(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

ow_mummy, so u didn't start your gal on rice cereals? just on purees directly?

Bubblybride - thanks. I'll go check it out later from NTUC...

ok Ow..

Between what kind of ingredient u can used for making puree??

When can we give them eat porridge..

Can we add salt or sugar in baby 's porridge??

LovJ: Think you can boil ikan bilis to make the stock for the porridge. It'll be naturally sweet.

Saw this book Baby's First Foods. They have recipes for various foods for baby up to 1 or 2 year old. Anyone using that book? Useful?

I remember that I watch this programme whereby Zoe Tay was sharing how she made the stock to cook porridge for her boys. I think these are some, if not all the ingredients she used:

Chicken Bones
Pork Bones
Carrot
Corn
Wolfberries

No salt, peppper and sugar needed.

Afterwhich she will freeze into small portions for each meal. Very convenient like that!

jas.j: first i start from rice cereal den after 2-3 times she don like den bobian i give her sweet potato cuz my mum was eating it..haha n she like it!

lovJ: puree: sweet potato,pumpkin,carrot,avocado..i m starting potato,broccoli n see wads there in e market..kekex...actually last time elders start porridge right from 4mths..but i onli intend to start porridge ard 7mths...cuz i gt those baby food book.. alot of their porridge recipe start from 7mths onwards..maybe becuz of e ingredient like meat not so easily digestable for their small tummy bah..but can start porridge from 6mths i guess..

but most of u onli starting to wean from 6mths..den i guess start from rice cereal den mov eon to puree den porridge.. anyway i think i saw timetable..its like.. BF/LUNCH is rice cereal w puree.."dinner" will be thin porridge...something liek tt...haha.. anyway its flexible de..see which way u like lo...i m stil givin her 1 feeding of puree onli.. will move on to 2 meals from tml onwards..as she is pushing the puree feeding time earlier liao...from 1plus 2 to 12.30 den 12pm..den today her first feed of milk at ard 6plus 7 den she don wan milk at 10..all the way till 11.30 i give her puree den she happy....lolx..

<font color="0000ff">Eunice:</font> Pampers size-4-size is bigger cutting dan Nepia datz why aft finishing 3pkts Nepia L I stop buying. Unless starts doing butt crunches &amp; shapes up his tootsie a bit...

<font color="ff0000">Pampers Active in Old Packaging has 'Balloon Waist':</font> e 5pkts I stocked up r old packaging bt juz now when changing him I was thinking "wah, how come managed 2 pull e tape all e way to centre" then I realised itz elastic tape.

<font color="aa00aa">HLW:</font> Tx 4 e info abt diff CC. Actuali I'm ready 2 apply for NTUC, Sheng Shiong &amp; the Cold Storage (Choice card) too 2 try &amp; save on groceries.

Btw, I'm going to order Happy View Tingkat for 2wks to try 1st -- itz $100 while 4wks is $190, small price diff.

Hi ow_mummy... I tried to find food makers from the fair, but didn't see them... =( how much u got it for? How is it compared to the munchin kids one?

jas.j: its at combi there on top of the shelve..$28.90.. i like combi one..cuz it haf the bowl right below the grill...n it comes with many types of grill.. i nv buy the munchkin one so i cant compare=)

ow_mummy
u bao delivery, i dun mind manz! haha... taking abt storage, i better go buy the baby cubes n buy some new AVENT VIA cups.

kidz
then mabbe i shd use Nepia now then keep pampers for later. liddat better go ntuc stock up later!! dunno still hv or not though. ya, the old packaging already got the balloon stretch.

Hi Maria, I sent you an email on the collection details. Pls let me know.

Total got 4 tray available:

1) Lov J
2) Maria
3) Maria
4) ??

Any takers? Please confirm ASAP.

<font color="0000ff">Eunice:</font> Yeah, muz use Nepia 1st. Coz their diapers onli up 2 L-size, then itz diaper pantz in L, XL &amp; Big. My gal on Big now... If she dun get potty trained &amp; outgrows Big, I gotta switch her full-time to Huggies Pull Ups whc goes to XXL...

Re: Taka Fair - medela bottles
any of u know whether they have trade-ins? if yes, issit 1 for 1 bottle? i heard some they allow u to buy up to 5 bottles for 1 bottle u bring in.

