(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Shers,

My friends told that some pumps are actually helps to stimulate the supply while some others (like those manual pump) only work to pump out the milk and does not aid the supply. So those pumps without the stimulation function, you need to frequently latch the baby on to increase your supply. So I think that;s why some ladies keep pumping and ended up less and less milk.

My hubby is actually quite particular about the hygiene of the breast pump. He says he doesn't like that idea of a 2nd hand pump or loan pump as others have used it before. hahaha

bean, maybe thats the reason.. me also not sure.. my massage lady recommended ameda because she said that the pumps can stimulate..

okok.. from today onwards i will eat more fish, more soup, drink more raspberry tea..

my supply was abt the same as xue for #1.. but once i came back to work.. supply dropped.. maybe because of nature of work.. i have to be out frequently.. hopefully this time, can prelong..

yuki, ya.. there are pills that boost supply.. think its gynae's prescription.. i have seen other BPs selling furgeek (dont know what is that spelling). heard that that can boost also..

Bean,
Yes, i feel he very nice(recommended by fren)much cheaper then raffles..B4 apt time his assistant call me must punctual & he ready the 3D Machine in his room to do the scan for me.

Last time tot he don't have the machine cos he didn't put inside his room and the package never indicate incl. the 3D scan

piggypig, because he always asks me how is my little gal.. then said i must bf longer etc.. during #1, i also didnt discuss much abt bf until much later..

if u want to chat with him without him rushing, catch him late at nite or b 1st patient.. then he will have more time..

or u can start asking him whether he has eaten, how is his 3 kids etc etc.. then he will blah blah..

whether on yrself le.. i didnt take the risk to buy exp pump during #1.. i bought avent manual 1st.. then 2 weeks into confinement, got lots of supply and needs to pump every 3 hrs.. my hb quickly bought ameda for me..

some mums dont even buy any pump. because they latch and latch.. but i cannot because bb drank 2 sides i still engorge.. so have to pump out remaining..

thanks shers
i think i just go buy the cheapest manual pump for standby first. oh ya, beside the pump need buy any extra accessories?? sorry ah..1st time mummy very blur one :p

anybody wants to buy blue egg storage milk bags? i'm getting padding for car seat from the same BP-ist.. my hb can collect for me.. so if u need to get the blue egg storage milk bags, can get together.. 25pcs at $8.50

hi shers, yes..i think i want to get 1 pack!can tonbang?

Thanks porky
i dunno whether i will use the milk bags or not coz last time i dun have alot of milk, so i stored all in the medela milk bottles..only used the bags when i overseas.

re: milk bag
paiseh, 1st time mum asking question again. after pump out milk, we transfer from bottle to milk bag n store in fridge? to use, we defrost and transfer back to bottle? how to defrost? me dun use microwave leh...

adv,personally if i pumped into the bottle i will not transfer to bag coz not very hygienic to transfer here and there. i will juz stored in the bottle with the sealing cap in the fridge. When i travel, i will pump direct into the bags and freezed the bags. when i need to thaw, i will thaw the bag directly then transfer to a bottle for bb.

Adv,
If you have lots of milk then you would store in the fridge. There will be some lost of nutrients when you freeze it.
Best is consumed with 48 hours. I think! Some mummies use milk bags to store cuz more hygenic, use liao then throw away. You can also store the milk in glass bottles. Can get from the hospital for free.

Btw, Adv, you cannot use the microwave to heat up milk leh. Cuz it wil destroy all the nutrients. You can either use thermal cup (pour hot water inside) or use a bottle warmer.

915 & bean, thanks... guess will not get the milk bag yet... wait till i hv good milk flow...

m getting excited... another 12 more weeks!

I dunno abt rasberry tea.. but we do take red dates with longan, this helps too..

Ladies.. if you are working, will have 4 mth mat leave.. dun nid to buy pump & express in 1st mth unless needed..

I used to get recycle glass bottles from hospital (get the nurse to keep for you), just nid to get covers and store breastmilk in freezer..

Just my opinion.

shers, which padding for car seat u were saying ? i cant see the pix in the same BP leh..btw, i was thinking whether need to get the donut relief pack...

Can I opt for the earlier date ? Kekeke coming 31 weeks leh liao this weekend so hope to meet up early than later. If 26 Mar am ard 35 weeks liao....

Piggypig,
My EDD 1st May.. will be the 1st few lor

Any mums gg to donate the cordblood to public bank? Wat's the diff?

