(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

sometimes my bb can be real quiet too with light flutters then I wonder is it ok, when she kicks me hard I feel so relieved, guess is what all mtbs go through!

I just ordered a medela freestyle through Trampezz, so excited, cant wait!

pravina, the links you gave is very useful, i have downloaded the kick counts chart..
my gynae asked me to start doing the kick counts when i went for 26 wks check up but i didn't cos was lazy and also do not have a proper chart to record, now i have this chart i will do it twice a day...
i went to see my gynae yesterday, i have put on a total of 12 kgs, i m into my 29th wks, of all these kgs i put on, only 1.7kg went to bb, but gynae asked me to watch my diet a bit, no more durian and sweet stuff cos bb may grow too big, gynae said, looking at the current weight, bb may hit 3.5kg when born..

allo juxta,
can i know how much you paid for the medela freestyle please??
still looking around for one myself... cant decide!!

i did my 3D/4D scan last week when bb was 30 weeks, but was not successful because bb wasn't cooperating. He wasn't in the right position, too close to the placenta and hiding his face behind the umbilical cord. The result turned out to be so abstract, we couldn't make out anything. So in the end, just did a normal 2D growth scan. It was quite disappointing because I've been looking forward to see my bb in 3D for many weeks...

YSL,
glad to be of help!!
mummies >> always bug your gynae if you have any qns, queries, no matter how silly they can be!! you need your peace of mind!!

Sanni
mine did not even cooperate for the detailed 20-week scan so din see his eyes.. only mouth and nose...only hv had ONE indication that baby's a boy.. so gonna try and see again come this scan in 2 weeks..
so you will be doing your 3D/4D scan again rite??

Pravina, its at 285usd for the freestyle excluding shipping, u can PM me for details
spore selling at 988sgd

pravina: nopes, dun tink i'm going to do the 3D/4D scan again because gynae feels bb may be getting too big and chances of getting a good scan in the next few weeks is not very high.

anyway, just treat it as bb helping me save some money bah. :p

jamgal - no probs . i have included u in the list

coral marine .. no probs.. just let me know when u transfer

btw mummies i found like a ballon just in front of anus (soory so detailed) - not painful --then i just asked my exec yesterday and she said it was piles... funny rite but i dun have constipation execpt in june when i have delivedred and had piles inside and pain arrrr.. but this one not.. she asked me to burst it leh.. aiyaa

updated fitti and huggies table

<table border=1><tr><td>S/N</TD><TD>Nick</TD><TD>Qtty….</TD><TD>Total Price</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1..</TD><TD>Idaarshad</TD><TD>90</TD><TD>$22.50</TD><TD>paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>2..</TD><TD>LovJ</TD><TD>50</TD><TD>$12.50</TD><TD>paid 02/02 </TD></TR><TR><TD>3..</TD><TD>Coralmarine</TD><TD>50</TD><TD>$12.50</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4..</TD><TD>Marie Kwek</TD><TD>50</TD><TD>$12.50</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5..</TD><TD>Pravina</TD><TD>50</TD><TD>$12.50</TD><TD>paid 02/02 </TD></TR><TR><TD>6..</TD><TD>Yvonne Yeo</TD><TD>100</TD><TD>$25.00</TD><TD>paid 01/02 </TD></TR><TR><TD>7..</TD><TD>Ciarie</TD><TD>50</TD><TD>$12.50</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8..</TD><TD>Pups</TD><TD>50</TD><TD>$12.50</TD><TD>paid 01/02 </TD></TR><TR><TD>9..</TD><TD>JamGal</TD><TD>50</TD><TD>$12.50</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10..</TD><TD>P3pp3r</TD><TD>100</TD><TD>$25.00</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11..</TD><TD>Asura</TD><TD>100</TD><TD>$25.00</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12..</TD><TD>Tiny M</TD><TD>50</TD><TD>$12.50</TD><TD>paid 01/02 </TD></TR><TR><TD>13..</TD><TD>Dianajs</TD><TD>100</TD><TD>$25.00</TD><TD>paid - 31/1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>14..</TD><TD>Yan</TD><TD>50</TD><TD>$12.50</TD><TD>paid 01/02 </TD></TR><TR><TD>15..</TD><TD>Denizz</TD><TD>80</TD><TD>$20.00</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16..</TD><TD>MissyCandy</TD><TD>100</TD><TD>$25.00</TD><TD>paid 02/02</td></tr></table>

<table border=1><tr><td>S/N</TD><TD>Nick</TD><TD>Qtty….</TD><TD>Total Price</TD><TD>Size</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1..</TD><TD>Idaarshad</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$12.00</TD><TD>S</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2..</TD><TD>Nana (my fren)</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$12.00</TD><TD>S</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3..</TD><TD>Yan</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$12.00</TD><TD>S</TD><TD>paid 01/02 </TD></TR><TR><TD>4..</TD><TD>JamGal</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$12.00</TD><TD>S</td></tr></table>

deniz.. hv nt heard frm u.. cn pls revert bck to me by today? or nt must gv next mummymin line

ow_mummy,

Personally I agree with kittybride that you should let ur MIL rest. She definitely needs to recuperate right after her operation.

