(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

i'm thinking oh potluck? or mini buffet? at a function room rather than home because need to clear after mess..

bring along yr kids and let them fight??

or we do it on weekday just mummies?

got to see response lor..

Jamie > me at blk 627, near Pioneer Mall. =D We are staying along the same stretch, from one end to the other.

Would love to join but weekday not possible as me not a SAHM.

1917818.gif

Im new here in this thread, been following the thread few weeks ago... Ive found a new way to find out the gender of the bb in our stomach in a thread in this forum... Unsure hw true it is, take a look below...

If a mother is carrying a son, the nigra line will be straight and connected, abv and below the navel button.

If carrying a daughter, the nigra line would not connect and will be slightly crooked.

Can any of the mummies confirm (for those who oredi noe the gender)?

Many thanks in advance!

Thanks Adv_Sports

Jacquise, i also dunno what causes bleeding.i was so worried and my mind was quite blank when i went into the gynae's. all i heard is baby is placenta is ok then i was relieved.
Gynae suspected maybe i ate something wrong then cause diahorrea then there is a pressure at the cervix causing some contraction there.
my vagina opening is abit swollen now due to the diahorrea (maybe the germs from the back got passed to the front)
Anyway he checked and confirmed that the blood not from the placenta or baby so which is good. Now i am taking some pills to control diahorrea and another pill to prevent the cervix to go into contractions.

Re: Yoga
Jaime, if everything is well with u and u r feeling good, shld start yoga. Go and try out whatever..it's pretty affordable but the venue is abit out of place though

Re: breastpumps
Jamie, you need a very muscular arms to use the manual pump
Anyway if u buy the Medela PIS, it comes free with a manual pump. i tried the manual pump, all i can say is i salute to whoever using manual pumps for both breasts! not an easy feat!
Electric is better if u intend to continue esp when u go back to work. Took me ard 15mins on each sides, so i used 30 mins pumping,15 mins for lunch and 15 mins to wash up.

SK,

me also not SAHM. we see who is interested 1st.. then decide from there?

i keep the ball rolling..

Weekday meet up:
1) Shers (anytime but will need to take half day)

Weekend meet up:
1) Shers (prefer this but will need to bring along my no 1)

Re: Breastpumps

mommies, i think there is something called the breastshield that will collect milk leakage during 1 breast is being pump.

shers, count me in for wk day.. anytime also can.. esp tues n thurs..

915, jia lat i also been having diarrehoea past 2 days.. worried abt infection.. stomach really not well.. gastric 2 days straight now diarrehoea.. dunoo wat i ate..

abt the breast pumps.. sounds like manual pumps can really help fight flabby arms! lol! but electric more convenient la.. already tired out from taking care of baby still need to manual pump is very sian..

manual pump - i borrow 1 from my friend, tell u, very siong till i cry n pump, need to sit upright too... cos i got an internal tear too. hubby took pity on me n rush out to get e avent electric pump... :p
with e electric one, i just need to hold e bottle n can lay on my side.. hehhee..

Finally I know the gender of my baby. The doctor confirm is a girl. So happy.

I'm also staying in Jurong West St 61. But can't join you gals for the meet up session cos quite busy till Chinese New Year.

congrats Babe!
now u can start shopping!

Shers, i think weekday is good for me...coz weekend is busy busy for the old folks and family

Weekday meet up:
2)jamie
3)915

Weekend meet up:

Re: Breast Shells
Jen, i bought the avent breast shells too, but can't collect much on one side, in the end it's like a circus balancing act, must hold that breast shell then another hand use the electric pump...tied wearing nursing bra to hold the shell but in the end gave up. Must say tat PIS is my saviour! luckily i din spend alot on PIS coz it's 2nd hand and i bought the new tubing so it's quite hygienic in that sense.

oh btw if anyone is interested in the breast shells, i dun mind giving away.juz pm me. I've used it less than 5 times.

Re: Diahorrea

Jamie, juz monitor..if ur diahorrea doesn't get better then better see a GP for medication early...coz sometimes too much diahorrea will cause the anus to be sore and the germs gets passed to the vagina which can caused infection... there is a medicine which is safe for preg--> lomotil but i think need prescription.

mummies, please add yr name in the above table. i might not be able to read the posts in time..