Re: jobs
Anyone feel insecure? Are ur sales figures adjusted or the same? Cos its hard to meet targets and might got penalize for poor performance

Re: Sharp Pain
Anyone of you encountered sharp shooting pain at the v area ? I had this recently and it came suddenly.. got to walk very slow.

muffintop,
erhm so far my gynae never ask...

Re: jobs
Tho' I am not in the sales line but I do support them indirectly..

just came back frm my scan ... today just nice 29 weeks n baby doing well so far weight 1.2kg. M only gain 2 kg in 1 month. my placenta in the correct position n my gynae say i can give birth normal ... n only 9 - 10 weeks more to go.
Predict ard 30 april - 7 may

Got go to mothercare at KKH n saw maternity pads dat towel one ... is it good if use dat one? Any mummies ever try before? 1 pack 48 pcs $18.

Hi bean

The medela freestyle pump doesn't need an adaptor and can run on the electricity directly. but just need to get a converter for the head as the US pins are closer to each other. You may purchase from any hardware shop at a few dollars. The pump in style advance will need an adaptor.

Can read this for more detail.
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/1431483.html?1227071960

I do intend to get one from USA too but the shipping cost is quite high and no local warranty. Kiasu a bit, I'm afraid the motor is out and costs a bomb to repair and get scolding by my hubby so intend to get a pump in style advance instead to save the hassle unless I have a friend to bring in from the States for me.

JasC,

Thanks for the info! I read in the thread that the standard fresstyle breastshilds are too big? hahaha How do we know whether its too big or too small?

Muffintop,
m also think want to donate cos we dont want to keep for ourself ... so my hubby say better to donate since we not gonna use for ourself at least can save someone life

Juju78, cute 3D pics!
the 1st pic is like my #1's pose last time..heheh

Shers, yeah.i can wait for the milk bag til the next gathering..thanks

Okipoki, i have this very 'sng' feeling at the V area not really sharp pain...

Cord Blood Bank:

I think for those who do not want to bank.. it may be better if you let you new born enjoy the most from the cord blood, you can do this by asking the gynae to clamp the cord when the cord stops pulsating.. also, letch our bb the moment it is out from your body while cord is still attached..

Re:gathering

I second to okipoki's suggestion to stick to earlier date! by 26 mar abit too 'overweight' liao...

u wanted a buffet ya? anyone wants meat? i start the ball rolling...suggestion: Carnivour @ Chjmes ok?
or one of the restaurants along cuppage? i walked past there during massage and find these places very quiet, so we can yak

yuki, yes..me, shers and oki are gg tmr afternoon..u wanna come along ?

ju, ur 3D pix are so cute !

915, i also agree to the earlier dates..hehe...we are getting heavier now...

R.E Baby Fair
I'm going at 11am tomorrow.

R.E Jobs
I'm in the sales line too. My sales dip a lot. But luckily my boss understand so no problem. Anyway, I'm on hospitalisation leave now. WIll only be back at work in August.

R.E who's going to pop 1st
Should be me. I'm having early contractions. Now on medications to stop. Now crossing my fingers and hoping to hit as least 34 weeks.

mummies, there is a mums and babies sales (in united square and amk). Check out today's Straits Times Home Page. Top left hand advertisement. Looks like there are quite a lot of brands.

baby wt
last week, when i hit my 30th week, my doc said my bb around 1.9kg.. i must have heard wrongly.. cos it sounds way way way too heavy right..

baby fair
for mummies gg today, let us know what are the good deals ok! be careful of the crowd, cos it's also natas fair at the same time.

good morning ladies

ju, cute 3D pics! where did u get the 3D scan done? hmm, dr. loh neber mentioned anything abt it leh... btw, when is ur EDD?

lily, great that your baby is growing well
yup, our EDD is 2 days apart -- maybe will see each other at the ward after delivery

we hope our princess will arrive on 13 May(coz every 13th of the mth is our special day)

re: gathering
yup, earlier date is better... am also feeling the weight
may i suggest japanese gourmet town at vivo city?

re: bb fair
porky, shers, okipoki, yvette, enjoy ur shopping spree later

Hi Bean

Yes, the cost of shipping, insurance and GST probably cost about $80! About the breastshield, I think you can check with the store that sell medela pump. Normally those breastshield in the box should fit the Asian, but don't tell them you have already import from US. ha ha

HI mummies to be, if anyone wants to store your cord blood with stemcord and need a referral, PM me, we will both get a discount that way.