(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

SK,

Yeah lor.. :p Now having holidays. hehe... No holiday plans lah...

915, what's the yoga place called?

adv_sports, which part of west u stay in? im at st 65..

adelyee, ur edd is may 29? sama sama ah! ha ha! but urs can tell gender alr?! im so excited! my next appt is on 28 dis month! i hope doc can tell me the gender le!

by the way girls, im having gastric pains quite often recently.. cuz i tend to forget that i haven't eaten or i over estimated my hunger tahan time.. anyway, would u guys know if it'd affect baby cuz of the gastric juices and all..

I be visting my gynae on Tue. Hopefully by then I can know the gender of my baby.

Is taking fish oil very good? I will be checking with my gynae on Tue whether can I take fish oil.

Hi Jamie,
I'm also having gastric on and off. I have told my gynae and he told me its common. I guess not much of an issue. But its better to have regular meals if not your baby will be hungry.

hi babe, yea fish oil is good for development of baby's brains.. i know my x colleague takes fish oil as she says she cant stomach any type of fish anymore. so in order to compensate, she takes fish oil..

i've had gastric 2 days straight cuz i forgot that i haven't eaten.. stomach full of gas and so painful.. manage to eat only abit cuz too much jus makes e gas n pain worse.. sigh..

Hi BabyAtom,
I stay in Punggol, I think it is very far for you to come to my house all the way from Jurong west.

Where do you work? If you are really interested, we see whether we can meet somewhere central or convenient for you to try to pants before you decide.

FYI, according to the website, size M is for hip sizes around 41 and 42.5 inches. I think it is quite accurate, cause the jeans which Old Navy delivered the right size to me fits me very well and still have room for my expansion cause the material is very elastic.

Hi Jamie & Babe, you all take care. Gastric can be quite painful and take a long time to recover. Try to snack every now and then before you all are hungry.

Hi JRTlover,
Finally, exams are over for you. Good for you, can enjoy your 2nd trimester during the holidays.

I went to the book fair at Suntec and bought some baby books and flash cards yesterday. Most are at 20%, but I tried not to buy too much. I went with a budget of $50 in mind and managed to just exceed abit. Today is the last day of the book fair, but I check with the cashier and she says there is another one coming up in Expo at end December. So for those who are interested, can look out for the one in end December.

RE: Baby Talk

I am attending the baby talk at Pan Pac next Saturday. The topics covered are quite similar to the first two talks that I attended, one of the topic is on baby massage. But I still signed up ($25 per couple for this round), cause finally my husband can accompany me to the talk as he is out of town for the last 2 talks.

RE: Tollyjoy Sale

I am very tempted to go, but afraid that it will be very crowded and hot. I also wonder whether it is too early to purchase baby clothings now.

yeah yeah...

Can slowly do my shopping for baby's stuffs once I confirm gender..hee... :p Looking forward to my appt 2molo!

Re: CL

I have found a CL and confirm some payment with her.
*happy*.

Anyone hv gd pre-natal post natal massage lady to recommend? I went to the thread for those recommendations but it seems like the ppl who posted are the person themselves. self-promoting i say...

baby may, i know.. i trying to rmb to at least snack btw meals.. by the way, u stay j.west too? which part? im at st 65.. we can meet for lunch or wat sometimes! =)

good morning ladies

caught the flu bug from a lady on the bus(sneezing n coughing without covering her nose/mouth)
slept thru the whole weekend but developed a cough... dun wanna take medicine -- so need to tahan till the virus subsides by itself... hope my baby will not be affected!

re: MS
since i got the flu, MS stopped! think bb know mummy is sick

915, thanks... m drinking loads of water due to my flu... hope the whatever yoga new instructor is suitable for you

JRT, enjoy ur new-found freedom! ur baby cow will be a smart bb
hope u will know the gender today!

hoops&yoyo, congrads on ur good NT & blood tests results for ur twins! u r carrying twins -- so normal to hv bigger tummy
do take gd care!

jamie, i m staying at jw st 41..

I can join the JW mummies next year for gatherings when I am back in NIE....wahhahaha...
Seems like quite a no of JW MTB...

Thanks for all ur well wishes.. into my 2nd trimester now.. looks like things are getting better. Hopefully all mothers in the first trimester will hang in there... ;p

Can't wait for the next scan...cos maybe able to see the sexes of my 2 bouncing babies..my family is now playing a game- Guess the sexes..haa..

