(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Tiny M,
Brands essence of chicken is caffeine free. Not sure of others tho. I have Eu Yan Seng ones at home. Anyone knows if it's caffeine free? Beancurd skin with gingko nuts sounds yummy, I always thgt this is a 'cooling' dessert. So is safe to take?

JEN,
Thanks. That's really a hepful guide if we're sourcing for own fish oil. Btw, besides this to note of, is it necessary to get one which specifically states for pregnant/nursing mum? Currently my gynae prescribes Dhaxtra Softgel, 1 mth supply for $60. This is really ex!!

Tiny M,
Is this your no. 1 baby? I have both cot and playpen. But end up, my 2 kids sleep on the mattress on the floor. Cos I fully bf so very tiring + backache as they wake up every 2 hours. Must carry them put on my bed, feed, change diapers then put back to cot again. So end up, they all sleep in mattress so that as and when they wan to drink milk, I just lie down next to them. Very often, I end up sleeping with them. Haha.

Re: Scott fish oil
I think Scott's may not have "DHA at least 300mg, EPA <100mg" that Jen mentioned above. Better to choose the prenatal fish oil like Nordiac Naturals.

chocolat: I have EYS chicken essence at home too! dunno got caffeine or not leh.. i dunno if beancurd skin is cooling or not but if my mum asks me to eat, should be ok ba..

anxylyn: yah, this is my #1. we had a discussion with my parents before deciding to just get a mattress. easy to move from our room to their room if they're taking care of BB. quite practical and cheap also.

hey everyone!

I'm helping a friend recruit respondents for an online survey. The topic is on "Lifestyle". You'll be paid to do this survey so can earn some Xmas or New Year shopping money!

The incentive for doing this survey is <u>$60</u> for each completed survey. It will be paid in cash (collect from the research office at town area).

The criteria is as below:
1) 15-54 years old
2) Must be tech-savvy as survey is done online
3) Must not have participated in any research interview or survey from any company in the past 6 mths
4) Must not work in sensitive industries (eg. market research agency, advertising agency, public relations, media, brand development, brand marketing)
5) Only one respondent per household (so your parents or spouse cannot sign up if you're signing up)
6) Respondents must be able to speak, write &amp; read GOOD English (ARTICULATE)

Things to note:
1) Slots are given on first come first served basis so if you're interested, pls let me know asap.
2) Screening last about 5mins (Depending on the respondents response)
3) Survey will be done online, lasting about 2 hours. Respondents have a week to complete the suvey (can enter and re-enter in a week)

Pls PM me if you're interested!

Long time never log in, at home today, on MC..

Since my girl is still napping, i am thinking of probably dropping a note here.
Btw, went to gynae this afternoon, and I am at 15 wks already, baby is good, very active!!!
and guess what, we saw bird bird hehehe...! So this time round confirm, before we went out from gynae's office, he said "Just now u saw something sticking out rite?" so i guess confirm is a banana baby hahaha

Wow! Another boy! I am so looking forward to my 16 weeks appt.. Looks like those with boys can detect the gender faster.

Hi rc_cola,

Manage to find a contact over another forum. This member had dogs at home and the CL is ok... Hopes it work out fine after I got in touch with the CL.

rc_cola,

U got prolacta from gynae? How much? Mine is $55 for 2 months.
I think it is cheaper than the other fish oil outside.

JRT
I dunno how much ler hahaha.. coz that day when we bought it, itt is together with Iron supplement, calcium, and vit c + 100 tabs of prolacta (should last 3 months +).. total S$130..

Actually just trust your gynae lah haha.. things he recommends should be of nutritional value for the growing baby rite?

rc_cola,

Ya lah.. But I heard that some gynaes selling prolacta at different price wor...
Just want to compare, now jobless I very "calculative"...LOL

tiny - my room also platform so e cot is 'inline' with my mattress.. my ger 'sleep style' very jialit so need cot if not i think most time she will be sleeping on e platform instead.

Chocolate - same brand as u, i got 1 box from my gynebut 'long run' can't tahan too X liao.. but better to get fish oil for pregnant/nursing mum if not u can't get the following content, i have searched high n low for this content till almost give up.
"DHA at least 300mg, EPA <100mg"

Twinkle - if e Scott's (Pure Cod Liver Oil Capsules) have e following content then is ok but think most of e content is EPA > 100 which is not ideal
i got mine from this overseas spree (just got another 2 bottles to last till delivery :p)

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/1853078.html?1225861552

include local postage 1 bottle less than Sin$26 n can last 1.5mths... can consider.