RE: pumps
i found that manual pump is better though very tiring and arm ache because can really empty milk supply.. for electri pumps, i found that can relieve the 'rush' of milk but not as efficient as manual..

anyway i used both!! whahaha.. i used electri pumps 1st then towards the end, i used manual pump to 'empty' completely.. hehhee

jacquise,soh
i have a cat too. medium long fur. thing i do is try bathe her once a wk, give healthy food so she drop less fur,avoid cleaning the poo. sometimes no choice, just wash hands more. I also read if got cat long time, auto immune to toxo.

first time my cat smell a baby is when my baby nephew first come to the hse - my cat is scared. even dun want to enter the room where he is staying. after a few months, she pluck up courage and tip toe into room. she just smell him only. my cat very passive so its more of my nephew bully her. as he grow up, she get more afraid and hide whenever he come

for my 17mth girl, my cat more manja. old cat so got times she get moody and try to scratch my girl. but thats becoz my girl kacau her sometimes.mostly both my girl and cat manja towards each other.

my aunt loves cats but avoid having when her kids are young. one of them has asthma. now that her kid is p2, she just start have a cat. she noticed he is more healthy after have cat. Iguess build immunity.

some studies show that kids build stronger immunity when got pets. my sceptical hubby disbelieves it but I refuse to give up my 12yr old cat. she been with me 10yrs. so far so gd ;)

Nigra line
Hey thats rather true. That day i was showing my hubby, ask him why Haphazard one my line!!! And Im really carrying a girl. Today I asked sumone to guess the gender and she say my tummy clumsy, shape a bit irregular like some parts rounder, then she say "GIRL"... hahaha.

Cats
Cool! So total of 3 May mummies have kitties. Daec, That's a very senior cat! 12 yrs. But so cute, scared of babies. My fren brought her toddler girl here b4, my cat also scared as the kid violent. Pat hard n want catch her tail. So she scared of the kid, hid under the table. Lol! My kitty is rather mild. So i hope will be fine. Just possessive.

Meet up
Count me in!

Weekday meet up:
2)jamie
3)915
4) Jacquise

I suggest we wear nametags with our nicks and our real names beneath it. hehe. :p Has may mums met up b4? We can always eat out. Then no need to prepare n wash. I know Jan mummies in this forum love to BBQ. but a lot of trouble.

Cats.
My cat is 4 years old and she is an "european noir". Just a nice name for common black cats here. I don't think we will be immune to toxoplasmosis by spending time with cat. I have my cat since 4 years and never caught toxoplasmosis virus. My monthly blood test confirms that and I hope I don't get it while pregnant. Also, I know of other french ladies who live with cats all their lives and never get it too. My cat is scare of toddlers but with babies, she is ok. She ignores them.

Leg cramps
Grace - You can try to wear compression socks during the day. My gynae gave me medicination for leg cramps. I ate them for 3 days and wear compression socks every day. Now, no more leg cramps. Hope that helps.

Ginseng
Anyone got advise if we can take ginseng chicken soup?

Hi soh,
A fren told me that cannot take ginseng while preggie as will cause contractions. I dunno how true is that, but my philosophy is to eat in moderation.

Leg cramps
I get it too! Esp at nite. gynae say due to my job, walk a lot.. so water retention. sigh.

Anyone did rebonding recently ? I ask gynae, she says its ok... but many pple say bttr nt.

I cant stand my messy hair ah... want to be a pretty preggy lady.... somemore festive seasons around the corner....

wat u ladies tink ?

Poohwei!!!!
So qiao, was surfing to find my frd n see u in this thread!!! Ur #2 is a may baby?!! =D Know gender already? Heheh.

Jacquise,
I have 2 ragdolls and I told my gynae abt it when I was preggy n she said not to worry coz I have been with the cats for so long, and in singapore, she have not come across a case of baby infected with toxo. Not to worry! I also kiss my cats alot on the mouth even when preg, jus never clear poopies only.

My baby do not have asthma. Infact, when she was ard 2-3 mths old, one of the cat will always jump on the bed n snuggle with her. =D
However, we did get air purifier to clear away the danders just to be safe. My bed got alot of fur and my baby takes her naps there. Not prob at all till now.
However, because my 2 furry balls shed alot (it juz takes 2 days to see furballs floating everywhere) and that time my girl started to cruise, we shaved the cats botak. It help alot with the shedding, just that they look ugly w/o their soft long fluffy furs. Better this way also la, coz my gal likes to pick up things n put into her mouth. Now she can walk, she chases the cat when she sees one n will lay ontop of them ala wrestling style. She loves to tug at their tails also and they allows her to do so. My cats very into SM, I guess. lol

Wow! So many JW mummies!! I stay in st 65 too! Next to pioneer mall! =p

Okie, im outta here. If need any help with cats issue, PM me. =D

Wow... So many animal lovers in Motherhood!

Anymore dog owners MTB?
My 2 dogs shed like mad also esp my mongrel, but they are already short coat "botak", cannot shave down liao wor.
LOL

Hi Gingerleaf!!

Yeap, mine will be a end May baby..now 14weeks only..so cannot tell gender yet.