My mum had passed away a couple of years. My MIL got to take care of my FIL bcoz of his poor health.N having a nanny will cost as much as $700 per mth , moreover got to bring baby home every evening and morning bring to nanny. mon-fri.
Tiring...........

Thats y, my hubby n I decided to employ a Indo
FDW.We have her on the Ist of Jan09.Her salary was $330 n govert levi was $265. Cheaper than nanny. So far she has help to lighten our load.General housework was not a problem to her. We teaches her to cook as well. Perviously, I will make an effort to prepare dinner,if too tired, will just buy packet rice..Now , everyday after work, dinner will be served by her.

In order to better facilitate my new FDW to care for my new born,( EDD 18/04/09) we engage a CL as well, for a mth. Hopefully my FDW n I will benefit from it. Cost for engaging a CL is abt $1800-$2200

Mine quoted $2000 but I told the CL that I have a FDW to perform Household chores and only require her to care for baby n to prepare Confinement food for me . Hence she charges $1800.( 28 days)

Whatever it is, I still believe that by engaging a CL, will allow you to rest well after labour.

So do think abt it..

Cheers to all mummies..

i also got the same problem of piles. noticed a small piece of flesh like a small raisin protruding out near the surface of the back hole.. then last week it got a lil itchy painful sensation like those red ants bites. researched online and realised could be haemorrhoid. so last sat when i went to see Dr Adrian i told him i may be having problems with haemorrhoid and he gave me a tube of gel to apply. have tried applying for 2 days and the skin seem to have shrunk alil smaller and there is no painful feeling at all. Dr Adrian also said last trim very common problem and it will disappear after pregnancy.. hopefully! mummies rem to consult ur gynae before applying those over the counter haemorrhoid cream cos some are not suitable for pregnant woman to use.

LovJ, hee think we must ask advice from experienced mummies cos i've read in some threads that they used normal pads but like those Sofy n Kotex overnight/heavy flow pads that are up to 35cm long.

i bought 1 pack of the Sofy 35cm from Watsons and i was thinking if not absorbent enough still can use it for normal menses after that. also, i prefer something with wings and ultra thin so the stitches wont feel so uncomfy as my coll who used maternity pad told me that its like a thick cotton wool stuck there and the cotton wool will gather in a lump together, although it does serve the purpose of being very absorbent so she only needed to changed once every few hours.

also mummies, will you all use disposable undies during hospital stay and the month post-delivery? cos my MIL kinda telling me she can't wash my underwear for me during confinement. was just thinking is disposable underwear strong enough cos everytime we change the pad once have to change a new undies? cos the sticker part will tear the paper underwear?

Hi all, seems like my dates are so difficult to decide. The period given by my gynae for C, got no suitable dates at all. Sigh! Tentative I am selecting 29 Mar for the moment.

Btw, wanted to check if anyone has sign up for cord blood banking?

bonbon: I will only be using disposable panties in the hospital, normal panties at home. If your MIL can't wash, then you just wash it yourself in washing machine loe, separate from other clothes. I feel disposable ones are not as snug as the normal ones, and can be quite huge, will move around leh. Easier to kena stain right?

hi bonbon,

i used disposable panties throughout confinement period, bcos i didn't want the hassle of washing stained underwear every other day. the ones i bought from NTUC didn't tear when i replaced the pads. that said, some people prefer the cotton feel. I heard that some places like chinatown sells cotton panties more cheaply than disposables. can check it out.

orangepeel,
so your FDW cost less than $600/mth? any other fees/charges you need to pay? ya, there's always pros and cons in engaging a FDW and a lot depends on the LUCK one. hopefully yours will be good and loves kids - then u can have more rest when she takes care of your little one.

i still contemplating but HB doesn't like stranger in the house... well...

bonbon
your MIL do your confinement ah?
then better wear disposable panties lah - will be paiseh to ask her wash ur normal panties leh.
the disposable ones are ok lah, coz u'll be using the pad on top lor. and change regularly too so shd not tear or leak.

personally the initial few days lochia will be a lot, so use the maternity pads left over from hospital. then after that, use the sofy long type or whichever brand you are more comfy with and change regularly coz discharge can be a lot - so less chance of leakage as well.

dodos,
aiyah, my check up is on Fri leh, one day earlier than yours! :D i check with the nurse oredi, they said 3D/4D scan only for 32wks and now at 29wks is just normal 2D scan to chk bb's growth. but we can request to have 3D/4D scan when scheduling next scan appointment. otherwise they will just give 2D scan lor. the charges for both scan type are the same, if i can recall correctly.

for my last chk up, bb also in weird position and i got only 1 pathetic pic of my bb - looks super alien to me and i can't even make out his features even though the sonographer pointed out to me...

