(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Morning MTBs, mummies,

I will be seeing my gynae in the afternoon today. Hopefully can see the sac!!! so excited...

Re: M/S
I feel nauseas every morning at 8 until 8 pm at nite.. no appetite as well..
Everytime i brush teeth, the taste is bitter.. hope tis will end soon...

Morning all MTB mummies...i went to c gynae on sat..cfm 5wks preg. although tis is nt my 1st preg, but i m more worried. mayb knew too early. my 1st preg onli knew it 3months lata...so, nw i m like a 1st time mum, 1st time saw the sac n nt heartbeat yet...keke...
can i join the "cold gang"? keke...coz i oso feel so cold...haiz...
Any mummies know of any gynae at choa chu kang whom u can recommend?

afternoon...cramps where? i stomach abit cramp but funny thing is find my left hand numb..dunno normal or not.

WL, how do u manage to know only 3 mths later? *surprised*

hi all!

hope everyone is well.

i'm glad i dun have MS. I checked with my mum and she didn't have MS last time when she had my sis and me. i only feel nausea on and off esp. when i smell weird/bad smells, like raw fish. otherwise, i function as per normal.

i'm not feeling so cold now, in fact i was hot last night when my hubby felt cold. we're always opposite.

Jen: I'm still having cramps on and off. got me quite worried cos this is my #1 but gynae said normal.
my first scan can't see anything, next checkup will be next fri, like so long more to go.. hope everything will be fine..

Jen, me got cramp on sat and got pink discharge, so gynae again put me on daily injection for 1 week. Where is yr cramp, centre of yr tummy? any bleeding?

rc_cola, good luck for yr check up later. Sat I went for check up, can see sac and heartbeat and bb abt 0.7 cm. Update us later.

new here. havent gone c gynae for this 2nd preg. yet prob see one this week. not sure which gynae to see.. I am in East, had pre-enclampsia/high bld pressure e first time. so bit nervious now. I am also SAHM, trying to be WAHM hehe. just quit my job 3mths ago. anybody under Geraldine Tan or Esther Ng .. .. or can recommend any gd gynae in east ? prefer those who are pro-natural, prefer avoid episiotomy..

Hi 9+1+5, because i went to c gynae in beginning of nov. nothing...then dec went holiday, come back sick. no symptoms...til Jan, i feel giddy while doing hsework,my hubby says must b i nv exercise, wan mi go jogging.so i decided to do a test b4 i start my exercise. frm there, then knew 1...my friends all say mi sotong. keke..

Jen...I was having pretty bad cramps last week now not so bad. Minor cramps will come ard 10pm but for few mins only. Perhaps it's due to uterus expanding? Not too sure. But my gynae said it's pretty normal.

Unlike some of u gals, my body gets a bit warm at certain periods of the day and especially hot at nite. Even with the air-con n fan, I still feel hot.

WL...*kowtow to u*

good also lah means u got no major ms, and 2nd trimester is usually the best..coz appetite will be good and all that ..hehe

Hi any body try Dr ching kwok choy before at Mt A ? Im looking gynea for my wife. ( Any Recommend gynea at Mt A ) Thanks

haha....9+1+5, i oso peifu myself...for being such a blur sotong...my 1st trimester oso gd, i can eat 2 packets of noodle by myself. keke..but nw, abit worried lor...coz normally they say 1st trimester is the most dangerous time...haiz...know lata oso gd..keke..

Sorry to intrude. I'm also a MTB from the Dec 08 thread. I have 2 BNIB items for sale
- Pigeon wide neck bottles with peristaltic nipple, twin pack pic
- Pigeon Newborn Starter Kit, comprising of *1 x Silicon Pacifier with Hood *2 x Wide Neck Feeding Bottles 200ml *1 x Wide Neck Feeding Bottles 300ml *1 x Bottle and Nipple Brush *1 x Milk Powder Container (Revolving) pic

Price is $40 if you are getting both. Please PM me if you are interested. Thanks!