Re: Breastshells
It is useful if you are blessed with a lot of BM. I needed it cos the other side will leak a lot(at least 10-20ml) when my gal is latching on one side. It will help you to cut cost on breastpads! (Think Pigeon breastpads cost $8.90 for a box of 42 pieces..need ard 4 pieces each day.)

Morning mummies !!

Wow so many Jurong mummies, tho' I dont stay in Jurong, I went there almost daily to fetch my ger from MIL's place. She stays at St 91

Firefly,
I went to highlight my hair recently but my gynae's nurse said rebonding cannot cos the chemical will get "in touch" with the scalp.

Re leg cramps - maybe due to lack of calcium, think need to increase milk intake to 2 glasses.
Gyne said if i not taking 2 glasses then she will ve to give me calcium pills.

I got leg cramps ard 3rd trimester for my 1st preg n dat gyne also said e same thing.

i got a colleague worse, she got leg cramps right from e start of e preg n all e way till birth (some times,1 leg, sometimes both n cramp till leg swollen), even with double dose of calc pills also no help cos she never drinks milk at all (not before or even during)

re doing of hair - frankily, if u dun do more than a few mths once then is ok lah..
cos is more application for ppl who needs to color hair like once a mth or even twice a mth (then no good)

to play safe, u do when enter into 3rd trimester cos bb fully formed liao...then again means a few more mths goign to deliver so dun waste $$ cos confinement is 'ard e corner'

i only washes my hair like 3 times in e whole confinement period n when i came out of it.. i looks like a mess :p

when i step into e salon for a 'good wash', e ppl there keeps telling me my scal condition is so so bad n if i dun 'do' anything abt it i'll be bald in 6mths time.. (i kept telling them i just came out of confinment).. n know wat, they kept pushing their treatment package to me.. my eyes nearly pop out ($2999 leh) when i said no they told me to consider e $1999 package instead.. *faint*

i tot rebonding won't get into scalp unless chemical touch scalp? but rebonding wont do all the way to scalp otherwise very flat so it wont affect rite?

oh i THINK my diarrehoea no more! yay!

Leg Cramps
I got drink Similacmum(milk) also same, every night leg,hip cramps / very pain and walk to toilet got problem also =.=''
This problem start from my 2nd trimester, 13week onward ..I noticed that my baby dun like milk if i drink more then 2 cup per day sure vomit out de

Herbs
Ginshen and Pao shen not the same, right? I drink Pao shen /gao li shen to help me and my bb more healthy, reduced tiredness.

piggypig,

my appt was 4pm initially then assistant called me and changed to 630pm.. but i waited till 720pm then my turn.. expected lor..

initially tot can see baby's gender, but my baby's legs closed tight tight.. Dr Tham tried to scan from another side, baby turned also.. gosh~~~

Dr Tham is going holiday for 1 month so he says he will scan for me again.. hopefully my baby is co-operative by then.. He even says that he wanted to 'guess' for me also no chance..

i asked him how to see thru his machine.. he says 3 lines means girl.. if boy can see birdie already..

grace - do u drink before preg? cos if like dat that may means dat u dun ve much calcu in u so when preg, bb will take calc from mum cos they building their bone mah.. maybe u can get gybe to give u calc pills but e pills can cause constipation.

Re: MEET UP

So far only a few mums willing to meet up??? too shy?? whahaha... or hair too messy?? hehehe..

nevermind la.. we r all messy mums!! somemore most of us here have at least 1 kid so even messier??

COME OUT!!

I realised most of the mummies stay at Jurong area.. are u willing to travel?? i can book the function room at my place or even BBQ? but this type of season, better dont take BBQ because cant afford to fall sick.. xmas round the corner and somemore CNY is coming..

depending on no of mummies willing to come out.. if only less than 10, maybe we eat out? BUFFET?

if more than 10, we can order mini high tea??

hi shers,
mine also cant see gender, bb in sitting position, dr tham so cute say bb havent come out want to read already.. my next appt is dec 16, 2nd day after he's back, sure must wait very long one lo..

me 1st time mummy, more shy, dun know how to take care la, now like sloppy auntie :p

how many weeks are u now?

JEN > No, before preggy i dont like to drink milk .. gynae got give me 2 type of calcium tablets, so i eat the tablets only. I know myself NOT enough calcium now tat's y started to eat calcium food like popcolli, bread now.... too late?! i dun want suffer every mid night haizzzzzzz

piggypig,

me 16 weeks now.. and next appt is 23 dec.. heard that he will be away on 26 dec again..

for me, i look more sloppy in my 1st and 3rd tri.. 1st tri, very tired and puking plus ms.. 3rd tri, very heavy and very hard to look pretty mummies.. whahaha.. only look slightly better in 2nd tri..

