(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Thanks Noi & cola...Was quite worried when i didn't gain weight cos my previous preggy, i put on 2-3kg during my 1st tri. prob i had already expanded thus not expanding now for my #2. haha..

vera & adv_sports - lucky u to be able to sleep so early. i got to put my gal to sleep at abt 9+ then i can do my own things and can only sleep abt 11+. will be up by 6+ when she is up for her milk...sigh..really diff when u are preggy with #1 or #2. so enjoy now while u can

Piggy,
Totally agree with you, it's so different if you are a MTB or a mummy! haiz i put my girl to sleep at 10, now trying to train her to sleep by herself, so that when my tummy is big, and not convenient to cradle her to sleep in my arm, she can already sleep on her own..
Yest was quite a success, put her down beside me, and she sleeps by herself, but it was already 11+ haha.. i realised she slept, i also fell asleep kekeke..
Tonite another training, guess training period is very tough!

Noi, it depends on what is the age u give bitrh to your first, haha let me guess you are probably 38

rc_cola: yr gal sleeps with u on e bed? or in a cot?

in a cot there is a method to train but i find it very 'stressful' n 'heartpain' as a mom..

my friend said put e child in her cot, tell her time to sleep sleep n leave e room, if she crys n stand up, go in, tell her again n lay her down, 2nd time, just go in n lay her down, do it e 3rd time, e 4th time, dun go in n let them cry till they lay down herself n sleep...

my method, took out 1 side of her cot n 'join' her ned with ours, told her time to sleep n mum will sleep with u, lay down beside her n keep quiet (pretend to sleep) then she will sleep but this method u ve to be in e room but less 'painful' :p

totally agree with piggy & rc_cola,
for those MTB... must enjoy ur freedom sleeping time now...
i really heartpain to leave my girl alone at another room... so her cot inside my room... i off the light.. let her finish her milk.. then put her into her cot.. she'll sleep by herself (but she'll stand up n make sure i sleep too...) by the time everythin done.. oredi 11pm.. @@

Jen,
My girl sleeps in her cot, normally she likes me carried her tight in my arms (no need to stand or whatever), just hold her tight in my arms, read story for her, sing for her, and pat a bit, she will sleep, but i am more thinking of long term, my tummy will get bigger, wont be convenient to hold her tight in my arms with bulging tummy, so i put her sleeping on my bed beside me, yest after she was asleep, i move her to her cot..

Ya ever read of that method, its called put up put down method.. ya i dun think i want to use that method later if she cried until she pukes, more jialat.. she is a well behaved baby anyway, just that a bit "yang ou" hehe.. i was thinking to lower down one part of the cot (convertible to a tod bed actually), so that i dun need to bend in too deeply to put her to sleep.. a bit xiong for our back.. yup i always drag her cot near to my bed every nite..

Btw, I have to wait for my FIL to come sometime end of Nov, to convert the cot to bed, coz my hubby is really lousy in carpentry hahaha.. everytime my FIL's turn to take care of my girl, he will help us fix this and that

Noi,
39 stil alright, my aunt (dad's sis) gave birth at 41 - about 3 yrs ago (now her son is exactly 1 yr older than my girl), and my aunt is same age as my mum..
Her son turns out find, btw her gynae didnt even ask her to do any Down syndrome test at all.
She tried IVF for twice and failed, then subsequently preg naturally

915, take care and rest well!

noi, u 2 take care and hope ur gastric flu subside soonest!

re: sleep
phew, glad that it is normal & blessing to sleep more
wow, vera u can sleep so long! my sleep is normally interrupted with toilet break at 5-6am. then i feel hungry but tahan till 7am before waking up to eat breakfast...

my normal sleep position is lie on the back. now have to adjust the pillow higher coz i always go to bed with nauseous feeling. sometimes feel better sleeping on one side.

piggy_cow & rc_cola, yup, first time MTB better enjoy having more rest now!

