(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Shers, when #2 pops, i think i will put #2 at my mil's then bring #1 back everyday when i go back to work ba...dun think can bring 2 back at the same time + pumping breast milk somemore..*will faint big time*

Grace, i dunno abt this BPA thingy but apparently when i wanted to switch from normal bottles to Avent for its wide -necked bottles, my colleagues warned me abt Avent...coz Avent bottles has some chemical (prob is this BPA) that make the bottles very clear and white...Normal bottles will not be so clear after washing many times lor. In the end i switched to Pigeon Wide-neck bottles but i din waste my 1 and only Avent bottle coz the pigeon wide-neck teat fits the Avent.

Liewb, the pigeon galss bottles are pretty good..My mil always use that too, but only thing is it's glass so it's heavier and also breakable lor.

Adv_sports, welcome

piggy pig, i heard this brand of nappy bag is good => Allerhand...but i dun have any coz it's expensive. i bought a few before and sold them off coz i think dun really meet my needs...maybe i too forgetful..coz too many pockets then i will forget what i put in which pocket..hahah

So in the end i bought a Adidas Gym Bag to put the baby stuffs..coz:
1. the gym bag has a wide base and when i open up, i can see everything i need, so no need to dig all the diff pockets in a nappy bags...heheh
2. my hubby can also carry it w/o looking 'too sweet'

So i think u shld trial & error and see which fits you ba

piggypig, i think any bag that is big and nice can liao mah....dun need to purposely buy a new bag to bring to the hospital right ? hehe

915, the pigeon glass bottle can put inside steriliser or not ? any idea ?

Porky, glass bottle can put inside steriliser...but i think dun buy first coz ur baby won't need it at least for the 1st 3 mths..coz u can feed baby with the the glass bottles from the hospital..1 glass bottle can contain abt 90ml milk, so for a start try out the glass bottles before buying a bigger one from pigeon.

ha..so jamie now that u r back and have so strong cravings...so think of what local food we can have for next thur ba...hiak hiak *wink*

piggypig, i used gym bag when i checked in to hospital.. because got large base. just dump everything inside.

for diaper bag, i used quite a far bit.. 'i'm not a plastic bag', espirit etc.. i bought allerhand as well.. its good because have individual compartment for bottle, pacifier etc.. but quite heavy.. if u hang around stroller, then its ok. but if hand carry plus baby, cannot take it for awhile..

when my gal went to solid, i just used agnes b bag.. because the bag is more 'solid' then longchamp bag..

so depends on u la.. can try out a few..

jamie, welcome back!

915, i know which shop at AMK u r referring to.. that shop sells alot of cheap kids stuff.. if i'm not wrong, their avent bottles and wet wipes r much cheaper

even kiddy palace sells cloth nappy..

as of now..shld be next thurs @ 7pm. Venue still no news yet..got 3 suggestions:
~marche @ vivo
~shokudo @ heeren
~petals or dunno wat name @ Funnan (it's a place by Shatec)

Anymore babes keen to join? Vote here:
http://www.doodle.com/participation.html?adminKey=&pollId=9snfetdhwwhncy2v

Thanks Grace for the BPA info...but i dun think Pigeon bottles has..usually bottles with BPA are whiter and clearer coz it's the chemical that doesn't make the bottles blurred or yellowish like the normal bottles.

hi hi, juz a suggestion for makan venue :-
Vivo Japanese Gourmet Town
#01-157/158
This new addition to VivoCity is a 3-in-1 brand concept that offers authentic Japanese cuisine in a Japanese gourmet street setting. You can find traditional Okonomiyaki (savoury Japanese pancake), heavenly Yoshimi Sapporo Soup Curry and of course our all time favourite, Ajisen Ramen.

* erhm, but dunno can make reservation or not...

Jamie,
Welcome back, hope u hv enjoyed urself

Re: Steriliser
My sis passed down the Pigeon Steriliser for me. I have been using it for my no1. I guess the steriliser shld be more than 5 years old

Re: Milk bottle
I am using Pigeon wide neck milk bottle. Will change to the BFree Pigeon bottles for no1 & 2 but very much more expensive. Should only get it during the taka bbfair.

915, my fren said Pigeon also got tis problem although not in the list .. she already give away to her fren and bought the BPA Free milk bottles.

I try to find out more abt tis issue ..

Grace, i checked on Pigeon's site..apparently they also have BPA..but minimal.

"Pigeon bottles contain a minimal amount of BPA; less than 0.01ug/ml (the European standard allows BPA content of 0.04ug/ml). "
http://www.pigeonbaby.com.au/bpaInfo.php

This is a list of all the BPA-free bottles...brands like Gerber and Medela...but i think dun come cheap...
http://babyproducts.about.com/od/feedingdrinks/tp/BPA_free_baby_bottles.htm

Another alternative to BPA-free is probably the Glass milk Bottles...confirmed no BPA, but heavier and breakeable...
So far my #1 can drink from the glass bottle pretty safely by herself..so can consider this too

HI gals, i did my research the other time, only medela bottle s are BPA free.. so guess i gona get that for my breast pump and milk bottles.... :)

dun get avent. nt gd. they hav got BPA in it. cos when heated up the plastic with BPA, the person drinking it wil hav heart disease something lidat

actually, all products arent that safe la.. just whether r they within the range ornot..

thats y i felt that feeding bottles and teats have to be changed every 2-3 months. when my gal was on pacifier, i changed every 3 weeks. now for her water bottle, i change every 1 month.

i hope what i did can minimise whatever harmful chemical..

anyway what is the side effects of BPA?

