(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

xue, ur fil's shop is there ? i always went to those shops leh cos my hubby works in balestier...but i never notice the block number..which unit is ur fil's shop ? have discount if buy from him ? hehe

xue: i know this girl frm tour she also hv 2 kids, a girl n a boy.. she say quite leh chey esp if the tour travel alot to diff places like france to germany to swit to italy.. almost every 1 or 2 nites had to pack n pack n sit in bus n travel long hours.. n the kids cannot tahan long.. so this trip she put them w her mom..

allo mummies,
how come no posting ah??
anyways, HAPPY LUNAR NEW YEAR!!

down with flu, phelgm and backpain and cough.. everything lah!!

everyone doing okie??

gals,
thanks for sharing the sleeping positions...actually i afraid that bb like me to lay flat wait will be in bleech postion. then mus c-sect.

Re: Cordlife
we are interested also but cant go for the talk this evening...having diaroheea. can check for me, if the bb in future have leaskenmia(dunno how to spell), will her own cord blood help?
seem heard from somewhere that it wun help since is from the same source.

Re: CL & Breastmilk
Just spoken to my CL thru phone the lst time. previously is my hubby called her to confirm.
Seem quite ok...she offer to help to buy herbal for me to bath. she said cheaper in malaysia.
But i when i mentioned abt to feed Breastmilk, she said ask me to express out so that she can feed during daytime...and nite time use formula...she said it is wat she usual do...then i told her ppl said breastmilk is better y use formula milk...then she said if not, bb will reject formula milk when i wan to stop breastfeeding. but i guess is bullshit ..so tat she can sleep better at nite...haha.. in the end, she said nvm...just let her know wat we want...she will do it for us... so at least can see she still willing accomodate.
when the time is ripe...I will tell her daytime i will directfeed..just pass bb to me but nitetime then use express milk...cos i want to sleep!!
but no formula. hee hee.

Re: contractions
sudden intense pain on my top right belly at at night ----> i have this tat time also...only once.

Re: Premature
actually i scared of premature also...cos the hosp bill very be exp.....bb immune may not be as gd as normal bb.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Porky,
Yea. fil's shop is there. #01-949. the 2nd shop beside the magazine stand.. Discount I dunno la.. u can try thou. lol.. =)

Jamie,
Gng to bring my mum along too... If I really can bf till then, I hv to bring #2 along.. As for #1, i wont want mil to look after.. So #1 and #2 hv to come along... </font>.

piggypig, i'm referring to a shop (shophouse type).. quite near to Courts.. hmm.. i cant rem the blk already.. 915, u stay there.. r we referring to the same shop? maybe u can guide piggypig?

i didnt use safety pin because my mum says she long sighted, cant see well.. and i also scared.. so we just tie a knot and wear it with washable nappy cover.. like what 915 says, buy larger pieces better.. can use longer..

3wkold, dont be stress up by bf or fm.. just buy a small tin to standby, in case.. or u can request many bottles from hospital when u discharge.

oops sorry .. for some weird reason, pages not loading correctly... paiseh..

baby bottles
seems pigeon steriliser can be used for all brands of bottles, even some types of AVENT bottles
Medela bottles are BPA-free so i was told and AVENT is not.
also.. AVENT bottles cannot be used with other breast pumps only AVENT brand ones.. is that true?
apparently Medela pumps can use medela, NUK and pigeon bottles... is that true??

915, i used amanda pumps.. i have the habit of transferring bm to storage pack according to my gal's feeding (so no waste). and i dont have to buy alot of bottles.. because 1 day in office needs to pump few times..

pravina, if u r like 915, maybe u need to buy a few bottles to keep bm.. if u r like me, just need to buy storage pack

Pravina, i still need to do research which brand of steriliser, breast bumps and milk bottle better haha! still blur blur .... but AVENT not gd enough coz the milk bottle wif BPAFree available at USA market only

grace, if u really want to buy avent bottle with bpa free, u can join spree to buy it from usa.. this has been going on for at least 3 months..

