(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Xue,
So your boy boy sleep on mattress also?

Re: Strollers
Yah lor, I went to see those stollers, those that can recline fully for babies less than 6 mths are so ex! There is a huge price difference for strollers suitable for use after 6 mths. It is then when we will bring the baby out more often right? So I was thinking of getting one during my maternity leave, just leave my baby home with mum and we can go shop for one. Or better still wait for people to give as a baby shower present! hahahaha

Me and hubby are thinking of signing cordblood banking. Do you know how much is it? Do we pay a one time fee of must pay every year. Also, the cord blood will be kept till when?

re buying bb stuff - you may not need to buy all the stuff if there are people keen on passing down. almost all my items - carseat, cot, strollers etc were passed down to me by frens who no longer need them or had extras. and they were really in great condition!

i use a cot at home and a playpen at my mum's pl. good to have stg that keeps the bb 'caged up', esp when bb can start to turn or climb later on. it will free you to shower, cook etc.

bean, i cannot remember how much i pay . i go home check the reciept then let u know. But what i remember is that every year have to pay $250 as yearly subscription and you will be paying that amt until baby turns 21, then baby can decide to continue paying or not. this is like a life insurance. Do watch out for those talks, i think they have offers sometimes..i think i might still have some discoutn vouchers around.

update you again

i signed up for cordblood for no 1.. will do the same for no 2..

that time i signed up at motherhood exhibition so got $250 off and i paid throughout till kid turns 21. (but got 3 yrs discount so i paid for 18 yrs only) then consent will be transferred to kid who will decide whether to continue to keep the cordblood ornot..

if got friend refer, will have additional $100 off. with promotion, another discount.. keep a lookout for promotion though..

mommies - unless got good lobang like warehouse sales or else no need to buy stroller yet cos yr colleagues/ friends may give u...
i got a friend received 3 strollers for e bb 1st mth celebration.

like wat 915 said, buy a cot dat can convert to a bed type better more value for $$.

for my case, we bought our stroller b4 birth cos got warehouse sales very good deal so bought dat. But we only went out after bb turned 3mths n most time uses a bb carrier cos better to carry bb 'close' to u so they will feel more 'secure' (i bought e baby bjorn active dat comes with back support)

For cot, we bought only when she is ard 5mths plus b4 dat, we more e latex mattress for her (but do buy e cot size so later dun ve to buy another mattress) (we even lend from friend to 'try out' in case she dun wan n waste $$) cos 1 cot will set u back by $300plus or so.

Hi MTBs

im from Aug'08 thread.. Selling away Clarins tonic oil as i am not using, only used 10% while i was preggie. Bought this about last yr June. Selling for $50 only

2062043.jpg

re: infant care
grace, thanks for the warning... yup, bu she de put our precious in infant care if we can find alternative child care arrangement...

jamie_nov, heard from my fren that infant care very hot -- when she decide to put her bb in infant care, those around her place are fully booked! so she asked me to queue/book a place now.

3wkold & jamie_nov, check out this link on the infant care in ur area - http://www.childcarelink.gov.sg/

shers, thanks for sharing
spoke to my mum last nite -- she said dun subject bb to the trauma of long distance travel everyday and suggest i put baby with her during weekdays... need to discuss more with my hubby -- he is against this idea
i also worry my mum cannot cope as she is looking after my 2 nieces and my bro plan to put his mar09 baby with her *faint*

re: cot vs mattress
think we will go for cot first -- gentle on the back for me and my mum in the initial months... when bb is older, then choose between mattress or cot...

re: stroller
yup, those for infant r more ex... haha, if carry for the first 6mth, can help to build up arm muscles :p

re: cordlife
my colleague juz passed me a $150 voucher... hubby n me yet to decide...

Adv_sports

We sure cant bear to leave our bb to infant de ..no choice if nobody help

So, have to find a gd place and patient teacher to make us more comfortable de and not too worry2 leave our new born bb there lo

adv_sports,

my mum also super packed with grandchildren.. but at least there is a maid helping out as well. do discuss with yr hubby.. most importantly, both parties must agree.. mum wldnt want us to put bb at infant care unless its really no choice thingy..

i let my no 1 slpt on cot for the 1st 5months then once she knows how to roll, we gave away the cot coz limited space.. and let her slpt between me and hubby. then we ganna kicked until no choice then custom made a bed to join to our bed so that she can rock and roll..

now 3 of us slp very comfortably.. and when no 2 pops, bb will join in as well because single bed and queen bed r sufficient for 4 of us..

i tried chasing hubby out of room before but he doesnt want.. and after giving birth, i cannot slp on mattress because will easily get backache and not used to it..

Shers,

My hubby cant trust on CL dont even talk abt babysitter (he listen to me get a part time CL in the end) btw, we will sign up course in hospital to learn hw take care baby =.=

Nxt time, baby still need to go sch/child care to learn something de, if he used to stay there wif other kids will be better.

Hi! All,

Can I join this thread? I am due on 30 May 2009. Just spotted this thread recently.