Morning mommies

gender: i got a confirmation from my gyne liao.. hehehe.. is a BOY!!!

initially gyne can't see n there e umbilical cord blocking e way... when she said 'seems like nothing there, was a bit disappointed' :p

then she scan from another position n wala!! so obvious n she confirm n said ok 99% sure liao.. 100% is during detail scan bbut later she said if wanted to buy bb clothing n go for 'blue' color.. n smile at me.. hehehehe

my detailed scan is schedule for 16th afternoon cos gyne goign on leave from 17th onward till after new year leh..
wonder if she going on leave in may? hope not!!

Hey Jen, is ur gynae Joycelyn Wong? Im also doing detailed scan on 16th Dec as she will be on leave... I wonder what are the Dec mummies gonna do!

Hi Jac

Yes, same gyne
should to do my detail scan later around 19th onwards but she on leave so need to schedule early but 'not too early' too so ended up on e 'last day' so rush i find

thik her clinic other gynes will help to stand in for her.
Hope when our turn comes, dun go on leave can liao..

hoops,

If yours is one boy one girl then perfect hor....
Able to tell yours is identical twins or non-identical one? I am so excited for u too!

Jen, What time is yr detailed scan? Mine is at 2pm

Tollyjoy Sale
I was the only mummy to be with smallest tummy but bot quite a bit of stuff lor. I bought a steriliser - made in germany for only $79. clothes - $15. one set was 3 for $5 and one set was 5 for $10. The bibs were those furry material- very cute designs - 3 for $3! Rocks. I bot pinky clothes & bibs.. so the gynae better be right that it is 90% girl or i'll "bian" her. hahaha! Told my hubby can sell to other mummies here with girls if the detailed scan shows otherwise. haha. Think girls they cannot confirm chop so soon. But boys they can. haha.

Strangers looking at bump
Went to buy wantan mee just now and i was wearing quite a tight tee which could show my bump. the wantan mee aunty stared at me as though i was a freak. So rude. grrrr... Then she see already, she nvr small talk me.. ask me hw many mths etc...strange... made me feel conscious!

haahaa..everyone around me is getting more excited than me.. cos both my hb and my family history have no twins..and we did not go for IVF (some frens actually thot we went for IVF- where got money..??

We do hope for 1 boy, 1 girl.. but of course healthy is most impt.. mine is fraternal twins (non-identical)

Jacquise,

They are envious of our bump....lol
The pple on the MRT pretend to sleep when they see my bump,haha.. I got the habit of wearing tight tee top with flare pants/skirt also... :p

Hi Jen & Jac,

Mine gynae is also Joycelyn Wong.... 1 will be seeing her on 3rd Dec after my amnio at 930am...

When will she be back from leave ?

Cant tell mine BB gender yet.....hope can see on my next visit.

Jac - i got mine at 3pm n see gyne at 4pm.. this is the earliest appointment i can get from her.. tot can go in e morning (can take MC again) but 3pm so taking half day leave.

Cats
other than dogs, any mummy here has cats? I hope that my cat can get along with my bebe next time. Some pple say cats will cause babies to have athsma... some say build resistance in babies. Dunno lah.. but i will not bear to gif away my kitty. Now she sitting at my foot. Puuurrfect companion! Meow!

Hi Firefly,
tink she back only in early Jan.

Jen, i plan to take MC. the MC does not reflect the time of consult wat. Just stay home in the am, the MC reflects one day i suppose. I nvr taken MC frm her as im in a sales job. V flexible. i think i will see u at the radiographer's. heh. Ours just an hr apart and the scan takes abt half an hr?

Jacquise,

I got 2 short coat dogs at home and they shed like crazy at times. Talk about allergy man. Just remember to keep the place clean will do.
We will do the neccessary to prevent any possible "problems".

My dogs are a purrrfect couple too.
and are my great companion when hubby is working. Woof!

firefly - heard from her gals, she will only be back after the new year.

jac - ya think we will be meeting each other there.
Thinking of taking MC but too busy leh, but i will see how when e date is closer. ;P

jac, i went to the sale too! but i no bump yet and ppl gave me weird looks after bio-ing my non existent bump. haha! i have 2 dogs, a jap spitz n a yorkie. . the irony is that the spitz was given to me by a colleague who found out she's pregnant and was worried abt fetus getting asthma or wat. that time i wasn't pregnant yet. she sheds twice a year.. dunno how when baby pop out. im currently doing dog boarding too so sometimes i have up to 5 dogs at home. will quit after cny la.. by then got bump hard to take care of dogs also..

jrt lover, im guessing ur 2 short coats are jrts? they shed 24/7?

all jurong west ppl who are busy shaking leg at home all day! let's meet for lunch sometime this wk! on bo??

hi jamie, even the tollyjoy aunty asked my hubby when deliver when we ask abt warranty for the steriliser...then she commented "Aiyo, still got so long!" Nvm la, we buy for motivation. the tiny clothes so cute. makes me look fwd to seeing daughter wear it. hehe. Take it as emotional support for us.

