(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

jamie - i feel dat the article is a bit biased. i believe all ethical gynae are pro-natural and will not encourage induction/c-section unless there is a medical need. we shd trust in our gynae's judgement. for my #1, my dilation was very fast but stopped suddenly at 7cm. gynae oso had to give med to make the dilation continue. so even in natural deliveries, sometimes med is required too. let's keep an open mind and most impt thing is bb and mother are safe.

Inducing a high baby can be disastrous – not only do inductions already increase the risk of fetal distress and caesareans, but if the waters are broken with a high/unengaged baby, cord prolapse is a big risk as the cord could drop below the baby’s head (as the head isn’t near the cervix to block it) and the cord can prolapse through the vagina. A full term pregnancy is up to 42 weeks, so given your baby is healthy and you are healthy, there is no reason to schedule an induction at least until then, to give your baby the best chance at being born on the day she / he decides is the right time.

To give you an idea, a baby induced at -5 station (a measure of engagement) will give you a 70-80% risk of a caesarean section. So inductions are best avoided, and trust and waiting is the best medicine.

Jamie,
If she really out on 22nd I will get ur ger a big pressie

Being a doctor is like being a hawker.. will a hawker sell half cooked chicken rice at same price if the buyer doesnt detect any quality difference? of course he will.. Chicken rice seller just wants to sell as many chicken rice as quickly as he can. I think internet research can help you question and evaluate if your doctor is such a person. Trusting a doctor is good in a sense of emotional security, but I believe it's good to find out some things yourself too and possibly question the doctor on some of his/her decisons.

Certain medications wont have immediate side effects, but will only show 10 to 20 years later. when it becomes symptomatic, you wont even be sure of the cause because a lot of other things can happen in 10-20 years. Recently articles in newspapers have also been criticizing the blatant overuse or misuse of antibiotics by singapore doctors. The safest thing to trust is nature. This is just my 2 cents.

Melody: I also don't want to have a Labour Day baby. Tmr intending to maybe watch X-men with my family.

Porky: wah the nurses at SK sound better. Normally I don't watch the tv at CCK. Anyway only show Mr Bean. ;p My husband say next pregnancy want to choose another gynae if possible.

People have been asking have I given birth. I'm waiting and waiting leh...don't know when he/she wants to come out.

hi abby,

my gynae is also dr adrian w. normally, i went to his CCK clinic after working for the evening consultation.
i found that his nurses are quite ok ah, quite friendly, no attitude problems.

Abby,

1 May kid, born in ox year and taurus... scared my baby have to work real hard...haha... public holiday... think some add. charges will apply also...

Tomo prob go expo, if my hubby is not too lazy... got metro and harvey norman sale...they say walk more may help in labour....

hope i am not too tired./.. : )

Hi Hi Jee Yen,

we chinese and our funny ideas... haha... I even add a "cao" char for one of the chinese char name... so it symbolise that my girl will have grass to eat...

lol....

kelvin, no offence taken.. but wads ur point in typing all these when all these mummies to be are waiting anxiously for their arrival of the little ones. to be honest, its not fair to say tt induction is not good based on just articles, esp when u are not the gynae whom's in charge of delivering. And i do believe tt most gynaes will calculate the risks and everything before even thinking of induction. and no... gynaes are better paid and more educated than chicken rice sellers...
therefore, i would pretty much appreciate tt u keep the comments to urself or to ur wife, if u have any.. and save the mummies here from worrying abt unnecessary things. they/we are educated enough to be on this forum to exchange ideas and do enough research.
thank you for ur contribution.. but of coz.. i do not welcome such unnecessary info as well.(and yea.. my 2 cents worth of opinions too!duh)

shers- jiayou!! aft delivering.... ask ur hubby to bring pump down to service centre!!

okipoki- keep urself busy!! hahaha..

Adrienne,

I'm just trying to share... by the way, do you know any mommies who have given birth in UK? their induction policies are a lot more conservative than singapore doctors.

you're just speaking for yourself btw, not all mommies like to eat half cooked chicken rice, not everyone wants to eat antibiotics for every small ailment, not every mommy wants to be induced at the slightest birth sign.