re: weight gain
last night weigh again -- din gain any... but my normal working clothes cannot wear oledi
i packed most of the skirts n pants into storage -- will not be wearing them for the few months (my motivation is to fit into them asap after giving birth) 2day i wore the maternity skirt that i bought at Cloud9 -- very comfy and dun feel restrictive

am actually "training" my hubby to take over my role :D so now i will ask him to put my gal to sleep. Cos my gal sleeps alone in her own room and own bed, so i got to be in the same room with her till she sleeps then i will come out. Now every other day, am asking my hubby to do it..initially quite tough cos my gal will only calm down when she sees me but now tink she is a bit comfy with her daddy so i try to let go lo else next time when my assignments pile up and with my growing tummy, very tough for me so maybe u all can "train" ur hb too now..hehe...but i will be the one to wake up early to feed her milk so that my hubby can sleep a while longer. shall see how long i can tahan that.

Piggy,
I cant train my hubby ler, coz now he is taking his part time master prog, u know, working and studying not easy, everynite he also gets to do his assgnment, i really dun want him to be too tired sleep so late yet he has to still study. I have to be understandable bah, if he helps me, i think he will sleep at 2 after all the assgnments fin and wakes up at 7 to go to work.. haha quite pitiful..

But on some nites, if my girl fusses, he will be happy to help me take care of her, haiz but this girl just want mamiii every nite (dark), so even if hubby carries her, she will still call out MAMIII MAMIII MAMIII :p

haha...cola, understand what u mean. initially this was what happened so now i tink my gal sort of understand that at times, i will only hear daddy's voice. 1 of us has to sacrifice lo, i guess. cos now me not working but studying and if there are assignemnts, my hubby will have to help out so i guess he is also mentally prepared.

Piggy,
Ya.. i think my mentality is similar as your hubby, coz he is studying so i gotta take charge in making our gal sleep haha..

Oh my gosh, nearing lunch time, now my appetite plunges again, feel like puking!!! but very very very hungry and tired

My whole tongue tastes super wierd!!

Hi ladies, Morning!
On MC todae. Me having cough and cold. Whole wkend was dead tired. Dr prescribed me a range of drugs so i reading MIMMS to verify if the drugs are safe. It's really a gamble. I try to avoid all drugs. Maybe zzz more.

To those concerned abt down syndrome testing... Just to share that my mummy gave birth to my sis at 39. She did not go for the test but trusted God with the baby. Sis is born normal, in fact very cute and active, compared to me and my brother! And now she is even taller and broader than me at 14 yrs old!

wow ... Cola, i have your feelings ... lunch time ... but feel like puking ... jialat.

Txs Adv Sports ... txs .. just taken the gastric medicine prescibed by my gynae ... yucks ... i just hate taking medication .. but no choice .. haiiii

Re Cot
I think it all started from young. my colleague told me how she trained her gals. at night since birth, she will leave them sleeping in the cot in their own room. at night, she will just put them in the cot and say good nite and close the room door. it's been like that since birth so today, it's a habit and there's no noise from them. just go and sleep soundly ... envy hor.

i have 3 .. yet never succeed in doing so even. but this preggie i think i have to be firm liao. otherwise, i dont think i could cope with two that's only 9months apart.

Jacquise .... take care. i dislike medication. if necesssary, my own way of curing is just sleep. it's better than taking those yucking medicines.

hellos mummies,
how's everyone doing? wow, didn't realise some of you here are so young! i'm definitely one of the older ones ;p

people have started noticing my bb bump - the tummy sure expand much faster with the 2nd one. i didn't show till i was like 5mths with my 1st one.

re cot training. i used to be quite proud that my gal is able to sleep through the nite on her own. now, it's no longer the case. she will wake up in the middle of the nite and cry for us and she will sleep only if we place her on our bed! wat a regression! juz hoping dat this is a phase dat will pass.

noi,
hope u will get better soon!

feb mum,
my tummy din show till i was 5 months preggy with my 1st as well! for my #2 & this current baby, can see alittle bulge at 2 months! talk abt elasticity!!