Hi! Jamie_Nov,

You are here...remember me?

grace, i do agree that bb still needs to mix ard with other kids... but if u have other choice when bb is an infant, even better..

anyway its just a passing phase that everybody has to go through.. heheh.. i had my headache before..

actually, if i can, i will wish to stay home and take care of my own kids myself.. at least they turns 3 yrs old.. then put them in full day care child..

but too bad, cannot.. financially doesnt allow..

If i have 2 or 3 kids then i will consider to stay at home take care own kids myself, 1 of my colleague oso stop working for 3 yr to take care her only son but not worth lo ..

I dont want become 黄脸婆 hahas!

grace - look ard 1st, may be lucky to find a neighbour who is a good baby sitter, like dat can bring bb home everyday..

shers - my mum's schedule same as yours (packed with kids). she is a bb sitter (looking after 2 - 3.5yrs n 5mths old) n she looking after my gal who is 2yrs next wk then in May, my 2nd bb... like dat is 4 kids (lickily got a maid to help with e cooking n household chores).. coming may, still need to help to do confinement.. house is fully packed!!!

talking abt confinement i am abit sian! coz my flat is having lift upgrading and home improvement projects going on starting from april! this is going to last 2 years!! *fainted*

So i am thinking to go either my MIL or my mum's place for confinement. headache

Sorry for the interruption.

Siemens Healthcare Sector (Ultrasound Division) is providing free 3D ultrasound scans for expectant mothers. A total of 10 mothers are required. So bring along your friends! A free CD with your baby's 3D images will be given after the scan.

Details:
1) Preference: 17-32 weeks pregnancy
2) Date: 16-18 Jan 2009 (Fri-Sun)
3) Time: 12 noon onwards
4) Duration: 1hr
5) Venue: Ritz Carlton Hotel
6) Contact: Jessie Wong, ofc 6490 8076 or Dr Liu, hp 9678 5889

Please be assured that for the Siemens free scan, you are not guinea pigs, and Siemens is not testing the machines. They are selling these machines to Ob doctors in the region, and worldwide. They need you as models to train their sonographers and sales people, so they can learn how to scan pregnant mommies and things to look out for.

Please refer to this thread for an earlier scan for Dec 2008 mommies. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/1742857.html?1222314404#POST5865189

jen,

i think our mums r super busy this time.. hahaha.. other than taking care of our kids, still got our brothers and sisters.. whahah..

thats the reason y i dont go back my mum place for confinement.. because i want quieter place to do my confinement and i want to rest. so i rather spend money to engage CL at my own place.. and i want more milk this time.. whahaha.. so rest is very impt to me during that 1 month.. after that, i will move back my mum place before i go back to work..

915, i think u shld go to yr mum or in law place to do confinement.. upgrading can be very dusty.. let alone the noise will make u crazy..

Shers, i tot so too lor..but i have to bring my maid along then no where to let her sleep...prob will have to ask her sleep in the living room liao coz both IL and Parent's place only have 1 spare room nia.

hello porky

congrat havin a BB boy..

Done my DS 0n wed..BB very active.weight about 421g at week 21 and its a BB boy for me too..haha..

hello to

J & M , melody and first born..hee hee same as me
a newbie in tis thread..

shers - ok lah cos my 1st confinment, also alot of ppl at night but day time only for maid, mum, n 2 kids now is extra 2 more kids (my gal n BB)...

my mum also said will do my confinement n her food is to my taste n she looks after e bb i ok n my sisters all ok with e arrangement.

think hubby n my gal will need to go home n sleep cos no 'space' liao. after e 1mth, i will move back home n comes to her house in e morn with my gal.

Re: Baby care after ML

I am facing same problem. haha. I am deciding between infant care and baby sitter. I am surprised to know that infant care will be fully booked till end of the year!!! *Shocked* I have shortlisted 2 baby sitters near my area liao, but they have not gave me any confirmation on whether they can take in my baby or not coz they are having kids in the house now.

Re: Infant Care

If any mummies staying ard Bishan/Sin Ming/Shunfu area and is looking for infant care, I have lobang. PM me

Re: Shopping list for baby.

Me lagi worse,only got 1 romper and 1 dress for bb till date. :p I got some hand me downs from frenz, wait till I get hold of those items then I will see wat else I need :p

any of u going for the

Siemens Healthcare Sector (Ultrasound Division) is providing free 3D ultrasound scans for expectant mothers.

??

915 and Shers

i was told can't go back to our parents' place to do confinement cos it brings bad luck to our fathers...

not sure if u have heard that saying b4... thats why i always need a confinement lady.

Hi twinkle_sp,
saw you looking for a babysitter. I got 1 recommendation from my cousin 2 years ago. Not sure if the babysitter still available. She stays at CCK Block 500+ (not too sure). Email [email protected] if you want her contact then I'll ask my cousin again.

Btw, when looking for babysitter, try avoiding those who has or want to babysit for > 1 kid.

