(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

My bath unit is a mixed between these 2 pics. My bath stand is metal, with the blue cushion top.

2143716.jpg
2143717.jpg

Alamak, me hungry liao... Not cooking today cos bringing DD to my hubb's workplace for lunch. Think cannot tahan till then. Me go grab some titbits first.

<font size="+1">Bye for now, mommies!</font>

bb_mummy, i was thinking of make do loh with the cheap bath tub and put it on the small ikea side table like wat i did for #1 or get 1 with a stand.

marie, yours looks really cool and neat, so convenient

JamGal, Haha ya lah. It's Juxta that wants to buy a standing bath tub. :p

Jas J, mine is a hand me down. Also not sure where they got it. Prob u can try Baby Avenue.

dear mummies

tis log hv been moving v fast tho i've been trying 2 catch up.

me is expecting a bb boy on 15 apr....bb hv been slightly o/weight, 1.3 kg at last visit so hv been cutting down on my milk intake.

juxta, i saw e bath tub w stand at kiddy palace, marina sq so u may wanna try there.

JasJ, no prob. Most of my stuff are hand me downs. Advise i can always offer cos my late mummy was a baby sitter. so more or less i also got some knowledge from her n my sisters.

<font color="ff6000">JamGal, remember that time I was mentioning about packing marriage certificate into our hospital bag? I found out it's needed to register bb's birth.

Nice storage box you have there.. I wanted to get it too but I also think it is more suitable for storing toys. So in the end, I left my full-height cabinet for bb. Bad mummy too?? keke.</font>

wah..this thread really have F1 speed, i went back to sleep for a while, already need to read from archive..

Wah Yvonne gd life leh...still can take nap. I can only catch a cat nap later on the bus journey out to lunch.

Of cos, our thread is F1. so are our mummies and bbs!!

Hi mommies,I've accepted your facebook requests and sent some requests and joined the group too.But now I'm getting confused who I've added and who I've not hee hee
Wow this thread sure moves so fast! I have yet to read back what I missed while I was away!

Diapers-I think I will use nepia diapers unless baby has a problem with them ,then I'll change to something else.I'll also try to use some cloth diapers to save some costs.

Weight Gain-My weight gain from pre-pregnancy to 28 weeks was 5.7kg in total.I will be seeing the doc tmr for my 32 weeks checkup.Dunno whether my weight will suddenly shoot up cuz I've been eating ice-cream recently :p

Good morning mummies!!!
Wah … very pro-active.. started FB group.. very cool .. and I joined liao!!

Ow_mummy >> cant tell the diff between cramps, contractions and tummyache.. its more all-in-one.. have had it since Sunday so affecting my sleep…will run it by my gynae this sat..

YSL >> mine actually asking me to eat more even though I have gained 6kg and last gynae checkup, baby was 700g ( week 24), this sat is week 28 so see what numbers I get!! But really ah, very hard to resist sundae, bubble tea, teh-ci peng!!

I still have no appetite for meals.. I just eat when I feel hungry which is kinda sporadic..

Baby_mummy >> Rosalind from TMC called me up and told me to come for the 4.30pm class.. just so happened that hubby and I cant make it for the mth of feb…sighs.. will chat with them this sat and see what can be done.

i wrote the above and went to get some work done and now its archived!!! really fast moving today!!!

happpy lunching mummies.. i'm still at a loss as to what to eat for lunch ..
today is a bad day, tummy ache, leaky nose ( got blood) and backpain .. sighs...din bring any meds...so gotta tahan for the day ...

good to know need to bring marriage cert for admission... will note that down.
^_^

bath tub with stand- I saw some costing about $50+ at baby kingdom/baby hypermart but they don't look anywhere as good as the kiddy palace one. Kiddy palace tub with stand cost $75-$79 .Tub is translucent see through blue in colour,stand also looks better.

marie, i good life but my hubby xiong lo, now 1 income got to feed 3...
hahah, ow_mummy, i had breaki and went back to sleep also at 9 plus but when wake up at abt 12, i already got to read from archive to catch up..

Pat: Really ah? Then I got to go and dig out the marriage certificate liao lah. You packed your bag yet? Btw, if we have decided on the baby’s names, can do the birth certificate in the delivery hospital itself right?

Actually I already have a walk-in wardrobe in the guestroom (future bb’s room), but all taken up by me, and no matter how I packed and repacked, I only managed to free up 2 tiny slots..haizzz…I think next time, I might need to buy more cabinets for bb.

Rose Ling: High five lah, we bought the same storage. My hubby and I were racking our brains what color of drawers to choose also. Make a whole mess at the warehouse below haha

Pravina: I also somehow feel that the morning sickness feeling is back. More on the no appetite part, luckily the vomiting part is not back. Every lunch and dinner, really don’t know what to eat, a lot of food turn me off also. Just came back from food court, hate the stinky food court smell man. But no choice, cannot everyday eat restaurant also.

