(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

SK - I was there 1140am then went baby bazzar and bought the Fridge to Go.. cheaper than Tangs by $12.

RE: Constipation
Last month, I got this prob too.. Gynae told me to take prune juice.. It helps but taste so yucky..

Re: Baby talk
I left early, after the Cordlife talk, cos hubby needs to go buy some stuffs. Didn't sign up with Cordlife cos my hubby and I can't decide whether we wanna store BB's cordblood yet so wanna wait a while before deciding. i went for the bazaar also and was quite interested in the pumping' pal breast pump. vera, you bought the fridge to go only? did you buy the breast pump?

Re: Constipation
I'm having it now too! Can you imagine i ate a whole pack of seaweed and nothing came out for two days! I have to squat around to force it out. think better to take prune juice and do it the natural way than taking medicine. i better get some too..

May: I got a fren like your fren's situation also. Worse still is she was expecting twins. I dunno who her gynae is (cos we all dun dare to bring up this matter) and at first she calculated the due date wrongly (too early) then when it's was time to give birth, my fren had two stillborns. So sad and up till now, two years already, we all dun dare to talk about it cos she's still very upset.
I'll recommend you Dr Fong from Gleneagles. My cousin used to see him and my friend is seeing him now. My cousin had a very complicated pregnancy (almost 40 years old, low hormones level, previous M/C experience) but Dr Fong still saw her through her whole pregnancy and my cousin even managed to give birth to her very cute daughter naturally, even tho' her water bag got no water (dry birth). My fren and cousin both asked me to see him but Gleneagles too far for me, me very lazy to travel.

thanks TIny M..seems like there's alot of gd gynaes in gleneagles!
I'm now waiting for SGH to call me.. so i can get my blood test n NT scan report from them..

I also dun dare to call my fren yet.. jus sent her sms and sent a hamper over.. i really hope she will get over it soon.. carrying a bb to full term is not easy.. and yet she has to naturally deliver the bb out.. haiz

Tiny M - I didnt buy the pump cos my dad said his friend can help me get it at a discount.. now thinking back, I should buy 2 Fridge to go instead, cos it seems small to me..

Karen - I started shopping already.. cos next yr Feb onwards, its my busy season and need to OT everyday so better buy everything now while I am free..

iewwei - the nordic natural fish oil capsule very small so no problem in swallowing. if u using a laptop, e capsula looks abt e same size as those F1 function keys.. :p

normally i already ve constipation but last mth i got a very very terrible wan.
Cold sweat n almost black out twice in e toilet n i sat on e toilet till my V felt very sore n from dat day on, if i stand too long my V will feel sore.

but yesterday i just stand up n my V felt sore liao.. now very scared!! ve to wait till Friday to check with gyne :S

anyone got this feeling??

Re feeling for bb 'kicks'
think now if u lie on yr back u should be able to feel a few 'very small' movement... tonight can go home n try.

May: yr GF very poorthing, my previous gyne from geneagle dun recommend dat bb go pass due date cos she said placenta already deteriorating so bb not getting much nurtien and also 'soak' too long will get wrinkle skins when bb comes out.. so dun go pass..

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Morning all.!
How's everyone doing? Been quite sometime since i leave a note here... Other then cola and me knows the gender, anyone else??? How abt a chart to show our babies gender? =)</font>.

morn Xue

I hoped to confirm mine this friday... waited 'so long' liao...
hope dun be like my 1st born, can't see till brith n during e detail scan.. ppl gets gender female or male info while i got highly XX.. faint..

Jen... ya lor.. then the doc still can say, in UK they allow mummy to wait till week 42.. how can they jus assume rite...
im v v disaapointed.. tats y i intend to seek 2nd opinion..

Hi every1,

Being so long din drop by. How's every1? Seem that all of you have stop morning sickness liao.
So envy. Juz wonder when will mine stop sigh

2wks ago juz went into TMC for drip. feel so xin ku. sigh...

Re{ constipation.
u can try yogurt drink (half glass) or yakult or vitagen. cos i dun eat fruits everyday, sometimes lazy, so normally i wil drink this, but only choose 1 type to drink la. or can try eat yogurt.

after drinking my stool is soft and easy. everyday i go toilet nw.

Can try la.. :) hope its helpful to u guys.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Jen,
Hahhaaa.. Interesting.. hehe.. Hope u'll be able to know the gender this fri. =)

Yakult, Vitagen :
I drink 1 bottle of Yakult, Vitagen everyday after my dinner.. As my appetite increase, I tends to eat too much at night and cant slp.. heheee...</font>.

May: Do take your time to look around. I think Dr Fong quite expensive but he's very experienced. If you wanna change gynae, better quickly change so at least u get the peace of mind that everything is alright.

vera: are you getting pumpin' pal too? i was looking at bits of the demo and it looks quite good. but i didn't see the whole demo cos i was blocking the entrance to the bazaar so quite paisei and i walked away. is it better than the usual breast pump brands?

karen: i haven't started shopping at all! I'm going to make a list first (seems like so many things to buy!) and slowly buy. But i got advices to buy during 2nd trimester (which is now!) cos by 3rd tri will be too big to move around. aiyo.. so headache.. dunno where to start..

