(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

karrie - when's urnext appt? - haha yeah - my all 4 was by hime way back 9 yrs ago..... when he had an extra clinic in woodlands . u know his nick rite that nurses gave him - superman

<font color="ff6000">Dodos, 30 wk 1.5kg, maybe 32wk will be about 1.8kg? Doc told me hubby and I are quite small so she wouldn't expect bb to be very big but I'm still quite concerned lor. Coz my friend was telling me that by the time i'm 40wks, bb could only be about 2.5kg which is very tiny. Wah hear already panic leh.

Idaarshad you really steady leh. your son is still so young and you're pregnant again. Are you planning to use birth control after this? Or still going natural?

Yvonne you are small sized is it? that's why gynae is worried that 3.5kg will be too big for you.

My height is 1.6m. Weight before pregnancy was only 40kg leh. I think I am a bit like Stefanie Sun's size. So I definitely can't have Lydia Sum's bb.... keke</font>

next check up 33wks doing the growth scan. Will see the bb weight again. But at 26wks check up bb weigh only 700+g. So consider fast and alot liao. I don't think i will have big bb cos all my 3 kids all around 3kg only.

after this must control liao lorrr--canoot for now lah.. i had miscarriage and naturally not prgnt for 1 year plus and no menses - so funny when got preggie again with my son last year

wah.. u so small lah pt - i double ur size - of coz u will nt have such big babies

dodos aslo must be small size that's y doc worry - me my tum tum have so much space even when not preggie - hahaha

pat, i not very small size la, my height is 1.6m also, weight before prenancy was ard 45kg..but don't know y gynae concern abt bb size, may be bcos of the article in the straits times..

pat, actually 2.5 kg is ok lah, easier to birth mah. they will put on weight after they come out, so dun worry!

Good morning everyone!

<font color="ff0000">Idaarshad,</font>
Thanks for sending me the info on diapers, I'm in SK too! Still prefer huggies so will wait for the stocks to arrive. Re having 2nd princess, hehe, my hubb a lil disappointed, he didn't say lah, but can sense. I console him, girls' better, closer to the family next time and can use my elder girl's clothes and stuff! I'm fine with either gender, cos this 2nd baby didn't come easy lor...

<font color="ff6000">Pat,</font>
I think small baby is ok, my elder girl was 3 wks+ earlier and 2.6kg at birth, I am ard 1.63m. Hehe, though had long labour but when it comes to pushing her out, it's easy lor. You have high metabolic rate? Cos you are quite slim pre-preggy.

<font color="119911">Yvonne,</font>
Can share more on this article in straits times on baby size?

<font color="0000ff">Re: IKEA Hensvik baby cot</font>
Anyone has used this baby cot before? We bot it over the weekend and my hubb kept pondering on the price. It's cheaper (cot alone - $185) as compared to a few out there and hubb is worried that the cot may not be good/stable when we take one side panel off in future.

<font color="0000ff">Re: Baby clothes, mittens and bootees</font>
I've clearly forgotten how much to prep. Back then, my elder gal had a lot of hand-me-downs and my MIL sort of prep most of them for me. Yest we went to my SIL's place to get those hand-me-downs again, but realised that there's only 8 NB s/s and 5 l/s tops among the pile. Most clothes were big cos my SIL's babies were big at birth, reckon I'll have a small baby, so got to buy some more.

hello to all ...is the morning good or not am quite undecided...

going for makan - i dont mind but too far for me..i stay in the west

Pat - yes got a mysterious baby...heheheheh ... actually hubby n me decided not to know as we want to be surprised on that day but almost all who see my tummy says its a boy..dont know lah...

SKS, is this your 1st bb? You really can wait till then. I know i sure need to know the gender asap cannot wait. I guess if it's 1st bb doesn't matter boy or girl.

Baby weight not an issue i guess. So long bb is 2.5kg and above is consider healthy full term bb liao. My gynae never say anything abt the weight.

i also wun be able to wait so long to find out abt the gender. hehe ....even if i can wait, i tink i'll also be driven crazy by all the frens and relatives who ask. :p

btw, anybody has bought the car seat already? any good brands to recommend? I'm looking for the convertible kind so can at least use from infant till 4 years old kind.