Jamgal, same tots here. I am sitting down and wondering what to eat though not very hungry. Thinking of all the veriety of foods not appealing at all. Sigh........prob will be having sandwich again today.

busy day at work today.. no time in between to sneak here until now haha

will you all be bathing the baby in the bedroom and bring warm water from the bathroom in the tub? cos its better baby dun catch a chill right? cos we live with my hubby parents and they take the master bedroom and hubby and i take common bedroom, so no toilet. in the toilet seem like no space to bathe her...

also those mummies doing confinement, can we really not bathe our babies ourselves for 28 days? my mil telling me to let her do everything initially and i just watch cos she doesn't want me touch water
but i was trying to tell her that when we go toilet pee or stuff also have to touch water to wash the wound.. hopefully when baby born she'll be confused n just let me bath my darling girl hee

then working mummies, are we still entitled to full annual leave even thou we taking ML? like my coy is 14 days a day, so means like i still have 14 days to use from Jan-Mar and Aug-Dec 09 rite?

Maya: you scroll down to one of the postings below the group. earlier on i matched mummies' names in fb to the usernames here...not all though, cos the list is increasing tremendously.

hahaha jamgal,hubby and I made a big big mess when trying out all the different combi for the boxes too.In the end,we decided to just 1 colour
like u,my morning sickness came back ,yes with the throwing up too.but luckily it is not as frequent as the previous attacks *sigh*

Maya: First and 3rd Trimester really know how to test our patience and endurance. Let's all endure and live pass this final stage with glory haha

jamgal,which one are you in Fb?
I also dunnno who is who

Easy to spot me.I'm Rose Ling here and Rose Ling in FB
Btw,not sure if I joined the right group ,noticed there are 2 groups with the exact same name.One is an open group,the other one needs to be invited or accepted to join

hi..am back from lunch...i finally had a good meal after a few days... havent been having an appetite for long..

have joined FB

Bb is very active today... bb has been moving since morning...

I am selling Dumex Mamil Mama Low Fat Nutritional Milk Powder For Pregnant &amp; Lactating Mothers. Flavour is Vanilla taste. Selling Price at $8. Self collect at Jurong Pt, Queenstown MRT.

Do PM me or contact me at 97638817 for fast deal.

<font color="ff6000">No arh. I haven't packed my bags yet but gynae seem to be telling me that I need to start packing soon coz she has already given me all the laboratory reports that she used to keep in my medical file.

She told me to put in my hospital bag. So i probably will start making my list soon lor. So scary leh. Time passing so fast.

Soon 2 will become 3 already...

haha. I think you shop too much JamGal but when you have the whole house to yourself, I think it's very difficult to not use the extra space for storage right?

I very suaku, I don't know how to use facebook and I don't think I even have facebook a/c wor.</font>

hi pat> when me saw the postings on facebook, said to myself... whao!! how come me is so OUT.. hey hey, still have you leh.. also OUT one leh... even my sec sch frenz asked me how come me got no facebook account leh... wonder can you share your list with me? rem that there's such list posted in here but me didnt save it up... and me lost my old list....

hi jamgal> ya you can do the BC of baby @ the hospital provided you have the names (english, chinese, han yu pin ying..) on hand... or else you can go to ICA to do it. But the chinese characters, you gotta hand-written on your own hor... whereas @ hospital, its computer typed one...

RE: hospital bag.... me yet set to pack it... me still busy with CONFINEMENT bag instead... coz gotta bring to my mum's pl which is in the WEST... me stay in the EAST leh...

RE: confinement period... AIR-CON, BATHE... for my #1, me bathed on the 4th or 5th day from hospital, really cldnt tahan leh. and @ that time, me had long hair.. always found myself - stinko leh... didnt want to carry my #1 at all... and this led to bit of post natal despression of me (my hubby said)... so after the very 1st bathe, my MIL made the herbal thingy alt days for me to bathe and gotta blow my hair. As for AIR-CON, heard from my frenz said her confinement lady said it was okie to switch on the AIR-CON just dont let it blow @ you. the AIR-CON is to cool down the room so mummy wont sweat....

Hi All, I'm back.

bonbon, try not to bathe ur baby until the confinement mth is over. we must always keep ourselves dry. even shower we must dry ourselves and dry our hair with the dryer.

JamGal is Jamie.

SKS, same here. today my bb very active since i reach office been moving a lot.

I'll be starting to prep for my bag this wkend. Must really sit down n get it done.

swt2baby/roseling, thanks will go take a look at kiddy palace.

how do I join the fb grp? thought supposed to request? hehe me very suaku leh

hmm, so fast we've got to prepare the hospital bag? perhaps most of you gals are due earlier Apr ba.. so standby fr week 36 onwards? I'll prob do that in early Apr, since i'm due nearly end apr..

