(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

1. EDD: 11 May 09
2. Name of Gynae: Dr. WK Tan
3. Delivery Hospital: TMC
4. No of pregnancy: #2
5. No #1 : 2/1/2 years old
6. Location : Sengkang.

Hello everyone, I didn't log in for one week and suddenly our thread is sooooo active! Amazing!

I went for my gynae check up last week and was so relieved to see the baby and hear the heartbeat..

But for the last 10 days, I've been down with a bad sore throat, fever, cold and doctor refused to give me antibiotics until yesterday.

Welcome Qin Yi and Kerlene!

adv_sports and baby may: I'm also wearing my normal clothes now. thank goodness i can still suck in my tummy so no one asked yet. i think once start wearing maternity clothes ppl will ask liaoz.. now at least i can just pretend that i'm fatter.. hahaha..

twinkle: i went to spring becos my hubby's fren recommended. but to me, it's quite expensive. i'm not comfortable with spending anything more than 30$ for pants or skirts. me very stingy.. my fren also recommended me some online maternity stores based in spore where u can try the clothes/pants first but still more ex than cloud 9.

i having a headache now.. can't wait to go home.. by the way, anyone has recommendations for a short getaway? i think i need a holiday..

tiny_m: i went to spring maternity @ causeway point last sunday. realised the price of one pair pants is between S$55-70. quite ex too me. so i dunno is this the standard price for maternity clothings? so i'm quite tempted to visit cloud 9.

twinkle: I went to spring before cloud 9, since they're just next to each other.. i see the pants in spring, too exp for me, cannot bear to buy. then go cloud 9, see so much cheaper so buy and buy.. u should make a trip down!

RE: Announcing

My colleague was commenting why my tummy never slim down after my #1 loh. Issit that i am too lazy to exercise...then i tell her...no lah..its #2 inside..hahaha..7+ week and i am so obvious..sian.

piggy_cow! really? willl ask him for it when i see him during the next visit!

Gosh.. dun understand why nowadays bosses are not understanding anymore... but i guess, if really sick, jus take mc lor.. bb more impt than anything now...

poohwei.. my tummy also leh.. though it look like bloated tummy.. cant squeeze into any of my pants..

so many breastfeeding enthu here.. great! next time we have each other to motivate!

I have just came back from meeting.. puih so tired.. dunno how my baby is doing inside my tummy haha....
Btw I have bought a heartbeat listener during my #1, will try to listen to baby's heartbeat when it is about 5 mths old, pretty obvious hehe..

Re: pump
I think u can rent pump at united sq, mums&babes.. if i am not wrong.
I bought my ameda at S$280 last time, now i think it is about S$380 le...

hey yo mummies,

yes u can indeed rent last time from mums and babes but just went to their website, couldn't see anything.... my pump was ex at that time cos its latest version last 3 years ago... now i think price should be cheaper as they have pis 08 version now with soft cup. if u go for robinsons/mothercare sale, it will be really cheaper and normally it will give u a vip card (i bought from Mothercare and got my card for free).

Maternity Clothes: Spring maternity has nice clothes but think its more pricy. like what one mummy said, can buy baby doll dresses to wear!! nice and cheap!

1. EDD: 20 May 09
2. Name of Gynae: Dr. Wen Lim
3. Delivery Hospital: Mt A
4. No of pregnancy: #3
5. No #1 & 2 : 4 & 2 years old
6. Location : Yio Chu Kang

hi everyone!

i'm a SAHM. although this is my 3rd preggy, i have not joined any forum till now.

hope to make some friends

re: maternity wear

i used to buy maternity clothes during each preggy. i've recently discovered a cheaper alternative -

wear spagetti tops n those comfy expandable (straight cut - more flattering) cotton pants (can buy from pasar malams/ make shift stalls in neighbourhood malls), as for the exposed bulging tummy, use a tube top to cover. you can play around with colours.

as for jackets (especially for mummies who work in cold offices), get crop jacket/ cotton type from normal shops rather then preggy shops. its much cheaper...

i feel that it is more important to get comfy shoe that is anti-slip (safer than sandals). i know of some ppl that buy a pair of good shoes to last the whole preggy. some buy cheaper alternatives at different stages of their pregnancy (depending on how much their feet expand).

hope the above helps

RE: weight gain
Hi tiny_m, some people has been commenting that I have put on weight. My husband says I still look good to him, so I don't care what other people say. But my weight gain has been stagnant this week after putting on about 2.7 kg from week 5 to week 9. Maybe because I am not so hungry these few days as I am sick and feeling bloated especially in the evening.

