(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

shers, great ! i also appy half day leave already for this friday..so we mit direct at expo ya ? u will be driving there ?

Porky
dun envy me.. coz my MIL told me, if i want anything just say, coz sometimes she also doesnt know what to cook.. so long as i tell her nicely normally she is okay, same as my FIL who is taking care of my girl now, i just say nicely if i want him to do or not to do this or that to my girl.. rather than i complain to my hubby who is always not at home, he also cant do anything mah.. coz he said he didnt see, then it became like i kept telling hubby what fil/mil did, and in the end, fil and mil will hate me.. normally i just say lar, anyway we are married to their son, so we should see them as our parents as well..

FYI, my MIL and FIL switch role every half a yr to take care of my daug, coz both me and hubby are not singaporean, and we have no relative here so no one to turn to for help :p

have anyone started buying baby cot yet? went to mothercare yesterday. there are so many types of baby cot. price ranging from $360 to $800. very confused and lost. don't know which one to get.

then saw another one currently on promo at NTUC, $199 (lucky brand). Anyone bought this?

can any mummies out there enlighten me on how to choose a good baby cot?

rc_cola, i am not trying to compare anything with u...just tat ur experience and mine are different...ur mil dont stay with u, so u wont understand how i feel...based on wat u say, is like very easy loh...i treat my mil well, her birthday or mother's day, aways i am the one to rem the dates and buy gifts for her..even my hb dont rem...my sil refuse to stay with her or even made a phone call to her when she is not feeling well...do u knw, my mil also bang door at me if she is not happy ?? xiang jian hao, tong zhu nan...haiz...

The BHG's Pigeon Steriliser is the normal type (blue) or the rapid type?

Just got my Rapid Steriliser last Thurs at Kiddy Palace then realised there's sale for Pigeon Steriliser at BHg. *Duiz*

Cola,
I have not stop teaching ballet. In fact I'm still jumping about in class. But of course jumping lightly. All these movement has in fact helped me to feel lighter and happier!
I'm going to teach till I deliver if possible,

Porky,
I think you don't think so much abt the CL & MIL thingy first lah. You should take it as it comes. Anyway you cannot change anything even if you think about it now mah.

hi SK, the pigeion steriliser is the rapid one.i almost tried to get it at kiddy palace (luckily it wasn't opened when i was there at the TPY branch, that's why i went to BHG instead)

Adv_sports, in the end i din buy the nappy cover from the AMK shop...i bought it @ BHG coz the NB ones were going for $3.90 per piece...and i think i bought all liao...coz there were 3 pieces left and i took all..heheh

Re: CL & MIL
Porky, in any case,u juz concentrate on resting during confinement. Why not let make ur mil feel important instead? Tell her to be in-charge of the CL during ur confinement since she is more experienced...in that way u dun have to be the middleman.let her talk to the CL and plan for the food to buy/cook...you juz eat and sleep can liao

Yesterday happen to pass by parkway parade Aussino Shop got sales over there.

Winnie the pooh Cot set of 6 pieces 20%. Blanket From 20-30% N also face towel & Bib can drop by any shop to take a look.

Happy shopping

Hi, Gd morning Ladies,

Hope everyone is well.. +- 3mths to go.. enjoy..

Been to my 28wk appt today.. weight has increased abt 12kg..

Got some protein positive in my urine.. needs to monitor & drink more water..

Submitted my BirthPlan, Signed my Cord Bank svc from Stemcord PL instead of CordLife.

Cheers..

is it better to use nappy cover? first time mum a bit blur

Liping, yes the pooh ones so cute i also like ... but dunno want to buy cot for baby or not.

lily: think nappy cover is gd when ur baby wears those cloth diapers..

does anyone know SQ allows preggies of up to how wks to fly?

Liping,
Just my 2cents worth. Tho' Aussino has nice bb cot set but I think their bumper set after wash cannot "stand" properly. I bought one set for my no1. I think those sell in Kiddy Palace are good enough

jamie, i read somewhere says SQ allows flying up to 34 weeks. after that need medical letter. dun tell me u r still thinking of going on holiday??

Porky,
Dont think too much, everything might goes smoothly when time comes cos u never know
My PILs will be shifting in with me after my confinement, try to look at the brigther side and meanwhile enjoy the pregnancy

915: yea.. gd PH in april lei.. hb say his colleagues jio go GENTING... eee... so i said i go check if SQ allow me go BKK!!!

okipoki: where u all gng on fri??

wah..jamie..u garang lei! u better check with ur gynae whether u can fly or not ah...sekali end up u get a Thai baby gal...heheh

the ladies are going to the Baby Fair @ Expo this friday.

Okipoki, i will be going too but dunno what time coz i have to see gynae in the morning then run some errands before popping over to Expo. maybe i will beep u if i'm there ard 1:45pm ba

Jamie
If i am not wrong, it is 32 wks for SQ ler.. but normally after even your gynae also wont really support if you want to travel long distance flight..