HI Mommies

Before i confirm or suspect dat i pregn (dat's b4 i missed my period) i have very bad cramps so thinking is mens cramps. but after i confirmed also ve some but not as bad.
Now e cramps r on n off (ard e left side or below e tummy), gyne said is normal n furthermore, when i having my 1st is also familiar but my friend keeps telling me is not normal (cos all her 3 pregn also dun ve n no one she knows ve to except for me).. so i asked on e thread to see am i e odd one out.. apparently not

I went to see my gynae, he confirmed that i am now in my 6.5 wks.. baby is growing well :p
so happy can see the sac already, tho cant hear the heart beat yet.. gynae reassures me everything is fine :p

rc_cola, if I am not wrong 7 or 7 weeks plus then can hear the heartbeat one. When is yr next appt? Mine will be 2 weeks time. As had some pink discharge and back to injection again for this week.

Xue, yes injection at the butts and it's oil based so a little painful... and difficult to dissolve also.

congrats! Jen

morning babes.

rachel, what injection is that for? for stablising issit?

I was given duphaston pills for 2 weeks before i go back to see gynae again.

Rachel,
Ic ic, i cant remember at how many weeks the gynae let me listen to the heart beat during my #1.
My appt is on another 2 wks time, probably by then it would be 8.5 wks :p

My gynae only gave me some vits (multivit, C, and folic acid), that's all.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> rachel,
i had jab as well. quite painful. bt i heard from the old folks it not tt gd to keep injecting. they said bad for our liver. i don't know how true is it. bt since gynae give us tt, shldn't be a prob right..</font>.

915, ya for stabilising e.g. for "An Tai" injection before placenta take over.

rc_cola, same vitamins and time to see gynae. Last week I was 7 weeks, so can see sac and heartbeat. But this week, my ms seems to be better which I think it's too fast for me as my #1, I had ms till 16 weeks. Guess every pregnant is different.

Xue, yes painful, I wish I have a butt masseur. hmmm... I have not heard that from my gynae...Guess I don't want to think too much take 1 step at a time.

hello mummies

I took a pregnancy test last week and it confirmed positive.. but my gynae visit is only at end of Sept and I went to see dr that day because I was sick and he said my pregnancy may have problems because my tummy quite pain..

So.. waiting for gynae visit to see if got heartbeat.. else.. lose..

btw this is my second baby.. first one is 2/1/2 years old le.. =)

HI mamaduckie

is a GP doc?
cos i have cramps, my comp dr said not common n said may ve problems too but gyne said is common n not to worry..

so dun worry too much.
if u worried then maybe u wan to bring forward yr gyne appointment to put yr mind at ease.

mamaduck..i agree with jen. think it's common to have cramps as the uterus is expanding.

think u shld go see the gynae is u are worried. Like me, i was worried, i went to see gynae last week and i was able to see heartbeat. Gynae put me on 2 weeks of duphaston pills to stabilise coz my progestrone level not very high...

so my pt is if u go see early , got problem at least gynae can precribed u something now rather than wait until mth end. can imagine the wait very painful one.

I have dark brown discharge also but my gynae said it is fine. The brown discharge is little and I only use a liner to contain the stain.

Went to gynae yesterday and was told that I am 6 weeks. Can see the sac and also hear the heartbeat.

BTW, anyone has a good Malay masseur to recommend? I would like to do pre and post natal massage.

issit too early to look for massues now?

I used Rustic Nirvana for prenatal last time
Post-natal i used my fren's fren's wife (malay lady in her thirties), i find that she is not bad.but abit ex. she charged i think about $50 everytime (cannot remember liao) she is a small-size lady but got strength. let me know if u are keen.

Need some advise on travelling during first tri.

I will be going for short trip to genting end of the months, by then i would be 7.5 wks..
My gynae appt is 1 day before i depart to genting.. any one can advise?

During my #1, i travelled to tp during my very early preg, and also some short trips.. everything went well tho..
dunno y now for my #2 a bit cautious..

Mamaduckie,

If you are worry better bring forward your appt..
I had cramps too it lasted few hours, but after a good nite rest, it went away.. maybe u try not to move around too much, see if the pain subsided..

