(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

JRT,
Actually brown discharge is very common. I had that for all my 3 pregnancies. 1st pregnancies I had no experience so immediately I see doc, the doc admitted me to hospital for 2 days bed rest. 2nd time I more 'zai' already. As long as it's slight brown discharge, I just stay home to rest. 3rd one, last week I had some brown discharge but stopped very soon. My gynae say as long as discharge is not a lot and not red (like menses), it's very common and no need to worry.

But I think also depends on individual persons. Some people have 'weaker' womb then need to be extra careful.

Jacquise,

Coz our bb will be born in the year of the Ox mah...
. My JRT also got a nickname got Niu Mei coz of her black and white markings like cow....Ya.. gng R & R these 2 days...

Anxlyn,

Thanks for sharing.
Now I know liao. So does it means when u have a "weaker" womb then there will be discharge?

Hi MTBs...

It's been quite some time since I last posted here and there's even a string of July 09 MTBs already created. The festive season had really occupied most of my time.

On my 12th week now and like some others still having MS...but mine got to do with appetite & like what Tiny M said, I hv to eat on time...if not I'll feel like throwing up if I hv my meals late. Very weird appetite too...feel like eating lots of things but after a few spoons can't eat already. I too get aches at the lower back area esp when I sit for a long time. Bump is slightly visible now, hence had to switch to larger sized panties..even tried the maternity ones...it's much better and comfy!

Just like some others I'll be doin my OSCAR test this Fri...wish me luck! Looking forward to hear my BB's heartbeat again n see what's up in there! Hv a great day everyone!

Take care, JRTlover
Your baby niu will be great in your tummy

My discharge is a bit light yellowish, is that normal?

Eh...my discharge got this funny yeasty smell and thick yellowish. I used to have yeast infection and smell/look like that. Only thing is less itch though.

Anyone share the same experience?

Tiny_M - the hospital tour is every wkday at 11am or 2pm.. but wkend I am not too sure on the timing..

Grace - you are so fortunate to have no MS..

JRT - take care wor.. rest more and dont carry heavy stuff for now..

hey SK, my discharge seems similar to yours, i used to have yeast infection before i was pregnant and it's indeed less itchy than normal.i better check with my doc the next time i visit

My nausea also seems to be fading off as am in 13th week today. All the best to those mummies who are still having MS, tahan a few more weeks k? Jia you!

JRT - glad to hear u are feeling well liao..maybe u are too stressed with ur assignment? Take care and dun overwork k?

With regards to cord blood banking, i will be donating my baby's cord blood instead of storing it as per my #1..

Piggy_Cow,

Ya.. Maybe.... I am 12th week plus now and still feeling nausea...
More frequent headaches now. Guess I am stressed bah.. trying to relax more now..

Yup...will sign up for the 2pm session on 4th after my scan.

Star > I shall ask my gyne on Sat too. Been coughing everyday. Dunno to get medications for it or not.

Hello All Mommies, I tried donating my cord blood to the public bank at KKH but on the day I deliver I was a little anaemic and my gynae says not advisable coz nd to draw 3 big syringes of blood from me. Private banks nd to draw only 1 syringe.

Above for your info.

Star,
hmm... I dun have much discharge but last week, did have brownish. As it stopped within half hour, I din bother to ask gynae. Cos the last time I mention to her, she sounded that it's very normal. But on off, I do feel itchy (maybe yeast infection again!). Gotta ask gynae. Before preggie, do you always have yeast infection. I keep getting it even tho I've used the vaginal suppository. Sian...

Ya, next year, ours is oz baby. My mum and I are both oz. So this time dunno is oz girl or oz boy. Haha.

JRT,
Brown discharge is fairly common, but must take care and watch closely. If it turns red or pink, it means fresh bleeding somewhere. Must see gynae immediately. I had brown discharge for a week, then suddenly started to bleed. Gynae put me on bed rest for 3 weeks althogh the bleeding has stopped and converted back to brown discharge.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Take care ladies. I remember my gynae mention before that if its brown discharge, the 'roots' is tearing off. If its fresh blood, its somewhere near the womb. Although brown discharge is not as serious as blood discharge, its still better to bedrest. I had discharge for nearly 2 mths which is on and off at the early stage. Just rest more. =)</font>.

