(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

audrey,
re: balboa sling
Couldn't delay gratification and wait for the BP, i bought it direct from mamma bebe for about $80 plus, i think.
but i like the sling alot

think BP is definitely more worth it!

sallen,
dun worry bout it

Cheekz,
Thanks for getting us the great venue! It was nice meeting you! Thank you Joyce and Shers for coordinating the food and other stuff! Am sure all the mummies and babies enjoyed themselvees!

audrey,
thanks for the info!

cheekz,
this balboa sling can use till bb how heavy?

audrey/iBite,
hee... my hubby wld sure love to be thr!

<font color="ff0099"> cheekz
mamma bebe owner is estelle, the email that i provided above hahaha.

she is selling at 68 excluding postage now

juju,
think the balboa until 16kg.. i have the dotted daisy brown but never use hahaha.</font>

many thanks to cheekz, joyce &amp; shers for organising this gathering!

joyce, i ate ur green tea cupcake -- yummy! thanks!

nice meeting all the mummies &amp; babies! feb_mum, thanks for helping me to pick up my bb when my stroller collapsed! lucky my bb din cry -- still blur from dreamland

very happy with my "accomplishment" 2day -- drive bb out alone for the first time! phew, she slept thru...

audrey, ibite &amp; ju, my hubby would love to join, too

hi all mummies, nice meeting u guys there,. too bad,. we did nt manage to get a group photo with all the mummies and babies together. perhaps next time ba... :)

cheez, joyce and shers, txs for the co-ordination. appreciated.

adv sports - no prob. do rem to always buckle bb in pram and not hang over heavy stuff. clipart{happy}

cheekz/joyce/shers - tks for organising this. my gal enjoyed herself so much dat she refused to leave! talk abt terrible 2s

oki - i tink my gal is the real nuisance! she was running all over the place like a bird released from the cage, aiyoh! she had a great time playing with chole.

Hi Cheekz/Joyce/Shers
Thanks for organising the event. My #1 enjoyed it so much till she fell asleep in the cab until 6 plus in the evening. Neo's curry is indeed very nice!!

Hi Feb_mum,
My gal was also running around like a nuisance. Glad that i brought her to the gathering cos she gets to interact with the rest of the toddlers.

Re: Colic
Think my gal's colic has been reduced after i started her on Ridwind's drop 2 days ago. My gal used to be very fussy and cry for no-reason from 7-8pm and 10-12midnight. After giving her ridwind drops (0.5 ml a day ard evening time), her fussiness has reduced. Last nite, she did NOT fuss at all. Everyone in the family slept by 11pm - 1st time ever since baby arrived! (though i had to wake up at 2, 5 and 7 to latch her-but she fell asleep almost immediately).For yesterday non-fussiness, i may also attribute it to full day of latch on. Maybe, for that reason, baby sucked less air and therefore less fussy.

i'm also a may mummy. need some help here. my baby has been passing motion abt 7-10 times a day but 3 days ago he was constipated and didnt pass motion for 1 day. now he's still straining 2 hrs to pass motion n it has affected his sleep.

he's on partial breastfeedin n i supplement w similac. i suspect the constipation has got to do w my changing to enfalac powder. but i've already stopped giving him enfalac n he's still straining to clear his bowels.

any comments or remedies pls.

gd morning ladies!

It was a nice gathering yesterday..Thanks Cheekz, Joyce &amp; Shers for organising.. the function hall is really big and spacious!too bad there are too many mummies and no chance to get to talk much
dunno who's who yet..hopefully we can do a 6 mths' bash like this again when the babies are bigger and we can bring the men along too

Joyce, the cup cakes are delicious! i never like green tea but the ones you made made me change my mind, not too sweet

Poohwei, nice talking to u. pls add me to ur FB , wanna tag ur gal's pic

Shers, too bad Shermin din come. would love to meet her

Yvette, i also din get to see ur Marcus...perhaps can meet him when he grows bigger then i also can bring my bb out...

Yesterday i only had chance to snap the little girls' pics and nothing else liao..hehehe..on btw i also took a pic of a little boy in pink polo with the beckham hair.may i know who's boy is that?

First_born, i remembered my gal last time also had this problem, the pd asked me to feed her soy milk for a while until the problem is ok then switch back.

Glad to have joined all of you for the gathering and many thanks to Cheekz, Joyce and Shers for all the effort put to make this possible

915, it's my boy. He is Julian

Mummies, anyone's menstruation started again after delivery? Think mine started already even though I am totally breastfeeding my girl.. Rang gynae's assistant this morning and was told that it is possibly my menstruation cos lochia normally should clear by now. What surprises me is the fact that she told me when milk supply suddenly dips, it signals the coming of menstruation and true enough for the past days, i have been complaining about the decrease in my BM
Also, the low milk supply is very much due to my tiredness (with 2 kids of course) Next, she told me something that is even more devastating and discouraging and that is the milk supply will remain low... (actually this is true, for my #1, my menstruation came during the 6th month and by 8th month, my milk stopped coming in. so in the end, boy was only breastfed till 8th month old). Mummies, I am very very sad as I really want to breastfeed girl till she is about 6 months old
... Sigh...