915, if bb only use diapers..need to wear nappy cover ? blur...

re : ear thermometer
pls recommend which one is good. price and model ? saw this Braun Thermo Scan IRT 4520 Thermometer at kiddy palace...so ex...

huh? Shers you mean got ppl helping buy the milk bottle from USA 3 month ago? i didnt saw this thread ...... it seem like abit troublesome if buy from e wedsites =.='

btw, i need2 discuss wif hubby want2 change another brand or not coz tat AVENT milk bottle set i bought not cheap le ..wasted $

I know some ppl dont really care abt the chemical thingy .. try to sell to other ppl or see how ba

piggypig, 915 found for u already.. hahhaa.. u better go to the shop and see see.. hehehee.. anyway u go there, wldnt regret 1.. got lots of bb home wear clothings, lu yu oil, nappy cream, washable nappy cover, yao lan, walkers, bottles, steriliser..

porky, if bb wears disposable diapers, no need to wear nappy cover. if wear cloth nappy, need cover. because urine can spill.
i saw my gal's PD using a thermometer.. very good 1.. just touch the forehead and can see the reading already.. no need to put in the ear..

grace, this thing has been going on for some times already.. maybe usa webbie shows already.. but sg doesnt.. so most dont know yet unless they frequent online shopping.. if u want, wait till they have discount or free shipping.. then join spree.. much much cheaper..
its not really other pple dont care.. just that its not as bad as u tot.. the BPA, even have, also is minimal.. if really harmful, government will announce and order to take off shelves..

Grace
i got the pigeon steriliser and warmer liao... now thinking medela freestyle BP might be best choice for me.. cos i intend to bf during maternity leave .. and then express at work .. if can, i'll go home and bf and then come back to work .. but not sure if can manage everything in one hour lunchtime. see how.

there is some spree going on i think... by kgal i think.. in april thread i think...
i'm here in may thread and april thread cos EDD is 01/05/09 but gynae think might pop in april 09...

Shers
yeah probably will buy some bottles and storage packs for my use..just deciding on brand and all..

Thermometer
saw the braun one but very ex leh ... also saw a SG brand one at Bkingdom... abt 90SGD i think... we bought it but havent test it out yet..

shers, u left already ? me still in office...can only left ard 6.05pm

my god..i thot wear diapers also need the nappy cover..already bgt 2pcs of the falin nappy cover..no use already..

hey, ur gal's PD use the thermometer is wat brand ? i heard the braun one is very good and fast..but really ex leh..but i saw some spree gg on..dunno wan to join or not...

braun is good. i'm using it.i bought it with the vouchers i got from the baby shower last time
but hor need to buy the ear refills for hygiene purpose..juz fyi

so to save $$, maybe u can tell ur frens to give vouchers for babyshower, then u can buy what u need!

3wkold

What your CL says it's true. My mother also advice the same thing. If not your baby will not get use to formula. Formula and breast milk taste different. Babies are fussy eaters, if you don't get them used to formula now, in future you will have a problem. Also, suddenly switching to formula might cause upset stomach.

ladies > sorry to disturb.I'm a Jan 09 mum.I have excess "da feng cao " to let go at $2 per pkt.Still unopened and unused.

I also have some gluntinous rice wine,sesame oil and black vinegar to let go once i'm done with my confinement nxt week. Do pm me if u keen.

re BPA free - most plastic bottle ve dat's y not recommended to pour boiling water inside since milk formula not boiling hot so BPA release not much risk.
most BPA free bottle tend to be abit yellowish like 'used for a while' some ppl dun like n practise used few mths n throw methods...
but if bottle looks 'worn out' should be changed liao.. there r ppl who passed #1 kid used bottle to #2 kid n so on (which is not advicable)

re womb hardening - more than 5 n half hr or 1 hr apart / hardening are not adviceable.. pls see yr gyne.
i saw mine, she gave me some medicine n if too often then take, now is monitor e 'hardening' n MC for 2 days, cervic not open but swap below to check for infection (which may cause e contraction).