LovJ, yah lor looks like it. But I will stick with you guys for updates, like I said it is still not decided. Doc says I have 1 more month to decide before doing registration. So hopefully I can get a good priest to advise me on a suitable date.

Bonbon, yeah you can actually get those cheap cotton undies and dispose if heavily stained or once confinement is over. I did that previously cos was very uncomfortable with disposable ones, esp when sleeping. Yet to go and find cotton ones yet. I actually get those aunty types.......hehehe that go above the belly button cos mine is casear, so nice and comfy as it doesn't hinder the stitch area.

hello Kittybride,

yes, lesser than $600. Currently $330 salary + levi $265 = $595 but after baby born govt will lower levi to becomes $187. So total will only be $517 lor..so still cheaper than nannny..hehe

of course that inclusive of one time agency fee, insurance and FDW loan that she borrow to come
Singapore.

Different FDW have different loan and that also depends whether they have experience or not etc.

I took mine from Comfort Employment Agency. If you keen to know more, you can look for their sales executive staff Jamie Ang at 63384057 for further detail ya.. :0)

Hi Maya,

Maybe you can try Jing Zi Long to calculate the date for you. I use his services..

I getting nervous.. like very fast liao.. 2 more months to go..

I will be also employing a FDW.. so that He/she can help me with house chores.. Having a confinment lady is too high cost for me liao.. For my family, we don't mind a stranger living with us. You can email me : [email protected]
if you are interested in having a maid.

Hi MTBs

Position of baby:
I had my checkup last Sat and the baby is weighing 1.45 kg at 30 weeks. The baby is in the breech position. Getting a bit worried as I read in a book that by week 30, 80% of the babies would have turned downward. And my next visit to the gynae is in 4 weeks. Does anyone know when the babies will turn downwards?

GOO.N vs Nepia diapers:
Anyone heard are intending to use either of this brand of diapers? Which is better?

Wah, many posts!! Good leh.

4eva and juxta, update after your gynae visits hor. Mine’s on Thursday so will update then. It’ll be more a consolation for us even if our placenta doesn’t move up. At least we can choose a meaningful date keke.

Ciarie, wah seh, you can wear pants by agaration arh? Salute!! I will still bend over to see which ‘hole’ my legs are entering one. Aey, you rubbing salt in my wound. Still so happily remind me of the $200 angbao I gave away. My hubby’s cousin is in the renovation business. The built-in cabinet cost about $1k plus. You interested? I give you his contact? Look for Darren 9092 1583. I don’t know whether this is considered lobang or not but you can mention my name and ask whether got discount boh.

LovJ, I tried my friend’s massage lady last night coz of aches also and I find this Malay lady quite good leh. I will be trying another lady next week but in case you really need someone to “fix your broken back”, you can try Mdm Rubiah first. Her contact 9674 2447. Size small small but strength big big!!!

SKS, my hubby doesn’t give me foot massages at all leh. Today, he even told me that he’s not feeling well because he had a pimple in his nose, so he needs to take MC arh! Should have told him I need complete bed rest until I give birth coz bb keep kicking me from inside..

OMG JamGal, what did you spend on huh? 7788 is more like a nice 4D number leh.

Wah Ciarie, your launch list is getting longer and longer.. You can be a very good secretary also. Got summary of gender below somemore! Clap Clap Clap Clap!!! Kekeek hope you will solve your ‘mystery’ soon keke. So it’s almost an equal fight between the sexes wor.

LovJ, you miss your period so much? Keke I am hoping I won’t have my period leh. So mafan. After we give birth, we will be bleeding for anytime between 2 weeks to 1 month. This is called lochia. For some ppl, it may last longer. When the actual menses will start reporting, this I really have no idea liao.

About the disposable panties, can we wear the disposable panties and then wear our regular panties over? Double protection and it will secure the supposedly, loose and ill-fitting disposable panties.

