(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Porky, same as Grace...last time i used to go in to see see look look..so far i only bought the cloth nappy from there 2 times.

anyway i think still got time to shop ard...and no need to overbuy now...anything u need by then can always ask ur hubby to go and buy...if not u will end up with alot of 'extra'stuffs...

What i think would be essential to start with personally:

1. 20-30 cloth nappies & 3-5 covers to exchange coz newborn poo like nobody's business man.
2. at least 6 front-button tops coz i find it very hard to pull the t-shirts over the newborn's head.
3. Pants with leg hood so that no need to wear socks
4. 5 pairs of mittens to cover the hands
5. 2-3 towels for shower
6. small hankies to bath & clean baby
7. Nappy rash cream
8. Cotton wool to clean the umbilical cord stub & eyes
9. newborn showerfoam
10. beanbag pillow
11.sterilizer
12. teats and bottle screw caps
13. A tin of newborn FM & 1 or 2 3oz plastic milk bottles to standby
14. milk bottle detergent, scrub for cleaning bottles & teats
15. clothes detergent

That shld abt it for me ba...

good morning ladies

re: amk bb shop
wah, have not been to AMK for a long while (since i moved to the far west). thanks 915 for the lead to this bb shop -- will check it out this weekend...

cool that they provide a list -- me first-time mummy, really clueless wat to get...

re: baby fair
my hubby worried that it will be too crowded -- and clumsy me will create "earthquakes" for bb by bumping here n there... any advice on wat is the best time to go -- less crowded?

re: cordlife
so did u ladies sign up for cordlife last nite after meeting the consultant?
porky, from wat i know, it's $2888+gst for 10yr plan... dunno whether glenlyn got a better discount

915, thanks for the list above..i still not get the newborn diapers, shower towel, cotton wool, newborn showerfoam and newborn FM..the rest i got already...so far so good lah..hehe..any recommendation for showerfoam and towel ??

adv, i sign up for the 10yrs plan..but i forgot have to pay how much after bb born 2months..

finally more free to login...

porky, u managed to explain to yr hb abt the cordlife? i told my hb that got new technology for storing. he just says 'thats good'. then i said government pays half, he says 'can ask government pay full?'.. i was like DUAH~~~

bean, receiving blanket, hooded blankets and swaddle blankets r quite similar.. used to wrap bb so that they will not be panic and have better slp.. bb is so used to be cruddle in our womb so need to be secure.. i think no need to buy.. u can use cloth nappy to wrap.. same..

shers, u finally log in..

i show my hb the summary paper..then he use calculator to work out the cost..then he say 21yrs more worth it...bo liao loh..i already told him mah..then he say sign for 10yrs first..hehe

porky, i use pureen head to toe shower foam.. smell very nice.. i used J&J before and i found that after wash still feel abit soapy and 'dry'..

u try out a few brands la.. i use more economical brand.. other mums used some branded foam..

towel, i bought from aussino..

porky, shower foam i used the J&J head to toe, but i find like no smell leh...but u can try out others lah like sebamed, but that one is branded lor..but for my #1 now, i loved the smell of J&J milk bath

As for towel, i juz go to OG and feel the material before buying. dun buy those with too much 'fur' one...i find that it sticks to baby..hehe

porky, of course 21 yrs cheaper la.. hehehe.. somemore half paid by government le..

who is the 1 ask abt luekemia?? and who asks ques abt cordlife? i forget liao le.. can post the ques again.. i try to answer..