Hi dodos..yes my 1st bb ... yes can wait .. my hubby n i r very well behaved during scanning... hehehe..

i agree with dodos...i think the bb weight shldnt be an issue.. impt is healthy bb... my best friend bb was also at 2.5kg n now he is really growing well...

hi pat, ya me is the other mysterious ones... my #1 is a gal and me &amp; my #1 want a mei mei.. but hubby prefer boy so keep it as a surprise nah.

baby size - my #1 birth rate is 2.345kg only, way below 2.5kg @ 37+weeks... pd said she's small but like chilli padi, she cried the loudest in the nursery room... ha!!!! the most impt is that she's healthy. she passed thru whatever test, like thyroid, janudice, etc.... of coz @ 1st, every1 said how come my #1 is so tiny... and me very very mind that... but come to think of HEALTHY is more impt than SIZE/ WEIGHT... me is happy with her size...

makan gathering - can join lah... but me stay in the east... seems like puggol &amp; SK are popular spots leh. how come somewhere central one?

MJ - me dont know leh... dont tell me to "pay school fee" to learn hor... every1 @ home knows except me... me lazy brain to think...

already stock up diapers for #2... intend to use cloth diaper till #2 is 6mth (same as my #1)... but will use disposable diapers for nite when #2 is 4mth wah...

are you mummies buying what BFA bottles? which brand eh? price wise leh?

I'm very new to this thread so I wonder if it'll be awkward if I join in your gathering too?? I guess the rest of you have known each other for months already?
Anyway just for updating purposes,I'm staying in Bishan and am working but I'm usually off on Thursdays :)

Hi Sanni, my friends all swear by Britax Royale.I've read many good reviews about it too.It is suitable from 0 to 4 years.I also bought it last week :)

Leereiner, morning! hmm, good to start a bit quieter in the mornings.. to give us time to catch up on the posts!

re: bb weight
mine at 28 wks is only 1kg. but gynae said fr henceforth weight gain shld be quite rapid, so not to worry and dont indulge too much! also, must take their estimations with a pinch of salt.. my gynae last estimated my #1 to be 2.8 or 3kg (can't remember), and he came out to be 3.2kg.

cyan,
my #1 only had about 7-8 sets of clothes at infant stage i think. i washed almost everyday bcos usually got milk stains that needs to be washed fast. in the end the clothes are pretty well worn by the time he outgrew them. but i'm also glad that i didn't spend too much $$ on his clothes then. Also, pple will be giving gift sets suitable for that age, so better quickly unwrap them to let ur bb wear before they grow too big, n u have to think abt what to do with those gift sets.

re: car seat
was recommended a maxi cosi convertible one from infant to toddler. thinking of getting that.

wow, thread moving super fast.....

Anyone heard that its good to take coconut drinks in the last month of pregnancy?

Jac,

My Due date is 5 Apr, maybe we maybe screaming side by side (room next door) by then...kkekeke

Sh

Wow their nursing bra so cheap...any idea whether they have wide variety of sizes? i'm kinda big size..(fat mama):p

Hi Rose,

would we be able to buy it from places like kiddy palace...mothercare? where and how much u bought it for?

tingting,

whats the brand name? how much does it cost?

re: nursing bra

before we all jump on getting cheap nursing bras, just wanna put in a word of caution on the quality of these bras. last time i bought some quite cheaply also, but after a few washes, the elastic band became loose, and the surface of the bras developed "goosebumps".. hope u know what i mean! Would rather spend a bit more to get better quality ones and just dump into laundry bags for machine wash, than to need to handwash them...

pink_piglet,

you referring to the car seat? It's called maxi cosi dori, suggested by trapezz (hope i get the nick right), for about $280.

Morning mummies, how's the weekend? Wow, so many of you residing in SK, I'm staying at Pasir Ris, and not working too, so jio me for kopi! but i've to scoot to pick up my kid from school in the late afternoon. so many of you love MJ?! i like it too and play weekend nights after I pack my kid off to bed, wonder if I'll continue to have this "luxury" after #2, 1 of my mj kaki also due soon hahah

Welcome Cyan!! finally another mtb seeing KW Lee!! We've pretty close EDD too, mine is on 24th.

mummies, any recommendation on nursing bras? wow that CK is really cheap, can tahan machine wash? i'm lazy to the bones, will dump all my lingerie into washing machine hahah

tingting,

I have difficulties getting nursing bra, cos i'm wearing arounf 90E/F now, but all nursing bras i saw outside are mostly B size...I tried some outside but they cant give good support n sizes r too small. I'm not sure whether I have to wear normal bra instead, cos i guess once we start nursing, our bra should grow bigger..wah lao i really dont know what i can wear leh..