RE: heartbeat listener
Hi rc_cola, what is a heartbeat listener? Where did you get it from?

Re: Study
I have no choice leh..haha..
I need to tahan till late Nov then end of exams..Yippie!
Last few days have been mugging for test and my MS gets worse.. Realise that when I am stressed up,my body will "auto reject" the food that I take.
I am trying to tell myself to relax for the sake of baby. The presentation went on well and my classmates were impressed,happy to hear that hard work does pays off.

Re: maternity clothes.
I am still sticking to my babydoll dress and leggings. Leggings are very comfy to wear. I intend to get babydoll tops from This Fashion..haha.. (I very cheapo one.)Hope can last me for 9 months??No time for shopping lately..

Ya. I agree that Spring maternity prices are rather steep. I went to Kiddy Palace at Causeway pt and the maternity wear looks very "auntie" leh..

andrina gina,

My specialisation is Chinese. Today got History of Chinese Lit test. haha.... Very dry and boring subject. I think hor next time my bb will be very good in Chinese..

I am on no pay leave now leh.. BA 3rd and 4th year no pay one wor... BUT.... I can still go shopping! You can PM me...
*Seriously dun mind* ahhaahhaahha...

Hi babymay09,

Thank you for your advice.

I am still feeling very sick. I should also say my is a whole day sickness, whatever go in, will come out within 30 - 60 mins. Even I take small meal i also puke. I puke until my throat so paiful.

Today went back to office after my 1 weeks hospitalization leave, to discuss with my boss whether i can take leave till end of this month as i feeling very sick. Surprisingly she agreed & ask me to rest well. Saying will ask a temp to cover my job. So now on leave to stay at home & rest. I hope that my whole day sickness get better soon.

Sign...I want to buy couple of maternity pants but really sad loh. None fit me though it is indicated XL. I got big bums leh....so tight at waist and thighs. Sianz.

Any other places that sell extremely large sizes for mummies? Or must really custom-made? Haiz.

Hubby just passed a remark saying that my waistline is expanding but faceline is sharper. Hai hai haiz....

Welcome all the new mummies! Pls give me your details if you haven't done so for me to update the spreadsheet k?

xue - The cooler bag has an ice pack that comes with it. Last time when i was working, i stored my breastmilk in the fridge. I will then pack the bottle into the icepack, it can tahan from my workplace to my mum's place (where i go for dinner) then go home to store in my fridge (abt 4hrs?).

Gie - I can't believe that there are actually such bosses around! I always tot my ex boss was mean but didn't know that there are worse cases outside. U muz take care of yourself cos they are not going to be sad if anything goes wrong for u k?

Seems Medela PIS is quite good but wow, the price is double of Medela Mini Electric Plus..hmm..big investment.

With regards to renting of pump, BMSG (Breastfeeding Mothers' Support Group) does have a demo pumps for testing. Maybe u might wana call them and enquire about it? Check out their website below.
http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/demo-pumps.html

I finally went to Cloud 9 today to check it out after all the positive reviews from all of u. My conclusion is very very good deal!! Even my hubby was impressed and commented "wah, so cheap ah?" cos he knows how much i spent for my #1. haha..Very tempted to go back again to check it out since only $5 for those simple homewear tops.

Was thinking shall we set a date & venue for our 1st gathering? At least something for us to look forward to
Wana set in early - mid Nov? Think by then, we shd be in our 2nd trimester? Hmm..1 more mth away wor...seems super long rite? hehe..