This is a forum, i believe we have the freedom to express both views. You like to feast on half cooked chicken rice, but there are some who dont. Just learn to respect both views, even views that differ from your own.

there's really no need to get personal with all the "i do not welcome" and "duh" statements. I'm not looking for a fight, just sharing an opposing view and stating the unfortunate fact that some doctors and patients have conflicting interests.

hi to all mummies...

yup no news fr audrey yet...kinda worried for her...sms her also no reply...hmmm...

okie i gg sg expo c c look look got wat cheap bargain...will update u all again....

adrienne...
dun bother abt ppl's comments...

chat wif u all ltr...

adelyee, ya...i think she still in coma ??

cheyanne, dont worry for audrey, she will be in good hands...lets wait for her update later. mayb she will sms to anyone of us ? hey, let us knw wat good buy at expo ya

Abby, what time is your appt with Woody on Sat cos I be visitng him on that morning too. Maybe will bump into you.

Personally, I dun find his nurses at the CCK clinic nasty or unfriendly. I like the young looking gal cos rem once she was explaining to me on my itchy skin condition and told me many mummies got that too then comforted me not to worry so much.

Jamie > WOW!!! You were still awake in the mid of the night? Sorry that I din replied you yesterday cos I was working and am still working now. Got many meeting today and Im going crazy today altho it's my last working day liew. But if you do want company to go jalan-jalan nearby, I anytime "Feng Pei" k. Hehe.

I had insomia in the wee hours e.g. between 4.30-5.30 after my 2nd pee. Think kinda stress for today's meeting. Still got handover duties to discuss with my colleague. Hiak!

Ang I just finished my lunch, enjoying my "lunch" hour now. Back to work now!

kelvin- u are one of the mummies's hubby here? if not, why is it of ur business to be lurking ard this thread... sure u can continue to type wadever u want.pls stay here all u want...but wads ur point in doing all these? thanks for ur comments.. opionions.... or even lecture on it? go start a thread on beware of gynaes whom asked u to go for induction or prob... please go to gynaes whom allows pregnancy to go by nature???? to me, its just kpo-ism!

and oh.. of coz.. all these comments above are my own opinions only. strictly myself... and erm.. not based on any truth or articles, unlike u.
but again, i dun feel less proud becoz of this coz i never like to instil fear in these mummies to be esp the first time mummies to be.

and of coz...... i wun expect other mummies to be like me. just in case other mummies get me wrong. wad i want to be is to be a friend, to offer some encouragement...to those whom are affected by the fact tt they gotta be induced not to scare the hell outta them..

and why the need for me to know of mummies whom delivers in UK? i'm in sing, tts a fact? if u wanna educate ppl to be like u... then go to UK? but as a matter of fact, ya in singaporemotherhood.com!

porky- she sure is in coma de ..
guess she'll wake up to find out tt her breast pump is still not serviced yet..

shers-if u read this, go bk to archive.. okipoki gave u the addy..

hey girls,

update from audrey!

her hp low batt.. till nw still no dilatation she' gg for 2nd induction at 2pm.. first induction only caused some pain dat's all. so she told doc if really cannot then she's open to c sect..

Adrienne,

quit being so angry.. are you having some kind of depression? maybe you should look for your husband if you like to fight so much. A lot of people have not done research like you did, what i posted is for the benefit of those people, obviously not for you.

I'm not trying to instill fear, but i think it's better to know both sides of a coin before making a decision. Of course sometimes induction is necessary. I posted here because i read that Audrey is being encouraged by her doctor to induce for no reason at all.

girls, copied frm my msn

aupok ♪ says:
tell them im' ok!!! i'm hanging in there!!!!

and she also wants me to tell u guys that "adv_sports water broke this morning!"

oo.. touchy touchy.....

am i glad tt my hubby is not so...'free' to keep telling other ppl's wife wad to do and wad not to do??

kelvin, there's always 2 sides to everything: the +ve and -ves. I'm pretty audrey has done her own research and spoke to her family abt inducing before deciding wat to do. In her own words,

aupok ♪ says:
he is not a mummy he doesnt understand
aupok ♪ says:
as long as baby is safe, i  dont care about induction, natural or c section.. as long she's safe, anything is fine

No mom would want to put her bb in danger and no mom especially us educated ones, would be "encouraged", without thinking it through thoroughly, jus by listening to the doc.

joyce,
i dunno if its too late to reequest for such. Cos, my birth plan didn't indicate i want to give on all fours or squatting. Would however, love to try ~ to decrease chance of tearing..i tore quite badly last time..but not as bad as episiotomy =P. EPisiotomy is a 4th degree cut compared to tearing.

