(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

hi all mummies,
just out of curiosity, is yor belly button a pop up type or still the same as before pregnancy???
my belly button pop up since i got pregnant and now the whole belly button is like completely flip out from my tummy..
my sis went through 2 pregnancies but none was like mine...
it is so obvious that whatever i wear also cannot cover, my little niece and nephew like to rub their noses against my belly button whenever they see me..
wonder why the belly button will pop up..

hello!

4eva: Having a CL will b e best! haha.( but theres some factors to consider also, scare later get a bad CL den jialat). If let MIL do, i think end up i will b e one doin more myself, (esp i ardy haf some issues n disagreements wit my MIL ~but i nv quarrel or haf dispute wit her b4 la~ jus complain to my hubby! tts y nw very headache... first issue: is her cooking=X second: is hygiene=X third is: reali don wan to haf any disagreement with MIL which will put my hubby in diff position..*headache*

Dodos: when is ur edd? haha..baby girl or boy?,mine is girl but super *ROUGH & ACTIVE*, her movements make me very uncomfortable every nw n then, even my hubby also shocked by all e movements *terrible man*.. i m wondering isit becuz my tummy to small nt enuff space for her...=S.. The thought of waterbag bursting make me so kan cheong!

Eunice: Haha,which hospital will u be delivering? still gt 2 more weeks to next visit...looking forward...

hi Yvonne,

mine also pop out..i think its quite normal eh, cuz frm last time i see many pregnant woman also like tt, e belly button very obvious one, i guess its becuz our tummy stretched tts y its pushed out?..haha...u gt ask ur gynae?

Ow_mummy,
i never ask my gynae, cos a bit paiseh but my gynae once commented that now my belly button is showing very obvious..
sometime i get people staring at my belly button, feel very uncomfortable..
i ask my fren who just gave birth, she told me hers was ok as normal..

yvonne: but if gynae nv say anythin bad jiu ok bah=) don think too much, haha.. i also ma..don bother others lookin at u lo.. they stare at u cuz admire ur belly..haha..everyone's pregnancy is diff de...

my belly button's popped up halfway.. the top half is popped but not the bottom half.. haha.. got to wear clothes that do not skim over your tummy, e.g. shirts, or thicker t-shirt material..

update on my hospital for delivery: Mt Alvernia

does anyone have idea how to channel more of the weight gain to bb instead of mummy? forgot to ask my gynae that yesterday.

<font color="0000ff">o hi Yvonne, my belly button doesnt pop up, is the same before pregnant. But i guess is normal to have pop up belly button cause i saw alot of mummies when I was shopping can see their belly button. This morning just went to see Dietician from Mount Alvernia, and teach me how to eat a proper diet to control my sugar intake.. So bo LIao... EDD can change one ah..My doctor never say one..</font>

Mine getting smaller, but haven pop out leh. But I am experiencing itchiness around my belly button. At times would scatch till it becomes red.

This coming sat,07/02 I will be visting my gynae, Hopefully a 3D scan can be captured

Last visit couldn't do the scan coz BB wrong position

ha hah..true also, guess i was trying too hard to hide my belly button till sometime can't even find a proper cloth to wear..
i also experience stomaches, somewhere on the lower part of my tummy, almost every morning..

tingting, got ways to channel more weight gain to baby de meh? the nurses always tell mi, let e wieght gain be natural..haha..she say cant control one.. cuz my hubby always comment about my weight gain every visit!

yvonne: my stomache is weird as in, its pain is surrounding e whole tummy, den gt those gastric like pain but its nt gastric! i reali dunno hw to describe. but its gettin more n more unbearable.. ESP now! =S

Orangepeel: When can do 3d scan ah? i also wana do leh..haha.. tt time during my 5th mth, my gynae give me a free 3d scan(but onli awhile)..cant see much also...

ow_mummy,

haha.. i also doubt we can do that, but wouldn't it be great to be able to do so though? since nutrients go to bb via bloodstream, perhaps taking stuff that are easily absorbed by our body system is more effective? as compared to taking starch/complex sugars that just turns into fat? being academic here... :p

overall i gained abt 7+ kg so far, but bb only 1 kg.

my belly button is popped out completely..now is very clean hahah, it used to be hidden, very often get dirts that trap inside and difficult to clean.

tingting: haha i agree with wad u say, but no way to control eh, it reali depends on one body, like for me: no matter hw much i eat also like tt, elders see me always ask if i gt eat anot? lol.. i think most impt is baby is healthy n growing well, as long as don go way too much..