915 - I dint see you at TMC just now.. prob today I didnt wait long for my turn. I left clinic at 3pm, not sure if you are there yet.. I looked around the clinic but dint see you.. prob next time ba.. so did you find out your bb gender?

My scan cannot shows the gender yet.. since most of the mummies here can tell if its a boy now, probably mine is a girl? Thats why cant tell now though I am already 16 weeks already..

RE: Babytalk
Glad that more mummies are going.. but its gonna be a long talk wor.. 12-6pm.. wait I fall asleep haha..

RE: Fish Oil
I am taking NeuroGain S (325mg DHA &amp; 32mg EPA) sold at my gynae's clinic.

RE: Baby cot vs Playpen
My auntie giving me a playpen, so will put at my IL house. Haven't decide whether to buy cot or let baby sleep with us at our own house, though I think my hubby more in favour with cot.

Baby Seminar
Hi tiny_m, Joyce, SK &amp; vera, I will be going for the talk tomorrow too. However, my husband is still overseas, so I will go myself.

Re: Yoga
Hi tiny_m, 915 &amp; adv_sports, my hubby going with me next Tuesday also. He still ask whether he can do also ha ha.

RE: Baby bump
Oh, have to mention today finally a kind soul give up her seat for me today. First time leh. Probably cause I was wearing a very loose top today. Maybe before today people were wondering whether I am fat or pregnant.

Baby May - thats nice.. so far I think everyone just think I am fat.. never meet any kind soul yet.. only got ppl snatching seats from me..

JRT - nope.. today is just the normal checkup with gynae.. the detailed scan is at 20wks, so I am going there in 4wks time but its inside the gynae clinic, no need go to TMC dept like OSCAR..

me just came back from gynae! cannot see BB gender leh.. think my gynae's scan machine too old and blur liaoz.. me and hubby quite disappointed but glad to know that BB is growing well.. Next appointment is 4 weeks later, aiyo, so long..

Re: Fish oil
Me think I'll get the Nordic Naturals one. Will ask my friend to buy from US and bring back to save on shipping fees.. :p

Re: Baby talk
I prob won't stay throughout the talk. too long liao.. need to run a few errands with my hubby in town also.. if stay until 6pm, i think my butt will cramp. hahaha..

Re: Yoga
If more hubbies are going, then prob my hubby not so paisei to go. let me know if your hubbies are going k? my hubby never do yoga before so he shy.. hahaha..

Jen: Hahah.. your kid is so cute. the space between my bed and the wall very small (only got walking space) so no way for the BB to roll on the floor at all. i dun even think i can squeeze in with BB.

Hi Vera,

I was also looking out for u. I reached TMC ard 3:15pm, prob i've missed u liao. when i reached there not many ppl ard outside Dr WK Tan's clinic.

My gynae said my baby is most prob gal but he will confirm again in 4 wks' time.

rc_cola, wow, congrads on ur bb boy
now u have a "hao" -- one daughter(nu) and one son(zi)

re: fish oil
my gynae prescribed natal care plus (nature care) - 60 capsules @ $56.12

re: yoga
tiny_m, my hubby is coming with me

re: seat
yup, this week also have a kind soul wanna give up his seat to me
but he was not sure whether i m pregnant or fat -- observed me for a while before finally asked me whether i need the seat... i declined as will to getting off at the next station...

Tiny_M > Gosh..think I wont be able to see bb's gender next week when I visit Dr Adrian? Kinda upset too.

Babytalk > Wonder if it's first come first served for the seating arrangement. I was told to arrive there early to collect goodie bag and visit the bizarre.

Till now, still can feel any baby's movement. Wonder if bb's doing fine.

RE: Gender

Congrats rc_cola on your baby boy. Btw, did you post that your gynae says you are most likely getting a boy in your previous check up at around 11 or 12 weeks. I have a vague recollection of this even though I am forgetful nowadays. Cause I was thinking wow, so good so early can know gender.

Seems like May is really a baby boy mth! well not all but most of them are boys... =)

re: Fish Oil
I'm looking for alternatives as well. currently my gynae is selling me NeuroGains (325 mg DHA and 32 mg EPA), $37.50 for a mth's supply. but the capsule is really big for me (2.2cm length, 1 cm width), coz i hate to swallow pills! so I have been poking it and drain it into my milo... yucks! smell really awful!

