hospital bag not ready yet!

re: longgan + red date drink
any mummies know how to make this drink? use dried longgan & red dates to boil?

re: venue for gathering
was at marina sq on sat and saw this place... how abt having our gathering there? dun hv to walk around -- individual hotpot, order dishes from ala carte menu and they will serve the food to u

http://www.hotpotculture.com/menu/ala_carte_buffet.html

re: sterliser
muffintop, i din get one as my mum prefers to use boiling method.

re: nursing bra
i bought nursing bra @ OIO maternity suntec -- they hv offer for 3pcs at $29.50 (while stock last).

hi Yvette: so you going for antenatal class? i'm still undecided and class is starting on Mar 3 or 4 right???

didnt get a chance to go to the chinatown BB store? anyone been there? any nice cots there??

hi piggypig,

The class starts tmr.. me haven decided yet too.. u wanna go?

I went to the chinatown store on Sat.. its quite a small wan.. dun recall seeing any baby cot..but the rest of the baby stuff like bottles and such are quite cheap

hi yvette, i also havent decide le... ppl said no need waste money go le..

oh like that i dont need to go chinatown store liao..

Hi adv Sports
re loggan + red date drink
According to my mil, blue dates are better than red dates..u can buy them from any chinese medical hall.. boil it with ginger, longgan, pandan leaves and a bit of brown sugar..

Gd morning,

Back to work today.. so will be busy..

Bumwear:
My rational-Since I prefer to use nappy for the baby till toddler (at home), I will need to buy new nappy cover (can't find previous one), now, instead of having to fold the nappy (which takes time) & place on the cover, I will be using Bumwear with inserts since they work similarily..Having the water proof bag, I may even consider using bumwear on short outings!

If you have already decided to use disposable, then, don't waste money to get Bumwear..

Bottles/sterilizer:
I used Avent bottles for #1, NUK teat/normal bottles for #2, both use Avent Sterilizer, can fit all sizes of bottles even glass bottles from hospital.

Nursing Bra:
I bot from MIM - padded Nursing bra and also perfect mum - stripless nursing bra

Good morning all!

Re: Expo BB fair
Went after 5pm on Sat, not much stuff left, main damage is at the Pureen Stall, buying the Head to Toe wash, Detergent, spent less than $40... =)
Disappointed that the freebies for the magazine Mother and Baby are mostly fully redeemed, left with those useless hampers... so din subscribe...

re: Chinatown Spree
I have decided to buy all BB toiletries and detergents from there next time! nowhere can beat their prices there....
Kotex Adhesive Maternity Pad (10's) selling at 5.30 only! Think Supermarket selling at 6.70 lor. For those Sofy 35cm Nite Pad supporters, for 16 pieces, they only selling at 4.90!
For Pigeon wipes, 3 for $9.20!
The pureen prdts are priced just 10-50 cents more than the BB fair actually... amazing!

Re: Avent Manual Pump
Thanks to Sher's tip! i bought one from Mothercare at Centerpt yesterday at $64 (usual price - $91.60), cheaper than what Avent stall at BB fair is selling! comes with the manual pump, plus some disposable breast pads, 2 sealing disc, 1 125ml bottle, 1 teat, etc (sorry i'm not good at rem such stuff, based on my poor memory...)
left only 3 sets when i bought... Not sold at the Marina Square outlet, MS outlet only have the Pump with the vial set, selling at $70.

Re: stemcord Seminar
Is there a stemcord seminar this weekend, any one knows the detail? need to sign up for it?

Still undecided between Cordlife and Stemcord... to pay upfront for 21 years or annual payment... Anyone to share their package prices on this?

iewwei:

I was indecisive too.. but after much consideration, I signed up with Stemcord. The main concern I have is the no. of tubes they store the cord blood.

Diff is:
Stemcord-4 tubes/2 location
Cordlife-2 tubes/1 location

You may need to consider how they process the cord blood before storage too:
Stemcord-manual
Cordlife-machine (Sepax)

You may want to attend both talk and decide later..

915, i was wondering...does CL knws how to use electric steriliser or not...must teach them lah...but it should be quite common now right ?

yvette & piggy..i also haven decide shd join or not leh...but heard from most of them that Mrs Wong's class is really good..can benefit a lot from her...but hubby refuse to join with me...haiz...

yvette, wah, blue dates?? never heard of :p then the drink will b e blue color?

porky, think hotpot culture is air-con -- dunno whether they hv open-air portion coz i juz passed by.

yvette & piggypig, for first time parents, think it will be good to attend antenatal class with hubby
hubby n me enjoy the class @ KKH...

iewwei, i signed up for cordlife 21-yr plan -- $5238+gst w sepax (to be deducted from CDA account).

yvette and piggypig - i would encourage first time parents to attend the antenatal class. You get info in a systematic manner and learn to discern the facts from the myths. Helps you to be mentally prepared for the real action later. also a good bonding time with hb.