<font color="ff6000">Marie what should be in the hospital bag? Like what reiner said, there used to be a list but I can't remember liao. Can all kind souls pls add on to this list so that clueless ppl like me won't miss anything out on that impt day and add on to the delivery stress?

<u>Hospital Bag</u>
1. Toiletries set (if you are not comfortable with what is supplied by hospital)
2. NRICs of you and spouse plus Marriage Cert
3. Doctors Letters / Laboratory Reports
4. Receipt of antenatal package for additional claim
5. Socks
6. Jacket
7. Receiving Blanket or Swaddle Cloth for bb
8. Extra set of clothes for mummy &amp; bb upon discharge
9. Open front PJs for breastfeeding (optional)
10. Maternity Pads if you don't like string ones provided by hospital</font>

<font color="ff6000">ya man. I think i will also switch on the aircon during confinement or I will be so hot and grumpy like a grandma. Only thing is my aircon is blowing right at me.. Actually if we think about it hor, we sleep in the hospital's air-conditioned rooms after delivery also right?

I have a friend who said she bathed in cold water during confinement because it was just too hot leh. Another friend who just gave birth recently washed her hair and left it to dry naturally.

I heard that previous confinement rules were more meant for ppl staying in cold climates. So I am really looking forward to bathing &amp; washing my hair everyday during confinement since we are living in tropical Singapore.

Someone mentioned that our confinement period is going to be one of the hottest periods during the year. How to tahan not bathing and washing hair. I don't want my hubby to be tortured by my smelly scalp and armpits every night lor.</font>

<font color="ff6000">reiner, I really have no idea how to use facebook I think keke..

Got step-by-step instructions or not? haha. Which website do I go to download facebook?</font>

My friend gave me this list to prepare but I think some items are for home and not for hospital

Items to bring to hospital for birth admission
Check with the hospital if any of the items are provided as part of your package during your stay after delivery. If provided, then no need to bring.
For the Baby :
1. baby vests
2. baby mittens and booties
3. baby wrapping blanket
4. baby hat
5. diapers
6. car seat – optional coz u can carry the baby while Kelvin drives
7. pram – optional but good to start baby early on it !
8. store umbilical cord ? I did it for Isaac and used StemCord. If u quote me as referral, both you &amp; me will get some discount.
For the Mother :
1. socks
2. maternity pads
o Recommend adhesive type for ease of use.
o The bleeding may last up to 1 month, so get ready some at home too. Think so far the Kotex brand is the best.
3. disposable underwear
4. protector sheet
o in KK, they use this during delivery and also in the ward to prevent soiling the bed as well as absorbing the bleeding
o must have some at home to prevent dirtying your bed coz you will be still bleeding for a few weeks after delivery and can be heavy in 1st week
5. clothes to wear home
6. toiletries – toothbrush, toothpaste, etc
7. hospital admission form or booklet
8. camera or video cam ? 
9. float – similar to those used for patients with piles. Depending on your pain threshold. I could not live without it ! LOL. You see how u cope after delivery, can get Kelvin to get it during your stay in hospital if really need it.

What to Bring For Your Stay
For maternity patients, please bring along your:
. personal nightgowns (front-open types for easier breastfeeding)
. maternity brassieres
. cardigan or dressing gown
. bedroom slippers
. sanitary belt (optional)
. sanitary towels (optional)
. polythene bags (for your soiled linen)
Note: It is advisable to have a bag ready with these necessary items packed 2 to 4 weeks befoe estimated delivery date.

We will provide the following for your newborn baby:
. baby vests
. disposable diapers
. toiletries
. a baby bag
. wrapping blanket
. a pair of mittens
Basic toiletries throughout your stay with us will be provided. However, you may also like to bring along your personal clothing, cosmetics and toiletries for a more comfortable stay. You are advised against bringing large sums of cash or valuables.

So TMC only got freebies for babies, excluding bathtub!

I got the above info from a past post.
For TMC pple.

think there is those herbs where u can buy and bath...

feel that its better to bath and wash hair especially if u are breastfeeding baby and carrying baby around.

yup i also believe in keep clean n fresh then you feel happier. else smelly and stinky and hot feeling is not good in hot weather, cos temper will go up too haha.. but my MIL keep consulting those relatives who have done confinment for their daughters or DILS, and they are telling her 1st 12 days no bathing!! after 12 days then can bath with herbs water that has been boiled and cooled down. and within 12 days can only use a towel to wipe with boiled water that has rice wine inside? something like that.. starting to be worried for confinement alr..

Marie,

oh really, i didnt know that, thanks for the tips..

Oh i bought a 3 drawer unit from Ikea (white), only $89, I find it quite good

Cyan,

Actually i used to have a habits of covering my legs with my blankets. but lately, i dont like, maybe becos its too warm.. so i guess i may like to wear socks..kekeek