For the Nordic Naturals, is the capsule big? becoz i saw having to take 2 capsules, i don't mind swallowing twice as long as the capsule is smaller! can anyone advise the size? i can check with my gynae if that brand is fine to take... dun think she mind if i din buy from her, since she frowned and gave a yuck look when she heard i have to poke it and drink it instead... =S

i just realised i happened to buy a pair of Old Navy pants (with elastic band ) from F.O.S in Gentings First World Mall when i was having a holiday there 2 mths ago! it costs me only SGD8! I'm not aware its a maternity wear brand... shall check out singapore's FOS outlets. =)

Adv_sport, Baby May,

Yup i am the one whom my gynae suspected is a baby boy at 10 wks scan! Your memory is good!!

I remember a mummy here mentioned that May is a boy month, whilst Aug is also another boy month, but my girl is an August baby!

Normally those cant see one i usually girl, coz shy shy haha.. durin gmy girl's time never once did we saw her genital at all, everytime scan she will block her genital using her soles! Until late pregnancy, she grew too big, gynae also give up on seeing liao hahaha.. but his guess was a girl as well. IN my admission to hospital letter *before delivery* he put there MOST LIKELY GIRL haha

I can eat well now!!! can eat all sorts of things without yucky feeeling hehe!!! good sign??

Yest I fixed tomato mushroom spaghetti for the whole family, to my surprise, my girl took it quite okay hehe.. she had her normal porridge and small portion of spag
hubby commented it tasted good, he was on vegetarian diet for these 2 weeks!! Quite happy, it's my first time doing spaghetti hehe without the Prego sauce but from raw tomato puree hehe

JRT,
I think the price sold by gynae should be too much difference, so far I didnt really compare the price. It's very good on my girl, so should be quite good for this baby as well hehe..

The babytalk today esp the section on Mrs Wong boy boi's baby massaging was so entertaining. I signed up with Cordlife. Anyone done it too?

wow u guys sign up so early huh? btw, is the promotion gd? cos i overslpt, din go for the talk.

hw much isit? $6k plus right? wats the diff if we sign up later or nw? tout wait til 5mth onwards then sign up right?

hi baby may i read that u can feel movements at about 18 to 22 wks.. also if ur slim it's easier to feel the movements.. feels like butterflies in ur tummy or little ripples ba..

RE: Cordlife
The staff told me that if we sign up on that day, we do not need to pay the enrollment fees of $600 via cash. Instead, I can use the Baby Bonus CDA account to pay the whole amount in full. So far no need to pay anything until bb is born and the CDA account is opened. Its around 5K (for 21 yrs) after the TMC discount of $450.

Hi gals.. I intend to change doc liao.. is there any good gynae in gleneagles??

I'm so dissapointed with my gynae.. jus coz he is very pro-natural, my fren ended up with induce at week 41.. and on the very day, bb lost heartbeat.. my fren is so traumatised and sad abt it.. so.. i decided to change my gynae.. coz afterall, he is not able to tell me wat causes my bleeding (till now).. so sad..

Hi May,

Sad to hear from your fren's experience.

Dr Lisa Chin from Gleneagles is good. I am with TMC due to Gleneagles nt convenient from my work place for check-up. U may want to try her ?

Thanks Firefly..

I was crying badly after hearing the news too..

my fren introduced me a Dr Tan from Gleneagles.. don't know if he is good.. maybe I will see which gynae im comfortable with first ba... thanks....

ya.. according to my fren who was with her all the time, her bb is of gd weight, 3.1kg.. and has got her features.. apparently the umblica cord twisted.. thus resulted in tat..

Vera > I was there early thus was given a complimentary car park pass. Extra bonus of the day.

I got severe constipation problem currently. Already had this prob before preg. Think overly heaty. Any mummies also exp the same? Last night, I got bleeding. Din shit but got bleeding after I breakwind and urinated. Thought blood was from my V. So scary then some blood dried slightly than realised that only little blood was leaked from anus (not really from v). Sign.

Raad abt Dr Adrian's anti-consitpation medications taste horrible. Really eh? My next appt with him is coming Sat. Dunno can wait till then not. I have been eating like normal, appetite still okay but nothing been passing out lately. Kinda worried now. :-(

Mum made white fungus with longans for me to take. Say better than consuming bird nest which can be very chemically-made or fake. So started out last night. Bought prune juice too and hopefully can ease the consipation problem. *fingers X*