Jinglebel, my bb had already turned downwards when I went for my wk28 scan. I don’t know if I interpreted gynae wrongly but she did say that at this point of time, she is hoping that bb will only turn sideways and not into a breech position. From what she said, I gathered bb still had the ability to shift position. Then again, my sister read from somewhere that by wk 30, bb should be too big to change his/her position in the womb. A bit conflicting right? I think you better ask your gynae and educate us on this. If not, I will ask my gynae this coming Thursday and update you.

You know hor, I realized how our DTSmummy is able to so efficiently take 'minutes of meeting' leh. I opened a minimized microsoft word window while reading all the posts her and I will type everything into the word document. After that I just cut &amp; paste into the posting window of singaporemotherhood!! Ta-dah!!! I won't keep needing to scroll up and down anymore or miss any more posts!!!

Wah I very clever leh!!!! So proud of myself!!

DTS Mummy, I can 'steal' your job already! keke

Does any mummies experience nose bleed. I ever bleed twice before but ever since my pregnancy, I had very frequent nose bleed n it would just flow without notice especially after i sneezes.

I did consult my gynae , but he said that it is very common during pregnancy coz our body tend to produce more blood than usual......

Im worried
n I would like to listen to all mummies comment. Thanks

<font size="+1"><font color="ff6000">bbmummy has been missing in action for very long already leh. YOOOOOHOOOOOO!!!!! Di toh loh huh??</font></font>

<font color="ff6000">This colour coding is fun leh. kekek. I shall use this colour for myself!

Orangepeel, I never experience nose bleeds at all but I am quite certain that it is something quite common with pregnant mummies. Don't worry so much. If gynae says ok, you should trust her professional judgement right?</font>

Hi pat

Can you help me to ask your gynae this thur? I am a bit worried and my next visit to the gynae is in 4 weeks' time. I suspect my boy is shifting position. At times, his movements is at the top of my uterus and at times, they are at the lower part of my uterus.

Hi Orangepeel

I have not experienced nose bleeding myself but i read somewhere before that it is normal because there is more blood circulation now that we are pregnant hence it could cause your nose to bleed.

pat, you're really funny in your posts!

just went chinatown over lunch today to get some nursing pjs.. that's abt the only place i can get cheap and reasonable quality pjs.. at least i won't look too obiang in them! last round i bought some cartoony button pj dresses and forgot that i had to wear them in hospital and when visitors come!

having worn pj dresses last round, i think i prefer separate tops and pants. Bcos the dresses don't cover all the way down and can get quite chilly at times.

going for my checkup later this evening.. hope i dont have to take the glucose test or break the scales after the CNY feasting!

Hey Ciarie,
Kindly update my BB details as well.
Many Thanks

My Ist Baby
EDD: 18 April 09
BB gender: Girl
Gynae: Dr Lawrence Ang
Hospital TMC

kittybride, my mil will be doing the confinement for me. actually i quite worried cos she's hoping i'll follow the rules strictly and she'll be home with me everyday so no bathing or contact with tap water she said for the month. if must use water to rinse wound or stuff must be pre-boiled water. then after 1st 12 days she mentioned can use the herbs to wipe body.

but i guess the worst is not being able to bathe my baby girl for the first 12 days
but my mil "warning" me its up to me if i wanna listen cos last month our neighbour didn't listen to her CL and bathed the baby daily, end up now the arm can't lift up, some kind of numbness in whole arm so seeing doctor about this now.

actually i bought 3 packs of the better quality Watson's disposable underwear in Dec. i tested the sample by pulling hard on it and it didn't tear so hopefully the pad sticker will not tear it. there are 7 pieces and cost $2 - 2.90 i think? there is also a premium disposable cotton underwear that cost $3.50 for 5 pieces i think, and it supposed to be washable and can use for a few times. but since i'm not allowed near water, think i'll buy more of those disposable ones that is more sturdy and maybe should get M and L sizes? cos i dunno how much the body will change after delivery and with those confinement food, i'm worried perspire already the paper will get soggy haha :p

Alot of us will be seeing gynae this week.

My last check up at 26wks bb is head down. But now i kind of feel like it's side way cos the movement is on both left and right. Right side higher i think it's the legs.

I have alot of questions to bomb my dr this time round. Like baby postion, bb weight, bb movement, discharge, GBS, Growth scan, 3D/4D scan...

How's your discharge like?? My is watery. Not sure if it's leaking from water bag or not. It's usually wet.

<font color="ff6000">jinglebel, no problem, will help you ask and update you again but you have to be patient lah. coz need to wait until Friday, or Thursday night earliest.

I also feel movements both at the bottom and on top leh. I am guessing the bottom could be bb's hands and the top either bb's feet or knees. Can feel hard hard bone.