Hi All, I am new to this thread with my bb due on 10 Apr. Any mummies can advise on which milk bag - Lansinoh or Playtex is easier to use?

<font color="ff0000">Juxta,</font>
Oh, we're both seeing the same gynae ah! When's your next routine check btw? Mine's next monday. Re nursing bras, I used to wear it in the initial stages, but later on as my gal's older - forgot how many mths, I went back to normal half-cup bras. Mayb cos my boobs not big lah, also didn't grow much during preg so it's easy, just got to fold down my bra cup during feeds. But best to use those cheaper/older bras cos the folding will damage the bra cups.

<font color="ff6000">SKS, Leereiner,</font>
Pei-fu u gals, can endure not asking gynae on baby's gender. My hubb and I we can't wait. My hubb's kan-cheong to get a boy, and me kan-cheong cos wanna buy stuff for baby! Wa Leereiner, so shiok, can take leave go shopping one ah!

<font color="119911">tingting</font>
Oic, I'm getting a confinement nanny so she shld also be washing baby's clothes daily I guess. Agree that must wash baby's clothes promptly; I recently took out my elder gal's baby clothes and found that a whole lot were covered with yellow stains, which I think wasn't as obvious at the time I kept them. I think those stains grew more yellowish over time. You know those gift sets I got last time, they were all 12 months and above, I had to wait till my neck so loooong before I ripped them open for use! And I sold 1-2 sets off cos didn't like the designs. :p

<font color="0000ff">Rose,</font>
I just joined this thread too.

Here's a link to on BPA-free bottles: http://www.bisphenolafree.org/

<font color="aa00aa">Pink piglet,</font>
I've heard about the coconut juice thingy. Baby will be born "clean" and lesser chances of getting jaundice. Not sure of any other benefits cos I didn't drink it during my elder gal's time. Mayb will try out this time round. Think must choose the right type of coconut; of which I am unsure of...

Cyan,

oic..i also forgot what type of coconut liao... if not mistaken i think is those local coconut, not the thailand (sweet &amp; nice) type.

Gals, I gtg for now, my gal's coming back from kindy soon and I got to prep and pick her downstairs.

Hi Pink Piglet,the Britax carseat I bought costs $449 from Kaki Bukit,Baby Kingdom. It is a very good price compared to $500 + (After discount price) in Robinsons. It is pricier than Maxi Cosi but if you take a look at both of them side by side,you can tell that it is much better in comfort (cuz very very well padded!) and it is also a very safe and reliable brand

Morning Mummies, the thread also moving fast over the wkend. I just went for my first class by Mrs Wong on Sat 2-4pm. Interesting to find out a lot of info. I think there are a couple of mummies i should have met though. I was in Blue Singlet &amp; Light Blue Bermudas. :p

JamGal, were u at the 2-4pm class on sat too??

Oh yes. I love to MJ; not pro though. Just pass time it's ok. My place is open to MJ but no free parking lor stay at HDB mah. :p

Gathering to makan prob we can plan to have it in town since there are mummies who stay in the west.

Sh..
Wat's the shop name to buy the nursing bras at $3.90? I only manage to buy 3 during OG Nov sales.

hi cyan, sorry, i don't have the article, only heard it from my gynae, she shared with me when i visited her last monday..

Cyan &amp; Piglet, it's the GREEN type of coconuts.
We can start drinking from 8th mth prob every 2wks. then nearer to EDD every 1wk. or every 4-5 days.

It's said that baby will be delivered without the white-tish stuff. and at the same time cooling for us to prep for deliver. To prevent jaundice, that I not so sure.

To clear jaunduice, my sister's advise is to feed newborn with water mixed with abt 6-7 pitted red dates. which apparently worked for my niece at her birth. Prob mummies can take note of this tip. :p

<font color="aa00aa">HALO ladies! Wah so many days of postings for me to catch up leh. Was down with diarrhea last week. Aiyoh, kena stay at NUH for 2 packs of drips.