915, i also got put bean spout bag on bb.. hehehe.. i go for very traditional way..

shers, pureen showerfoam is buy from kiddy palace right ? that day metro have 20%..i never buy..cos too many brands le..915, i also love the J&J milk bath smell..i am using it myself also..haha..abt the towel, i feel that aussino baby is good..but ex..

anyone wanna join spree for the Braun IRT4520 Thermometer ? cost ard S$67 include shipping...but no local warranty..

shers, thats why i say my hb bo liao..already explain to him that 21yrs is more worth it..but he still insist to calculate on his own..but anyway, we will sign up for the 10yrs first..then within 1yr we will decide wanna switch to 21yrs or not...btw, i forget for 10yrs, the payment is how much leh...

porky, i didnt buy from kiddy palace.. i buy from motherhood sg expo sales.. super cheap.. think kiddy palace is selling at $6+ but from sg expo, can get at $4.50 per bottle.. so i store up for 1 yr supply.. anyway that expo sales is yearly.. so ok.. next is around april/ may/ june.. cant really remember..

i got OSIM thermometer already.. but thinking of getting the touch forehead type.. yesterday saw at kiddy palace.. ard $99.. maybe can get at outside for cheaper price.. porky, maybe u can drop by amk shop and see if got braun thermometer.. i got mine there.. compare to outside, around 15% cheaper..

porky, i also cant remember le.. i only remember mine.. whahhaa.. i told my hb that his responsibility is to make sure he remembers where i keep the kit and bring along.. whahhaa... then he said as usual, i write down the list of things he needs to do nearer to edd.. including trip to get chinese names for bb..

glenlyn and porky, dont forget that we will have $100 together to pig out once we receive the cheque!!!

other mums who r keen to join us for the referral scheme, can join our pigging out.. hahha

wah..cheap leh..then i must wait for the sg expo sales..next one coming up right ? can stock up liao

okok, i will drop by amk during weekends to see wat i can get from there..

today my hb went to toyogo factory in toa payoh..the 5-tier cabinet selling at $70+..is it ex ? anyone using toyogo ?

mommies thinking to buy nappies - do remember to get e nappy cover.
e other time, i used the nappy n forgotten e nappy cover, i BF my gal n she poo at e same timing.
poo abit watery for BF bb n i got poo on my chest.. *yurks*

but if u dun ve any additional help (maid or ppl) to help wash, then either buy more nappies or get some diapers on e standby cos BF bb sure can poo (every BF feed will poo) so imagine 24hrs/ 2hrly feed will be 12 times = 12 poo exclude pee n bath time.. *faint*

i bought 5-tier toyoga at carrefour before.. but i cant rem the price already.. hehehe.. but its good to use especially if there is a CL and she can easily get bb stuff there.. 5-tier will be more than enough..

Fwah....this thread is running so fast.

Eh...guess I need to endure the fluid retention prob after delivery liew. Visited Dr ADrian again cos medication prescribed not suitable. Then he said no choice and will need to tolerate after baby is born. Feet getting so swollen and numb. Even after elevating both feet at sleep aslo no help.

Getting ready. If were to follow the list below, then I think I got about 60%?

1. 20-30 cloth nappies & 5-8 nappy covers
2. More than 6 sets of front-button tops & bottoms
3. 2-3 pairs of pants with leg hood
4. >5 pairs of mittens & booties to cover the hands & feet
5. 1-2 towels for shower (will buy more)
6. 1 small hankie to bath & clean baby (will buy more)
7. Nappy rash cream (Yet to buy)
8. Cotton wool to clean the umbilical cord stub & eyes (Yet to buy)
9. Newborn showerfoam (Be using J&J Top-to-Toe and already bought 4-5 big bottles)
10. 1 beanbag pillow (gotten from my cousin)
11. sterilizer (Be getting one, maybe from company gift)
12. teats and bottle screw caps (Yet to buy but where to buy?)
13. A tin of newborn FM & 1 or 2 3oz plastic milk bottles to standby (Try to BF first then see how things go)
14. milk bottle detergent, scrub for cleaning bottles & teats (Yet to buy, got scrub already)
15. clothes detergent (Yet to buy)

Where to get item 12 ah?

mother & baby fair at singapore expo hall 6B

27 Feb to 1 march (fri to sun)
(11am to 9pm fri, sat)
(11am to 8pm sun)

sk, for item 12, depending on what brand of bottles u will be storing yr BM.. can buy at all department store selling milk bottles.. alternatively, u can buy storage pack.. like zip lock bag type for storing BM

Very long never visit the thread... now panicking when I see all of you stock up for bb stuff. I haven't started yet but have got all the pass me downs NB clothes (not wash yet).