Wow dog boarding! Do u haf to bathe them too while boarding them? i suppose mostly will be dog lovers. Where are the cat lovers? hehe. Mine is long fur coat sumore. SUper vain. Love to groom.. So fur all over. sigh.

Cats
Hi jacquise, I have a cat as well. Gynae advised us strongly to put our cat with someone else cos I am not immuned to toxoplasmosis. Cat's stool, uncooked meat (not well done) and salads that are not well cleaned can contain the virus. No gardening as well. After much research online and speaking to our vet, we decided to keep our cat with precaution. If your cat is an appartement cat and does not get into contact with garden soil or hunt for dead birds, there's nothing to worry about. Our cat is strictly an appart cat. I don't clean the cat's litter. If hb is away, I will wear gloves before cleaning her litter. Everytime I sayang her, I wash my hands right away. I have to do blood test every month to make sure that I did not get toxoplasmosis during my pregnancy. It's a french practice here. We love our cat and will just vaccum our home more often when baby is here. We just realised that our gynae is too extreme cos she does not like cats!

Cool Soh!!! wat breed is ur kitty? Mine is a stray but has very lovely long brown fur and a thick ruff, with white tuxedo. Suspect she's been abandoned. U mean there's a blood test for toxo? What's the name of the test?Hubby said we r naturally immuned to it after sum time if we have cats. Ya i avoid the poo too. And she is an indoor cat. Strictly indoors.

jaime,

So happy to find a fellow dog lover here!

Wow.... U got a Jap Spitz!! Jap Spitz are gorgeous! I used to board dogs too,but up to 3 dogs.. dare not house 5 dogs...LOL..wait kena complain.

I was about to take in another JRT before knowing that I was preggy. Also coz of my neighbour preggy scared shedding cause allergy. But hold back the idea when I discover preggy. 3 dogs is too much to handle!

I got a JRT and black mongrel.

Re: gender

Back from my gynae's visit. Baby cow not very cooperative today wor...all curl up. But from the scan we saw 3 lines which suggest that is a girl. Gynae dare not confirm must wait till detailed scan on the 19th. A bit disappt sia but gynae says that baby cow is growing well.
Happy!

I finally have the time to surf this page again! Hope everyone and BBs are well!

Last week had been a crazy week, thanks for all your concerns, my FIL is well but I was down with very bad flu by the end of last week! must have caught it in the hospital! It was so bad i had to keep taking medicine or else I can't sleep at all (nose blocked can't breathe, keep coughing). I'm still having bits of sore throat and cough now and I lost my voice, sounds like a duck now. Still coughing and blowing out lots of phlegm. I'm so worried that taking so much medicine and coughing so much may affect baby. I hardly feel it move these days (altho' it wasn't moving much in the first place). I can only feel it (a bump) when i lie flat on the bed. i can't wait for my next gynae visit to confirm that it's well and healthy, despite me being so sick.. it's busy weeks at work also can't take much MC..

Re: Yoga
adv_sports and 915, sorry couldn't make it for the yoga session. now sick also cannot go. 915, pls share your experience with WhateverYoga once u'd gone for the lesson. I'll probably start once I recovered..

Re: Breast pumps
A question, when's the best time to get it? Which brand are u girls getting? I'm thinking of getting ameda from US but worried about the warranty leh..

Re: Things to buy for BB
i just realised that there are so many things to prepare for the new arrival with Flommy's lists! *faint* I missed the tollyjoy sale (cos was in bed all weekend). hope there'll be more sale soon! anyone been to baby kingdom or hyperstore at kaki bukit? are the things there much cheaper than outside?

Re: Baby bump
my tummy seems to be getting bigger these days. my hubby also shocked. a lot more colleagues are asking about it. but still no one give up seats on MRTs. i can feel the weight of my tummy if i stand too long or walk too far. think must quickly shop for baby things while i can before i get too big..