Thanks gal for the info.
My brown discharge is clearing tho it came back a little last evening when I wiped. Will have plenty of rest.

Hope no more discharge today! Can't afford to have at this busy period! haha..

mornin mummies...
so many post to read....

last fri just did my oscar test.. result everything ok... bb 7cm..

Re: bb moving
i still cant feel my bb moving leh... no feeling wor.. MS over oredi... tummy still flat...
sometimes 4got myself as pregnant woman.. hahaa

Hi morning all mummy,

Althought dont hv MS, few more day 12 week le.. I feel very very emo, wake up in the mid night cant sleep well until early morning then feel sleepy &amp; need2 go work liao..very tired de le

Icy, I also cant feel bb moving..tummy still flast also =.=

The most i scare;
(1)Is the painful when delivery
(2)My husband insist want me take care bb when confinement and he also help for 1 week off(no MIL, no maid,no CL, no helper for me le!!)he cant trust CL at all...I will get depress if bb keep crying (die) no experiance mummy here feel helpless ......

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Grace,
You should get a helper or whoever so who can help you during ur confinement period. Its really not easy taking care of newborn. If u need to go for c-sec *cross finger* you must need someone to help out. the wounds will only heal after 1-2 mths. Even for natural, you oso must rest more. Somemore need someone to cook, wash clothes blah blah.... You must convince your hb in getting helper to assist you. If not its gonna be tough for you...</font>.

Grace,

I have friends who do without CL/helper..
Food - you can cater
bb - even if got helper, I also take care of it by myself
Laudary - ask hubby to help
Cleaning - maybe u can engage pt maid

other than these.. rest more, sleep when bb sleep..

so many postings, JRT take care k!

Grace
Hm.. to be honest, first time mummies, sure need more help especially during the first month.. u need lots of rest that is the first thing! if your hubby can take leave for a month, that would be different scenario at all..

Re your scared ( :> )
1. pain during delivery = contractions during cramp, it's just that the frequency and intensity don't stop hahaa until your baby comes out, that make it the most painful part.. dun worry, nowadays a lot of methods to relieve pain, your gyane will be able to advise you..

2. Help,
I think you sure need help during confinement time, be it someone to take care of house chores, someone to look after bb when you are really lethargic.
For natural birth, the pain will peak from day 5-7, afterwhich, it will heal, (it takes time).. u will need to bf as well, and i tell u after birth, with crack, bleeding, sore nipples, it will ruin your bf experience if you do not have any help.. it's part and parcel of the whole thing, when you are tired, u should go and sleep, leave bb to some one, tt is when CL's role is.
For c-sect, i think the healing time is even longer..

As for crying baby, i dun have prob with that with my #1, coz she doesnt have colic or whatsoever, she will cry when she either wants to sleep or hungry.. but as a first time mother, you are going to experience emotional roller-coaster, so it's advisable to get help, as much as you need to..

Grace,
Ya agree with other mummies. You could convince your hubby to get a part time domestic helper to come in few hours to mop, sweep, wash laundry. Otherwise, very tiring for you. My friend din have CL also but she ate instant noodles as lunch for few days. I wouldn't wan to torture myself after going so much pain to have a baby. New Mummies should take the opportunity to rest and recuperate. We still have a long way to go with my baby... Happy mummy = happy baby.

re: oscar test
I'm gog for my oscar test next week. Keep fingers crossed. Will pray very hard everything is fine. The only thing I ask for is a healthy baby and safe delivery.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> agree with cola..
better to get helper to help you out during these period of time.. Its ok to look after bb if u had natural birth but of cos helper to help out with hsehold chores. some confinement lady can help you to wash clothes and clean up the hse. then u can hv more time to rest. If c-sec then its kinda hard to look after urself I had c-sec for my #1. So i know hw tough it is. And you wont know wad will comes along the way during ur confinement.. =)</font>.

Grace,

Agree with the rest. As a first time mummy, I believe we need help. I am still looking for a CL, but seems like not easy to find out who is ok with dogs. Hence, might consider doing confinement at parent's place with the help of CL.
Women during confinement must take care wor.