9+1,
haha it is up to individual's preparation on how fast you want everything get planned.. so i dun think it is too early, if you think you previous massage lady is good, you can book her in advance rite?
I am not into massaging, not intending to get one for #2, coz during my #1, i also didnt have any massage and I get back to my old figure quite fast hahaha

cola, i think u are borned with very good elasticity
can stretch and shrink back very fast *envy*

during my #1, i travelled to india for 1 week ard 8 wk too and i also see my gynae just 1 day before i fly. I din take any special precaution, but i did bring some sota biscuits and milo powder along just in case no appetite. Ended up i had milo and biscuits for the whole week there coz the curry turned me off then.

I dont know le... i thought if see later, when can detect the heart beat then can save one visit ma.. else gynae visits so expensive and i'm a SAHM ...

Casey,

I know of one good malay masseur, stayin at Tampines. She's quite old actually but really good. However, for pre-nat she'll only do it frm 5th mth onwards when baby is fully formed. Can email you her no. if you're interested.

Hi mummies n MTBs,

So happy to "stumble" onto this forum -- thanks for sharing your experiences and advices.

I went to see GP this monday when lower abdominal pain persisted for a week. Upon hearing that my LMP was 5 weeks ago, GP did a pregnancy test for me -- viola, it's positive! However, GP had a worried look and said he suspected my pregnancy may have complication due to abdominal pain. He sent me to NUH A&amp;E immediately. Gosh, my hubby n I head for NUH with a heavy heart. Thank goodness it turned out to be a false alarm - the A&amp;E doc pressed on my abdomen for signs of pain at specific locations - no pain felt. And my 2nd urine test(1st one done by GP) showed that I am pregnant and no bacteria detected, PHEW! We are so happy -- this is our #1

Read previous posts of early pregnancy symptoms of abdominal cramps/pain. Pardon my ignorance, am not sure whether mine is pain or cramp (i dun hv menstral cramps *touch wood*)... my tummy feels bloated and I will feel on and off mild pain at the lower abdomen(both left and right side)/pelvis. More painful when I make sudden movement like get up from the bed/chair/toilet seat. Is this normal?

My good fren recommends her gynae, Dr. SF Loh @ KKH and we have booked our first appointment next wed @ TPS (that's the earliest date available). Will be 6.5 weeks by then, hope can see the sac and hear the heartbeat

p.s. any MTBs run/jog during first trimester? we are running enthusiats and have registered for a half marathon in Japan in Nov. However, my hubby is worried about flying during first trimester as this period is critcal to stablize the pregnancy...

morning ladies.

Congrats adv_sports

I heard that exercising is not a problem if u have been exercising all along but it really depends on how your pregnancy is. The gynae will be best to assess
Usually 1st trimester is not very ideal for travelling due to its stability but then again i think it depends on individual.

I exercised for my 1st time but i got a miscarriage ard 6 wks, but i dunno if it's really due to that.Just happened that there was sac but no heartbeat when i went for the dcan then. Then during my 2nd time, i din do any exercise til 2 trimester where i did yoga until the day i gave birth, it was good and delivery was very smooth!and i also travelled to india during my 1st trimester...

Now for this time, my gynae said it's ok for me to continue with yoga, swimming and brisk walking in the 1st trimester. So perhaps check with Dr Loh next wed and good luck

Hi everyone!!

I'm new here. Expecting my first baby and due date will be around early may. I went for my first gynae checkup last week and could see the baby heartbeat.

Sorry for being silly, I don't know what is the sac? When you look at the ultrasound picture, which one is the sac?

Afternoon ladies,

Congrats adv_sports and bean!

Adv_sports, i think it is best to check with your gynae on the sport issue, as he will be the right one to assess your situation and give you the best advise.

Bean,
so difficult to explain what sac it. Anyway, a normal sac will contain a baby, so your baby is protected inside the sac. You would be able to see it in your ultrasound picture.