Hey pat, me no rich lah. But once in a while must pamper ourselves with luxury mah. Anyway after my stay in the uncomfortable A&amp;E I think I must watch what I eat liao. So think I stay away from Ice-cream not that it was the cause of it. Just don't want to balloon, cos very easy to put on weight.

Hopefully I get to do my massage this weekend, than can post you on her services.

All wanna go for makan ah. Me also from the west. Let me see where you'll heading and if I can join in.

Too many posts, need more time to read</font>

Morning Mummies!!!
Sianx..jus come back from ttsh..

Pat: u reali wana make full use of e condo facilities ar? haha..like tt might as well arrg e gathering for our hubbies also...lolx...den they can use e gym ma...hahahaha...

Nursing Bra: All e nursing bra i see at e shops e cups sizes is all B or e biggest is D/E onli leh..but their D look small..dunno hws e measurement like.. i haven find a suitable nursing bra yet, mayb i will jus wear normal bra bah.. my size nw D80 ardy growing tighter n tighter..dunno how sia.. jialat!
( if don wear nursing bra, e breast will sag not?) LOLX>.<

Mahjong &amp; Makan Gatherings: We r onli left with like 2 mths.. after that we will have no time! haha.. shld we gather to go to e baby fair?

Rose Ling: i think that time they mention, start drinkin e coconut at ard 37 weeks.. haha..but hor for me i gonna start after 34 weeks.. cant wait...lolx..

Marie Kwek: whr u stay?haha..but KP say when play Mj at condo cuz gt free parking..lolx...haha..

Wah, the thread is running very fast, cannot catch up in time!!

Pat, my baby at 31 weeks was at 1.75kg lor, so urs at 32 weeks same weight rite, not much diff lah!:p Some babies got sudden splurt of growth at the later stages..so no need to worry bah! haha..

Someone mentioned maxi cosi dori car seat for 0-4 years rite? So who's interested to get together? Want to order soon already cos nearing my delivery date at 1 Apr!

Also, anyone else in this thread wants to order lansinoh milk bags 50pcs? I ordered the last round, each bag costs about $19 including shipping, so if u all want, can order again..
Let me know

hope you all a well-rested during the weekend and geared up for the week ahead!!
Mondays are always tough but its bringing us closer to our due dates... cant wait to see our princes/princeses!!

Thread has moved sooo fast.. gotta play catch-up!
Car-seat
We got the Peg Perego carseat and stroller combo from Baby Avenue; got discount if member and was cheaper than Mothercare (MC).
Carseat is up to 1yo or 13kg and gotta change to toddler seat.
Best to go to MC harbourfront to test out the carseats and strollers there, if member got some discount but not all items, so please note!! the same PegPerego model were not on discount at MC as was at Baby Ave.
Britax was highly recommended for NB to 4yo, but depends on weight of child.
baby clothes
me got no handmedowns; 1st grandchild for my family!! just bought abt 10 sets of clothes thinking will outgrow them by 3 mths. intend to wash everyday

hi mummies, feeling so sleepy now *yawns* last night i gotten my first muscle pull on the left calf. ouchie.. super painful for like 10secs then faster massage it and it just felt very tight feeling behind the knee that portion. think it might have been the cold cos i was enjoying the fan the whole night and kicked the comforter to the floor. hee.. is it common during pregnancy to have such muscle pulls?

i got 3 nursing bras from a cousin who asked someone to buy them in Bangkok. from wacoal and its the one with the detachable clasp near the bra strap. but i realised its with wire. Is it better to get with or w/o wire? cos with wire it should be better support if not the skin stretch and sag with extra milk inside? but i also realise now i got some viens and bruise like marks on my breasts at 7mth and i think its caused by the bra? if i dont wear the bra at night to sleep the bruise marks disappears.

usally how many pieces of nursing bra should we prepare? like 3-5 pieces enough? cos if feeding at home dont need to wear right? also, how to gauge the size? like if now C cup do you get all C or some B and D cup? as in will the breast size change alot with milk supply in the beginning of BF and when baby's been feeding 3-6mth? thanks mummies!

ow_mummy, i stay at sengkang, near the punggol flyover facing TPE. I noe. I'm ok. as long got pple plan. :p

RoseLing, u like me leh..love coconut drink. @ my 5th mth i also drank one. Shiok lor. Was told to drink @ 5th mth n 8th mth.