(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

<font color="ff6000">Oh ya, I heard also that silk sheets are actually very warm leh. I am so surprised coz I've always remembered silk to be nice, soft and smooth mah. So I thought sleeping in silk sheets should be damn shiok one.</font>

Wow......sugar can increase bb weight.. then i better cut down on my intake of ice-cream. Too scary. i got this craving almost everynite after dinner, I would tend to eat ice-cream cone or yogurt...

<font color="ff6000">LovJ, you just type</font> \blue {your text} <font color="ff6000">but you have to remove all spacings in between. Very easy one. I so clever hor?? kekeek</font>

<font color="ff6000">ya lor, i am wondering what party this Ciarie went to which is in the afternoon one.

Think bbmummy probably ate too much liao. And think she was sick the last time right? Maybe haven't recovered yet.

wah pravina, your disposable panties are really tough. went water rafting and still stayed intact arh?

yoghurt is healthy coz there's calcium and healthy bacteria. I also crave ice-cream sometimes keke. Don't care arh. big bbies are cuter..</font>

LovJ, me not Chinese leh, so not possible to use his services. Anyway thanks for sharing.

I got my brand new maid last month liao. Now in the midst of training and teaching. Cos she doesn't understand English. Sigh, so very difficult for me, but my malay becoming quite good. Hopefully, when the baby comes along, she can understand a bit already.

i did read the article in MIND YOUR BODY last week and it scared me...
and yup its true that women with gestational diabetes tend to have bigger babies cos they cannot regulate their blood sugar levels with their insulin which in turn affects the baby to grow bigger...that would complicate delivery for both mommy and baby so please take care..
also saw on home and health TV channel that some women hv gestational diabetes that they have to inject themselves with insulin shots!! yikes!!

http://www.diabetes.org/gestational-diabetes.jsp

i also crave hot-fudge sundae all the time now.. but i have it on the weekend...
also have this weird thing for the wafer ice-cream from my childhood days.. i think you see the ice-cream man on Orchard road, in front of Paragon i think..and only raspberry swirl.. which i never liked before..

pat,

nursing pjs are for breastfeeding.. bcos hospital gowns are tied at the back with no opening in front one, unless u want to go commando everytime u breastfeed.. hehe..

bonbon,

silk not breathable i think.. cotton's the best. Karmy ones are nice but i find a bit too thick, esp if u change often (doesn't dry fast enough) and don't switch on the air-con. But it does get more comfy after multiple washes.

I bought the thin cotton pjs fr chinatown.. there're several types of quality, ranging from stiffer cotton (abt $8 per set) that u need to wash a few times to soften it, and better quality ones ($10-12). Cheaper than Karmy.. hehe.. but if u want Karmy, can check out OG.. it should cheaper than Metro/Isetan bcos i own 2 fr last time and don't remember paying as much as $48 for each set leh.

yup, sugar can increase bb weight v quickly! Esp for simple sugars like glucose, fructose.. so if u eat durians bb's weight will increase quickly...

Orangepeel, me too leh. The past few days esp want to have something sweet after meals. So will pop in chocs or buy ice cream. But y'day gynae commented on my sugar level, so now must control liao.

<font color="ff6000">wah, I'm craving Mcdonald's hot fudge sundae now. And yes yes yes.. the ice-cream man along Orchard seems the most attractive thing when we brought our nephews &amp; nieces to Orchard to see the Christmas lightings. One cone not enough leh. You like raspberry swirl, I like the pink pink colour one. Yam is it? Wah, salivating wor..</font>

Hi Tktotts,

so how are you n your boy now?

my SIL said Dr Lee always waived off cost for her customers, she is very chey chai leh... ya dr tony tan charge 400bucks for anaesthetist, i.e his wife leh... so wonder how much is the med - epidural cost eh? 300 bucks?

sorry been asking you for the costing @ RH... wanna get myself $$ prepared...

ya read from The ST for bigger babies... but me found that its scary to have big baby as endanger the mother n baby lifes leh...

as for PJ, me got them from my hubby's frenz. but they are more suit for hospital use coz they are thick ones. so me just wore normal t-shirt &amp; short during my #1 confinement... like bonbon said - gotta feel comfy, the best impt...

heard that the silk have to buy real one that will have those cooling effect.. Those cheap one.. is actually made of those material that is not breathable.. and will make you warm. and best thing is the material doesnt absorb the sweat..