Porky
Dun get me wrong, FIL and MIL also come and stay with me after the birth of my girl.. hm.. it's not easy to stay with elderly.. just give and take and close one eye (if need be, close two eyes) hehe.. dun think too much, in the meantime enjoy your preg first, when your bb is here, you might be too busy to bother about any other things..

Bean
Really? Wow.. you sure have an easy delivery ler.. coz keep exercising non-stop.. for me i have been so busy with my girl, last time i used to follow the yoga for preggers from dvd, now hor.. haiz.. i console myself by doing housework as a form of exercise keke

porky, 915 is right.. dont think so much la.. let the 2 old ladies mess up the hse during confinement.. hehhee.. just eat, slp and be cow during confinement..

okipoki, yes.. will be ard that time.. most likely, i will be driving la.. if my parking cannot make it, u help me park? whahha...

jamie, we r going to bbfair at sg exp this fri..

yea i count my wks also i dun thin it's a gd idea to fly lar.. so scary..

expo baby fair gt anything nice or nt? any "preview" of wat they will b having there?

oh someone told me, in 3rd trimester dun walk too much cuz maybe will b early delivery? true ma? i walk alot all the time so hopefully nt true cuz that's prob the ONLY form of exercise i get nw..

Porky,
I know is not easy to live with PIL. I've been living with them for 2 yrs already.
But i agree with 915 too. During confinement just rest well and don't think too much.
Otherwise easily get depression.

I let my MIL in charge of the CL, she will liase with her and etc.

Jamie,
Yeh heading to the BBfair
Wana join us ? U very garang leh still can go holiday....

Sure no problem...

Shers,
Must have confident with yourself kekeke, sure can park for u if u trust me ;p

jamie, i only rem a few things u can buy from there..

- diapers
- fridge-to-go
- pureen stuff
- motherhood magazine
- FM for babies/ mums
- bb clothings
- phototaking sessions

jamie, walking helps in easy delivery.. dont think helps in early delivery.. i walked alot for #1.. still no help le.. whahaha

Shers, thanks for the info about bb fair ... i will go also but maybe with my hubby at sat, he not give me carry heavy things
for diapers which one good for baby? Many brands until dunno which one to buy ...

hi all, thats what my hb say also...since my mil likes to get involve...then just let the 2 old ladies to work things out themselves..if i cant stand it..then just carry baby and go inside the room...hope things will go smoothly during that month...i have already told my mum not to come to visit me...2 old ladies in my house is more then enough noise liao...thanks all for ur comments. and i really enjoy my pregnancy now..hehe..since i lost my first one, i treasure this like GOLD...but 1 question..how to stop my mil from complaining to me abt the CL...i have short temper..i might shout at her loh...

oki, see u on friday !

jamie, u planning for holiday again ?? so nice ! my hb say will bring me to BKK again end of this year..haha..then leave bb with my mum

sharon, i dont stay with PIL...just only MIL...if my FIL is still around then things wont be so bad..

More info on the expo this weekend can be found here: http://imcms2.mediacorp.sg/CMSFileserver/Documents/014/pdf/baby_festival_2009.pdf

I'm interested in getting the CADI thermometer and a few talks there.. i hope there's fridge-to-go for sale there! will like to go on sat but busy on sat, so prob will only pop by on sun.. do share what are the good buys there!

Oh, I spent a lot at Kidzloft also, about $120.

Lily: Thanks for the pictures of the bb clothes. will discuss with my hubby before getting back to u ya?

vera &amp; adrienne: I have low-lying placenta also. gynae always tell me not to worry cos will move up eventually. he also said if dun move up, will have to c-sec. to quote him "it's fate". >.< i'm been coaxing BB to help move the placenta up. also, avoid squatting and standing too long. my yoga teacher said putting legs up on the wall for 15mins daily helps, but i no time to do it leh.. just praying for the best..

vera &amp; star: I'll be joining the 1130am mrs wong's lesson this sat! see u two there!

tiny_m, i also wanted to buy the forehead thermometer.. i saw 1 brand at kiddy.. cost abt $90+..

i stay same area as me right? want to go together on fri noon?

RE: low lying placenta
i realised quite alot of mums here have it.. me too.. but gynae says its ok. i think since gynae mentioned its ok, we r at the safe range of 'low lying'..

lily, think u better dont stock up for diapers coz depending on bb's sensitive skin..

so far i prefer huggies ultres and mamypoko.. because they r softer and my gal seems comfortable wearing these 2 brands.. so i stock up whenever these 2 brands have sales..

from the link tiny_m posts, huggies have sales too.. will check out the prices there..

i was telling porky that i will bring along the foldable trolley which pple used to in IT fair.. whahhaa.. in case i bought alot of things.. abit KS.. but no choice la.. wanted to stock up bb shampoo.. hopefully they have pureen stuff there..