<table border=1><tr><td>Nickname</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae </TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>No of pregnancy</TD><TD>Gender of current child</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>Stay in </TD></TR><TR><TD>Vera</TD><TD>1-May-09</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Xue</TD><TD>1-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>14 mths</TD><TD>Boon Keng </TD></TR><TR><TD>Penguinny</TD><TD>1-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Chan KH</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Queenstown </TD></TR><TR><TD>Baby_May_09</TD><TD>4-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Lim Teck Chye</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>jasc</TD><TD>5-May-09</TD><TD>Dr ML Yeap</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>29.5 mths</TD><TD>Choa Chu Kang </TD></TR><TR><TD>lcyen</TD><TD>5-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>15 mths</TD><TD>Toa Payoh </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bean</TD><TD>6-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan </TD><TD>Eastshore</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Tampines </TD></TR><TR><TD>andrina_gina</TD><TD>6-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Cheng JP</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>3</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Toa Payoh </TD></TR><TR><TD>JRTlover</TD><TD>7-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Don Wong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Woodlands </TD></TR><TR><TD>daec</TD><TD>7-May-09</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>14mths</TD><TD>East </TD></TR><TR><TD>rc_cola</TD><TD>7-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Ben Neo </TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>13 mths</TD><TD>Delta Ave </TD></TR><TR><TD>Piggy_Cow</TD><TD>8-May-09</TD><TD>A/Prof Tay Sun Kuie</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>16mths</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>JEN</TD><TD>9-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>20 mths</TD><TD>Woodlands </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ah_bunny</TD><TD>9-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Henry Cheng</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>3.5 yrs old, 10 mths</TD><TD>Bishan </TD></TR><TR><TD>feb_mum</TD><TD>9-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>20 mths</TD><TD>Bukit Batok </TD></TR><TR><TD>915</TD><TD>10-May-09</TD><TD>Dr TC Chang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>15 mths</TD><TD>AMK </TD></TR><TR><TD>mamaduckie</TD><TD>11-May-09</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>2.5 yrs old</TD><TD>Sengkang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sue</TD><TD>12-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>Casey</TD><TD>12-May-09</TD><TD>Prof Mary Rauff </TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>33 mths</TD><TD>Dover </TD></TR><TR><TD>laatzy</TD><TD>14-May-09</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>9 mths</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>graceofgod</TD><TD>15-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Selina Chua</TD><TD>Mount E</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>20 mths</TD><TD>Yew Tee </TD></TR><TR><TD>adv_sports</TD><TD>16-May-09</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>WL</TD><TD>16-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Lee CW</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>14 mths</TD><TD>Clementi </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joyce Yong</TD><TD>16-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>F, M</TD><TD>6, 3 yrs old</TD><TD>Yishun </TD></TR><TR><TD>SK</TD><TD>19-May-09</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cutie</TD><TD>20-May-09</TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Clementi </TD></TR><TR><TD>pearly_ng</TD><TD>20-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Wen Lim</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>3</TD><TD></TD><TD>4, 2 yrs old</TD><TD>Yio Chu Kang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gie</TD><TD>22-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Christopher Chong</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Redhill </TD></TR><TR><TD>twinkle_sp</TD><TD>26-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>CCK </TD></TR><TR><TD>baby512angel</TD><TD>28-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Tan Kim Teng</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>3 yrs old</TD><TD>Jurong </TD></TR><TR><TD>May</TD><TD>29-May-09</TD><TD>A/Prof Tay Sun Kuie</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>15 mths</TD><TD>Buangkok </TD></TR><TR><TD>xbbm</TD><TD>30-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Chan</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>12 mths</TD><TD>Bukit Panjang </TD></TR><TR><TD>Anxylyn</TD><TD>30-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan </TD><TD>Eastshore</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>F, M</TD><TD>6, 5 yrs old</TD><TD>Bedok </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lin_Qin_Yi</TD><TD>30-May-09</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tiny_M</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Kovan </TD></TR><TR><TD>liewb</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Kek Lee Phin</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>M </TD><TD>7 mths</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Poohwei</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr LN Sim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>12 mths</TD><TD>Redhill </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

this is my first pregnancy, edd 2 may 09.
would like to know is any one not going for the OSCAR test? any one just going to do the NT Scan only without the triple blood test?
Personally to me if the oscar results is not good, the doc still need you to do amnio..
no end to testing and testing..and for all you know the baby is perfectly healthy in the first place

Piggy_Cow,

Set the gathering in end Nov lah.
My last paper on 21st Nov leh...
How are u doing in yr course? Everything ok?