Oh no!!
its going to be the bubble tea effect .. everyone was talking abt honey green tea bubble tea in the earlier thread that i actually went to Sweetalk and got myself one!!..actually 3 cups that week!!!

now got me thinking abt going to orchard for ice-cream!!! haiks!

Leereiner (reiner), no appetite lor. Me wants to vomit most of the time...

The last time the epidural is abt $300.00. Think now should be around $400.00 too. So good, yrs can waived off. Mine PAP.

No worries la abt asking Qs. There also 'hotel' rm there where yr spouse can sleep over nite. That is very comfortable.

Location very good. The last time I got engorge, I asked my HB to go cold storage to buy lettuce for me. He put in the staff fridge.

<font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">JL Members Sale</font></font>

Got letter from them. The member's sale is on 5-8 Feb. 20% off storewide (T &amp; C applies). You can go there and sign up for a free privilege card that is valid immeidiately i.e. entitles you to 20% off the moment you pay. Free delivery for $150 min. in purchases. Hopefully the Tollyjob breastpads will be on offer again at $6.90 before 20% discount.

<font color="0000ff">hello</font>

<font color="ff6000">Can lah.. You have to type the code "\blue" first. Then follow the below without leaving any space.</font>

\blue
{type type type}

TKtotts,
sorry to hear abt your vomitting but did you notice what time of the day you actually vomit and what triggers it?? mine is my environment and stinky foods and smelly foodcourts and strong kopi.. so i avoid.. i also noticed that if i puke in the mornings, i'm fine for the rest of the day except when i go to the above places..
i hear orange peel ( the dried version) and some preserved fruits help so might wanna try..
hope you feel better soon!!
^_^

<font color="0077aa">IDAARSHAD (idaarshad), you got add my orders in for the diapers? Btw where are they from?</font>

pravina (pravina), tks but this time round is due to stomach flu.

I had bad vommiting till abt 5mths+. Need nt food to trigger me. Just want to vomit. esp if I take car ride, train or bus...

<font color="ff6000">kekek seee, tktotts also can leh. wah sooo colourful. Oops, I'm going back soon liao. My friend just delivered, so will be visiting her tonight. Her bb girl is 3.6kg</font>

Hey, for both my kids I was charged $600 for epi, back in 2002 and 2003. Both was by the same anasthetist. How come you'll quote so less ah?

But he was a good one. Heard that one slight mistake and that's it for life. So I didn't mind than, and till now (touchwood) no after effects.

<font color="0000ff">ya.. hope this can work liao. Hee hee. wah now i dun even dare to eat sundae liao.. due to the high sugar i have now.. hai Sob sob. pls dun write anymore and make me envy leh..</font>

Hi Ciarie, thanks for the launch list. I'm actually #25 n #77 haha =P

Hi pat, how much did Mdm Rabiah charge?? I read that a Mdm Salbiah is good? But she's even more ex than the malayheritage people =( Wrt pte massage, it will be sent to your email. At least tt's what happens for me.

tktotts.. i will check where the diapers come frm .. but anyway how many u need .. i will include u in next order if available next 2 weeks - he is away in vietnam now.. so will release the 1120 pieces first to the mummies who ordered first

re: bigger baby
tat's what my gynae warn me yesterday, cut down on ice cream and durian, i m in my 29th wks, bb now weight abt 1.7kg, gynae said bb may hit 3.5kg to 4kg when born by the rate she's growing now..my last visit to gynae was on 26th wks, bb was 980g then..
re: nose bleed
my nose started to bleed abt 2 mths ago, it was quite scary kind, almost every day will bleed, sometime blood will just drip down for no reason but usually it happen after i blow my nose or if i rub my nose too hard, when i check with gynae, she said is ok, as it was due to blood vessel expanded during pregnancy. however, now it seems to be better, few days then bleed once..

GOOD NOON, MUMMIES!!!

BUSY MONI.....
and our thread is moving like F1 race lo.... faintz..

Dodos: bb movement, agree with JamGal, Sanni &amp; 4eva... better chk w gynae if u r really not feeling at ease abt ur bb's movement

Orangepeel: WELCOME TO APR09 MUMMIES THREAD!!
will update ur details in our "Launch List"..