RE: Meet Up

Which month u mummies prefer?? Dec before xmas or after? by dec, most mummies will be in 2nd tri and will look best!!!

Count me in too!

Weekday meet up:
2)jamie
3)915
4) Jacquise
5)Baby_May_09 (prefer dinner after work)

Weekend meet up:
2) Baby_May_09

I think some of you misunderstood. I don't stay in Jurong, I stay in Punggol. Anywhere central is fine with me.

grace - frankily, if got cramps now not so good cos meaning not enough calciu... but only way now is to reduce e cramp cos cramp too much, e calf area very sore..
but only way is increase calcu intake

Yoz...me on leave today. Clearing leave too.

I like to join in the gathering too. =)

Weekday meet up:
2) jamie
3) 915
4) Jacquise
5) Baby_May_09 (prefer dinner after work)
6) SK (prefer dinner after work, excludes Wed & Fri)

Weekend meet up:
2) Baby_May_09

I believe there are more Jurong mummies here. Come on, join us~! =D

Constipation:
I passed out watery stools yesterday and just now. Dun think it's diarrhea. Feel so good now. Extremely smelly cos too long no excretion. :p Thanks so much to a cuppa of prune juice in the morning.

I just want to clarify. This gathering is not for Jurong Mummies. This is for ALL May Thread Mummies. So ALL are welcome to join. BTW, I'm not staying at Jurong also.

<font color="0000ff">Hi Mummies,

Sorry to intrude

Am starting a Blue Egg Milk Bag Spree.

It is breastmilk storage bag. Storing breastmilk and freezing it. Then you can use it on the go.

Self standing
Easy sealing with DOUBLE ziplock
BPA Free
Freezer safe
Pre-sterilized
Leak proof
Store up to 210ml (7 oz)
Double layered (it is very tough)
FDA approved of material used (100% safe)
Country of origin: Korea (25 bags per pack)

$6.50 per box

Pls PM me if you are interested

Need to have a MOQ of 50 boxes

i would like to join in the gathering too.

Weekday meet up:
2) jamie
3) 915
4) Jacquise
6) SK (prefer dinner after work, excludes Wed &amp; Fri)
7) feb_mum

Weekend meet up:
2) Baby_May_09

Meet up
Can we meet sumwhere central? I live in the east. hehe. And i'll get lost in the west, esp Jurong. Haha. Actually im fine with wkend too.
Mini buffet is gd idea. But sumone has to open up their house. Oh yes, are the daddies invited?hehe.

Dye hair/rebonding
I asked my gynae also whether can dye hair as my white hair all coming out. ERGH! Then she say better to wait till after detailed scan. When u know all's well, eg: no cleft lip, the cleft lip wouldn't appear thereafter if u dye ur hair. So i cant wait for 16th Dec. But ill still use those DIY dye with no ammonia n peroxide to be safe la.

Cats
Gingerleaf, Oooh... ragdolls!!! I love them man! So adorable. they haf fur like persians but the face cuter, not so "chao-bin" (smelly face) like persians. Hiack hiack. we quite strict with our kitty. Not allowed in the MBR. So never on our beds!

Anyone has good confinement lady to introduce? I need to find someone to cook and take care of the baby for the 1st month especially when we can't tiuch water.

Seems like more and more mummies joining in....

I love to meet up too !

Weekday meet up:
2) jamie
3) 915
4) Jacquise
7) feb_mum
8) firefly (prefer after work, central or west area)
Weekend meet up:
2) Baby_May_09

-Legs cramps-
Jen, i think i got take enough calcium now..dont worry :)

Soh, thanks for da advice and i'll try it. Btw, wear the compression socks not feeling hot when sleep?! hope can help it but my gynae told me is very common symptoms for a preggy women, no medication can help.....

-Baby gender-
Today visit my gynae (Just changed from Raffles gynae to another gynae and signed e package), this gynae guess is baby boy. When i scan for downsymdrom (12weeks)in Raffles Hospital e gynae very confidenced to tell us tat is baby girl-80% and now scan again is boy, so confusing =.=

This time i confirmed is baby BOY le
erm..seem like alot of baby cow boy =)

-Meet Up-
I really tired to going out now. After work i will rush back and rest and rest and rest! cos 1st preggy super tired &amp; nt used to it..........

All mummies enjoy for the gathering w/o me =)

-Legs Cramps-
Jen> I dun think is lack of calcium only for my problem now cos i eat porridge too often due to no appetited when 1st trimester until now, alot ppl told me must stop it cos too cooling

I dunno this true or not ...

I would like to join the gathering too..

Weekday meet up:
2) jamie
3) 915
4) Jacquise
7) feb_mum
8) firefly (prefer after work, central or west area)
9) vera (prefer after work, central or JP)

Weekend meet up:
2) Baby_May_09