Wow, just read that Audrey is at KKH going for her 2nd induction. Hope that she have a smooth delivery and will suceed at her 2nd induction.

Jamie, please help me convey my well wishes to her in MSN since her HP is low bat. Thanks.

Actually, I also read an article on induction or rather how bad it is before. Of course, I, like everyone else, hope to deliver by the natural way without induction. But if there is no other choice, I will choose induction or even c-section as long as both baby and mother is safe (that is the most important to me, and I believe all MTBs).

quote my husband: trust ur doc, else wat the point in seeing them
sideline: and trust his mother ofcourse...she is very experience and knows everything...4 grandchild under her belt...

but me and my mom might be prejudice...
my mom say drink chix essence... his mom say will cause jaundice... so no chix essence for me...
headache...people say drink coconut... his mom say... too liang.... dun take too much...

faintz... people with their ideas...

its a living thing living and kicking inside us loh... we should have our concerns and worries and say on what we feel rite?

sigh.... often its the others tat has more to say rather than the soon-to-be-moms themselves

Hi Fun Fun Baby, my EDD is the same as yours, also 4th May. But no sign of labour yet. Hope that baby is ready and will come out in the next few days and hope that my delivery is smooth and quick.

melody: ya. every one gt somthing diff to say.. coconut juice they say come out clean, i dunno hw true bt i like ice cold coconut juice so i really dun mind taking more often. hahaha!

baby_may: told audrey liao... =) now she go for 2nd induction liao...

just do watever people say loh...

i chin cai liao....

think... if in the delivery suite... doc say induce... ok loh.... or else wat? wait??? then end up may also need c-sect? waste the pain and tiredness for another dun know how many hours? urghhhhh.....

easy for other people to comment loh....the pain is not on them mah....

why dun they design a system to let the guys feel the kind of pain we go through during labour.... at least fair mah...then they will understand more...

however, i think kelvin is still better than my husband lah... at least he got go do some research... my husband just let things be...dun think he even knows what to do and what I want... just listen to gynae and his mum enough liao....

mummies to be- i do hope tt u girls are enjoying the last lap of pregnancy!! and tt.. pls dun go read too much into unnecessary stuff when gynae (the only person whom examines u and know ur condition)says tt u and bb are both doing well!!
come on.. lets cheer each other on...

but hor.. before doing tt, can anyone tell me where to get coconuts ah?? hehe.. deprive of coconut... lately... hmm..

Adrienne, you can get coconut from those big hawker centre or market ie. Tiong Bahru Market, Chinatown Hawker Centre. Some NTUC also sell. I saw Punggol NTUC selling, but you have to open yourself.

adrienne: cold storage, giant, carrfour... some of the bigger ntuc... else hawker centre fruit store...some restaurant: thai express, indonesian food restaurant etc...

i drink at the most once a week, only started 2 weeks ago....

hello mummies..

have a smooth delivery for thoses who are going to poping..jia you..

and congrats to all mummies who have given birth..

gd afternoon ladies!

juz woke up from nap.

adrienne, talking abt coconuts, can get the coconuts at carrefour or sheng siong
i juz dreamt abt drinking coconuts...in my dream the uncle served me some coconut drink with lots of coarse sugar and i paid $2.90 for that in the dream...funny hor

i got craving for awfully choc... dark choc cake leh... dun know why...

both myself and husband never believe in cravings....since i did not have any throughout my pregnancy... maybe the food i eat normally already super unhealthy... so no need any craving... just whack lah....hahahahaha...

thank you mummies!! will make my hubby go buy it.. hehe..

915- when u going to deliver? i remembered reading somewhere but.. can't really recall...
me been too free... lately.. but er.. no.. not suffering from depression.. gotta beef bb up!!hopefully she's grown bigger substantially..