ow_mummy,
i also got gastric like kind of pain but is in the evening when i m in bed, towards the morning when i wake up, my lower tummy feel ache, very difficult to describe also, a bit similar to the ache i usually experience few days before my menstrual cycle..

yvonne: mine is nt like those cramps (menstrual), its like e whole stomach being squashed or sth..haha..walau i describe until like dunno wad..lolx...e mixture of stomaches+cramps+gastric kinda feelings.. n its worst when my baby do her somersauts together with e pain! OUCH

hi maya, i signed up for cord life already. no upfront payment required until open CDA account after baby is born. I opt to pay full payment for 21 yrs upfront - so ard 5k plus after $450 disc for FBI member.

hi yvonne, some books also wrote that some mothers will have their belly button pop up at 3rd trimster. mine not yet, just getting smaller.
yesterday went for my 1st antenatal lesson, saw some mothers' belly button are obvious, and some are not.. most of them deliver in april. i find its pretty for the belly button to pop out...

ow_mummy,
i think at this stage we will experience all sorts of pain, cramp and ache, that's why whenever i see my gynae, i will tell her and describe to her..she tell me is ok as these are all triggered by hormone changes plus the extra body weight we carry now..
my gynae tell me the most important is to feel baby movement every now and then and also take note of contraction that happen too often like 4 contraction in an hour, it may be a sign of pre-term labour..
now a day, when i sit too long, my butt pain, when i stand too long my ankle and leg pain, when i lay down my back ache..

yvonne: haha..actually ur Edd very near mine too.. so we r like at e same stage..haha.. my doc aso la, everytime i complain, His reaction is smile n laugh n say "its normal".. but so far i dunno hw it feel like for e contraction eh? my gynae nv tell me also..
nowadays, i cant sit still lolx...sit backache,tummy uncomfortable, lie dwn also uncomfortable.. its like dunno hw sia..
ohya.. talk about preterm labour, i quite scare also leh, cuz my fren jus gave birth in Aus when she is onli 7 mths.. nw baby still in hospital after 2 weeks sia...

hi eline,
i guess since some books wrote such then i should feel at ease. my belly button pop up since my early pregnancy at around 3rd month..

ow_mummy,
contraction is when u feel yor tummy very tight, it is not expanded that kind of tight but more like being compressed kind of tight, when it happen, u will see that yor tummy suddenly cramp together and like become smaller..
i hope u can understand what i have described...

ow_mummy,

My gynae says the best timing to go for 3D scan is during 32weeks gestation onwards. Coz BB at the stage dun have much space to move about so easier to capture BB facial expression..

this coming Sat 07/02 is only my 30th week .Hope to get BB 3D scan done. Im excited by the thought of it... Hehe..

wow.. jus nice sia.. my next appt withmy gynae will be 32 weeks liao... haha..but i need to check hw much i haf to pay extra..lolx..
Gd luck to u! hope tt ur lil one will be gd n let u see e cute face...=)

re: belly button
mine pop up slightly only, and only half. kekekee
but hor my MIL told me that's coz i'm carrying a boy. she has 3 boys and each pregnancy her belly button popped up. my #1 was a girl and my belly was round and smooth.
this time round, it's pointy, and from the back, can't tell i'm pregnant! anyone got similar belly too??

re: aches &amp; pains
sama sama... think tummy getting bigger liao, dat's y lor. and really lah, each position if sit/stand/lie too long, sure will ache.

but i a bit scared abt the tummy aches coz recently seemed to have it quite a bit - not sure if it's false contraction (aka braxton's hicks). once it was so painful i had to lie down and breath hard! i dare not think if real labour, it's going to be XXX times more painful than that!!! scare lah...

Harlo mummies..this thread moves way to fast. Took me whole morning to digest all the archives.

I just visited my gynae on morning. Baby at 30th wk, weighing 1.6kg and his head has moved down to position.

Mummies, a piece of advise. Do drink a lot of water to reduce the heatiness in our body.

kittybride: haha... i look e same from e back lo.. onli from e side can see tt i m pregnant.. i having a girl but my belly button also pop out eh..haha.. reali wondering hw will it be like when e real thing come! *scarescare*

ur first baby how is it like when time to deliver?

hey all mummies, i haf one extra 125ml de avent bottle to let go. Bought too many(din realise e pack i bought gt 3 inside), let mi know if anyone interested. haha

My hubby say i m crazy: 1 baby - i bought 7 bottles! OMG! haha.. when e steriliser can onli steam 6 at a go only..