Hi Adv_sports and Feb Mum,

I would love to attend but hubby will be away the entire month of march..unless it's ok for me to attend the class alone.

Adv-sports,
No la..the dates are black in color but i have not idea why they call it blue dates..

Agreed with Feb_mum, first time mum should attend antenatal class and go with husband better.

I got attend too, every weekend at AMK hub, ytd they teach us how to bath baby and got Mrs Wong video session.. not in her class but another teacher also not bad for me :)

Baby fair at expo
Ytd last day ..went there nothing to buy and alot of shop closed =(

thanks Joyce, Porky and Adv!

I heard abt the difference abt the storage portion as well. so far i only heard from Cordlife (@ Expo BB fair), i wish to hear more from stemcord as well before making the decision.

Joyce, what is the package you have? Stemcord doesn't have any upfront payment for 21 years right? but i know they are tying up with the Parkway Health group, like Gleneagles, Mt E and ESH. you will get discount of $300 for enrolment fee if you are delivering in one of these hosps.

heehee, post wrongly in the wrong forum. some updates on Singapore Public Cord Bank

If keen to donate:
- express your intention for donation to your attending doctor.
- paper process of donation would still have to be completed directly with the Singapore Cord Blood Bank.

They have strict criteria for donation to ensure that all units collected can meet safe medical standards for transplants. consents from mother and family are obtained from the 32nd week of gestation and before admission to the hospital for delivery. The process could take 45 mins – 1 hour, inclusive of a detailed and sensitive medical history questionnaire. This questionnaire includes lifestyle, sexual history and family medical history of both baby's mother and father.

Lastly: Research has shown that there is an extremely low probability that the donor should ever need or benefit from his/her own cord blood unit. Transplant physicians may not feel that the patient’s own cord blood unit is the best choice as it may already carry the genetic abnormality that led to the blood disorder or immune system failure.

Adv_sports, Porky, Feb Mum & Yvette,

i would love to attend like yvette but hubby not able to join so i think also no point right?

where is this shop at chinatown? i need to get some maternity pads and some other last minute baby stuff.

when i went for scan at my 29th week, the gynae said baby is only about 1kg. is that too light?? she said its ok but i see other mummies at the same stage have babies that are more than that! i alrdy put on 10 kg!!

do you all recommend tie string or button type for new born? this is my first child so very nervous.

anxious as the EDD gets nearer.. scared pain haha.

piggypig - it will be ideal to attend together with hb coz that will help to get him involved ;p it's ok to attend alone, juz dat you might feel a bit strange to see others being accompanied. depends on whether you mind or not, but the knowledge that can be gained certainly helps to put you in the better frame of mind, esp in the early days when bb is so young. you dun get so panic-stricken so easily or cowed by myths and superstitions of older folks.

audrey - if the gynae nvr raise any alarm, it shd be fine. dun worie too much abt bb weight, as long as they fall within the healthy range, it's fine.

personally, i prefer buttons coz faster to dress than the string, esp when bb is crying. in fact, i like rompers. one piece settles all. *lazy mummy* ;p

I have already applied leave for few days in March. Mostly on Mondays starting next Monday. If any mummies are keen, can go together to the Taka fair. :D

Iewwei:

I did not pay anything as initial.. all can deduct from CDA account. the reg & sign up fee is similar to Cordlife.. abt 800++, annual is $250, if got referral - less $50

feb_mum - ok thank you for your advice. i think i bought too many string typed.. later i go back to the shop and ask the auntie if can change :p

haiz, this morning seems so hard for me to get into forum....

porky,CL sure know how to use steriliser..it's idiot-proof
juz put bottles inside and put some water then only got 1 button to press to switch on ...

btw i uploaded my 4D on FB, u go & see ba

Adv_sports, i dun think it's called blue dates...heheheh...i think yvette means 南枣 rite?so it's actually 'north'dates.. i took that during my #1 confinement too

Just some impt tip for sterilising using boiling water which i learnt from Mrs wong's pre natal class last sat:
Dun boil the bottles and teat for more than 13 min.

hello..ladies

last gathering before we pop
Venue:
Time:
Date: 19 Feb 2009 ( ? )

Attendancee:
1) Shers
2) Porky
3) 915
4) bean
5) adv_sports
6) xue
7) feb_mum
8) okipoki
9) muffintop
10)sallen
11)
12)

hello porky.. Taka bb fair shoppin...woo woo..i also wan to go leh.. :p

RE: stemcord
i will sign up with stemcord,if sign on their Seminar they will be giv another $50 discount..

hello adv_sports ,Bean
same here,i also like 1st time mum to be liao..haha..i also getting more exciting lo..

RE: longgan + red date drink
i also donno how to make this drink? i only know must buy better grade dried longgan,and seedles red dates..

Re: sterliser
i din get one coz i can ask maid or CL use boiling method.