I do agreed with Shers. Anyway, when we are young who knows anything abt BPA huh
If it is really that unsafe, the govt shld have it removed from the shelves.

zzz

I just bought AVENT Airflex milk bottle set last sunday ..ytd then got tis BPA info, donno still want2 use or buy another BPA FREE 1

grace, i guess u can mix with other brands lor...dun think will be as harmful as the milk scandal in china ba... else sell it at the forum sell thread lor... that's what i did previously...but i din sell because of BPA but rather i wanted to use the hospital glass bottles, so i tot those new avent bottles free with the sterilise take up space, so i juz let go at the forum

Anyway i think for the start, to feed the new born with the hospital glass bottles is good enuff.

btw, just to share... i stopped sterilising bottles ever since my gal turned 1 yr old.. i make sure i wash with bottle cleanser and before making milk for her, i pour hot water into bottle just to 'clean' again..

mummies, dont scare yrself.. i think shld be safe 1.. last time we also drank like that... even nieces and nephews also the same..

every product does have their pros and cons.. nothing is perfect.. who can guarantee that with BPA free bottles, its safe? if its really not safe, avent, pigeon and other brands will have remove them from the shelves.. and will be slap all over the news and tv already..

however, if u still have yr doubts, call up the hotline and ask.. change to BPA free bottles..

grace, if u r planning to breastfeed and not using avent pump then no need to use the Avent bottles at all.

Like me, i using Medela pump, so the normal milk bottle fit nicely into the pump..so i pump direct into the bottle then store in fridge then warm up to feed baby. no need to transfer bottles...

Tiny M

You will have a dull ache at your back. Plus the womb will tighten then soften. The pain is similar to cramps. Usually last about 30sec or more.

Jen

Doctor says my case is similar to someone who is having twins now. So the only thing I can do beside medications is to rest. Walking,standing and moving around will cause contractions. Having too much Contractions will also cause the cervix to be thinner.

Got quite a few causes. Like baby too big or the womb is underdeveloped. Infection of the womb is also another cause. Womb too low. Low-lying placenta.

I know, I heard most of ppl after delivery 1st day not much milk for bb? baby will keep cry for milk ..
My hubby said if i too tired for day time can breastfeed and night time formula so juz in case need to use it

After give birth i'm sure i'll "chicken hand duck leg" being a 1st time mum

915: OG dont have the white nappy le

shers: where about in AMK sell the white nappy?? mom said cant find that shop bb thingy in toa payoh anymore

jamie ! welcome back ! u must have enjoy ur belated honeymoon. so how is everything with the little one ? kicking happily while u play ? haha

915, okie..hehe..i thot glass bottle are nice mah..so far haven get any yet..

piggypig, whampoa sell those old type of nappy too..

Grace, actually very true...during my #1, first day totally no milk..baby suckle until my nipple bleed...was quite stressed but luckily hospital has those ready-made formula milk that comes in the glass bottles.. so i feed baby with those for the first week while i try to latch her on and off to encourage for milk flow.
Dun throw away those glass milk bottles, u can put them in steriliser and make FM with them when u need them.
It's good to buy a small tin of newborn FM to standby and also those plastic bottle screws and teats to use them over the glass bottles.

piggy pig...do check the size when u buy the cloth nappies...i know i bought about 30...3 packs of diff brands but forgot what brand liao...but 1 pack was good...big and material is smooth...can use until my #1 is 7 mths...the other pack very small, by 4th mth cannot wrapped her butt totally...hahaha

porky: yea baby's doing good.. also found out how often baby kicks at nite cuz in europe is morning when sg is nite.. =D

glenlyn: i jus sms u 1.5hr ago go check!

piggypig, yes..whampoa market..those shops have sell baby stuff..quite cheap ones..but is old fashion type..not those modern modern one lah..

porky, i dunno abt my weight lei haven't checked! but worried abt sugar level cuz had alot of chocolates there.. now going to upload pictures liao! must try to stay awake!!

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> piggypig,
If u go whampoa, can drop by my fil's shop. Oso at whampoa. He sells cloth nappy too. Blk 82 =)</font>.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Jamie,
Shiok hor... How I wish I can go oversea too... But most prob hv to wait till this yr end le.... Long way to go..</font>.

915, hahaha ! i dunno lah..cos i dont intend to use cloth nappy..but what i mean is those shops in whampoa area..they are not selling modern items..only old fashion ones...

porky: yeah looking for that old fashion white cloth nappy, need to secure with safety pin one...kaka. hopefully can also get those old fashion pure white newborn clothings as well..

xue: ok whampoa blk 82, mentioned yr name, maybe can get discount hor...kaka

xue: it's ok, save money and gain energy so u can walk walk walk!! i also walked alot there.. didnt feel tired at all cuz the pace was good.. we went back to hotel by 830pm latest.. hung out with other tour mbrs in the room till abt 11pm.. woke at 6 usually.. not tired at all.. the weather was good too.. not too cold.. but in austria was bad, teeth can chatter. =p

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Piggypig,
Discount I dunno lar. hahah.. For hm-wear clothes oso have. Much more cheaper then outside.

Jamie,
Yea.. If really planning to go end of this yr, #1 &amp; #2 hv to tag along le...</font>.