Shers/Cheekz > So much thanks rendered for organising this gathering and not forgetting the Neo Garden buffet. Yummy! Very enjoyable and successful one arranged! Hopefully, the next one would be better! :D

Joyce > Very thankful on your "sling demo" with Charlene. Washing my sling with more softener now. Hehe. Thanks for ya cup cakes!

Pity that we din manage to have a group photo with the babies...something which I very much look forward to.

My 1st outing with so many mummies yesterday...very overwhelming and relax.

Thanks all for the efforts done otherwise this gathering would not be possible too yah.

GraceofGod,

Period
My period returned arnd 3mth for both #1 &amp; #2, however, #1 was bf'd for 2mth &amp; total ebm till she was abt 6mth &amp; #2 was bf'd for 22mths.

Tho, my ebm yield is low, I tried to pump min 6 times a day for #1 full day supply. #2, was latched during evening &amp; nite, while I expressed 3 times a day!

Hence, it doesn't matter if there is period or not, u still be able to give ur #2 bm for as long as u want.. provided you are hardworking enuf to express for him during work &amp; exclusive direct latch when u r with him!

Thanks to cheekz, joyce &amp; shers for organising and coordinating this gathering ! the place is huge and we had so much fun !

joyce, i never get to try the muffin and cupcakes that u made...bb was cranky...only grab a bit of the neo garden buffet and went over to settle him first...the curry is really nice !

doreen, ur stroller collapsed in the carpark ? so dangerous leh....lucky yuan2 is sleeping so nice

poohwei, my boy also on ridwind drop since born 2nd day...it was given by TMC...now he dont need that already

Jean,

Lucky Doreen's stroller collapsed in the function room, got carpet, not so bad.. in the carpark, I can't imagine.

This is a lesson all must learn.. never hang heavy stuff on the handle, put them in the basket!

TT day went to fetch my 4yo boy with Hui Xin, I was walking too fast as I want to catch up with the toddler (he was running towards the car).. ended up, I slipped &amp; was kneeled down on the grass, lucky Hui Xin didn't fall as I was quick to support the head &amp; neck when I lost balance (was carrying her without sling)! I did not dare to tell my hubby abt this incident.. also keep telling the boy not to mention anything!

Jean,
Aiyoh.. wat a missed..some of them tabao so that I dun have to bring back so many &amp; still able to give 6 to neighbour!

Next time i make choco delight cake..

Hi joyce!

thanks for the encouragement, esp with the use of your own personal story
I will still hang in there, pump and latch as long as there is milk... just praying hard that it won't decrease too drastically in the early months.

oic...lucky is in the function room...

i dont think i can hang my bag on the stroller handle at all...my bag is abt the same weight as my boy...i see some of them their bag is even heavier and bigger...btw, if put things inside the basket...wil be very ma fun leh...later wan to close the stroller must remove everything again...

joyce, i thot ur cupcakes no more leh...dunno still got left so much...i only walk over to the makan area once...oh, thanks for teaching how to use the sling...i still blur lah but will keep trying when my boy in good mood..haha

helloo - the gathering looks fun! Was fighting fire in the office, can't get out to join u gals, sigh!!! I'm still feelin' dizzy today.

Porky - saw the baby pics on FB, like the one with the 5 babies lying down together! So very very cute!!

The gathering was fun although I didn't get to talk to everyone. The place is wonderful. Even if all babies cry at same time, no one could hear it from outside. Good sound proof system!

Sharon,
Thanks v much for giving me a lift. If not, we would have been caught in the rain.

Cheekz,
Sorry my boy kept asking you about the Wii. Lucky he is relatively well behave that day. Seems like there are more girls than boys.

Joyce,
I love your greentea muffin. Yummy... From your website, is this the correct recipe:
2 cups AP flour
3/4 cup white sugar (original recipe called for 1 cup)
1/2 tsp baking soda
2tsp greentea powder (I used 'Red Man' bakable greentea)
1/2 cup milk (I used slim milk)
1 stick butter (wonder how much is 1 stick, so used 100gm that is called for in another muffin recipe)
2 eggs (not stated size, so used 1 big, 1 medium)

Where can I get the "Akebono" red bean? Is it from Phoon huat as well?

Balboa slings
I have manged to contact both Estelle and Itsy Bitsy. Both are selling the sling at $68 excluding postal. However, Itsy Bitsy has no ready stock, she will order for us if we are keen (not sure how long its gonna take). As for Estelle, she only has striped trim, blossom trims and geisha. Pls see the design on her website www.mammabebe.com
I am thinking of getting Geisha, anyone else keen?