Pravina: I'm paying abt $550 from BP organized by Kgal, direct import from US...

Perhaps u wanna chk w u her if u r keen to get e pump from US directly.

LovJ: For Lochia.. think can use normal pad, but use those for heavy days flow.
Not compulsory must use maternity pad, unless u prefer to use it.. :D

For my bb#1.. I used disposable panties for the first 1month, cos no one will help me wash panty and given the situation tat my mum dun allow me to touch water….. faint.. so better to wear disposable, jic the blood stains e panty, I can just throw away..

Pat: e summary is easier for us to kpo, jic we want to know how many boys and gals we have altogether wo..
heee….. and YES, our list is getting LOOOOOONGER and LOOOOONGER!!
Aiyo.. wear pants can agaration one wat…. At most, when sala, my leg will get stuck somewhere inbetween e cloth lo… den try again la… haaaa…..

Too much postings today la leh!!!!!!!!!!!!! CATCH UP TMR!!!
TIRED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

tingting,

my MIL working in chinatown and she also said there's 1 shop in Pearl's Center or People's Park that sells alot of PJs, i always cant tell the difference btwn the 2 places. haha by the way, my PJs cost $48 for 2 sets, not each hehe.. if so exp at $50 i wont buy it already.. now having baby also become more "niao" with money, buy things also consider for very very long. hubby keeps saying i'm so indecisive now, like what to eat for dinner also can change my mind 5 times, what drink to order also can think for 10mins hahaha

<font color="119911">hey mommies, i think OG also having 15% sale for the lunar new year, dunno still going on or not though. i bought those avent bottles and tollyjoy baby wipes, some clothings, nail clipper for baby, and those normal stuff from $300 discount until $200+ only. the albert complex OG near bugis quite alot of baby stuff</font>

While I was out to gynae, you mummies were busy chatting away haha. I came back and the whole list of new entries!!!

Hehe, went earlier for my visit today to avoid long waiting, just waited 15 mins.

Questions for gynae:
1) Is is ok to color my hair (cannot stand liao, my hair is in two tones now, wanna look glam glam even if I'm preggy). Ans: Can!! Want to colour, rebond also can. The chemicals won't go to the bloodstream, so won't affect baby

2) Baby head down? Ans: Yes
Will she shift position again? Ans: Unlikely. 95% she will remain down.

3) Weight? Ans: 1784g. Normal weight

4) MC for today? Ans: Ok. Give you tomorrow as well haha..

bonbon,

yah, chinatown has got really good buys, if u're not particular abt the brand.. and quality can be surprisingly good too! I quite like to shop at OG, despite the "auntie" image it has.. mostly i can see their 20% discount storewide signs.. haha..

no wonder.. i was surprised how come karmy can be so expensive.. i also quite niao w money, so wouldn't have spent so much on pjs!

just came back fr gynae, bb is now 1kg at 28 wks.. i gained abt 3kg this month.. not too bad, but then gynae said the mummy took on most of the weight, not bb

<font color="0000ff">Hi Ladies,

Sorry for the intrusion, am keen to order the Balboa Baby Sling, if you are interested, pls PM me

The Balboa Baby Adjustable Sling - Developed, Tested &amp; Recomended by Dr.Sears &amp; Family. Pediatrician and best selling author.

The Adjustable Sling is so soft and comfortable, perfect for wearing your sling baby. Designed to grow, the Balboa Sling offers comfort and hands-free motion and promotes bonding. The unique contoured, padded strap evenly distributes your baby’s weight while maintaining a sleek appearance. Padded elastic trim ensures that your baby is safe, comfortable and held close to you. For added safety all Balboa Slings have a deep pocket design which allows parents to move freely without worry. Easy to fold and fit in your diaper bag or stroller, the One Size Sling compactly travels with you. Conveniently added, the pocket carries your belongings as you carry your most precious one.

Available in the following designs:

Geisha Trim
Geisha
Blossom Trim
Blossom
Striped Trim
Flowers
Leopard
Dotted Daisy Orange
Dotted Daisy Brown
Black
Brown

Check out the designs at tis site: http://www.balboababy.com/adjustable_patterns.htm

Price : $67 per sling
Retail Price: USD58
Postage &amp; Handling : $1.50 (normal local postage), for registered post add an additional $2.30.
Meetup possible @ seller's convenience : Raffles Place/Boon Lay/Kovan/Pasir Ris MRT station/West Plaza @ Pasir Ris St 72

**Pls note that tis is a pre-order and we are taking the orders now!**

Pls PM me if you have further enquiries

Many Thanks

Hi all mummies!

