(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Hi Ah bunny,
I visited him at week 12 and yes you are right but will be confirmed again in my next visit
Looking forward to monday.....

SK - I'm using Carlsons wet wipes. The small packs are $6 for 6 packs and the bigger packs are $5.50 for 3 packs from John Little. If you have Robinsons card, you get another 5% rebate off the price.

Morning gals....

Hi okipoki, this is Diana, Keane's mummy
So glad to see u in here. Congrats ya!!

Re baby's gender, I believe I would also know on my check up this Sat. My gynae already pointed out to me during last chk up...so this chk up will be sort of to confirm

feb_mum > How big is Calson wupes? Qty for bigger packs?

JRT > Think so. But just feel that there's nothing wrong to ask if preg. Cos few colleagues already knew. Words spread fast in my work envt.

SK - I shd tink so. After all, they are used mainly to clean bb's backside. I went for the cheapest, Carlsons, so far, never had probs with it. I guess there is some trial and error involved, you try a few brands and then decide which works best for you and bb. :)

hi okipoki..so nice..i'm so envious. not like me keep guessing myself. aso looking fwd to my appt on 19th. But kinda stressed..sigh.
my tummy looks v big..i tink looks like 5 months. but i dun really eat much. now during morning still feel abit nauseous but didnt puke out.how abt u? tmr i will be exactly 15wks.

Went for my check up y'day and sign up package. Lucky my oscar results is good. 1:5000 versus 1:280 for my age group. So happy. A big stone out of my heart. But still must do routine blood test to check for rubella, hepatitis B etc.

My gynae say maybe it's boy but can't confirm yet. Haha if it is accurate, seems like May are "baby boys" month. But personally I like gals cos closer to mummy, can go shopping together, share bags, ear rings. Then boys must worry about their NS.

chocolat,
Ohh I thought who cos I have been thinking hard. U are fast leh cos keane is younger than my ger
Congrats to u too !! I bet the rest of them will be happy for u too. Btw, I have not share with them yet. So is it going to be a ger for u this round ?

Hi Ah bunny,
I dont look preggy at all actually, cos I still can wear my current clothings. My HR and secretary commented that I dont look preggy if I hv not share with them.

I will only be 15 weeks on monday itself so your EDD should be earlier than me
I am so blessed that both my pregnancy I dont have any MS just feeling bloated initially.

Anxylyn,
I think currently all the gender news are baby boys cuz baby boys are easier to confirm mah! Cuz they have something "extra" there. Hence can confirm earlier. Girls usually have to wait a while more than confirm. So I guess baby girls news will come later. hee hee

okipoki,
no, I've yet to share with them. A girl will be nice but my gynae says she spot 'something' so .... haha..wait for her cfmn this Sat lo.

Hi okipoki, I'm only abt 12+wks but i think my tummy getting fatter cuz i stay home n slack all day especially aft food, i will k.o.. lol!! worse, when i meet my frens, it's usually for lunch or dinner and they'll drive me ard, so i dun get to walk much..

Bean, my gynae also says girls abit later than can confirm. I'm excited to know tho!

Has everyone here found out baby's gender yet?

Has anyone been taking bird nest soup or chicken essence?
I am starting to feel tired and can't get out of bed. Husband always has to "pull" me out of bed. My mom told me to drink chicken essence. She also gave me a lot of bird nest and told me to cook it once a week. I think that is too much. Any idea?

Still no idea of sex of baby. Appointment with gynae is next thurs.

soh, i have been taking bird nest every 2 weeks -- my mum will clean and boil for me

tiny_m, thanks for making the arrangement -- will join u for the trial class next tues... erhm, can eat before yoga? my dinner time is ard 6.30-7pm... not sure whether bb will be too hungry...

Hi Soh,
I've been taking chicken essence all this while cos has been feeling lethargic till now. I take about 2 or 3 times per week. This weekend I'm gonna double boiled the essence with chicken. My mum says is good and delicious too! As for bird nest, I think shd be ok to start now since most of us in 2nd trimester now right?

bean / Jamie,
I think at this stage is still early so it's still speculation. That "extra" something could be hand of the bb too. My friend's bb girl turned out to be boy at birth.

The next stage is the detailed scan to make sure the bb is healthy.

re: birdnest
Yes I have taken the bottle bird nest when I feel like it.

re: wipes
Actually I tink wet cotton wool works better than wipes, unless it's for poo. My conf lady say boiled water with cotton wool is less sensitive on bb's skin. My dd's bum will get red and itchy if I use too many wipes

Baby cot vs Playpen
Hi experienced mummies, which is better for use for longer period of time? Maybe till 4? I personally prefer cots for their aesthetic value. hehe.

Jacquise - I would suggest a cot. Playpen is smaller. If you want the cot to see your bb to 4yrs old, you could get those cots that are convertable to toddler bed or else they will outgrow the cot by around 1+.

Chocolat,
Well, hope to hear the good news from yah..

Btw, u mean we can eat chicken essence and birdnest ar ? So far, I dare not touch all these yet leh.