Shers: how much is mamy poko reg price? and for hw many pieces?

porky: no holiday la.. jus happens dat hb n his frens jio go GENTING... i rather go bkk lar.. bt the pregnancy alr in wks 30+ liao so i dun think i wanna fly..

jamie, i dont rem for infant le.. my little gal is toddler now.. i will research into diapers and FM prices maybe from next month onwards

have u ladies heard abt nepia brand before? its a japanese brand.. i let my gal used when she was newborn because they have newborn size.. quite good le... but very exp.. they do delivery as well..

Any advice on baby's toiletries? shampoo, milk bath, body lotion? which brand is good and not too expensive? If not, i will just go for J&amp;J... =)

iewwei, u r new to us?

btw, i have been letting my gal uses pureen 'head to toe'.. will be switching her to pureen 'shampoo' and pureen 'body wash' since she is abt 2yrs..

pureen smells good and not exp..

i didnt let her use any body lotion because bb's skin is sensitive by nature.. i just pat some powder on neck and armpits only..

hi grace,
the lucky bb cot in white colour rite? isit adjustable?? saw it at amk hub but it seems big and no sales ppl around so didnt get it..

BTW does all bb cot comes in standard size??

piggy,

You can look for the sales staff there ..is white colour &amp; adjustable (size 71cm x 135cm) S$199/-

I dont know what standard size ..IKEA got same type as lucky baby cot but abit small selling at S$185/-

Hi Shers,
thanks for your advice! Pureen is cheaper or more exp than J&amp;J? I guess for powder getting J&amp;J is fine right?

Actually I'm not really new here, I did post some entries many mths back before i turn into a silent reader... this thread has been really informative! =)

iewwei, i dont know abt J&amp;J prices... my sis recommends me pureen before i gave birth so have been using that.. for powder, i used J&amp;J calming powder.. smell good..

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Shers,
My #1 uses Nepia during the first few months. $15/pack. 1carton(4pcks) to deliver to doorstep.
NB-60pcs
S -54pcs</font>.

iewwei: i think u can get those travel pack ones to try out first if ur not sure cuz i think diff soaps react diff on skins ma.. so maybe u can get travel packs till u knw wat ur baby's skin is comfy with..

okipoki: i'll be gng with mikojade n glenlyn on fri.. will prob c u guys thr! =D hw many of u gg?

xue: is dat cheap for diapers?

Actually, dun nid to use powder on new born..So far, I have not use any powder for my 2 elder.

my son who is coming 4yr is still using PH 0 body wash (QV brand) due to his exzema.. which I have yet to change.

There are always samples given in the hospital bag, u can try &amp; see which one suits ur bb.

I have not bot any new cot for all my kids... instead, got 2ndhand from friend whish is pretty new.. usually, cot that can use upto toddler is bigger, and more useful..

If you are not fussy, can try searching ebay or the other link on 'want to sell' in the SG Motherhood forum.

Re: lotion for baby and powder for baby
Ya i was told not to use powder on baby as well, especially on the nappy area.. just put on the barrier cream (nappy rash cream) will do..
For my girl, she has sensitive skin ( a bit of eczema ) when she was baby, so she has been using sebamed - face cream S$25 per bottle and kiehl's baby lotion - S$41 per bottle, for body wash - we let her use Cetaphil. so far her rashes are under control and her skin is no longer dry..

At first she was using J&amp;J actually, but then.. J&amp;J was too harsh for her, so we switch, my hubby is wierd, he said since jie jie has been using the above, didi must also use the same things, cannot show favouritism..

Re: diaper
Mamypoko and Pampers for newborn (yellow) is quite good.. Pamper (yellow) is damn expensive.. coz got the urine indicator.. last time got pampers (red) which is good as well, but they have stopped production

Jamie, I seriously dun compare diaper to diaper. Maybe u see how your bb skin is first, if bb skin is okay to any brand, then u can choose whatever brand that u like.. my girl's skin is sensitive, so i dun change her diaper brand too often, she even gets rashes trying on sample packs..

xue, its $15?? i tot its $17 per pack.. if its $15 then still ok le.. i love the material!!! i will order from them again for #2 for at least 2 months

porky, there is a order form online.. but min is 4 packs.. u can mix newborn and s size..

rc_cola is right.. depending on bb's skin.. think dont stock up too much diapers 1st..

porky, if u want, we share the 4 packs for nepia?

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Jamie,
For NB it's arnd 0.25cts per pcs. I rem someone selling Huggies arnd this price too I think...
Can find someone to share and try out if ur girl is ok with the material then decide whether to get more anot....

Porky,
U can call them @ 62262650.
As what Shers says, can mix the sizes...

Shers,
I'm not sure leh. I just called them to dbl confirm and it's @$15... Am oso thinking of using Nepia for NB... </font>.