Noi,
back, I finally ate fish porridge, the taste is quite bland which suits my wierd taste bud hehe
Eaten??

No idea on the freelance maid, never have one before.

I think for this #2, i also want to train baby to sleep on its own.. ya some ppl have very guai kids, last time my cousins also sleep on theirown when they were young, so the mum veyr relax.. bed time = send them to bed, that's all.. when they can walk (toddler), no need to even escort them to the room, they auto go in and sleep! What a good life..

Feb_mum
Ya i think some babies are due to habit, my girl normally sleeps thru, but if she cries in the mid of nite, I never bother about her, unless she fusses or fully alert.. she will sleep back by herself..

HI Feb_mum

dat's wat happen to me.
Initailly, just put her in her cot n sit beside her cot n she will sleep but ard mar or so, she started waking up in e middle of e night n insist she wants to sleep between us. if dun, she will cry like hell, but if down her between us, she will drop of to sleep in a min.

after a few wks like dat, we decided to take down 1 side of her cot n told her is e same as sleeping between us (cos no barrier). Cos she will take her pillow n place it between us during bed time. *faint*... so now she sleeps on her bed but anything she wakes up, can climb between us (but not seldom, she just lay on her bed n talk or sing to herself)

I jsut came back from toilet, after peeing, when wiping i realise got a bit clear mucus but stained with bit of blood strings, a little bit only.
Then after that i wiped again, only clear mucus...
now worry worry how how how

Oh ya I had duku fruit just now.. dun tell me that i am not s upposed to eat that..

rc_cola - dun worry n stress yrself too much. if worried, can give yr gyne a call. if she thinks serious, she will call u to go down n see her.

hi Pearly, txs ....
dont worri .. usually from #2 onwards, it's more obvious then when expecting #1 ... u r rite, it stretched once, so 2nd time loosen liao ... heheeee

Cola .... mucus is okie, sometimes it's due to urine infection, just monitor. if it itch or smell, perhaps you may need to check with yr gynae see if medication needed.

unless u see spotting with sharp pain on yr tummy, must see dr immediately.

Talking abt elasticity, all my relatives could see that i put on a lot of weight over the past 1 month. Thus they guessed that i am pregnant. There are a total of 4 preggies on my hubbie's side now. 2 cousins + SIL + Me!! Told my MIL abt my pregnancy already but not my mum...

Re: Sleep training
i have resorted to sleeping on the floor with my gal to make my life easier. Nowadys, i will just pretend to sleep (in fact sleep..) and she will lie down beside me when she feels tired. If not, she will be roaming in the dark in her room. But in the middle of the night, she will ask for water and her pacifier...haiz.

Jen and Noi,
Yeah i think i just relax, if got more then i will give gynae a call. but hubby also said it's mucus so nvm not fresh blood, and only a bit..

cola,
i think it should be ok if its a one-off thing. just monitor. if it happens again... you might wanna call your gynae just to check. even if your gynae is busy, the nurses should be able to answer.

agree with pearly ... if condition did not improve esp with spotting , get the nurse, they usually be able to help you.

Pearl
Thanks. Ya normally i called it's the nurse who picked up, if she can advise me, then she would do it, if not she will check with my gynae and call me back..
I guess it's just because of tiredness or sth lah.. should be fine

Thanks ladies.. now i super duper sleepy!

thanks piggycow.. got it liao...

i had spotting again since sat and today, its here again..arghh... i jus called prof tay and he advice mi at the meantime to bedrest first and see him tml..arghh..hope he won't admit mi into the hospital coz he mentioned tat during the first visit...