Any feedback on what diapers to buy? Pampers NB is for 1st month only and it's so ex.

anxylyn, usually hospital will give u the remaining pampers (already in bb bill). dont stock up too much for NB diapers.. they outgrown very fast.. u can try huggies ultres.. i let my gal tried many brands.. pampers and huggies ultres r the 2 brands i prefer.. soft.. for cheaper type, drypers is ok but quite noisy when come to changing coz of plastic..
u can buy 1 pack of several brands and try out..
some brands r good but might not suit yr bb skin type..

xue, any lobangs on Enfa stage 1 FM? u got any idea where selling cheaper? i will let my bb have mixture so need to store up a few tins..

SK, item 12 can get from any shops like NTUC or kiddy palace or OG...i put that down coz i am going to use the glass bottles from the hospital, so just need the normal screw cap with the teat then can feed baby liao e.g piegeon teats.. this is part of the reason why i din use the avent bottles for a start last time coz the screw cap and teat dun fit.

oh ya, i bought the Pigeon milk bottles for BM storage..think they come with the screw cap and the rubber stopper...so can use those screw caps with a normal teats.

shers, tks for updating the mother & baby fair details..hehe..no need to go back and read thru the thread...will u be gg ?

Re: cordlife
think i will sign up too? any extra promot if we signed together?

Re: baby items
i has not get any....sigh

3 wkold - i sent u an email - so confirm u want the fitti - me m ordering by today if possible... u can do the transfer today?

anybody else wanna join us for fitti premium?

3wkold, we signed up yesterday already.. anyway no additional promotion already.. u can put 1 of us as referral then got $50 cheque and we can pig out together..

porky, i dont know this mother & baby fair is the same as what i usually go yearly.. should be the same hor.. i want to go lor.. whahaha.. want to top up shower foam, see got cheaper deal for diapers ornot..

Today i went to ISETAN shopping ..AVENT BPAFree milk bottle 4oz is availalbe in sg now.

Medala,evenflo,Bfree all brand oso got BPAFree milk bottle .. especially Medala all milk bottle, breastbump and breastmilk bag is BPAFree but quite ex

grace, i was telling porky that i saw the BPA free bottles in the market long ago.. kiddy palace also has it.. think 125ml bottle costs $15+ compared to non BPA free bottle $8.40

The AVENT BPAFree milk bottle 4oz costs $15.80 but i like medala brand nw...i bought the breastmilk zip bag $25.00 for 20 bag

i think i cant go alone coz i will be storing up shower foam and other stuff.. i check with my hb whether he can come and carry the stuff back for me ornot.. if yes, i join u on fri.. else i will go other days..

grace, if u r so worried, maybe i suggest u to take 915's advice.. buy glass bottles.. safest!!! maybe standby 1-2 bottles BPAfree so that when yr kid learns to hold bottle, wldnt be heavy.

personally, i think its not worth to invest in so expensive bottles where avent recommends to change every 3 months. (avent recommends to change teats every 3 months so i change bottle together).

any more mummies interest in getting fitti premium?

52 pcs newborn (0.23 cents each) & 48 pieces S (0.25each) at $12 per pack - retail price is $14.90... let me know mummies - orders coming in early next week - arranging for delivery

flommy, last 2 yrs, i went after day.. ard 8pm.. the crowd is still ok.. manageable.. not those u squeeze me, i squeeze u type.. same goes for weekend nite..

u wanna go as well?

Shers, i will still use tat Avent milk bottle set tat i juz bought ..after 3 month i will change it to BPAFree

I wont buy expensive one...i think i'll get cheaper brand wif BPAFree