(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

shers,
thank you!

xue,
i did my BW yesterday! 1st time, pain yet shiok!
thx for ur hospital bag listing. now i can continue packing mine... was blur wat else to pack.

audrey - yes, shd be drink more water. swelling is due to water retention.

i see some of you post nb pics, oso made me go and search for my gal's. sure bring back lotsa memories. i rem the surreal feeling when i held my gal in my arms for the first time. didn't cry but juz feel so strange looking at someone who looked exactly like me! haha.

ok I'm a bad mother... I was so bothered with the lack of sleep I went to "Reward" myself by going to the FJ Benjamin sale today.... I bought NOTHING for my baby girl even though they have tons of kids' stuff and I bought heaps of stuff for myself ... clothes that I can't even wear now and perhaps might not even fit into if I never lose the pregnancy weight....gawd...:/

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Audrey,
lol.! i hope i'll still be here until mid or end of april. Don want to deliver tt early yet...

Juju,
I'm looking forward to the waxing too.! sure will be super clean there.! =D
No prob for my hosp pack list. Just base on self exp. =)</font>.

ak : yeah i guess so.... have been feeling quite down for a while cause of insomnia + taking medication as I caught flu and sore throat from hubby + MIL problems... sigh....
trying to stay happy but tough battle....

hi Fireflies80 =)

Its understandable, cos sometimes we feel pregnancy is stressful yet exciting...

Stay positive &amp; happy! Be a cheerful mum.
Ur baby will be able to feel ur cheerfulness.

I read from a book -
"Many things happen in life. There are joyous days and times of suffering. Sometimes unpleasant things occur. But that's wat makes life so interesting. The dramas we encounter are part and parcel of being human. If we experienced no change or drama in our lives, if nothing unexpected ever happened, we would be like automations, our lives would be unbearably monotonous and dull. Therefore, pls develop a strong self so that you can enact the drama of your life with confidence and poise in the face of all life's vicissitudes."

audrey,
depends bah... i got mine during a promo - 2 times for $55, usually is $55 per session.
some places go as low as $30 per session

but abit shy leh. that time my gynae ask me to take out my shirt cos she want to examine the breasts i keep giggling. den she was like i am going to see ur whole body so this is nothing!! haha.

where do u recommend? do the nurses check whether downthere is clean or not?

mummies:

u noe ah, i always see mummies carrying their babies in this baby carrier (not those sarong sling type).. its like clip on den the baby is left hanging there with their legs dangling..

is that comfortable? i always wonder if the baby leg just hanging there, comfortable meh?

audrey, ya i oso wonder... but think it is more for older baby.. and maybe easier for daddy to carry.. coz the sling kind is more for mummy to carry.. I got one from my fren.. will try in future when bb is bigger

Hi audrey,

There are 3 main brands for the carriers that you described.

1)Baby Bjorn: Weight is distributed at the shoulder area, baby can face front.

2) Ergo and Beco: Weight is distributed at the hip area, baby CANNOT face the front, can only face the person carrying.

Personally, i own both the Beco and the sling. I love my BECO carrier alot cos it is easy to use and i dun really feel the weight. Beco and Ergo has the same function but Beco has more designs and suits a vain mummy like me.

The carrier is definitely comfortable for my gal cos she will fall asleep in it easily w/o fail. The sling is good for the 1st few months where baby is very light. Once baby exceeds the 5-6kg mark, the sling will become very unbeareable.

My 2 cents worth.

thanks poohwei!

so the legs dangling won't make them uncomfortable right? cos i saw some very nice designs carriers. i'm also a vain mummy haha!

ok i will consider the carrier.. thank u so much!

Poohwei,
how much Ergo n Beco? Almost same like Baby Bjorn? I bot sling already

lily,
no lah she examine my breasts at my very 1st appt with her last year.. that time very shy dare not take out my bra haha. den she keep saying just take out la i see breasts everyday. haha.

my auntie say during her time, the nurses will go around bed to bed in the delivery room and ask "have u shaved? if not we do for u now"

eeeee.

lily,
sling can use for new born. i got 2 slings alrdy cos the colours so pretty haha!

slings also can use up to 18 kg but depends if u can take the weight or not

don't worry!!