Jamie,
Wow so nua.. keke! Must control cos the spurt growth will come sometime in Tri 3. I am targeting not to hit above 10kg. I still have some 5kg left from my previous preggy which I have gained abt 16kg. My gynae said the time to gain weight is from week 20.

Jacquise,
For long term usage you should get a cot. However, I have moved my ger out from her cot when she is abt a year old. Currently, she is sleeping on those thick mattress which allow her to have more space to "roll" about.

RE: Yoga
Hi Tiny_m,
Pls count me in for the trial yoga next Tuesday. I have suspended my gym membership since last month and has been feeling very unfit now.

RE: Baby Plus
I was tempted to buy when I know about this, but seems that few people know about this, so I didn't buy in the end.

okipoki...
I also think that the cot at most lasts a yr.. Bcos a bit small also for a 4 yr old.. Quite poor thing. Cant roll around.. haha.. And more likely than not, they would want to squeeze with mummy n daddy on the bed..hmmm..

Hi Jacquise, the shipping for Old Navy is free to anywhere within US. For delivery to Singapore, you can sign up with Vpost. They will provide a US address for Old Navy to ship to and will charge the shipping charge from US to your home.

Actually I did not try the Vpost as my husband asked his colleague to help me bring back from US.

So Calson wipes is the cheapest, compared to other brands. What abt non-travel size? Those bigger pack. Which brand is the most expensive? Like to try but no baby to try yet. Haha. Test it myself?

I thought baby boy's dd will form later stage compared to baby gal? No eh?

Hi, gd day to u, mummies,
I'm new to this thread.
Below is my input of my current pregnancy :)

1. EDD: 31th May 09
2. Name of Gynae: Dr C.H Koh
3. Delivery Hospital: TMC or Mt A (nt sure yet)

Am Currently 11 wks 2 days.

gg for oscar screening 18th Nov.

Recently been eating and eating every 3-4 hrs time since 8wks onwards. always gets hungry at 12.30am -1am.

Have put on weight abt 3kg, tummy showing abit la cos i m a skinny person. always feel v bloated and alot of air.

btw, any1 can tel our bb gender nw? some says if we keep looking for food means its a boy, cos a boy tends to b heavier and eat more than a gal. tats wat i read from a book. dunno if its true. btw, i do nt hav morning sickness and no cravings as well. as feel v greedy, wana eat alot of things. dun like the smell of the cooking oil smell and fish.

Morning mummies..

welcome glenlyn..

915 - I am wearing black top and grey 3/4 pants.. hope to see you at TMC later this afternoon.. excited to see my bb, hopefully can tell the gender..

Good morning everyone!

Re: Yoga
Great! We have 4 ppl (915, adv_sports, baby may & me) going for yoga next Tue! I'll register for us and keep u all updated on the status!
adv_sports: I think I'll eat a bit of dinner at 5pm+ ba. I get hungry easily, dun wanna faint in the class.

Re: Chicken essence and bird's nest
Can take chicken essence ah? I thought got caffeine cannot take? I don't dare to take yet although I very tempted to cos I love chicken essence a lot! Bird's nest my hubby buy liao my mum haven't cook yet. My aunt said bird's nest take from 5 months onwards and to her, it's not much use cos bird's nest only good for the skin, nothing else. She told my mum more important is to build up the lungs and vital organs so gave my mum a list of chinese herbs for me to take. but all can only take from 5 months on. So now, my mum only cook beancurd skin with ginko nuts on weekends.

Re: BB's gender
Me going for checkup later this evening, hope can get an indication of BB's gender! actually, i watch a documentary before, it says that all BBs have male genital first but then if it's girl girl, the male genital will skrink after some time. so check too early, the results are usually boy boy.

SK: The Cordlife Baby Talk people never call me to confirm my seat leh.. So prob not going for the talk liaoz..

glenlyn: Welcome! Is this your first BB? I have the same symptoms as you leh.. no MS and no cravings, everything also eat. a lot of ppl guess it's boy but when my mum carried me and my sis, she also like that, no MS and no cravings and always eating and sleeping. ahahah.. I think it's genes ba..

I did this old wives tale to guess baby gender quiz before. you all can try for fun!
It's at http://pregnancy.about.com/od/boyorgirl/a/quizboygirl.htm

Oh, wanna ask you all, anyone taking fish oil now? What brand are you taking?
My gynae told me to take fish oil for BB's brain development but the fish oil he's selling is about $1 per pill leh! Too ex liao.. Me looking for cheaper alternatives..

Morning,

Hi Tiny M

Re. cordlife baby talk
I also register yesterday and have yet to get any reply. If still no reply by afternoon, I will call them to ask.

Re. fish oil
I have start taking fish oil already. Also quite expensive but will try to ask the price from pharmacy outside. Bec we should try to take the brand that doc recommend.

re: Fish oil
Nordiac Naturals (from luckyvitamin US spree) has prenatal fish oil. But I dun dare eat anything that is not recommended by gynae.

re: cot or playpen
I have used both but prefer playpen. Altho cot are said to be used till 3-4yr old, so far all my friends stopped using at 1 yr old as it become too small by then. And I feel v sim tia when the bb roll around and knock the head on the wooden grills. A friend of mine has an unfortunate experience of her 1+ yr old child who climbed out of the cot and fell to the floor. Pretty traumatic. So for safety sake, I won't use cot once the child can walk. For playpen, if you remove the bassinet, the bb can play inside. It's easier for a bb to climb out of a cot than a playpen.