re BM - 1st 3 days normally dun ve BM but there will be some liquid flowing (just a teaspoon amt - sorry forgotten e word for it), but BB must still suckle to get e 'milk flow' going, some mum wanted full BF so bb will suck at e breast till milk comes (some bb looks so hungry n will cry alot)
mine cry till so poorthing so i gave in n get e nurse to give her FM.
my SIL din n let her bb cried for those few days...
dat's y bb will be 'slightly lighter' in weight when discharged compared to when born.

joanna,

Thanks for sharing. Are you lying down most of the time now? i was on medication but no injection. Hope u r feeling better

I just dun know how to break it to my boss if i need more rest , was thinking of working from home 1 day per fortnight but very pai sei cos i have taken about 7 days of MC since my 1st trimester.

liewb,
i saw folding changing mat at taka baby section a few weeks back. u can go see if still have.
other places not too sure.

Star
Ya. I will lay down about 1 to 2 hours then move around for a while. Then lay down again for another 1 to 2 hours and so on. I still have contractions but less frequent after I stop working. If your condition get worst it's better to rest. No choice. Baby more important. If born premature will be worst. NIUC ward is about $1000 per day, plus if born before 30 weeks, chance of baby surival is only 50%. I don't want to take the risk.

I have 3 bottles of rice wine that is un-consumed.Brand new.
I bought it at $20 per bottle.
Willing to let go at $12 per bottle.

PM if u are interested

HI porky jean...

whr u buy the nappy cover, have to buy right? my bro-in-law bought 2 for $100+, telling us that its waterproof la. but i feel v ex lei

re BPA-free bottles: So far, AVA has not advised against BPA bottles so it should be safe. Think the amt is really little. i'm using Avent bottles - like them coz they are big-mouthed, ez to wash. for mummies who want to get avent BPA-free bottles, you may want to check out the following spree: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/2058146.html?1233851695

re BM - we dun have BM on the 1st few days, wat we have is colostrum. it's verie good for building up bb's immunity. the milk flow will come in later when stimulated by bb's sucking on our breasts.

personally, i feel dat there is no fear in bb not liking formula. formula is sweeter than BM so bb will not hv prob adjusting to it. some bbs dun like formula, not becoz of the taste, but rather, they prefer to latch on mummy's breasts. thus, shd try to intro the bottle to bb after milk flow is est, then bb won't reject the bottle in future.

oso, shdn't change completely from BM to formula immediately. tis will cause constipation. do it by substitution of feeds, say out of 6 feeds, change 1 to formula and then gradually increase until bb is used to formula.

working.. how to not work. but just not motivated that's all. and somemore i've got a whole bunch of things to do. :S

juju, thanks for the infor. i'll check it out this weekend. i wanted to get one for my sister-in-law.

cant wait till monday, i'm going for my gyne checkup..hehe..can see baby again. and u know wat? i've forgotten when is my due date (either on 21 or 29may).. ya, preggy does things to ur brain. i feel like i've getting dumb and dumber.

morning ladies...

glenlyn, wah..wat kind of nappy cover ur BIL buy? so ex! Gucci brand ah?

I bought my nappy cover in OG.Many places have them even that shop in AMK central..I think the Pigeon brand plastic nappy cover is cheap &amp; good. think less than $15 ba...Dun buy those towel material kind...very hot.

Juju, the nappy cover comes in S, M,L sometimes XL also..Newborn shld be S..some brand's sizes are bigger than others..so far i find Pigeon brand material better. *gosh, i sounded like Pigeon salesgirl*

glen, i bgt from online spree 2months ago..is falin brand..but now i dont need le..cos i dont intend to give my boy use cloth nappy..

hey, i ask u ah..the cordlife thing..sign 10yrs, the upfront pay how much ? i forget bring the paper out today...

915, the shop in AMK near to polyclinic..is it selling all baby stuff ? cheap ah ? mayb will drop by take a look too

Porky, i being there many time b4(AMK near to polyclinic tat shop) but never buy anything.. my hubby said everytime go nvr buy very pai seh haha

I donno what to buy, 1st time mummy no idea which 1 is gd or bad...the baby shirt my place oso got sell cheap cheap de 4pcs-$10 design better tat shop

Porky, cheap or not i dunno leh...but they are selling all the kid stuffs, i think maybe u can go and check the price then compare compare since the baby fair coming