915.. u also spotting ah?

so many post.. got to read first.. hehe

have been having junk food craving lately...

maggi mee
salted egg
cheezels
potato chips
twisties
hello panda
ice-cream
goreng pisang
kways

ok... i'm hungry again...

gd afternoon ladies.

thanks piggy_cow & adv_sports for well wishes, actually i feel ok but just dunno why keep staining..now at home klkk dunno what to do.

rc_cola, i also got ur symptoms, mucus with blood strings. dun be too alarmed since it became clear for u.As long as no frsh blood shld be ok. Mine persisted for 1 week,from clear to yellow to dark brown.When i went to see my gynae last sat, the ultrasound shows that baby is ok but the 'bubble' (dunno what u called that) protecting the foetus has some blood.If i understand correctly, seems like this bubble should be round but mine is abit bruised that where the dried blood came from.So now must prevent that part from bleeding.

May, my spotting is dark brown, so i was given a jab and increased dosage of duphaston.
My gynae said mine will prob continued until i'm 12 weeks, but it shld be on and off with brown stain. If i see fresh blood then have to call him immediately.

re: food craving
pearly, oh Maggie Mee... yummy
yday MIL cook fish lah chicken lah... i see liao no appetite... then when she not around i faster faster go cook MAGGIE Mee!!!! shiok

welcome Buddy

oh.. 915.. mine also brown stain.. i notice that it starts to come if i stand to long, walk too long and accompany wif backache... i did the ultrascan on sat when i went to A&E and it also shows that baby is ok and there's no more blood clot.. but i still dun understand why today there's still spotting...
hope my gynae can give mi a clearer explaination tml.. haiz.. so worrying..

pearly - better dun eat cos even if made in singapore can still buy china milk product to make them. which is happening ard e world.

Take japan for eg. some of their biscuits manufacturer bought milk product to make their biscuits so those also kena even though e product is made in japan..

now worried dat the ingre is from those stain milk product from china.

read from AVA website that if pregn ladies took product with melan in them (products found in Singapore), is still safe cos the % is very low compared to those found in China... so dun ve to be major worried abt it.

U've got blood string mucus as well ar?
How are u now? if your gynae said it's okay nvm lah, did he say why you've got bruised? it's because of knocking nearby your tummy?
Do take care okay.

Pearl,
Like what Jen said, a bit only nvm, but try not too eat too much coz now you are eating for 2, and it's quite early preg, baby is forming tts y we need to be careful on what we have eaten..

I love maggi mee, as well, okay will eat that for dinner tonite hehehe.. i also cant stand my mil cooking nowadays, it's the hormonal thingy again.. sometimes I am very scared of stir fried chinese food, scared of the lard, the oil!! opps, make me feel like puking when i think of lard!

ohhhh thanks JEN... better bin away the hello panda...

i have to try to eat more healthily once the MS goes away...

cola,
same for me! i have not been eating proper chinese food for sometime now... have tried the rest... vietnamese noodles soup, korean barbeque... mmmmm yum yum

actually come to think about it... i keep looking for soupy stuff to eat...

i can't drink plain water... so i have been drinking honey water or water chestnut... am thinking of trying prune juice too..

Have been feeling nausous for the whole day..
Me too having a strange craving for macdonalds and KFC! I trying to control to once a week and hope its ok. hee hee.

may, i think same as u, i also got abit of backache.dun worry so much first, see what ur gynae says tomorrow.
Were u given any jabs or pills for stabilising the pregnancy? after my jab, my stain is not as frequent although my panty liners do get stained.

rc-cola, not that i knocked myself. but my gynae zoomed in to show me that there is some blood at one side of the ' bubble' and he said it's because the embryo did not attached itself to the uterus very well, so that's why there some dried blood there. As soon as i reach 12th week, the placenta will take over and by then i shld not have any more staining.

I'm just hoping that week 12 will come soon. 2 more weeks to go..

Its strange right? I feel so good after eating macdonalds!! But when my mum cooks good food, I feel like puking after eating them. haizz....

Re: Yellow discharge
Is yellow discharge not normal? I have been having yellow discharge even before I'm pregnant. So I always thought its normal. But I read that some mummies are worrying about yellow discharge. So now I'm worried too.

915, i was given jabz and pills too.. i hope my gynae can tell mi when the spotting will stop...
for my no.1, i also had unknown bleeding ard 5mths preg.. glad its ok.. hope this time round too..