Hi Jacquise,
Exactly, my friend's ger started to leave her cot when she is a year plus and now squeezing with them so ur bed must be king size ;p

Hi Tiny

me taking fish oil too.
initially bought 1 pack from gyne clinic, 1 mth supply costed me $58plus..
so thinking if need to eat for 9mths, then will be $59 *6 = $354 *faint*

so i got the following from this website by joining e overseas spree (n i asked e gyne n she confirm can eat).

http://www.vitacost.com/Nordic-Naturals-Prenatal-DHA-from-Purified-Fish-Oil

2 bottles will lasted u 3mths so total only need 4 bottles (2 tablets per intake)..
with shippment n postage only $77.90 so 1 mthonly $25.96.. way cheaper than gyne's.

if u looking elsewhere e contain must have the following:

"DHA at least 300mg, EPA <100mg"

GNC fish oil content is e other way round so not ideal for consumation.

Gd morning ladies!

Thanks Tiny_M for organising

Tiny_M, May &amp; Adv_sports, see u next tues!

Vera, hope to see u @ TMC later. I will be wearing black 3/4 pants with blue t-shirt. Let's see we can share good news on our gender later

Re: Fish oil
Thanks Jen for the recommendation! I'll take a look at the Nordic Naturals Prenatal Fish oil. Joyce and Anxylyn, I also very scared of taking things that are not recommended by my gynae but sigh.. the fish oil pills really too ex liao. prob will get one box to try first but long term cannot tahan..

Re: cot or playpen
Woah.. u all think so far in advance. i discussed with my family and i think we'll just get a mattress. so won't be scared BB fall out or grow out of it and can easily drag to my mum's room or my room when necessary.. hahah.. do it the kampong way. :p

Re: Baby stuffs
anyone got a list of things we should get in preparation for BB? wanna take advantage of yr-end sales to get some stuffs first.. any advice?

For all joining the yoga class, the class on Tuesday night will start around 7.40pm and end around 8.55pm. think better be there at 730pm. bring some water in case you get thirsty. La Vida Loft only accepts cash or cheques for payments. the address is 11 Yan Kit Road (Chong Clan Association). see u all on tues!

HI tiny.. yup, its my 1st bb..

i asked my mum, she says when she got pregnant while having the 3 of us, she got MS and dun eat like me.

I also blur.. u tried on the test..? isit accurate?

re: yoga
tiny_m, thanks for the arrangement... so i should say under who's name is our reservation? ok for my hubby to come along? is ur hubby joining?

c u ladies next tues

tiny M - no problem.. if u not sure just copy e content n ask yr gyne... my gyne is ok on not buying from her.. think she also know X :p

Re: cot or playpen
playpen is more "in-depth' will ve a problem to lay them down when they r asleep'.. sure wakes up unless u put mattress inside to 'bring' up e depth (not sure whether u get my meaning)
also long term not good for e mummy's back
do note dat as e child gets older, may lean on 1 side n will e playpen topple over?

cot - can convert e height (there r 3 height to adjust)...
my method now is took 1 side out n 'join' to my bed so can roll in n out... then she dun ve to 'join' us in e middle of e bed cos hers already beside ours with no barrier.. (dat's wat we told her)
if scare they injured themselves on e barrier can buy cot 'barrier' to tie around...

mattress dun works for me cos my ger last time will use her leg n push herself, so even with pillows as barrier she just push herself of e mattress n ended up sleeping on e floor,

Re: Fish oil

I am taking proLacta with DHA from my gynae's, $55 for 2 month's supply. Seems ok.
Anyone taking the same fish oil as me?

Been busy.. have not come here for weeks! Hope every is well.

My view on Playpen: there is this thing call basinet which is similar to cot.. However, it can't be used when bb can sit by themselves as it is quite shallow and once, my elder girl fall over.. luckily she fall on the side near my bed!

Hi Tiny M,

I just receive a call from cordlife to confirm the seats. Have you? I will be going with hubby.

Think they will call instead of email confirmation as tmr is the event already.

glenlyn: i dunno the quiz accurate or not, i dunno BB gender yet. haha.. hope can get an indication during my checkup later..

adv_sports: my hubby not joining leh. i checked with the yoga instructress, she said tues got no hubby joining so my hubby paisei to join. ur hubby can join in if he's interested.

Jen: cos my house are all platform beds so BB can sleep on the mattress between the bed and the wall. no space for it to roll on the floor unless it rolls down the platform bed steps. >.<

Joyce: Yah! I just got a call too! I'm going with my hubby too! So far, SK, vera, you and I are going for the talk on Sat! Anyone else?

adv_sports: Sorry missed out your other question just now. I reserved under my name, Magdalene. Just let her know you're Magdalene's friend, joining the YogaMama class.

So happy going to meet some of you soon!