Hi Lily,

Beco is more ex than Ergo by abt $50?? Think BECO carrier is abt $200 to $240 now. almost the same price as the higher range of Baby Bjorn. Ergo ranges from $130 -$150 onwards? I am not too sure.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2241189.html?1237993489

I have the carnival print one...Very nice right?

If you like plain colours, you may want to get Ergo which is available at Metro only if i am not wrong. Wait for the 20% storewide discount.

For BECO carrier, you can wait for SMH BP.

poohwei,
beco can only buy online? singapore don't sell?

thanks juju, i will check it out.. later the nurse not careful den cut us how.....

audrey,
dat's why i do BW cos can't trust hubby to trim/shave &amp; dun trust nurse to shave.

ling,
i think u can call &amp; check?

ling/bean,
dat's wat i heard frm ppl who deliver @ kk la.
dunno how true.

i think i shave myself better.. and bring my shaver along.. but hard for me to do it now cos cannot see hahahahaha

and yes i don't trust hb to do it.. he shave his face always cut himself...... wat more about me siaaaa...

Sharon,
really must shave before that? Wah how to do? If do BW first time sure pain one
wait the nurses to do wait accidentally cut how? Which one better?

i still do it until now.. but i just cannot see wat i'm doing that's all.. but not as neat as BW.. tend to miss out few areas haha.

and scared to anyhow shave cos later cut den super painful..

audrey, u so funny in that reply on not trusting ur hb to shave for u.. heehee

I just checked with one fren who delivered in Mt A last year.. she said dun need to shave.. nurse dont do it for u oso... phew!

Am gng Strip at paragon which Jamie recommend.. She freq there... Before this, normaly i'll shave myself.. If shave urself, it will grow little hairs back within 1-2 days.. but for BW, it'll be weeks before it grows.. Esp after deliver, the lochia discharge can be quite much.. it will be quite messy down there.. Even if nurses shave for you, it wont be so clean..

Bb carrier:
Personally I think beco is quite gd thou bb cant face front.. Use my fren's beco before and me &amp; hub really loves it.! I've bought the beco recently during the spree @ $220 instead of the usual $240. Comes with free reg postage and legwarmers.Think beco price will go further up..</font>.

haha my shaver blade very sharp.. so one time will shave off..
but i never do BW before so i dunno how is it like.. hahaha.

xue,
i'm at the website and the beco selling for $240 but i must pay for local postage.. but if its really good, den i will buy it before it goes up even further.. the design so nice

Shaving:

For all my 2 delivery, #1 @ KKH, #2 @ Mt A. all not required to shave lah..

Dun waste $$..

If you do shave, when it grows.. it will be unbearable!

but if dont shave ah, den later how the gynae stitch up? can see right? wah i sound like a monkey but i'm not ok!! pls don't get the wrong idea.. hahaha

i just thought if its clean, den everything can be clearer to the gynae hahaha.

den if never shave, den later bleeding + stitches + peeing, sure super messy and will smell like salted fish....

The designs very nice hor.! hahaa... When I know abt this, the price is arnd $190. Now already increase to $240.. Better get it if u're interested. =)
Last month Ashley (from cozybabies) organise a spree for beco. But the bp ends le.. Maybe u can email her and ask when she will organise again?

for mine C-sec, TMC do shave leh.. Natural im not sure.. Before preggy, i've already start shaving myself. It's actually for hygiene purpose. I feel much more cleaner after shaving.! </font>.

Xue:

My friend who go thru C-section at TMC also kena shaved.. for natural.. no nid!

I personally dun like the hair growth back period where it becomes prickly &amp; itchy.. hence, from then onwards, I never did once!

xue,
the designs so nice!!! so suitable for super vain mummies like me.. i told my hb i won't be huang lian po.. i will still dress up mei mei and look nice.. hahaha.

i like the carnival design.. which design did u get? so nice!
i have emailed ashley alrdy..

yah i shave to feel cleaner also.. haha