Thanks kittybride &amp; orangepeel for ur advices!
I was considering hiring CL but scare gt alot of disagreements leh,( cause i m staying with my in-laws). N my MIL thinks tt she can do e confinement for me, reali very vexed cuz she is insisting to do for me, but i reali think tt its better for me to get a CL. (my MIL's cooking is quite terrible =X).. den end up i haf to do many things myself den jialat.. haix..

Baby movements: Mummies, i m having a terrible time with all e movements,(reali painful). I could feel her almost every now n then...

Wonder wads e normal weight gain for mummies?
Cuz my edd is on the 17th of april, my last gynae appt was on the 22nd of Jan 09(28 weeks: baby weighing 1kg), then i was weighing only 47kg! (my weigh b4 preganancy was 43.5). so total i onli put on like 3.5kg. (my mil n my hubby kip on saying i m nt gaining enuff weight?)
Any experience to share?

<font color="ff6000">Maya &amp; LovJ, I have got hot fudge sundae in my freezer right now!!! So happy. Will slurp it up tomorrow coz it's too late to freeze my bb now. I read from an article that drinking cold drinks are actually ok. The drink gets warmed up by our body the time it gets to the womb.

Eunice, Mdm Rubiah is charging $50 per session for about 45 mins to 1 hr. I keep typing Mdm Rubiah's name as Mdm Rubish. Just one letter makes so much difference. I haven't heard of Mdm Salbiah before leh. You have her contact? Maybe can try her too.

Ciarie arh, if your agaration is not good enough hor, your butt may land on the floor leh. Careful hor. I nearly 'toppled' last week.

JamGal, I also permed my hair about 2 months ago. A lot of ppl say cannot perm/colour but I've read that it's safe. It's good to hear gynae's affirmation now. You're at wk 31 now right?

ow_mummy, maybe you can let your MIL know that CL actually helps tend to the bb 24hrs a day. You don't want to tire her out by asking the same of her especially since you will need rest during the 1st month and cannot help out much. Scare her a bit.. Plus CL can help you with breasts massages too.

I think if your gynae hasn't mentioned anything about your 3.5kg weight gain, you are fine. If you are not gaining enough or gaining too much, gynae would definitely say something. Your bb's weight sounds good for 28 wks too. Don't worry too much. Easier for you to shed the weight after birth.</font>

<font color="ff6000">Oh yes tingting, about the gushing of water when waterbag bursts, it doesn't happen like that leh. Articles mention that the bb's head will actually act as a 'cork' and stop the water from gushing out. So what we will likely experience is a trickle if we are in a sitting/standing position.

The only time gushing may be encountered is when we are lying down. So remember to lay some towels on our beds when we are approaching delivery just in case we soak our mattresses.</font>

Pat: Still not sleeping again? Me at week 30 now. EDD changed liao. From 12 April to 6 April. Quite near to yours

<font color="ff6000">After reading Jamgal's posting about brazilian waxing, I finally got down to my trimming business keke.

Couldn't see a thing below my belly but I had a trusty magnifying mirror to help me keke. It took longer than usual coz difficult to control the scissors while looking at the mirror. I still got the job done though and I'm nice and clean again!! *pat myself on the back*</font>

<font color="ff6000">kekeke.. Ya, I am a night owl. How come I read about so many ppl having changes in their EDD huh? I must ask my gynae again. So your EDD is changed based on your bb's weight? 6 days is quite a lot.

My gynae said the EDD is normally off by about 2-3 days, either earlier or later.

My bb turns a wk old every Thursday, that's also the day I see my gynae every month. So scared leh. After this thursday, i will need to see gynae every 2 wks already right?? Time is passing too fast.</font>

pat: thks for ur advice! haha.. i will think of a way to convince her...

Hmmm.. regards to e waterbag bursting thingy..i m quite afraid leh.. thinks tt induce labour sounds more better..haha.. dunno when will e bag burst n hws e feeling like..OMG...=X

Hi Ow, I tink better to hire CL..somehow I feel that with MIL ar, you will feel paiseh to ask her to help this and dat...and MIL wanted to help too but I din wan..and like yrs, her cooking is horrible..and I told myself that the last thing I wan would be to have post-natal depression due to disagreement with her...