4eva: You can get the waterproof sheets (light blue color one, also used in hospitals) at Kiddy Palace, comes in a pack of 4 or 5 i tink (extra can used to put underneath baby when changing their diapers).But now all Kiddy Palace sell though, I saw them in Marina Square. I think pharmacy also should have bah. Gonna get too, to put on the bed just in case waterbag break in the middle of the night.
The cot got wheels and brake right? Better, so you can push the bed to anywhere you want me, else got to drag like siao leh.

Dodos: Gynae say 95% baby's position won't shift. The 5% he cannot guarantee. Anyway, doctors never guarantee anything 100%.
The instructor says when the waterbag breaks, it feels like your menses flowing out? And I highly doubt it will be a huge gush.

Maya: Gynae says very confidently can do. I also got white hair showing liao, everyday see damn sian leh. You see huh, after give birth breastfeeding, we also cannot do. What if we decide to breasfeed for a long time? Then we will become white hair mummies liao leh! My fren whose a hairdresser also say those are myths loe. As long as they don't touch the roots, do in a more open environment, no problem woh.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi Eline, cordlife no need upfront payment hah? Btw what is FBI member? What made you decide on cordlife, if you don't mind sharing?

Re: Belly button
Mine is also sticking out. The same for my other 2 kids as well. But the only diff is that it was earlier for my boys. For this naughty little gal who is also hyperactive most of the times, it started coming out only like from the 7th month.

Ow mummy, I know what you are going thru. Mine will always stretch to the right which is so uncomfortable! Imagine if sitting is not so bad, but tends to do it when I am standing or walking. That's when the stomach is fully stretched, than I will have to slowly rub to make her go in. Just now when eating, she was literally like doing somersaults in my tummy.

Talking about pain, yah it is very uncomfortable now. I am wondering how I am going to pass the next 1-2 months. I too feel very strongly that I might go for early labour, but also I don't want it to happen. I would like to have her grown to full before coming out. Maybe by mid March i might wanna start going for leave already. That is if I can last till than. I worked till the last day for my other 2. But now just don't have the energy already. Can already feel the lack of calcium in my body. Today is the worst I can hardly stand or sit. Wonder if I can go back home now....</font>

hellow,
just sharing my views abt baby shops..
Bkingdom and Bhyperstore
bought stuff at BK >> thermometer, cot (free mattress, bedding, delivery and installation free), bottle steriliser and food warmer.
service was much better at BK than BH.

carseat and stroller from baby Ave.. got discount if become member.. worth it in my opinion.

go to mothercare harbourfront to testdrive most types of strollers, seats, cots etc.. pricey.. but some items got discount if member.. strollers were more ex even after discount.

apologies if kinda repeating previous posts.. just sharing yar!!

still deciding on bottles, pumps, formula ( just in case) and gonna try some brands of diapers...have got some nappys on standby..

<font color="aa00aa">Very tempting leh, Jamgal. Let me see if can psycho hubby into letting me do it. But hor, don't think my mum will allow one. Also now with backaches, I wonder if I can sit till finish.

Maybe I should do a masge first and go for it.....hehehe

My baby's head also shifted down since week 28. Dunno bcos of that or what sometimes will have very sharp pain very close to my V. Sometimes can feel her compressing on my bladder too. Now as i am typing she is like happily bobbling away inside. She must be wondering why this mummy got so much to complain.....</font>

maya: haha..we both haf hyperactive girls..haha..my goodness lo, mine is like active every sec n min.. some mummies count their baby movements daily..mine is uncountable..haha.. feel very weird leh.. cuz all my frens when they pregnant not like tt de.. dunno y m i feelin so much of her movements...scary..

cordlife and stemcord
i just asked for info on their websites and now got some promo going on for Stemcord so mebbe try emailing them and see what they offer you.. they sent email saying "special tie-up rate on the enrolment fee for cord blood banking as $850 (usual price is $1,280)"

ow_mummy,
whenever u r confuse, call yor gynae, best still if u can go visit yor gynae. u paid for a package right??
i very kiasu n kiasi, whenever not comfortable i will call my gynae's nurse..
just like the other day, 2 days after my 26th wk visit to my gynae, i got spotting, so i went back to see her again, she did scanning and check my cervical to make sure it is not sign of pre-term labour..

aiyoh, today 4 ppl comment my tummy v big and low liao, ask if i going to give birth soon. i told them still got abt 10wks to go and they all like dun believe me.

i only put on 6kg plus leh but dun know why this time round, tummy looks big lor.

and my boy very active, every day kick me non stop. even at nite when i wake up, he also got up and kick kick kick... no peace man.... and he also very upset when his sister wakes up crying - coz i still have to carry and comfort her back to sleep and her crying superloud - dats y her didi retaliate and kick back! ouch!!!

i hope when they grow up, they dun fight so much!! else i headahce!!