I dunno if seaweed helps but my hubby bought back a lot from his Korea trip and since it's fibre, i ate a lot but nothing still. think yakult helps. need to eat lots of fruits also i think..

xue: I can't confirm BB's gender during my last visit, have to wait till Dec.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> May,
When I had #1 i changed 2 gynaes before i settled for the 3rd one. Better to choose a gynae whom you're comfortable with....

Tiny_M,
Its ok.. Now is already mid of nov. Very fast de.. Mayb ur bb let you know earlier? =)</font>.

How come some ppl until nw dunno baby gender de? i tot 12week doctor already can tell us after the scan? my gynae when do the scan for DS can guess my bb 80% is girl le....but cant confirm yet

Anyone of you got drink Pao Shen? really gd chinese herbs to reduced tired .. i feel better but appetide still the same dun feel like eat everyday must eat sour or spicy! If nt, i will vomit coz e baby dun like v fussy =.=''

glenlyn - Its like a portable fridge. Its used to stored breastmilk for transporting..

http://www.fridge-to-go.com.sg/

Tiny_M - I will be getting Ameda instead. At the bazzar, the Ameda prices are not cheaper but they just throw in some freebies. I got a friend who used to work in baby dept in Robinsons, she said that Ameda is more popular and affordable than Medela and many customers buying that. So after reading more feedback online, I decided to get Ameda instead of the PIS

Jen - Hope you can see the gender this fri.. update us again ya

vera> Alamal, thought it's the normal thermal bags leh. I din really squeeze into the crowds to know more info. I stopped by the Ameda section ...think costs more than $300, think still early to decide which to get so din really stood there to see the demo. Looks interesting.

Hw much did you get yours?

Constipation > Managed to pass out something just now. Still got some blood and really dark stools. Eating pitted prunes now.

SK - ya the Ameda is selling for $399 there but with many freebies, usual retail price is $388 for only the pump set. My dad's friend checking it for me.. he said at least can get 25% off retail price.. so I waiting to hear back from him

Jen,

U ask yr Belle. Wan didi or meimei, wait for her to tell u lor.. :p According to Xue's boy, his guess very zun wor...

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Vera,
me too looking at Ameda le... hv gd feedbacks abt it as well... And cheaper too..

SK,
Oh dear.. Did you inform ur gynae abt this? hmmm...

JRT, Jen,
hahaaa.. yea. my boy is quite 准 la.. haha.. when my cousin had #2, she asked her #1 (daughter) want didi or meimie. She said meimei. And really after scanning, Dr confirm is girl girl... I had heard quite a few of the elder kid guessing abt gender and EDD as well. hahaaa.. the EDD guessing which happen my ex-coll's sis is quite amazing. Very 准 somemore.. haha</font>.

re: constipation

Is it really useful to drink yakult or vitagen? If so, maybe I should go and try.

Re: baby gender
Normally how many weeks can we know the sex. my gynae say can only know when doing detail scan but my colleague say can know it much earlier. Any advise?

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Joyce,
I drink Yakult/Vitagen is when i feels bloated or too full... Im not sure abt constipation... Mayb others can advise...

Baby Gender :
For me, at 11wks gynae saw smth pointing out bt cant confirm. Only confirm gender at wk 15. Provided gynae's machine is clear enough and bb is cooperative. But some like my fren and Jen's #1 only know when bb is delivered... </font>.

JRT &amp; Xue - me tried this morn liao, her answer i want to faint..

i asked her
Q - "belle, see mummy tummy, inside didi or meimei?"
A - "didi.... meimei"

so i tot i change it n asked again..

Q - "belle, here (point at my tummy), inside mei mei or didi?"
A - "meimei.... didi"
think she playing with me..

hope e gyne can tell me better cos my ger not telling me at all..

Ur girl very cute. hahahaaa... mayb u can try to ask again... then she will tell you... anyway hope you will know #2's gender soon. =)</font>.

xue - i think if she not confuse i will too cos my mum is babysitting 2 brothers (1 younger n 1 older) excluding her.. so sometimes, she will asked me didi where but thinking she is asking abt e younger bro cos she also asked me dat when i not preg time..
tot i try my luck this morn but think confirm with gyne better.. hahaha (less confusing for me)4 more days to go (i got e afternoon appt.. still need to wait till 2plus)

I am having 3 days MC, so in the mean while enjoying myself with my girl at home haha..

xue, jen,
As I dun want my girl to commit if the baby is meimei or didi, she has been calling it "baby" since the day i found out i am preg, i always encourage her to sayang baby which she has religiously done that everytime i sit down
will lean onto my tummy and say "baby.. muach (kiss)"

rc - same here, she will crawl to me in bed n hug my tummy n said 'i hug baby' n lift up my top to kiss my tummmy n said 'i kiss baby' but she also will try to lift me top in public when she feels like kissing baby.. *faint* :S
my ger very affection, e baby boy my mum looks after also kena hug n kiss (on e lip) often by her..
got a few times, she walks toward e older boy n said 'hug me, hug me', e boy replied 'go away!!!' hahaa

jen,
same! i think nowadays girl is more open then boy haha.. my girl was kissing xue's boy during his bday, and i think xue's boy a bit shocked haha..