9+1,
haha i think BF helps me to slim down a lot!!! I am back to my normal weight at 4 mths after delivery, plus 2 big breasts full of milk hahahahaa...
during my #1, i did travel as well... anyway, will let my gynae know about my trip in my next visit.

I am having v v v v v bad flu... cant really talk during my meeting this morning because my nose is very stuffy, there is another meeting to attend this afternoon.
Told my boss, can i not go.. he said since i will be handling the account, he wants me to attend.. haiz.. will take a short nap after lunch.
Gynae advised me not to take medi during this time coz baby is forming.. so have to ren......

Btw, i did some light exercises during my whole pregnancy for #1.. i bought those dvd for preggers hahaha.. this preg, i have not started yet, because everyday i am so busy with my girl... when she dozes off, i am dozing as well keke..

Dear rc cola,

Thanks for your reply. So looking at the ultrasound picture, Is the sac black in color? and the baby is a whitish in the sac? haha

Bean,

Ya, normally sac is darker (round) and the whitish dot is the baby.. by few more weeks you could see the baby is forming into the shape of tiny baby hehehe
during my #1, i could see my girl's hand banging my womb when doc do the scanning hahaha.. it felt wonderful :p

afternoon mummies...

Congrats adv_sports and bean..

rc_cola, make a cup of warm milk or milo to drink la. hope it will helps ur flu...

by the way, do u all believe on those online calendar to calculate whether baby is boy or gal?

WL,
Thanks for the advice. I managed to catch a 15 mins nap during my lunch time just now..
Will ask my boss to let me go home after my meeting at 2.30 later.. so tired.. without rest, i dun think the flu will go away..

Re: online calender to determine age
In my personal opinion, I dun believe in that, but you can always use it as guide.. just dun take it too seriously..
I think the data that the gather is really based on statistical forecast.. which sometimes might turn out wrong for some ppl..

rc_cola, true, if got flu, best way to cure is to zzz &amp; drink more water. coz i use it to test, it says my chances of boy is higher.
i prefer a gal leh coz i have a boy already.

poor thing rc_cola... Hope u will feel better soon. Anyway I have been trying to take half day leave, each week, if possible. I feel better after resting.Maybe you shld go home and rest.

has any ladies started on obimin here?
my gynae precribed me with that but said that i cannot take milk 4 hours before and after the pill. I was thinking of starting to drink more milk now..with this, i am lost to what to have for breakfast drinks.. no coffee no tea ...only milo kosong...

915, obimin is the red oval shape med izit? i remember i got take obimin during my 1st preg. but my gynae nv tel mi nt to take milk 4hrs b4 leh.

WL, ya..the pink oval shaped one...on the instruction label, it states do not combined with milk. then the lady at the counter told me cannot drink milk 4 hours before and after...

so i am thinking what other nutrious alternative i can order for breakfast drink...abit sick of milo kosong liao

Oops...i dunoe tat leh...haha...will take note if my gynae gave mi tis time round...
hrmm, hw abt those instand oats? which u can make into a drink? healthy oso...

915, thanks for your advice... we decided to cancel our japan trip as our #1 is more impt
will check with dr. loh on whether i can continue running. oh, heard dr. loh prescribed obimin for my fren, too. will ask him abt the milk thingy. m lactose intolerant...

rc_cola, do take care and wish u a speedy recovery from flu!

bean, congrats 2 u

my MS is getting worse.. it only started when i found out i m pregnant -- haha, dunno whether it is pyschological :p

Hi ladies.. my MS is quite terrible.. think everyday only 2 hrs is ok.. other than that feel like puking.. wonder if there is any cure for it?

Thanks adv sports!
Congrats to you too!

My MS is on and off! But I realised that if I eat salmon (cooked), biscuits, pasta and apples, the MS will be much less! I don't know whether it true or coincidental.

I read online which says that vit B6 helps to reduce MS as well. Not sure whether it works though. I also read somewhere which says that the more MS you have the stronger the pregnancy. Is it true?

What's obimin for? My doctor gave me Dupuston. She said its to stablised my pregancy. But my mum actually said those things are not necessary when there is no bleeding. haha