LovJ,
Wow, luckily I read, else I think I will miss the tray if somebody grab it
Every time I access the net, before I could post it, my gal make noise! **PHEW!**

Marie,
I tot you are not buying any bumbo seat, but why now you grab 2 tray leh?

Jas J.
You should bring some softcopy to your workstation, so time to time when you misses your bb then can view the photo
alternative way print out as hardcopy! So you will not desperately miss your gal.

Hi Eunice... just got the wean machine from previous BP that just ended yesterday. The BB cube price in that BP was only for 13.50 (no need to purchase other items). But noticed on this new BP, is gg for 14.50.

U might want to contact the person from the previous BP directly if no intention to get the wean machine...

Hi audrey... already have her cute pix on my wallpaper... LOL

HLW
i did that too. I cooked stock each week and froze in VIA cups for that week's porridge. I thought of using bones then my mom told me not to but use meat. she said though using meat the stock won't be as tasty, she said if the bones cook for long to make stock, the marrow will go into the soup and it's not so good. not sure whether true or not but sound ok to me so i just use meat. i also alternate the meat and ingredients i put in so at least stock/porridge taste different. i have used pork, chicken, and beef. beef not as often as it's sup to be heaty.

as for the ingredients that go into the porridge (diff vege), i will puree and freeze as well for the week. i use freezer pots and baby cubes then i will mix and match so give bb a variety. later on when she got older, i dont puree but cut into tiny tiny cubes. at the same time i also added meat. steamed and shredded by hand. for fish, i will thaw out then cook on top of the porridge before serving.

kidz
i am going to try happy view for a month as well. haven't decide when to start yet, taking a break after 2 months of neo gardens. so the pampers, old one better or new one better?

LovJ
think not recommended to add salt or sugar before 1? you can use stock, or use ikan bilis powder. must soak first so not salty, then dry well. my mom put it in very low heat in the oven. after that i blend into powder and add to porridge.

Jas
the pd said i can start when i saw her last month cos my bb is quite big and pd thinks if start semi solid then her milk intake will go down and she won't balloon so much. i have decided not to start until she is at least 6m old. with my #1, i waited to almost 7m to start but she progress through different puree to porridge relatively quickly.

Lilmoo, icic. My PD suggested to start in 6mths, she said to prevent any potential food allergy that could develop prior 6mths.

But I see everyone talking about reciepes, making me so tempted to start... LOL

So your #1, you never start on rice cereals prior purees?

wow.. look like i have more to learn leh about weaning...

yesterday my maid say prepare banana must be from del monte one.. cannot anyhow choose banana.. I like a idiot leh... then porridge can only be given when baby reach 8 months..

After my last day of work, really have to learn how be a good mummy . hee hee

<font color="ff0000">Lamaze Octotunes</font>
i know i'm abit slow and there was some discussion sometime back on this toy.
but mummies any feedback on this?
i'm wondering if shld get, it looks like fun!
but i have the leapfrog caterpillar one, and my baby dun seem to enjoy it much.
and how much is the Octotunes selling for and where is the cheapest to get ah?
wondering if shld order online and ask ppl help me bring back from US or Europe..

hi just copied off the website .. but please read thru.. IMPT!!

What should babies under one year avoid?

* Still keep off salt, sugar, honey and artificial sweeteners. Try sweetening desserts with mashed banana or a pure of stewed dried fruit if possible, or use expressed breastmilk or formula milk.

* Avoid the temptation to add a little tea to baby's bottle. The tannin in tea interferes with iron absorption, and the caffeine it contains is not recommended for children.

* Avoid giving fruit squashes or diet drinks to your baby. Artificial sweeteners are not suitable for babies and young children.

* Avoid foods which may carry a risk of food poisoning, such as soft mould-ripened cheeses (brie, camembert), liver pt, and soft-boiled or raw eggs.

* Don't give cow's (or goat's or sheep's) milk as a main drink under one year.

* Skimmed and semi-skimmed milks, low-fat spreads, yogurts and reduced-fat cheeses. Always offer your baby the full-fat versions - they need the calories.