My son same as ur girl leh.. sometimes in the public he oso tends to lift up my top and sayang/kiss my tummy... lol.

Cola,
yea... he's shocked... hahaha</font>.

HI ladies.. ur gals and boys so cute..

ya, u can try yakult or vitagen la, but remember my mum said can only drink once a day, if nt its too much.

vera (verafoon)
Txs for the info.. btw, u knw roughly is hw much?

Btw, ladies, any kind soul that hav a list of wat to standby or to buy nw since we can stil move around freely? sori , I'm a 1st time mummy, so v blur lei.. alot of things also haven buy yet.

txs in advance... :)

Glenn..
What i did during my #1, as buying all at one go will cost bomb, me and hubby bought 1 or 2 items every month

If there is sales, you can buy essentials like:

Bottle steriliser
Milk warmer
Bottles (at least 3 of them)
Cot (if you plan to let bb sleep in it)
T-shirts and Pants from 0 months - 2 months (each 6 pcs)
Stroller
Bsby caarrier/sling

wow thank you kind
ladies .. tats v nice of u guys, at least alot of us here can follow ur list. wow even with hospital bag lei.. comes in real helpful to us all.

Txs alot.

Btw, i thnk u guys better nt buy avent bottles, cos its nt BPA free. I'm thinking to buy glass milk bottle for my bb, but some say nt convenient if u wana bring out la.

any nice and cheap place we can buy those list?
find that kiddy place abit ex lei.

hi glenlyn,
I was also thinking of getting glass milk bottles but my colleague told me that baby will throw the bottles around when they can hold them. I was thinking of getting BornFree plastic bottles. (http://www.babybornfree.co.uk/) But no idea where to get them.

That aside, any ladies experience this? When I wake up in the middle of the night to go toilet, I can feel a lump on my lower tummy. It is hard and like the size of a ping pong ball. I feel it when lying on my back. Once back from toilet, I can't feel the lump anymore. What is it?

i cant feel it lei, soh.. u wana check with ur gynae? isit pain?

btw, i saw some forum says some other brand sell BPA free in singapore. Mayb i will go check it out.

u take care. tmrw i m gg for my oscar test in TMC.

Hi flommy, ur list r v comprehensive and gd. btw, can i check the one in red text is ur own notes or r u loaning me? pai sei.. i dun understand. hehe

hi verafone, i knw wats fridge to go alrd.. jus that i dunno the actual name for it. :) gd lor, u bought at a cheap price. dunno whr stil got disc.

I've missed the cordlife talk, u thnk they wil hav another talk soon since we r only delivering in may 09. wana sign up cordlife actually.

glen - actually avent also ve BPA free bottle.. do note that all BPA free bottle still selling quite X locally cos new mah.. there r a few Overseas BP on these bottles so if interested can consider.

glass bottle after steril very hot so not easy to handle them n breakable if afforable can consider but imagine u drop e diaper bag (which happens to me a few times) with e glass bottle inside.. siao liao!!!

I'm new in this thread and would love to share and join in the chat. I am currently in my week 15 and will be visting my gynae next week. My gynae told me I might be able to tell the gender of my baby, so excited.

I have been taking vitamins prescribe by my gynae but ever since taking the vitamins, I passed black stools. Anyone having the same prob as me? Very worry.

Babe > Hmm...I took the vits prescribed by my gyne too. Stools very very black. I wont dismiss the possibility that gyne's vits making my stools black but feel more likely that Im heaty.

Xue > Will inform my gyne on Thurs when I see him.

Vera > Im keen to get a set too. Can tong bang if I decide to get a set too?

Hi gals, I just had my blood test yesterday. They were going to draw 4 tubes of blood but stop at 3 cause my vein suddenly bulged. Don't know why it happens. Anyway, hope that the results are good. The blood test is about $170. I bought another Neurogain S fish oil, it cost $36 for 30 capsules.

The normal scanning during the check up show that I am expecting a boy. My detailed scanning will be 5 weeks later at my 21 weeks. Wow, have to wait so long to see baby. Maybe mine is package, that's why they don't want to see me so often.

Hi tiny_m, adv sports, 915, See you all at the yoga place tonight.

Hi Vera,

I got the same fridge to go as you. Bought the red one too!! The promoter was saying that black one will absorb too much heat. So far, the FTG served me very well. Can transport 1 day worthed of milk for baby to caregivers place.

RE: affectionate
My #1 who is 14 mth is getting very affectionate too. She will go around to hug babies. Think she prefer babies to toddlers of her age. But it has been very tiring looking after her now cos i share the same mattress with her on the floor and she will cry at 3am without fail every night. Hubby resorted to buying better mattress for me so that i wont get backache. Just wondering when i reach full term, how am i going to get up from the mattress....