SK,

Sama sama lor. My tummy is growing,and my face still sharp. I got big backside too...haha.I hope only my tummy grows throughout this whole pregnancy tho. :p I am of petite frame.

Welcome Jaime!
kao_welcome2.gif

Cloud 9 at suntec #03-021A (Tropics zone),a maternity wear shop.

Looks like I gonna make a trip to Cloud 9 this week!
Happening sia...Wooohoo...

Welcome Jaime, do give me your gynae's details for me to update k? JRT had given u the address of Cloud 9, do check it out before next Monday as that's their last day there.

JRT - My course still honeymoon for these 2 weeks
Full swing will start in end Oct..sigh...wow, u still have exams? Thats tough! Mine only has assignment so not that bad..So do u have holidays? My tummy also growing but i think it is just fats! haha! has your classmate start to ask u whether u are preggy?

Piggy_Cow,

I got 5 papers to go.
My holidays start right after 21st Nov till Jan next year! Looking forward to that!
Some classmates are asking me liao but I just told them "U just wait and see lor!"

Hey JRTlover,

Don't forget me, I want to go shopping for maternity clothes too. Now I can still squeeze into my looser clothings but next sem confirm must wear maternity clothes liao!

My hols will only start 1 Dec as my classes expected on end on 28 Nov.

Morning mummies..

Piggy_cow, a gathering in Nov sounds cool.. imagine a group of pregnant ladies together haha..

RE: Breast pump - whats the diff between Medela PIS and Medela Mini Electric Plus?

My weight has been the same as pre-preggy. I hope my baby is getting enough food. I am week 9 now. Every dinner, I will either eat 2 spoons of rice or no rice + meat/veg. If I eat too much, I will feel bloated and sick all day

morning everyone! welcome to the new mummies!
thank piggy_cow for updating the table. it's so long now!

Re: Maternity clothes
my fren recommended me a couple of online maternity stores. i haven't had the time to check them out but MAY be cheaper. if you're interested can go and see. i still find cloud 9 cheaper..
1) momsinmind
2) stylishmum2be

JRT: I wanna wear leggings and babydoll tops too! but i have very fat thighs, wear leggings like very ugly like that.. even my hubby commented that my thighs are growing so big.. sigh.. so pei fu u teaching Chinese! it's a very difficult to teach cos a lot of kids now "eat potato" de.. i wish my kid will be good in chinese also! i like chinese a lot!

baby512: u must take care hor.. try to eat how ever much/little u can. u can try fox sweets or ribena as some of the ladies here suggested..

piggy_cow: breastfeeding support group got rent pumps ah? must check it out liao.. i'm so clueless about BF-ing. any recommendations for good pumps? i'm thinking if i should invest in one.. need to check the prices..

i dun mind going for the gathering. keep me informed ya? 2nd tri will be good cos (hopefully) most of our morning/evening/whole day sickness will be over.

aiya.. i soooo hungrrryy this morning. already drank a cup of milo, ate one slice of bread and beancurd still hungry.. and it's not even 9am yet!! i was awaken by my hunger last nite at 2am liek that but force myself to go back to sleep. then this morning i was super hungry.. shall go hunt for more food.. i'll be very fat very soon!

Morning all,

Piggy cow: i support a gathering in end nov too!! u need help in booking a place??? I can help out in this area... maybe we meet somewhere central so that most mummies can make it? potluck or in a cafe??

Re: Medela PIS/Mini Electric

- Mini Electric doesnt come with bag, cooler system, ice pack and it is stand alone. Each pump is considered individual.
- The suction and let down pumping is not as efficient as PIS as PIS is using a more advanced system which is relevant to a hospital grade pump.

tiny m: if teaching then better get a electric one, last time i only have around 1 period for pumping... when i used the manual one, it was quite slow and there were many parts to clean... i prefer the e one cos i just hook the pump and then can mark, eat and pump at the same time...