Hi Mummies, I have the following items to let go, please PM me if interested:

Avent Disposable Breast Pad 50 pcs (Brand New Shrink Wrapped, comes with a box of Pigeon disposable pads 24 pcs opened box) - Selling at $20

Baby-Lucky sling (lightly used) - Selling at $10

Avent Baby Carrier (brand new) - Selling at $20

Nepia M 48 pc - Selling at $12

Prices negotiable, thanks.

hi mummies..haven posted for a long long time...
relapse of my graves disease (thyroid prob), so lost quite a bit of weight..was down to 41kg, even lighter than pre preggie weight..but was expecting it la..cos my doc said that chances of relapse after giving birth is very high, esp 6 mths after..that's y my appt was actually due in oct..but with the weight loss, heart palpitations n trembling, I knew i had to see her earlier liao..after taking medicine, feel better but cos I'm still bfing, cant take the full dose so wun recover so fast..haiz..it's nt a life threatening illness but very easy relapse wan, hate taking medicine everyday..

Everyone talking abt weaning bb..I initially intend to wait till 6 mths but bb's taking less milk..wil c how..if it continues, mite start her slightly earlier..

Tkkots: My deepest condolences to your loss..stay positive and strong!

Lilmoo: I was reading some of the past postings and saw you mention the disgusting healthy times cereal..my gosh! I initially tot I will use that..tink now I mite wana give cereals a miss le since one of my frens also had an unpleasant experience..mite use Eu Yan Sang brown rice for baby den..

RE: Taka fair
Went wif hb and bb ytd cos he was off and bought some toys and clothes for bb..also got the safety first recline and grow feeding chair..tot it was quite a gd buy, only 79.90. Usual 169 i tink. initially we wanted to get bumbo but last mth my fren lent it to me, my bb oso dun like..we put her in this chair at the fair, and she was happy =) plus this chair can quite long..

I'm quite new to this forum, but already, i'm finding it very useful...
My maid, whom we hired to take care of my bb, is giving me a lot of problems and we're sending her back to the agent. So i need to look for a babysitter. Anyone knows anyone? preferably in east coast area.

SoonKueh, welcome! I also keeping eyes open for nanny in the east. If u do have extra contacts, please share with me.

Rin, 41kg is light. U better take tonics on a regular basis esp since u are bfing.

thanks ow_mummy and Novi!
would you recommend we buy the toy?
my hb already complaining that i'm buying too many toys for baby...

besides toys, how do the mummies here stimulate and entertain your babies?
i usually read books and sing to her, that's all...never get those flashcards that seems to be so popular now...
so i wonder if my baby is properly stimulated..

<font color="0000ff">Soonkueh:</font> Welcome 2 Apr Mommies family. Boy or girl? Birthdate?

<font color="ff0000">Bugs in Healthy Times Cereal:</font> Organic = no pesticide. I suppose datz how e it ended up w bugs laying eggs in e cereal &amp; hatching i.e. nothing used 2 kp e bugs away throughout e whole process rite? Stl, I reali shudder.

<font color="0077aa">Pesticide in reg. veg:</font> Heard dat some local students did an experiment 2 test amt of pesticide in vegs fr local mkts. Turns out muz soak whatever we buy for min. 30mins 2 effective 'wash out' e pesticides. So mommies, take heed...

<font color="119911">LovJ:</font> Del Monte bananas r bigger ones rite, e type dat in Chinese diet is considered cooling. Is dat suitable 4 bb? I know preg x oledia kant touch Del Monte, can onli eat those small bananas... Eh, izzit ur maid happen 2 b Filipino &amp; wanna support Del Monte (mostly fr Philippines lor)
Bt somehow infants &amp; tods seems 2 luv bananas - my B1 2. She can eat two of the small bananas or aft 1 Del Monte banana, wl want 2nds whc I dun allow. 1 is enuf 2 help w her bowel movement...

<font color="aa00aa">Diapers: Sealer &amp; Pampers L-size</font> R exactly e same size. If any1 come across Sealer on offer, pls PM me. I want 2 stock up for B2's day-x use. Dan I reserve Pampers 4 nite &amp; when bringing him out. Btw, e new balloon-waist feature on Pampers is reali gd coz e elastic is attached 2 e velcro tabs whc fits nicely around bb's waist -- much better fit dan those where the elastic bit is @ e back of the waist-band onli.