Pat, I tink I read somewhere from this forum that pharmacy got sell those waterproof sheets..not too ex..den can put one on bed and one in car for standby..but me will put this on hold first cos if c-sect den dun nid to buy ma...

Ytd my hb and I went to kaki bukit and finally bought all the bb stuff already..tot wun spend much cos got quite a lot of stuff from my bro (my SIL gave birth last yr)end up still spend 1k..haiz..BTW, I bought a cot in the end..but it has wheels wan and not too heavy..and we bought this thermometer quite gd lei..digital and measure just by touching on the forehead..about 90+..oh ya, I tink it would be good to test out stuff you bought b4 you give birth e.g. breast pump, sterilizer, bottle warmer etc...so that at least know how to use ma..tink after you give birth ar..will be too tired to read the instruction manual..

Most of the gynae won't shift the EDD one. My will stick to it no matter bb small or big.

Ow_mummy, i hardly experience any hard kick that will make me feel painful. Usually just slight movement here and there. Your baby is gaining weight and not you. That's good isn't it.

I had no idea what's the feeling of water bag breaking also. Even gynae burst it for me i don't have much feel cos not painful.

Jamgal, so at week 30 baby is unlike to shift position again. I very kan cheong liao tomorrow check up must ask dr again if the position is good.

Anywhere got sales now?

Hi Ida,
Transferred. Thank you.

<font color="0000ff">To Account POSB Savings
118-68575-0 Idaarshad
Amount S$12.50
Transaction Reference 2102802851</font>

Hi pat, Mdm Salbiah's no is 9832-5375 $550 for 2 hrs, min 7 sessions. If u do try her b4 delivery, do share whether she's gd. My hubby doesnt want to let me do pre-delivery massage. He thinks its dangerous. He says he do for me haha...

Hi ow-mummy, what a coincidence. My edd also 17 apr n my last visit also 22 jan. My baby was 1.06kg which doc says is normal n good. i've gained 6kg in total (not counting the 1kg i lost in the 1st tri due to MS). But cos im pretty big size so doc said to watch weight but 6kg he says is ok. i think pat is right, if its not normal, im sure ur gynae wld hv mentioned it already.

Pat, changes in EDD v common wat, no?? Anw gynae says its +/- 2 wks. Mine's 17 apr but he told me to be prepared "ANYTIME IN APRIL"... my SIL has the same EDD as me &amp; we're seeing the same gynae. Im hoping not the same day/time else dunno how the gynae going to manage 2 of us!!

Hi 4eva, which store did u buy the stuff from? Bb kingdom or BB hypermart?? I've been bugging my hubby to go but we cant seem to find the time =( this weekend must go already. getting worried tt i have nothing but clothes ready!!

Hi Idaarshad, still in time to order the diapers? I'm staying in sengkang too so can self-collect. Thanks.

<font color="aa00aa">Whoa pat, you tempting me leh. I am being strict with myself on not to indulge in ice cream. Now I keep thinking of Ben &amp; Jerrys.....sigh

I have also been given a contact for masg lady, but want to try her first. Dunno now too late to do masg or not. Must try to fix within these few days, my back is starting to kill me already. I literally dragged myself to work today!

My EDD shifted to a difference of 1 month! My first visit I was given 22 April. Than when I go for the OSCAR, they said my EDD is wrong and should be 12 April cos based on the baby size. And now bcos going for C- doc say must do 2 weeks before to avoid going into Emergency C. Hence now shifted up to late Mar. Wah, I think this baby is destined to come early....</font>

<font color="aa00aa">hey Jamgal, really can do coloring ah? My gynae say cannot leh. I really want to do cos got alot of white hair starting to show liao. Feel so old. I think cannot do during confinement also right, cos BF mah?</font>

pravina, late in replying u, guess Ciarie has answered ur qn!

aiyo, why is this talk about ice-cream!! gotta get a fix later hahaha.

i know your have been discussing, but i really cannot remember and so many posts to go through. Can recommend some places to get cheap and good nursing bras? And also, where can get a bath tub with stand huh? TIA!!