Hi Andrina and Tiny M!

Electric pump if teaching? Must check where you are gonna do the expressing... toilet? No socket for electric pump! Unless, you are using a battery operated one... but this one wont last...

I used a manual one cos got to pump in toilet cubicle. It's unhygenic but no choice cos that is the only place to do it. So must check k?

hi andrina and graceofgod! I'm not teaching, my hubby is. i'm working in an office environment and if i need to express milk at work, i can do it at my dept's storeroom, got aircon and can lock from inside. but will electric pumps be v noisy?

oh, earlier, pearlyn talked about getting comfy shoes. what brand is better? i'm still wearing my heels but my feet get swollen if i stadn or walk too long. my hubby also thinks it's v dangerous as i very clumsy, will slip and fall easily. any recommendations?

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> morning all.!
piggy_cow, hmmm... so i'll hv to make a trip to my mum's place everyday.... thanks for ur info.</font>.

Having pm class today, leaving house to go bugis to do some shopping first before going to sch. Heard that there is a sale at bugis? Tot of buying flats, hasn't seem any nice and cheap ones around..

andrina - my electric plus used to come with bag, cooler bag &amp; ice pack. The only problem i have with the pump was that i feel that it didn't fully empty my breast after i pump for 30min. Always felt some blocked ducts inside but i didn't have the patience to clear then so i was thinking that PIS might not have this problem..Also u have free hands to mark and eat for PIS? I need to hold the pump for my mini electric else in case, i move, the suction to my breast is gone then might topple the bottle so i can only watch TV or sleep when i pump. haha..

Tiny_M - Mini Electric is quite noisy but i haven't heard how noisy is the PIS so can't advise u on that..Guess when it is the taka baby fair, we can all check out and see the diff.

Graceofgod - You can put batteries in the Mini Electric pump so can pump without socket. Last time my colleague used manual pump cos she say the letdown is better but i really pei fu her for squeezing the pump for 30min. Think she has very strong fingers!

good morning ladies

congrads to more MTBs.. and thanks pigy_cow for updating the long long list!

re: BF
wow, there is so many things to consider! thanks for all the advices. one of my colleagues is going to give birth early next year -- my HR said they will arrange a meeting room for her to express BM
phew, then dun have to do it in the toilet... and the good electric pump is so expensive!

re: MS/ES/Wholeday sickness(WS)
baby512, take care and have a good rest! very fortunate to have an understanding boss
for me, it helps when i eat sour &amp; slightly spicy food -- last nite, i was able to finish a plate of tomyam seafood pasta! if feel bloated or a lot of gas -- go for a walk outside and burp it out.

re: weight gain or loss
last sunday, i found that i put on 2kg from my 1st visit to gynae 2 weeks ago. yesterday, i found that i lost 1 kg from sunday's weight... is it normal to have such weight variation??!!

re: gynae visit
my next gynae visit is 2 weeks later(4 weeks from my 1st visit) -- m worried about my bb's growth... how often do you visit the gynae? should it be more frequent during the first trimester? or i m juz being a nervous MTB? :p

Re: Gathering

I would suggest a nice makan place for dinner in end Nov instead of potluck so dun have to cook and wash, so mafan rite? Lazy me..hehe...

We can go to a few nice restaurants like fish &amp; co (fish is good for us), billy bombers, swensens etc. Feel free to suggest a place. Shall we fix a date first?

Let's go voting. I've a few dates below, pls choose 1 k? The reason why i've put as end of Nov as i believed by then, all of you shd have passed 1st tri and also to accommodate those mummies taking exams

25 Nov (Tue)
26 Nov (Wed)
28 Nov (Fri)
2 Dec (Tue)

piggycow, thanks for your help!