RE: Priority Seat
Was taking train yesterday and find that "suspicious article" announcement very loud. A thought flashed my mind ... why can't SMRT also announce and remind those sitting Priority Seat to offer their seats to people who need it more

Sorry to tell you that the slots for the Siemens ultrasound scan has been fully booked.

pearly, i wanted a CL at first but then only got 1 room, somemore those old ladies (mil & mum) love their kitchen so much, they won't want another old woman to mess up their kitchen. If i do at my own place, i will get a CL

hello everyone ! finally i am back ! wah...so many post to read leh...super tired today ..went for DS at 11am, aft that went shopping with mum and sis..everything is fine and my boy is 383g at 20weeks 3 days. lucky today bb very cooperative. less then 30mins all done already. the sonographer that did the scan for us is really nice. she explain every parts of her measurement to us and tell us the range for a normal baby. i am glad that everything is ok and is confirm a little prince. hehe. now can really start to shop liao

sallen, tks ! and congrats to ur little prince too !

grace, so early fully book ah ? very KS loh...i also consider infant care..but havent find out the cost all these...so u already book and pay full or deposit first ?

re : playpen/stroller/infant car seat
i will get 2nd hand playpen, then just get new mattress and bumper set. stroller and car seat also get 2nd hand one..dont feel like spending too much on these 3 big items..

re : gathering cum shopping
so when are we having another gathering or shopping trip together ? better shop now..else another 2 months i dont think we still can shop so much loh..hahaha

3wkold, how is ur DS today ? i remember we are same day right

Porky, nt me KS la lolx ..checked few infant care ctr had already fully booked in SK till yr end if not early i donno who can take care my baby in last minutes =.=

I tot hubby booked today but he decided to find another cheaper and near by my place de,.. so in e end still finding..haha

jamie_nov, how abt give vouchers ? or a walk and ride ? i gave my nephew a FP walk and ride on his 1 yr bird day. and he love it lots. but now he can walk liao..so he dont find it fun anymore..is ok, can pass down to my boy...hehe

grace, i not say u KS lah..hehe. i knw singaporean very KS one..everything also can fully book loh...like the ezlink card...today only 1st day to change the card..but i already saw queues at few mrt stations liao...faint...

so in the end no book ah..look ard first, like they say. mayb u can find bb sitters at ur block or somewhere near ur place then can bring bb home everyday loh

bean, thanks ! finally feel relieve liao. was so tensed while waiting at TMC this morning..last night also cant sleep well...btw, the sonographer only give me a pix of my bb feet and face leh..she say the rest will be post to my gynae wor..is it the same for urs ?

oic, is ok. i will check with my gynae when i visit him for my next appt..anyway i am happy already. cos can see the pix of my bb face and little feet. hehe

Hi Porky, congrats on hearing god news from you. =)

Worked OT today and it's the 1st OT since 2007. Knocked off at 10.15pm and making my first post here. So tiring after such long day.

What's bumper set? Trying to pick up the terms for buying baby items.

Hi All.!
went for my checkup in the afternoon... Gain 1.2kg... I thought I'm in my 24th wks already.. bt gyane told told me I'm 23wks only from her chart... And my little boy is 760g.. He gained 440g within 3 weeks... she commented bb is slightly plump leh.. but she oso mention I dont need to go on diet yet.. heheee... *phew* if not, there goes my cny goodies..

sk, wah ! u work so late today...aiyo, poor thing leh...got eat dinner or not ? bumper set is like mattress cover, pillow case..full set de loh

xue, i think ur bb is the heaviest among all of us here wor..my bb is only half the weight as urs..hehe

porky,
hw many weeks are u in now? mayb mine is only slightly bigger ba... my #1 nv reach the plump weight during each checkup before....

btw, medela Freestyle is finally selling locally.! It's ex.! $1k. But compare to PIS, definitely FS is so much lighter... There's pros and cons for both pumps.. Wont be getting locally if i want tt.. too ex...

Morning all

Porky, I do my DS at TMC also why you can get 2 pix but i cant get anything after the DS. At Raffles they will give me the report and pix together after the scan.

I went for my detailed scan yesterday. I am having a princess again!! So 2 gals for me. My gynae knew that my hubby would like to have a boy..n her response came as : " You will be trying for a 3rd one right?"....My reply..Most probably..cos hubby wants 2 gals, 1 boy.

Anyway, i think that my #2 will be more active than #1...considering that En En is so active liaoz. The sonographer was shaking her head cos baby was moving so much that she could not take the measurements properly. My gal weighs only 315g at 20 weeks + 1 day. Very small right? Most of my colleagues cant tell that i was 5 months preggy already...

Re: Scan Pix
I got all the pix back in a report on the spot leh. The pix ranges from heart, femur, humerus, thorax, etc...2 pages of pictures leh...The pix are different from the scan pix given by gynae tho...

Enjoy your weekend...

I have these to let go.

(1) Dunstan Baby Language DVD set Paid $60. Selling for $30.

(2) My Brest Friend in Dots www.mybrestfriend.com. Used for a month. Cover already washed. Paid around $60. Selling for $20.

(3) The Peanut Shell sling in Retro Pink (reversible) in size 2. Never used because baby doesn't like it. Washed once and there's a little run in colour. But very small patch. http://www.thepeanutshell.com/shop/baby_slings/reversible_slings/retro_pink_baby_sling
Paid around $80 for mine. Selling for $40.

Interested, email me at [email protected]. Thanks!!