Re: Formula milk for mummy
Anyone thinks that it's too heaty? i dun dare to drink the milk these days cos already very heaty scared will get worse..

Everyone have a good day ya!

gd morning ladies.

Tiny_M,welcome back to the forum and glad everything is settled

Re: Yoga
I think my Yoga has to be put on hold for now coz yesterday morning suddenly got some bleeding. Went to the gynae, now on the whole week mc. Seems like this time round my preg not very smooth..got abit of contraction that's why got the blood. Now gynae advised me to hold back on exercise until 1 mth later

to share my experience. I bought 1 medela single mini electric when i was 8 mths preg previously to save $$ coz i dunno whether i got milk or not...then realised that single pump really is not ideal for pumping coz 1 breast will leak while pumping the other breast....so in the end during my 1st mth i bought a 2nd hand PIS and it served me for the whole year and i am going to use it for #2 now too..

good morning ladies

tiny_m, wish u speedily recovery! i started coughing which will take a long time to heal

915, rest well and take good care!

regina, the yoga teacher, heard abt my MS and suggest i change my diet -- instead of bread, change to food that is easier to digest like porridge, chee cheong fun etc. and drink more honey/lemon water. so far, my MS is slowly easing
do it a try if u r still having MS.

tiny_m,

i suggest no need to buy 1st because u will be 24/7 with baby for at least 2-3 months. When baby is hungry, then latch on. the more u latch, the more supply u will have. If u r worried, can get Avent manual pump 1st.. this is for in case.. subsequently, when u r going back to work and pumping at home, can consider dual electric pump.. i bought ameda dual electri.. recommended by my massage lady.. i will use Avent manual and ameda dual.. like what 915 mentioned, if use manual, another side will leak.. like very wasteful..

Re: Things to buy for BB
its good to buy alittle each time.. at least u dont have to be panic when yr dd is drawing nearer.. my suggestion, go to kiddy palace or any other baby shops (where u have more discount), what u see there, grab!!

Re: Baby bump
this is my 2nd pregnancy and its more obvious in tummy. and if i wear tight top i get to sit.. hehehe.. so i think depends on what u wear?

Re: Formula milk for mummy
i didnt take fm for mummy for no 1 and this pregnancy.. cannot stand the smell and taste.. so i have been drinking HL milk once a day.. either in the morning or before i slp.. at least got enough cacium for bb to absorb.. not to worry also.. because yr gynae also gave cacium tablet for u to take daily. plus, i eat bread and cheese daily. i think i have more than enough cacium.

just my tots

jac, yea will bath them as long they stay a wk w me.. but some owners very pattern one.. will pass u a smelly dog so u'll have no choice even if it's only for 3 days also will bathe..

baby may n sk, i stay blk 630 behind boon lay sec.. u guys? im incredibly excited cuz i dunoo many ppl who stay in jurong!

adv sports, where do u do ur yoga again? sorry i forgot..

tiny m, i went to baby hypermart just few doors away from baby kingdom.. prices not very sure but i know there no combi strollers.. alot of choices for strollers and car seats but not many for cots..small items like milk bottles that kind think it's abt same price de.. there's a baby avenue at balestiar which is hypermart's sister co.. u can go see see..
how many wks r u now? im at 14 and im still drinking the dreaded milk.. didn't know it'll cause heatiness.. wat will happen if body too heaty?

915, ur yoga place name so cute.. watever yoga.. ha ha! i also need to join 1 le.. too unhealthy n unproductive la me.. flabs might develop.. breast pumps.. they're so expensive la.. is manual one ok or go for the electronic one straight?

Milk
There is this anlene packet milk 125ml. 4 packs for $3.80. contains 4X more calcium. I like the chocolate one, so i try to take at least one pack a day though recommended to take 2 packs a day. Easy to drink and yummy. I dun really like milk so the chocolate helps a lot.

Cough
Mummies, better to take medicine when coughing. Gynae also advised me to take med. She said some mums cough too hard cause bleeding, which can be troublesome. In our 2nd trimester already, all our foundation already built. So not so worrying.

Did gynae tell u wat caused the bleeding? How come suddenly like that? U take care.

halo all,

I still feel very tired and wake up in the every mid night ..leg cramps!! 2nd trimester still feel the same le TIRED ............

They ask me talk to baby but cow baby not listen to me still wake me up in the mid night cannot sleep =(

Hi Shers, I am interested in the meet up. Where and when would you all want to meet up?

Hi Tiny_M and 915, rest well and take care of yourselves.