Hi Mummies, Below is the reply from Itsy Bitsy.

You can view the designs available in our bp thread:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2029483.html?1230540265

All pattern listed in the bp thread should be available, but I will double check with designer again.

Postage is: $2.55 (normal) + $2.30 (optional registered)

Processing + Shipping is about 2 - 3 weeks after submission of order list. We shipped thru Vpost, so takes a bit longer.

anybody wanna take over my medela mini electric plus. bought end may/early june at abt $300. Used for 1 week. Looking to sell at $200 (neg)

Also hv an avent manual pump for sale. used for about 2 weeks. bought abt 3 mths ago. Hope to sell for $60 (neg).

for both items, You'll get everything that comes in the original pack.

interested, pls email me at [email protected]

Joyce,
Thanks for sharing. So envy you can multi task. Have 3 kids and still make effort to bake and good. I must go daiso one of the days to stock up. Heehee.

any idea how to remove the milk stains on baby's tongue? i have been cleaning it with a wet cloth but it does not seem to work.

ak, you have to be very very rough with the cleaning. We really use a wet hankie to do it and we ensure some force is applied even tho baby is crying bitterly
but honestly, her tongue is very clean

<font color="ff0099"> glenlyn,
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2550490.html?1246356697

my fren's BP for baby monitors, breast pumps n baby bjorn carriers

re: balboa
actually i find the MIM slings more user friendly though its not as pretty as the balboa. the weight limit of the balboa is lesser than the MIM or moms r us slings.

balboa cannot adjust once baby is in so when bb struggles u cannot loosen the sling.. but balboa is very padded n looks more comfy for baby.

very good material too. i have balboa too but i dun use it cos the balboa is so snug i have problem trying to put bb in n out.

maybe can ask cheekz n star how they do it
i probably not used to it but i muz admit the designs r really really nice

the binders r here!!!</font>

flommy, yes very cute right...too bad u cant join us..

ak, i also very rough when cleaning bb tongue...i use a washcloth and soak in warm water...then coax bb to open his mouth..haha

re : balboa sling
i am interested too..how to order ?

what is the formula on how much milk the bb drinks? Can someone post it again?

Bm storage
How much should we store for frozen ebm? For eg, 100 ml per pack or full pump per pack? Cos I want to start storing for times when I'm away n I dunno how much to pack so that won't waste. The other day my boy finished 150ml ebm n not enough n lucky I had pumped another 50ml in fridge. So I was thinking if I pack 150ml per pack n if he needs more, end up thawing 300 ml n sure waste. Yet I'm not sure if he will always drink 200ml cos I always feed on demand. Help pls??

Re BM storage,

I don't have enough to do freezing yet, maybe the other mummies can help. But from your description above, tou might want to store some in 150ml (if the min he drinks is 150ml) and some in 50ml. You can give him the 150ml(or whatever min. that he always drink) first, then if not enough then you can give him the smaller packs later. For me, normally I will give 100ml first, then if not enough, I will give 30ml more. If still not enough, then another 30ml.

The formula above serves just as a guideline, it all depends on individual babies. If they are growing well then should be ok.

muffintop - i understand that you can transfer frozen ebm from freezer to the fridge section to thaw first. this way the thawed milk can be heated up faster, you can pour out the required amt and it can keep in the fridge section for 48 hours.

graceofgod, okipoki, porky - thanks for replying. i'll try the lotion. the stains seem to get thicker each day.

thanks baby may n ak for ur reply! I will try that

Think my boy has been overeating, cos there are 9 feeds a day. Either tat or my milk too thin. Haha

Muffintop, you are still latching, right? Or all your 9 feeds are bottle fed. Cause you wouldn't know how much they drink when they latch. But as long as his weight gain is ok, it should be alright.

porky, yah, lucky the stroller collapsed in the function room... blur mummy still stone -- joyce n feb_mum came over to help right away.

actually, quite tough to go out with bb alone -- handling the stroller, diaper bag n baby is a challenge!

oh, joyce, thanks for helping me to carry the stroller up the stairs to function room.

re: amt of milk
muffintop, wow, ur boy oledi drinking 200ml? how long will that last him?

baby_may, when do u stop giving more milk? m afraid to overfeed -- now i capped at 120ml for my gal (coming to 9-week old).

<font color="ff0099"> the binder!!

2634848.jpg

i have a balboa sling, those who want to buy can try out mine first..see whether both mummy n bb like it or not

re: outing
Sorry that last min can't attend.
Thks cheekz, joyce and shers for the efforts.
Hopefully can join u all for the next one...

Thks SK and Jamie too for inviting me to share cab,
Jamie,,, I saw the outing photo.. you look quite young.. and your figure, your tighs... how did you do that? envy...

Audrey, will find one day go to your house get from you. will call you ok?

muffintop, I did the same as AK, I will thaw the frozen EBM in the fridge first.