Haiz,

Nearly fainted during morning assembly today in school. Had the same experience for #1 and it is coming back for #2. Was feeding on sour plum the whole morning too. What a nasty feeling...

haizzz

I also wish to get CL help but my husband very stubborn de ...i quarrel wif him many time abt this

His idea same as Joyce mentioned ..
1. Food cater
2. Wash / Cleaning - he do
3. BB - he / me take turn
This is my first kid ..i sure very tired and donno what will happen during confinement ..

poohwei,

Take care wor. Now should be exams period rite? Should be busy marking exams scripts?
I am so held up with assignments and exams in 2 weeks time! Sighz! Hope my MS gets better then.

Grace

May be u should have a good talk with hubby, or can your parents or ILs help?
btw, cater food is not cheap at all, getting a CL will be more worth it..

As a mummy, you are already enduring so much during preg and delivery, i seriously think that you deserve a good rest.. tell u honestly, in my confinement time, i didnt do much, except washing some bottles/pumps coz phaiseh to let my MIL wash everything, other than latching bb, sleep, bathe, and looking at bb with amazement, i should say i have quite a good rest.. MIL boiled ginger water everyday for me for bathing also

As this is my #2, i am sure wont have as much rest as previously, coz my #1 super clingy haha and need lots of attention

A lady should really rest after giving birth, old ppl said if not enought rest, later when old will ache here and there.. i think emotionally you will be prone to crying as wel.. i cried for no reason during my confinement haha lucky i didnt fall into post-natal depression hahaa

Grace,
Yes I totally agree with the rest of the mummies here. You already went through so much carrying the baby and delivering it. You really deserve a very very good rest.

Did your hubby tell you WHY he doesn't want anyone to help you? I;m sure both of you can work things out.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> JRT,
me too think tt cola had a gd mil. unlike mine... hahhaaa.. Bt its ok. As long i hv my mum, wad she do i wont be bothered.</font>.

Bean
He cant trust the CL,.. i trying to convince my hubby long ago

He said if any happen to bb who going to blame?! if the CL no good ..he prefer pay the cater instead pay the CL

CL in his mind is "they do nothing" w/o any qualification based on their own experiance nia

He will listen to me &amp; get a part time 1 if i really very unhappy ...but he still want to ownself take care instead let other ppl touch his precious bb

^5 xue!

But the problem is my mum can't help me much on confinement and baby care next time also. Her health is not very good. MIL still as strong as bull... *Buay tahan her*

Grace,

A good CL is still possible to find, knowing well that we do hear horror stories about CL.
Both of you are 1st time parents and I believe u know nuts about taking care of a baby. Getting someone to help will reduce the stress and agony of taking care of a new born. I dun think I can survive without any help too. Moreover, I got dogs at home and they need attention too.

Grace, better be prepared and avoid any chance of post natal blues, my mil does laundry, cook &amp; bath my gal. Most of the time i take care of her round the clock, very tiring coz they feed frequently. The good thing is I get to shed all my kilos within 8 weeks.

But cheer up and it's good that your hubby is willing to help.

my mil is young only mid forties. Bt i still dun trust her to look after my son... Our mum is still the best ! =)

Grace,
Understand why ur hb thinks tt way. How abt getting help from someone both of u trust? Like ur mum or mil? Your hb needs to work.. does he really hv so much energy to help u look after? Eg. night feeds? Most babies needs to be feed 3-4hrs. and the constant waking up can really tires both u and ur hb out.
Or hw abt finding some info on looking after newborn for ur hb? Let him understand the needs and routine of newborn...</font>.

Grace,
Maybe your MIL or Mum can help. Maybe you can ask him these questions.
1) Does he know the proper way to bathe a baby? How to towel dry a baby? How to change baby clothes?
2) Does he know how to change diapers? What are the steps?
3) How to store milk? How to heat milk? How to sterlise the bottles?
4) Who is going to take care of baby at night if he has to work the next day and you are exhuasted and still recovering.

I think I can still think about much much much more little little things which require people who are experienced to guide us.

Maybe he underestimated the tasks of looking after a baby.

Hi Grace,

I know that good CLs are hard to come by but an extra pair of hands will be of great help. They can help you cook, wash the dishes, do some household chores. Moreover, my ex CL said that we should avoid touching water as much as possible during our confinement. Hence, the CL would be able to help you clean the baby etc. You can always monitor the CL and take care of the baby at night.

Let your hubby know that CL food by caterers will cost ard $1k. Part time helper will cost ard $40/ per visit of 4 hours. All these will add up pretty close to the cost of a CL.