Tingting, no lah, where got funny? keke. Can I wear the hospital garb?? I have never owned PJs before and don't think I would want to wear any leh. At most, I wear my hubby's long-sleeved business shirts with my own track pants and white socks can?? But will look a little weird lah hor..</font>

<font color="ff6000">Oh ya, how do I read pte msg?? I think I asked before but no on answered me. Sob sob</font>

my nose bleeding now cos i blowing too much to clear my nose!!
dun hv bleeding gums but have started my puking in the mornings!! read somewhere that going into 3rd trimester will mimic 1st trimester... sighs...
oh well.. the perils of pregnancy.. have to bear with it lah ....

Thanks mummies..

Great! Now im less worried liao.. Heehee

My cousin was telling me silly logic that becoz im pregnant no menses tats y blood flows from the nose.... Aiyo:{

Leereiner (reiner), sorry for the late reply.. I also dw with stomach flu today. My boy vomiited yesterday. I was so busy. Thought he actually got better but nt.

U mean Dr Tony Tan's wife can do? Wow! you better check if he charge you. Yr package is cheaper then my too. I wonder if by Dr Tong is how much. She also VV popular there.

My doc did nt mention abt low placenta. Just say I walk too much. Nest visit I must ask her..

Tis time round I am nt too sure to get a massage lady. I enjoy the massage but nt the oil. Everytime after the massage I go and bath. How to work!

Kittybride, usually after massage you tend to have a heavier flow.

Tingting, tks alot. nice to see you here too.

<font color="ff6000">I bleed from the gums everyday when I brush my teeth too!

My discharge is clear and sometimes with a smear of yellowish/greenish leh. A bit like mucus when you have got a flu like that but no that gooey of course. If you are leaking amniotic fluid, the flow would be continuous and it could soak up 1-2 whole pads leh. So if it's not, i don't think you're leaking lah. Is it urine or not?

i think the disposable panties nowadays have come a long way. Should be more sturdy now lah. won't break so easily one. If really so easily break hor, we would have problems just pulling it up our legs leh. halfway up the thighs, maybe got a few holes already.</font>

pat
i think the private msg goes to your email address... i get mine in my email .. but i very new here... might be wrong. just figured out how to do emoticons!!! will figure out color font eventually!!!...ha!

<font color="ff6000">hahahhahahaahah orangepeel hahahahah *faint* Your cousin is so funny hahah. Haven't heard of this logic before wor.

Did anyone read the Straits Times article about bigger babies that are being born compared to last time? There was this bb who weighed 10kg plus when born and was recorded in the Guinness World Record Book but the sad thing is that this bb died 10 days later.

So interesting hor but the article did say that sugar will increase a bb's weight wor.. Oopss, maybe bubble tea is not that bad after all keke.</font>

i dont have nosebleeds but gums bleed quite easily though

for PJs i was so silly that time. wanted something soft and cooling for body and to save money so i bought in Chinatown pagoda street that shop, only cost $5 for those silky button down pj dress. then upon advise by 1 mom she said do wash and try wearing it at home if you feel comfy cos you won't want to end up in hospital wearing it for 1st time then feel uncomfortable or the dress too short keep moving up.

i actually tried before CNY and to my surprise although those thin silky material, it was super stuffy and when sleeping at night kept perspiring. so end up i bought those cotton pjs, 1 dress with front button till calf length, and 1 blouse and pants set, from isetan 10% discount now costing abt $48 from Karmy's brand from US i think. so mummies do try on and see if you feel comfy, cos with the new born and the fatigue after giving birth, its impt to make ourselves more comfy heehee

<font color="ff6000">Pravina, I am too free lah. that's why the colour coding keke. Oh ya hor, come to think of it, I think I did receive a few PMs through my email.</font>

Hi Orangepeel ,

I always have nose bleed as well. I ask my gynae, he say is common for preggie woman.. ask me to blame my hubby for making me pregnant. Haha

Hi pat..
Wah. how u make orange font one.. I also want. I want to have my own blue font leh.
I also dun like to have period. But i just want to know so that i will be mentally prepared.. heehee.
As for Private message, I dun even know how to activate it.. Hee HEe..

Ya. BB Mummies missing very long liao. since chinese new year.. Ciarie, u haven back from your party as well leh..

disposable underwear
i think the bigger NTUCs sells quite good quality ones too... i hv tried one brand from china that i wore to rafting ( before i got married lah) and did not even dissolve!! but havent seen it in a long long time...
i prefer the cloth ones; breathable and fitting..
i think also got maternity disposable underwear.
i probably shd go scout around...i have bought some from John Little and Metro too so worth a try ... same price and sometimes got offer buy 2 get one packet free.
will update when i find some!!