1. EDD: 30 May 09
2. Name of Gynae: Dr. Douglas Ong
3. Delivery Hospital: Mt A
4. No of pregnancy: #1
5. Location : Bukit Panjang

adv_sports - Normally it is less frequent in the early stages of pregnancy. My next appt is also 4 weeks (when i am 12 weeks)from my 1st one. The gynae visits will be nearer when u are in ur last trimester, every fortnightly and during the last mth, every week for some gynae so dun worry so much k? I also have a bloated stomach after every meal, looks like 4-5 mths preggy!

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> adv_sport,
At first my appt scheduled 2 wks cos still not stable yet. normally its fixed at 4wks per visit.

piggy_cow,
the dates in wkdays will be meeting after wrk? or need to apply leave? haha</font>.

Re: BF
So far I think Medela pump is good. If you are considering, can try out (for free) in the hospital first. The hospital has the Medela pump and bottle for mummies to express. I want to rest instead of being waken up every 2 hours, so I express extra and ask the nurse to feed. Also I dun wan my baby to rely on me only. My friend’s baby who only drink direct from breast for first few weeks, subsequently refuse bottle. Then when she went back work, the baby refuse to drink anything.

Re: gathering
Good Idea! Can we have it at a kids friendly place?

xue - haha...after work, my dear
Muz save leave for rainy days now.

Anxylyn - was thinking this time round, just the mummies to meet up cos with kids around, we wont be able to talk and eat freely. haha

Re: Gathering
i agree with piggy_cow, i can't cook nor wash! i'm fine with all that had been suggested. hwo abou jap food? i rem most of us like jap food right?

Re: gynae visits
i'm seeing my gynae every 2 weeks at the moment. 1st visit too early can't see anything, 2nd visit (2 weeks ago) can see bb and heartbeat. going for my next checkup this fri. i think it depends on gynaes how often they want you to see them. adv_sports, i'm also worried like u. sometimes wanna fake illness and find an excuse to see gynae and at the same time ask him to scan and show me. hahaha.. no extra cost mah, since all in the package. but decide to take it easy cos i can't stand the queue at my gynae's!

piggy_cow: my gynae never tell me my EDD leh.. but from what i checked online, my EDD should be 17 May 2009. my gynae said it will be early May tho'. anyway, u can just put 17 May.

for those ladies with blogs, u can add this widget to your blog! http://www.widgetbox.com/widget/baby-ticker it monitors the growth of ur bb and u get to see how it changes every day and there's a countdown too! i find it very amazing to watch my bb turn from a tadpole like thingy to one with head and fingers! those with twins can also see ur twins "fighting"! if u have no blogs, u can still visit the website and enter ur EDD to see how ur BB is like at the moment. Have fun!

ahhh.. ladies.. my last exam date is on 4 Dec.. can be after tat? i would love to join u all for the gathering worh...

re breast pumps. thot i will share my 2cents worth, hope it will be useful ref for new mummies.

I used medela PIS when i had #1. this is a dual pump with a heavy duty motor and hospitals use this. think a new one costs around $600-$700. i borrowed mine from a fren. as i was feeding my gal with expressed breastmilk, which meant i had to pump every 3hrs, this pump helped a lot as i saved a lot of time since it is a dual pump and the motor is strong. noise level is also very low.

before this, i was using medela mini electric - this is very noisy (like a lawn mower)! it's functional but coz motor is small and it is a single pump, may not be very efficient. i find that it did not clear the breast very well. but if you are not pumping very often, this will suffice. it costs around $160. there is a mini electric plus in the market, this is a dual pump version.

another heavy duty pump is the avent isis iq duo - this is in the same category as medela PIS, used by hospitals too. same price range. i tried it before and i personally prefer this to medela PIS as it is gentler on the nipples!

you can buy second hand pumps from thomson parentcraft. it is situated just next to acj clinic on 3rd floor. give them a call, might have good buys. for eg, the last time i was there, i heard from one of the nurses that a mother was selling her avent isis iq duo at $300 and the pump was only 3mth old. definitely a good buy.

if you are getting 2nd hand pumps, can get new spare parts from parentcraft too for hygiene purposes.

sorry for the long-winded post.