For me, my SIL's mum is helping me for confinement. I agree with rc_cola that our #1 are all so clingy on us. Any mummies with older babies who are not clingy to you when u r expecting? My gal wants me to carry her very often now, and i mean..CARRY..not just a hug..so tiring.

Hi JRTlover,
Its last day of term for students. I am teaching in an A level institution. Now, its all meeting and committee work plus consultation for students. No more MARKINGS!!! yeah

poohwei,

icic... We have teachers here from all levels.How is working with young people (youth)? I am gng to work with little kiddos...

afternoon ladies.

RE: CL
Grace, actually as a first time mum, getting a good CL is very good but then not easy to find one. I hired a CL for my #1. instead of helping me, she stressed me until we wanted to kick her out the first week! In the end we let her go before 1 mth's up, then my mil came over and stayed with us for another 4 weeks to help out. Frankly, w/o my mil, i think i also cannot handle even though it was over the confinement month. It's not easy coz when bb cry and cry for no reason, somehow i get stressed out so really need another 1 or 2 pairs of hands to help to carry.

As for catering food, it's not cheap and i dunno how accurrate the delivery is coz u tend to be hungry easily during confinement. Doing ur own confinement for #1 is not impossible but it's very tough as you dunno what to expect as a first time mum.

Anyway if u really want to get a CL, better go and visit ur prospective CL at someone's house and perhaps can sample the food before commiting.

For my this coming confinement, i will be trying out DIY...i already planned to train my maid to make the red date tea and help out my mil.My 2 pairs of old folks are going to drop by my place everyday to help out with bb and #1.

Pooh,
haha ya my girl super clingy, she is clingy in a way that she would want to be close to me always!! i mean "always" her first word when she wakes up is MAMI!!!! then on the remaining day, whenever she sees me walking away, she will start mamiing again haha actually i am quite pleased lah hahaha yest when we went out, other ppl carry her, and she was like MAMIIIIIII MAMIIIIIIIIIII hahaha

Grace
You can talk to your hubby that youwill be the one responsible for caring the baby, but CL will help with the cooking, prepare whatever you need, and make sure you recuperate, just reassure him that you will be the one feeding and sleeping with the baby. You may ask your frens to recommend a good CL to you.

JRT, xue,
My MIL is okay lah hahaha so far so good, just give and take lor.. not forgetting i got very nice FIL hehehe.. he will help me to take care of my girl, switching role with my MIL, each of them will come from indo to sg for half a yr to help us

Opps, i didnt sleep with my baby till she is about 5 mths old, luckily she only woke up twice at nite for nite feed, and has been sleeping thru since her 2nd month, otherwise i also phaiseh let her disturb my MIL sleep kekeke.. I actually get a good nite sleep during confinement, oh ya a glass of dom before i sleep helps a lot!! Bf can only be done 2 hours after consuming alcohol hor..

If, my MIL/Parent can help i think no need to worry anymore ..

My hubby expect me can be more stronger during confinement for this 1st bb..learnt indepedent and nothing impossible for him. But, i know i cant i told him many many time,...... he said hospital nurse will teach!! everything must learnt lo?!!!

He promised that he able to help out every night and work everyday as he said no choice (stubborn hubby) what to do?!

Must slp more whenever u can. hahhaaa.. I only introduce FM to #1 when he's 5mths old. So I do night feeds as well. Really very tiring. Peifu those mummies who can BF so long....</font>.

JRT,
Ya go and sleep as much as you can, and do whatever you want to do hahaha i rem went out for pedicure and manicure during my first preg, but now, i keep my toe nails and finger nails all short hahahaha!!

Xue,
Can pump and store, then no need to wake up at nite kekekek Actually my supply was not that much during initial stage, so just supplement her with FM, after 2 months then the supply stabilise and she was on Full BF till 6.5 mths. yup yup very very very very veryvery tirign! hahaha

Grace,
I really hope you can solve your problem and don't let this thingy keep bothering you.. Communication is key and what we can do here is just to give our opinions. Just hope your hubby can change his mindset one day! Jia you!

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> cola,
night time i oso need to wake up and pump. if not breast too engorge to slp.... =( If bb wakes up for feed then i'll just latch him on. Not need to wash. heheheee..</font>.