Ow_mummy,
nothing to worry abt cos you are not like due in a month's time... right??. monitor the contractions and see if the frequency increases; if so, contact your gynae..
i think its our bodies trying to prep itself for delivery mode.. so gotta bear with the "cramps"
i usually practice breathing and just remain still still it lossens up... mine lasted abt a min each time.. and occurred when i was sitting down.

ow_mummy,
my 1st delivery i completely knocked out coz C-Sect bah.
so this time round, maybe try natural but VERYYYYY scared i cannot take the pain lor...

yvonne: ya i pay for e package.haha..

kittybride: gd mah tummy big.. my tummy too small lo..small until ppl dunno i m pregnant sumtimes...everytime go shoppin still get knock by ppl...

pravina: maybe its my body preparing bah..but reali painful, esp for now, its occuring so often..more than 4 times in an hr leh..

<font color="aa00aa">Thanks pravina, looking at the websites now. But Stemcord never mention $850, only indicate $175 off the price. Anyway will email them and check.</font>

hi maya,

im not sure on stemcord, i have many friends signing up for cordlife and have attended their talk as well.

FBI - First Born Incentive is a membership scheme under Thomson Medical - http://www.thomsonmedical.com/facilities.htm
one of the benefit is $450 off when sign up cordlife

After baby is born, just open a CDA account with either OCBC or SC, and the deduction (depends on your choice - yearly or one-time payment) will takes place when baby is 2months old. as govt will match $1 for $1(capped at 6k), only need to put in 3k and will cover for the 5k++ cordlife amt.

of course u can choose to pay by cash upfront, but as cordlife is one of the participating Institutions registered with MCYS under the Baby Bonus Scheme, so no upfront payment required if gonna pay through CDA.

stemcord is also one of the participating Institutions registered with MCYS

GOOD NOON, MUMMIES!!!

VERY BZ FIGHTING WAR THIS WHOLE MORNING!!!

Finally can skive abit to surf forum.. but so many postings to catch up...

LovJ: am back already... just tat no time to really sit down and catch p on the postings here...

Pat: ya... u r right... sometimes my agaration not chun... den will be like humpty dumpty lo... (wo..wo... wooooo.... den.. ooch...) haa...
Btw, went to Silver River (funiture shop) to look look see see, and bot a 9ft long cupboard at $1099... cheaper than any other that i've seen so far.
Also gt a new bedset, not branded spring mattress &amp; bedframe for $599.
Waiting for hubby to see how he suggests to reorganize the room, and which color to paint my room, etc..
Hopefully can get things done before i launch...

Me seeing my gynae every 2 weeks from last week also too....
Nearly fainted when my gynae told me tat im into my FINAL TRIMESTER!!!

TIME FLIES!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Btw hor... pat &amp; jamgal, u both owl ah... still surfing net in e mid of e nite... :p:p
not tired???? faint....

Yvonne: my belly button is very deep curved inside, so will nt pop out even when tummy grows tis big now... but ive got collegues' belly button popped out even now when's her edd is 2 months behind me...so i think its very individual bah..

maya,
i got an email from them when i signed up for their info kit..from stemcord..abt the S$850
and i think on cordlife, got the S$888 offer till the 9th feb

ciarie

wow, fighting war ah... hope not too tired hor. :D
anyway, pls help to update my details in the launch list ya.
kam sia!!

from the cordlife website..
http://www.cordlife.com/sg/CordLifeAdvantage/Promotion.php

Enrolling with CordLife is now made more affordable, with the following promotional plans.

1) Give your child a gift of a lifetime in the year of the Golden Ox.

This lunar new year, take advantage of our promotional package and save. Upfront fee from $888* only. Use your baby bonus and Pay S$0* Enroll on or before 9 February 2009.

*Terms and conditions apply.

Click here for more information.

Call 6238 0808 for more information.